We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with some flaws but overall good”
Review of Caybeach Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caybeach Sun
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just had 8 days here on self-catering basis. We had an excellent room (856 overlooking the pool with sun all day). here are the good and not so good:

GOOD
Nicely laid out with 3 pools, one of which is heated for year-round use).
Pretty quiet, at least at this time of the year.
Mostly friendly staff (reception so-so but the cleaners were lovely and so were the ladies in the shop).
Good shop on site for all basic needs, Freshly baked bread and croissants in the morning for breakfast on the balcony.
Clean and tidy apartment/room with nice living area and kitchen counter area. Kitchen had coffee machine and hotplates for cooking, plus all equipment you need.
Adequate but shabby bathroom but no toiletries. Reasonable towels which were changed regularly.
Lovely balcony overlooking the pool.
Excellent location - just a short walk to the promenade, shops and restaurants. Not far to walk to the marina in the other direction which is really nicely laid out with good restaurants.

NO SO GOOD
Although the room was cheap everything else was extra; 6€ a day for wifi (outrageous - we didn't bother as there are wifi cafes in town), 3€ for TV (except for 1 Canary channel), 3€ for air-con (didn't need it), 1.80€ a day to use a safe, 15€ deposit for a pool towel plus charges for anything else you want to use. We avoided all these by not using anything except the pool which thankfully was free!
We would never have considered all inclusive as everything is so cheap and much more interesting to eat out. You can buy beer, wine and soft drinks cheaply in the shop and drink at poolside or on balcony. The food provided in the restaurant looked pretty functional and the restaurant is underground and unattractive.
There were plenty of sun loungers by the pool but some of them were a bit old and broken. Despite a "rule" not to reserve sunbeds by the pool people still did this in the early morning in prime spots and then didn't appear for hours. Why doesn't the pool attendant remove them (the towels I mean not the people!)
The beds were OK but they had nasty plastic mattress covers - horrible!
There is a noisy generator by the restaurant which affected us at night in room 856 but would have been far worse for rooms in the 860s.

TIPS
Playa Blanca has a very nice centre and marina but accommodation is very sprawled out and some of it looks pretty desolate so if considering a different hotel check the map. There's a bus which runs around but we didn't use it as we had a car.

The tide comes up quite high at the town beaches so you probably need to rent a sunbed to avoid sitting on wet sand. But we always went to Papagayo beaches. You can easily get to this fabulous area by going to the very edge of Playa Blanca (we parked next to the Sandos Hotel but you can get bus/taxi) then walk for 15 minutes over the cliff and drop down to fantastic huge sandy beaches. The furthest one has a nice restaurant, but generally we stayed on the first one (Playa Mujeres) where there is a drinks van which has the best mojitos in town for 4.50€! (and beer for 2€). We would go back to Playa Blanca just to be on this beach again - never mind the hotel!

The restaurants are good value and similarly priced everywhere. But we started to find them all a bit samey (same menus, nothing desperately exciting). The waiters often pander to the tourist crowd with jokes and free sickly drinks. To eat better you have to pay a little more and go later than the average tourist (ie after 9pm). There is some excellent fresh fish to be found.

We loved the interior of the island and visited the Manrique house. Tequise was a nice place to visit and the volcano area is stunning.

We would return to Playa Blanca, and probably to the Cay Beach Sun as long as we could choose the right room, and always on a self-catering basis.

Room Tip: Rooms above reception overlooking the pool (853-863) have large sunny balconies but some are over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JMR243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Returned home last night (6th Feb 2014) after a week stay. Self catering. Myself, my wife and our 4 year old son. Package holiday with Thomsons.

We stayed in room 410. It was awful. Disgusting in all honesty. The room was basic - as expected, but far from clean which is not what we expected from a Thomson Holiday. The bath was stained and finishings rusty. There was mould, dirt and old hair on the bath handle. Some of the tiles were cracked and in general the whole bathroom looked old and in desperate need of a deep clean. There was a hair dryer mounted on the tiles with exposed wiring (see pic gallery) and an afterthought of polyfiller thrown at it. Extremely unsafe in a wet environment. The bedroom was basic but fairly clean, although it did smell of damp. When you put clothes in the wardrobe they smelt damp when you put them on. The real let down was no heating so three blankets at night to keep warm. The living room was a decent size but basic again. The electric board had no cover on it. There was a very strange looking texture to the corner of the room which on closer look was just some bad replastering. We found out on the Sunday, when it rained, why this was. As when it rained, water dripped through the ceiling, and onto the light switch before collecting in a puddle in the corner. The maintenance man was out within 15 minutes with a towel and said he would check on the upper balcony. Then he disappeared. This was at 15:00. At 19:45 we still had heard nothing from the staff and asked again on the outcome (rain had stopped but was starting again and water again dripping). After half an hour wait, very begrudgingly we were given a new room. No apology and no help whatsoever to move our belongings. The new room again was very basic but at least dry and cleaner than the last. (Room 701). When in the new room we noticed a different maid would service it. Credit where credit is due, she was very thorough and her colleagues could learn from her.

The hotel boasts several pool areas and rightly so, however, we were duped into this package as the water play area with the flumes/chutes look fantastic. Our son didn't stop talking about them on the run up to the holiday. Disappointing then that the first 3 days they were not open, even after asking every day and being told they'd be opened at a certain time. The fourth day the eventually turned them on after asking and it was clear why the didn't have them on before. The water was Baltic! No adult never mind a kid would use them! If that had of been explained at the start it would've been a lot easier to understand and tell the wee boy. There is a very small heated pool for the infants which was superb but I think May be very crowded on busier times.

The gym is basic but well furnished. There is a clear set of rules to adhere to during use (usual gym common sense), one of which is wipe all equipment after use. There is no wipes or cleaner provided however and general thoughts were to use your towel, if you'd brought one?!?! I didn't see any staff at all in the gym area during my stay.

On the morning after we arrived there was a sewage problem at the aforementioned infant pool. The drains on the main walkway and around the pool area and pool bar were back filling and sewage puddles were all around. You can imagine the smell. I seen them working on them around 9am and seem to work on them solid til 5:30 pm. Accidents happen and I looked at this as a problem had occurred and they'd worked hard to fix it. A day lost there is just one of those things that can't be helped. However, I then looked on here and the exact same problem happened the month previous!! Surely sewage is a high priority case, never mind the fact it's at a kids pool!!!!

You pay extra for nearly every service at CayBeachSun. It works out very expensive when you get there. The staff leave a lot to be desired. Some very nice, some very rude. It's pot luck.

To summarise, I won't be back at this resort again. I'd actively seek accommodation elsewhere if you've already booked. Playa Blanca is lovely. This place is the problem, not the town. Look at the dates on the pictures shown here. Some are as long ago as 2007!!! A lot has changed since then.

Stayed: February 2014
6  Thank Notworthasook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I've just come back from spending 3 nights and four days all inclusive here. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with its own veranda. It was our anniversary and the hotel were kind enough to accommodate us for that! We were pleasantly surprised.

I picked it because it seemed extremely good value for money, and I was right! My boyfriend was absolutely astounded by it. As someone who isn't necessarily too keen on booking holidays he was over the moon about the place. It was clean, there were several options for the food, and the hotel's cat was adorable too (my boyfriend fell in love with the cat!). I had a wonderful time, and would gladly tell anyone to go there.

I'm marking it down a point as there were only small little niggly bits that bothered me-

*The TV was quite old and crackly. Didn't bother us too much as we don't go on holiday to watch TV! But it would have been nice for a snuggle in the evenings.

* You can't take food out of the dining hall. Which was a shame- considering it's all inclusive, I would have loved to have taken dinner back to the room for a more intimate supper. I really wanted to take a beer back to the room after dinner, but my boyfriend said we might get told off :/

*More alcoholic drink options would be nice. Wine and beer was included, but I think there was a paying bar for spirits, separate from the dining hall. We never used it though, as bottles of drinks on the island is ridiculously cheap! We paid 11 euros / £10.80 for a bottle of Jagermeister which would have cost me a good £20+ back home. So we weren't too fussed at all!

*Dessert was nice, but strange. Lots of cake, and blancmange? I think it was blancmange. It was like, angel delight with a more solid, gelatin form. Was really tasty, but as a 22 year old, seems like a dessert my parents would remember from the early 80s. Would have been nice to see some classic puds- be it canarian or british.


All in all, if you're strapped for cash and want the best of the best value for money hotels, go here. You'll be so happy you did!

Tips-
You will not find calamari in Puerto del Carmen.
You will have a hard time finding Spanish food in Puerto Del Carmen.
You will not have a hard time finding an Irish pub in PDC.
Playa Blanca has beautiful tapas.
Serrano Jamon is the most delicious thing you'll eat out there.
Galacian baby squid is fishier than fish
HiperDino Express is a really good supermarket and there's quite a few on the Island
Lanzarote has the strangest/eeriest/most barren looking landscape you'll ever see. Ever.
Lanzarote is reallllly windy. Make sure you don't bring a big floppy hat.
The beaches are nice

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jlm_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just returned from a week's stay here (2 - 9 January) on an All Inclusive holiday booked with Jet2 Holidays. Had a great week, the weather was glorious and what better way to start the New Year?!

The apartments were just as we expected for the price we paid. They were a little dated, but exceptionally clean and very comfortable. We were in room 605, on the ground floor in the corner overlooking the road (and with a bit of a sea view - over towards the port). Nice and private as it was elevated from the road level, but wasn't overlooking the pool. This might not suit everyone, but we were pleased with it. We also got sun on the balcony from late morning until sunset which was good. The shower deserves a special mention - so powerful, lovely!! Always hot too.

We were pleasantly surprised with the food, especially after reading some of the reviews on here. I've had worse, and I've had better. Choice was a little limited, but if you aren't a fussy meat and/or fish eater you could always put a meal together and it was always tasty. There was little/no choice for vegetarians though, apart from the salad bar and some vegetables. The wine was pleasant enough. Again, we have had better and much much worse elsewhere. There was red, rose and white on tap. We tried both the red and the rose - both were ok. The restaurant was very quiet at most mealtimes, apart from breakfast which was a little busier.

Entertainment was dire. There was either nothing on, or the same thing on (we saw a parrot show twice and were only there one week). Maybe it's better in high season? It was very quiet on an evening. Not a problem for us, but it might not suit everyone. The bar/club was tastefully decorated, and very comfy.

Staff generally did seem to be a bit grumpy. Not sure if something was going on but we witnessed two arguments while we were there. If only we understood what all the fuss was about - it seemed quite heated! Having said that, this didn't spoil the holiday it was the best part of the evening ;)

Playa Blanca is lovely and is definitely somewhere I will visit again. If the same apartments came up cheap I'd stay there again, but I wouldn't go out of my way to book them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo-l0ves-holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Arrived at the Hotel about 1pm, they checked the room was clean and presentable and we were in within 10 minutes. Room was big and clean so no complaints there. We had a lovely clean bathroom and the Shower was great - hot water no matter what time of the day.
The hotel has 3 big pools, loads of sun beds a nice gym and indoor pool which was great. We used all the facilities.
The beach is about a ten/15 minute walk depending on how quickly you walk, was a little further that expected but overall the location is good but expect a little walk to the bars and restaurants. The Rubicon Marina is a must so make sure you get down there for a meal. ( the ice house is also good and fairly priced. )
The cleaners come a little early some times we had them knock about 9am a couple of days and we were still in bed so that could do with being a little later but i guess atleast then clean!
We met a few other families and couples out there who said the all inclusive was good and recommended us to try it when we return, they said they had good selection of food and the ribs and chips are apparently very tasty!
The man on reception was helpful on arrival but looked a bit depressed everyother time we saw him, and when we checked out he took our card and that was it - no "thank you" or "did you have a nice stay" which I would have expected but no big deal!
Over all a 4/5 from us and we would return again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linford26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed 26th /4th Jan Booked with Cosmos (Won't use again)Booked Pool view got room right out the back (302) had brick wall for a view room but it was very clean!! asked if we could move told they were fully booked told we could move to (501) view of just a palm tree just as bad so we stayed put said to blond woman on reception (woman with arm in a bandage) we were offered room 501 but we won't take it as we don't want to keep moving when a pool view room comes available she snapped back saying we haven't got time to ask cleaners to keep cleaning rooms out they are too busy(snotty cow) If they had gone out of there way in first place we would have been happy well we would not have been happy as the food was the worst we have ever had For breakfast we had undercooked fried eggs /dried up scrambled eggs /cold baked beans etc

Most the food in evening was cold & same old same old so we ate out a lot at our expense

We thought we would have a snack lunchtime i ordered a cheese toastie my husband a burger we ordered them at approx 12.15 a miserable guy took our order he took so long doing our order when he presented it to us it was 12.32 he tapped his watch to show us we were 2 minutes too late to not pay (snacks at poolside bar finished at 12.30) he said you must pay my husband said we are all inclusive i looked at my sandwich it had ham in it i would not have eaten it anyway ( i am vegetarian ) when misery realised we were not going to pay he snatched food up & threw them in the bin !!Nice touch !!He was always miserable to everyone not just to us

During our stay we witnessed raw sewage coming up from under where the pool table was near the pool bar yuck !!!




Needless to say we would never return to this hotel we always go away 4 times a year including Christmas but have never had such bad food & miserable staff (Chap in main bar with glasses was very nice )as were 2/3 waiters & chap on Reception was very pleasant

Room Tip: make sure you do not get rooms 310/302 out the back but very quiet at night & room was very clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank isabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

what a great week we had, we were a group of 6 aged between 12 and 73. lovely hotel, very clean and well kept. We didn't use the restaurant as we were self catering, the shop is very cheap for food and drink...... we ate at a lovely bar/ café bar called Ice House I would highly recommend it, Great food, drinks and family run they will give you a very warm welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,828 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Sun

Address: C/ Las Brenas n 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $89 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caybeach Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Hotel Playa Blanca
Caybeach Sun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing