We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rubimar Suite ApartHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Plymouth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

At short notice we booked a break in Lanzarote, we wanted to do our own thing so we wanted Self Catering, we did not want All Inclusive which a great many of the establishments provide in Lanzarote. We love walking and the Rubimar was excellently positioned by the marina. The apartments were spotless, the staff were very helpful and as others have said Alfonso on reception went out of his way to assist you. We did not use the amenities in the complex as we were always out (the weather was good) and we found a lovely restaurant (Los Hervideros) in Playa Blanca away from the front of the resort (25 minute easy walk). All I can really say is if you want very clean and friendly accomodation you will not beat the Rubimar. Next week they are launching their new website where you can book directly with them. We book through Travel Republic, we also booked the Resort Transfer with Travel Republic (just over £4 each each way) and that worked well. For a short break I will be going again.
There were lots of facilities, including an indoor pool, gym and tennis which is all free to use.

Room Tip: We asked for room on high floor with balcony overlooking pool, we were given room 215, an excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GaryPlym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    441
    268
    126
    88
See reviews for
409
511
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just back after one week in Rubimar Apartments,and it was a very plesant experience. Staff were wonderful,especially reception staff-Alfonso always went that extra mile,outside the call of duty.
Our apartment was a great size,very clean and serviced on 6 days of the 7.Facilites were excellent,pool area very fresh and clean.I didn`t eat in the dining room,so I cannot comment on the food

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWOMARYS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed in RUbimar hotel, very friendly staff, very clean rooms, great complex all facilities. Only slight problem beds a little hard. Very close to all restaurants, lovely walks, big spacious. My husband my sister and I stayed here. Alfanso at reception was very accommodating..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

As usual, we looked at reviews of our chosen hotel after we had booked it and were a little troubled by some of the negative comments we found but now, having spent a week there I can say the we feel that those comments were unfounded.

The complex was great and we loved the outdoor pool with its central jacuzzi and indoor heated pool was really nice. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. We were staying Half Board and the food was varied and plentiful. And whilst not gourmet quisine, it was on a par with other hotels we have stayed in. We ate our fill every day.

Rubimar is situated very close to the nearby Marina which offers a variety of waterside restaurants and cocktail bars to suit most tastes.

We are already planning to go back to the Rubimar next year but intend to stay for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel we were a little concerned about the food.

We arrived and were pleasantly greeted. Wandering around to the room the first impression was good. It wasn't long till the evening meal so we prepared ourselves. We arrived to eat at 7pm just after opening. The food looked good and certainly tasted fine, really struggled to find anything to complain about. Breakfast was the same.

The hotel has lots of facilities, a large outdoor pool with jacuzzi, heated indoor pool, gym, tennis court and more. It was close to some shops and restaurants & bars.

For the price I could not fault the hotel or the food. I would suggest getting to the restaurant close to opening as the food is freshest then. The only thing I would say is that the breakfast sausages were tasteless, even the wild cats wouldn't eat them!

I'd certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: South side rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AtlanticScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Rubimar apartments in Playa Blanca. When booking I requested an apartment on the 2nd floor with a pool view which was exactly what I got. The apartment was clean, spacious and had plenty of storage. There were flat screen TV's in the bedroom and kitchen/lounge area, a deposit of ten euro was required for the remotes along with the remote for air conditioning. Even though it was October the air conditioning was used on numerous occasions particularly at night. The balcony overlooked the pool area and got the sun from lunchtime onwards.

The pool area had plenty of sun loungers with no need to reserve along with four hammock/loungers. A life guard was on duty all day. There was a very well equipped gym along with an indoor pool. I cannot comment on the food as we stayed on a self catering basis, however the bar area was always very quiet with very little atmosphere. Tennis racquets can be hired for a deposit from reception. The reception staff were very polite and arranged bike hire for us, with the bikes delivered to the hotel and collected afterwards.

The apartments are ideally located in the rubicon marina which has a good selection of shops and restaurants. There are a choice of two supermarkets close by which are reasonably priced. It is a 20min walk into Playa Blanca itself along a pedestrianised area by the sea front.

Previous reviewers have commented on how this hotel/apartments can be rated 4 star. I would guess that these 'stars' are awarded on the facilities the hotel has and with an indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, gymnasium, air conditioning, bar and restaurant you can see why it has four stars. I personally believe that you often get what you pay for and these apartments are excellent value for money. I would definitely stay at these apartments self catering again. They deserve a higher ranking than 31 out of 39 hotels in Playa Blanca.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marge1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Ok first the positives - of which we've pleased to report there are many.......

Aparthotel Rubimar is in a perfect position, right by the fabulous Marina, and about 20 minutes stroll to the main resort. (or 3e in a taxi if your a bit tired!) Overall its a good hotel - lovely sized & spacious rooms, plenty of wardrobe space, good kitchen area with all the basics & a private Balcony. Friendly reception staff, a good range of facilities - indoor the outdoor pools, gym etc etc.

We stayed on a B&B basis for 13 nights - breakfast was fine, plenty of choice, ranging from traditonal English to Continental. I note several negative reviews on this site in relation to the 'All inclusive' food; as we were B&B only, we really can't comment, but would say that there are countless good restaurants in Playa Blanca to suit all tastes & budgets. As this review is about the hotel itself, please see our seperate reviews of some bars & restaurants that we found.

The outdoor pool was a little chilly, but very clean and all very well maintained. Sunbeds & parasols were plentiful.

We didn't use the gym or the indoor pool, but it certainly all looked pretty good....

Ok, and now the negatives......

On arrival our room was spotless. However, although it was serviced most days, with beds made, towels changed etc, on closer examination the daily cleaning could - and should - have been a little more thorough in certain areas - for example, the floors were not washed once in the whole two weeks. The biggest issue we had was when we returned from a great evening out midway thru our holiday to find a massive cockroach in the bathroom. The next morning we reported the issue to Reception who appreciated our concerns and stated the issue would be looked into asap, and asked us come back later that day for a progess report. However, when we did the recepionist on duty at that time could not tell us what - if anything - had been done. We did spot one further 'baby' cockroach in our bathroom a few days later, but nothing else.

We only used the hotel bar a couple of times – unfortunately we found the service somewhat hit & miss, resulting in us being totally ignored on one visit, despite patiently queuing at the bar; in the end we walked down the road to another bar that actually wanted our custom. A strange situation where cash paying customers are ignored in favour of the 'All inclusive' guests, as you'd of thought they would have welcomed the extra income.

On the basis of the two slight negatives as mentioned above, we have scored this hotel a respectable 4/5; with a little more effort on actual cleaning (ie washing floors etc rather than just making the apartment look nice), and a little more focus from certain staff members on customer service, it could have easily have scored a five.

We will almost certainly return to Playa Blanca, and despite the comments above, would consider staying at the Rubimar again in the future

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WestSussexJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.2 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
1.8 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pueblo Marinero
Pueblo Marinero
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubimar Suite ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubimar Suite ApartHotel

Property: Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Address: C/ La Cocinilla 2-4, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rubimar Suite ApartHotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rubimar Suite ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Rubimar Playa Blanca
Aparthotel Rubimar Hotel Playa Blanca
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing