We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Oh dear, where do I start? My mum and I went here for 1 week, and I have to say, the only thing that was good abou this hotel really was the weather and the location, ie not too far to walk to the supermarket.
This was my first time in Playa Blanca, although mum has been before, and to be honest, I usually go to Turkey and Tunisia, so a 4* hotel sounded like bliss.
We were met at reception by the smiling manager who promised to do everything he could to help, and if there was anything he could do, just ask..........translate into ask, I will get stroppy and blame everything on the rep!!
Entertainment was supposed to be most nights, but other than a 15 minute parrot show on day 6 there was nothing (speak to the rep) and then the bloke has the cheek to try to charge 10 euros for a picture of the parrots taken with our own camera.
The food......well what can I say, chips with everything, brussel sprouts for breakfast and if not eaten, stirred into some rice for dinner. There was meat cooked fresh but the knife would not cut it, and 5 mins chewing, well!!
The hotel has just gone all inclusive, they have not really thought it out, on day 4 a new director took over, and the staff who spoke English to suit were able to listen to the health inspector who had to advise them that you do not cook meat and fish or sausage and pancakes on the same griddle due to the possible conflict for vegetarians.
It also took the new bloke to get the pool cleaned, it was a health hazard and the sun chairs are grubby as they are never washed.
Paper cups seemed to be an issue to as they ran out so little kids were given glasses to walk with by the pool area, an accident waiting to happen.
There was only one barman on at any one time, and the queues were 3 deep at one time, and it was quiet. There were occasions when we waited 10 minutes with no staff and helped ourselves.
The trips were really expensive as the euro is 1 for 1 and the 5% discount in June offer as advertised was not applied as the rep was told it was a May offer, but despite taking the book all day to change things he failed to notice this.
The rooms were cleaned and the beds thrown up, the smell from the drains is awful and the rubbish left to the back of the hotel is disgusting.
We were charged 20 euros deposit for both the tv and the air conditioning controls, there are 2 news channels in English and MTV so don't bother, 10 euros deposit and 3 euros charge for the hire of a towel.
I would recommend the trip to the Volcano amazing journey and really informative tour guide, who explained so many things, and the trip to the market in Teguise, but go across the road to the Paloma Mariner as it is cheaper there, there is no wireless broadband there so if you have a laptop, go to the Paloma Marinero and sit there for access on WiFi.
There are some lovely walks to be had along the coast and the shops are good, if you like perfume and cotton clothes that are over priced, Mum bought perfume that was £10 cheaped in the airport.
If you have children they will be bored as other than a small play area, there is nothing to do. Having said all this though, as others have said before me, we met some lovely people, Hello to Les and Doreen and Steven and Nick who along with others made the holiday in Rubimar Apart Hotel a memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndylooLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
There are newer reviews for Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2009

I did read some reviews just before coming out and was a bit worried when I read a couple of them but I am so glad to say that the people who have done so much moaning should just stay at home in the uk and not bother going on holiday at all because they spend all their time moaning anyway. A holiday is what you make it yourself as well and it all comes down to individual preferances.

The hotel is lovely, very relaxing. large pool area and your not sitting on top of each other either, very spacious. Playa blanca is lovely, 2nd time in Playa Blanca for us and we will come back.

The food in the hotel is lovely and their is choices, the restuarant is smaller than some I have been in but the other hotels just put out more of the same anyway. The staff at this hotel work their wee socks off and are very good. The credit crunch has also affected this island and 30,000 people have lost their jobs this year so hotels and pubs etc are running on less staff so this does affect the service slightly and the resort has been relatively quiet in our 2 week stay. Would not come here on a self catering basis as it really is too expensive so all inclusive is the best way to go.

There is no entertainment (but there was never any advertised when booking) here but to be honest it has been great not having it, we have met some lovely people and if their had been entertainment we may have never spoken to a sole, everyone has been so friendly .

The apartments are large and very clean as is the hotel, I would not worry if you are coming here at all and I hope you have a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

just to say somting i work in a hotel and i have worked for first choice b4 and what can i say i know how to complain when somthing is not reight after reading all the reviews on here i was worrid about comming but i have to say dont think other people stayed in the same place is i am sat now in the bar typing away the place is fantastic your holidat make your own fun the food is lovley so much choice and NOT cold think rooms are fantastic and the pool aera it great yes there is no entertainment of a evening but there ids music from the bar this is the place to sit relax and unwind not if some people want blackpool on sea with boom boom boom music yes there are lots of bars and places to eat in town witch is about 20 - 30 mins slow walk and yes you can do it in 10 mins fast but why would you want to i think you should keep a open mind comming here and dont let other people put you off. im comming back i loved it

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevie1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

looked great,when we go there realised there was nothing around we were doomed stuck in a hell hole with cold food ignorant staff and no entertainment,pool was cleaned 1nc in 2weeks,all excursions expensive though we enjoyed ours still not worth the money,it was two weeks of hell and we'll neva get ova it!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donanelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We were in a party of four plus a baby. Despite some of the negative reviews we really enjoyed our time here.
We usually stay at 4/5* Riu hotels wherever we go but were really impressed with this place.
Yes it didnt have entertainment and one member of the bar team seemed abit huffy (he seemed ok with us,propbably because we were not mouthing off to the rep infront of his face).The food was good,fresh meat/fish cooked to order every night,omelettes,fried eggs also cooked to order in the morning as well as a varied buffet.
The rooms were large with seperate kitchen area although the beds were abit hard to what we are used too.
The hotel was clean in a great location and the staff were all really nice and friendly.the reception staff spoke great english too.
The location was stunning with the marina 2 mins walk away with lovely shops,restaraunts and stunning views.The sea is stunning,some parts were like the carribean.
If you are after a nice chilled out holiday then this is the place,if you are after pubs and clubs(like some people we had to listen to moan all week then its not for you).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawberry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

If you like your abroad holidays then dont bother going to the Rubimar Apartments in Playa Blanca, they have just moved over to All Inclusive from Self Caterting, and they have no idea what they are doing!! The staff are very ignorant, they either ignore you, or when you ask for something else they just shrug there shoulders and walk off or simply just laugh in your face.

The food was rubbish, it was Chips, chips and more chips, for Breakfast, Dinner and Tea, they served your Potatoes for Breakfast with your chips but you get no other potato dish apart from Chips with your dinner and tea, all the food was cold, they had hot plates but only keeping the bottom of the dishes warm and nothing on top to keep the top half of the dishes warm, they had no variety, if they had salad they had no meat to accompany the salad, I even asked for something other than chips for my tea, and the staff went and got the manager who threatened to throw me out of the hotel, for asking for something else.

The pool was not cleaned for the two weeks that we were at the apartments, there were nasty smells coming from the drains in and around the hotels and when you reported this the staff again just shrugged their shoulders.

Bar staff were very ignorant they ran out of everything, glasses as they could not be bothered to go and collect and clean them, they ran out of alcohol, soft drinks, we had to go and buy our own from the local market.

If you are thinking of an All Inclusive holiday then I would advise that you steer clear of this apartments, otherwise you will have the holiday from hell just like me and my sisters did, we came home in tears as this has got to be the worse holiday that we have ever been on, I defintely wont be going their again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannahabbieadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Rubimar is located in the Marina Rubicon which has nice restaurants including Cafe Del Mar boutique and boutique style shops. There is also a shopping centre just nearby with a supermarket. The main beach in playa blanca is about 20 minutes walk along the seafront and is one of the nicest beaches I have ever seen with golden sands and very clear water.

While the location if the hotel is good, the hotel itself isn't. Rated as a 4 star, is more likely a bottom-end 3 star. The apartments are good with kitchen facilities and balcony but beds are quite hard and the hot water in the shower soon ran out. Food in the restaurant was OK but not a lot of choice and menus were same pretty much every day. Also a lot of time the food was barely warm. At the bar the staff didn't seem to have any idea what was incuded in the all inclusive or snack bar menu. They once gave us a pizza which is part of the AI menu and then told us that night we had to pay. There was no entertainment at all in the bar except a cd player which kept skipping and jumping and getting stuck and nobody behinfd the bar seemed to notice. The same CDs were played day and night and got very repetetive. A lot of the time the music didn't seem appropriate to the clientele which were mainly older couples and families and often contained very noticeable swearing. The only good thing about the bar was the pool table which was free to use and kept us entertained for most of our holiday.

We werent't keen on the pool\area either which has limited fixed umberellas and most people had reserved these with towels by 7am, although they didn't actually use the sunbeds until much later in the day. The pool was also freshwater which I ddin't like and wasn't aware of.

Last but not least there seemed to be a bad drain type smell lingering around most of the outside of the hotel. This was quite offputting especially as the biggest part of the restaurant was outside.

Nobody seemed very happy with their stay at the hotel, most looked fed up and I got the distinct impressions most people couldn't wait to get out of there.

The only good thing about the hotel was the location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckalou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.9 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#30 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pueblo Marinero
Pueblo Marinero
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,824 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubimar Suite ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubimar Suite ApartHotel

Address: C/ La Cocinilla 2-4, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $55 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rubimar Suite ApartHotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rubimar Suite ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Rubimar Playa Blanca
Aparthotel Rubimar Hotel Playa Blanca
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing