We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Antrim, N Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I went to Lanzarote at the beginning of November to stay at the Rubimar on all inclusive basis. I must admit, having read reviews about the Rubimar I was very apprehensive. However, both of us were surprised and I was relieved at the standard of the place. We were greeted by a very pleasant gentleman at reception when we arrived, and any staff we met were pleasant. Our apartment was well away from the main building and overlooking the tennis court. The apartment itself was very roomy, and if we had been self-catering would have been ample to meet our needs. There is a supermarket adjacent to the hotel. The only negatives were - as I had read in a review - the bin lorry came EXTREMELY early every morning and the beds were, as expected, very hard. We solved the bed issue by taking the mattress off the sofa bed and the seat from the sofa in the living room and putting them on top of the beds! It did make them slightly less hard. The food was repetative, but there was always something tasty. The wine though was watery and I noticed other guests put Sprite into the white and red to "giz" it up. Some of the guests in the apartments around us were noisy, and because of the tiled floors, sounded as though they were moving furniture around all night. Thankfully that only happened once. Over all, not an unpleasant experience, but if you go there, be prepared to go out of the hotel if you want a drink after 11 pm!

Room Tip: We were in 104 which was noisy very early because of the bin lorries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biddyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    451
    273
    128
    89
See reviews for
412
520
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is an accommodation that is perfect for backpackers and party groups, who are simply looking for place to crash at night in the hub of Playa Blanca. The food, as has been mentioned in other reviews is terrible, and if you have any allergies or are vegetarian, there is nothing for you to eat here. The good thing is that the kitchen in each of the apartments is relatively well equipped, for you to cook your own food making it perfect for large groups on a budget.

The facilities are relatively modest, but nothing to complain about. Note, the wi-fi is unreliable, and for the duration of our stay was broken. However, a number of cafes nearby offer free wifi, so it is not a major concern. Regardless of whether you are All-inclusive of bed only, you need to pay for using pool towels, the safe in the room, and you need to leave a deposit for the remotes. If you have a large family, be prepared to pay a lot of "cash" deposits to use the facilities.

Overall, if you are on a honeymoon or a relaxing holiday, this is not the place for you. If you are simply using this as a base to explore the island and the neighbouring islands, and not going to be in the resort much, then this could be perfect. Note, the shared beach is very small and is shared with a number of other hotels, which could become congested in peak season.

Needless to say, I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: A higher room on Floor 2 or above. The walls are quite thin, so you do not want to have people jumpi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vishaals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited in November 2013 . Very enjoyable stay at this quiet spacious complex.
We were greeted by lovely Lucia Lopez on the desk who signed us in and quickly and courteously gave us all our info.

We stayed 7 nights all inclusive in a spacious ground floor 2 bedroom apartment.

Everything was spotless and we had a pool view balcony with the sun on it most of the day. Ideal for relaxation and sipping a cool drink.

The food in the restaurant was the usual buffet serve yourself common nowadays. Much salad and fish not a lot of meat.

This time of year the climate was 23/24 degrees on a regular occasion. Overcast in the morning but clear and sunny later.

Staff were friendly and polite . We got to know Lucia very well and she was delightful always smiling and warm. An asset to her employer and a pleasure to speak to.

Recommend this area and accommodation for a relaxing sunshine break in the winter.

Location is ideal for walks and there are beaches close at hand.

The Rubicon Marina is right on the doorstep and quite upmarket.

Will consider a return next year.

Room Tip: Pool view suited us to get sun on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john55ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso R, Director de Recepción at Rubimar Suite ApartHotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Mr. John,

Your comments are much appreciated. We look forward to welcome you again. Thank you for the trust you have place on us. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Two couples in the middle of November, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The complex is clean and tidy, with indoor and outdoor pools. Staff extremely friendly and the food was a high standard throughout the week. The rooms are adequate, but being all inclusive we didn't spend much time in them!! We got a wifi router for 35 euros from reception which gave us wifi connection all over the island, a great idea and we used it daily! As I said the food was good and there was always something even for those picky eaters. Would recommend this place for a good value week in the sun!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Williemcbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

went for a week all inclusive to this hotel which my wife and I found great value for money. good selection at mealtimes and good selection of bar drinks. apartment spacious and clean. staff friendly and helpful. would recommend this hotel for a winter break ( might be busy in high season)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso R, Director de Recepción at Rubimar Suite ApartHotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Mr. David,
Your comments are much appreciated. Thank you for the trust you have place on us.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Rubimar is situated right on the Marina which has a very expensive and luxurious feel.The Rubimar is not a 4 star but an ok 3 star. We used the Rubimar as a base, sunbathed on Dorada beach 8 out of our 10 days as we preferred the beach to the pool( 3 euro a sunbed 3 euro a parasol...We did return to the hotel for our luncheach day leaving towels on beds as it was just a 15 mins walk. 5 star hotels along the promenaded walk to beach again giving this area a high end feel. We loved the Marina end of Playa Blanca and would return again to the Rubimar as a base. We paid £32 a night Al/I and quite prepared to eat out if need be, But we enjoyed all our meals although it was a tadge repetitive, The wine was vinegary so stuck to spirits and tonic.The bars and restaurants on the Marina are gorgeous so we enjoyed our evenings overlooking the Marina, seated on plush sofas, people watching with a bottle of wine or jug of sangria.. Entertainment was a guy on his own, tirelessly keeping the kids happy by day, teaching Salsa in the evening for the adults. He was so friendly and worked so hard I guess in peak season there would be more ?.. There is a wild rugged beach Papagao ( With Nudes ) a long walk 45 mins the past Marina but no sunbeds or parasols so was very hot ! We preferred Dorada beach the shops and bars are past this beach and typical sea side feel. Looking forward to another visit to Playa Blanca was total chill !

Room Tip: rooms over pool and tennis court have the evening sun set..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenwestbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso R, Director de Recepción at Rubimar Suite ApartHotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Karen,
We appreciate your comments. Thank you for the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Lovely pool and bar area great for children and couples accomadetes for all ages great entertainment fun and great for the kids , nice rooms friendly and helpful staff . We made full use of the outdoor and indoor heated pool , our 3 year old daughter loved the play areas next to the pool and the jacuzzi , great location , however we were dissapointed with the food would have liked more variety we ate out quite a few nights even as all inclusive becsuse of this and ice creams were only available at certain times :( not good if your child likes ice cream as much as mine especially on holiday and in very warm weather but I would stay there again :) had a lovely week

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rhiannnon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso R, Director de Recepción at Rubimar Suite ApartHotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Your comments & remarks are much appreciated, We will keep on working to improve our services. We look forward to welcome you again.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#31 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
1.7 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pueblo Marinero
Pueblo Marinero
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,607 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubimar Suite ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubimar Suite ApartHotel

Property: Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Address: C/ La Cocinilla 2-4, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rubimar Suite ApartHotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rubimar Suite ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Rubimar Playa Blanca
Aparthotel Rubimar Hotel Playa Blanca
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing