We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday will be returning ...”
Review of Caybeach Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caybeach Sun
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Holiday will be returning ...”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Arrived at the Hotel about 1pm, they checked the room was clean and presentable and we were in within 10 minutes. Room was big and clean so no complaints there. We had a lovely clean bathroom and the Shower was great - hot water no matter what time of the day.
The hotel has 3 big pools, loads of sun beds a nice gym and indoor pool which was great. We used all the facilities.
The beach is about a ten/15 minute walk depending on how quickly you walk, was a little further that expected but overall the location is good but expect a little walk to the bars and restaurants. The Rubicon Marina is a must so make sure you get down there for a meal. ( the ice house is also good and fairly priced. )
The cleaners come a little early some times we had them knock about 9am a couple of days and we were still in bed so that could do with being a little later but i guess atleast then clean!
We met a few other families and couples out there who said the all inclusive was good and recommended us to try it when we return, they said they had good selection of food and the ribs and chips are apparently very tasty!
The man on reception was helpful on arrival but looked a bit depressed everyother time we saw him, and when we checked out he took our card and that was it - no "thank you" or "did you have a nice stay" which I would have expected but no big deal!
Over all a 4/5 from us and we would return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linford26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    566
    302
    111
    91
See reviews for
558
545
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed 26th /4th Jan Booked with Cosmos (Won't use again)Booked Pool view got room right out the back (302) had brick wall for a view room but it was very clean!! asked if we could move told they were fully booked told we could move to (501) view of just a palm tree just as bad so we stayed put said to blond woman on reception (woman with arm in a bandage) we were offered room 501 but we won't take it as we don't want to keep moving when a pool view room comes available she snapped back saying we haven't got time to ask cleaners to keep cleaning rooms out they are too busy(snotty cow) If they had gone out of there way in first place we would have been happy well we would not have been happy as the food was the worst we have ever had For breakfast we had undercooked fried eggs /dried up scrambled eggs /cold baked beans etc

Most the food in evening was cold & same old same old so we ate out a lot at our expense

We thought we would have a snack lunchtime i ordered a cheese toastie my husband a burger we ordered them at approx 12.15 a miserable guy took our order he took so long doing our order when he presented it to us it was 12.32 he tapped his watch to show us we were 2 minutes too late to not pay (snacks at poolside bar finished at 12.30) he said you must pay my husband said we are all inclusive i looked at my sandwich it had ham in it i would not have eaten it anyway ( i am vegetarian ) when misery realised we were not going to pay he snatched food up & threw them in the bin !!Nice touch !!He was always miserable to everyone not just to us

During our stay we witnessed raw sewage coming up from under where the pool table was near the pool bar yuck !!!




Needless to say we would never return to this hotel we always go away 4 times a year including Christmas but have never had such bad food & miserable staff (Chap in main bar with glasses was very nice )as were 2/3 waiters & chap on Reception was very pleasant

Room Tip: make sure you do not get rooms 310/302 out the back but very quiet at night & room was very clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank isabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Willerby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

what a great week we had, we were a group of 6 aged between 12 and 73. lovely hotel, very clean and well kept. We didn't use the restaurant as we were self catering, the shop is very cheap for food and drink...... we ate at a lovely bar/ café bar called Ice House I would highly recommend it, Great food, drinks and family run they will give you a very warm welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have stayed at the Cay Sun Beach apartments four times in four years. Never done that anywhere else.
I is just so comfortable. The location is great being less than 10 mins walk from beach, shops and restaurants. The apartments are quite simple but adequate for a couple sharing. We were able to cook lovely fish meals in particular as fresh fish was always available at the local fish market. The rooms are kept spotless. The staff are most accommodating e.g. letting us move to the sunny apartment we requested when it became available.
The complex has a lovely feeling of space and even when full, as it was this time. it doesn't feel crowded.
We go self catering preferring to cook ourselves or eat out at very good restaurants nearby. Cay Beach do offer All Inclusive and while the food is not bad we were not tempted to eat there other than occasionally.
For a comfortable 'bolt hole' to escape the English winter for a while these apartments are excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueandMalcolmJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay 26th dec -2nd Jan and having read some reviews i was fearing the worse, but i was pleasantly surprised , My wife and i found it to be a lovely hotel for a 3star, we were b&b and the breakfast was lovely, the usual mix of eggs,bacon ,mushrooms ect (tho not sure why chips are out for breakfast) also cold meats and cheese ect.....could not fault it. we found the staff friendly, we loved the indoor pool with jaccuzi, sauna , turkish bath (which was 3euros per person per hour) but after the 1st time we just paid for 1 as other people were using it as you cant stand it for a whole hour..our room was 304 which was close to the indoor pool and over the far end of the complex. tho i think a room with a pool view would be better but it didnt bother us. Its about a 10 minute stroll to the bar/restaurants ect we never tried the hotel entertainment so cant comment on it.. all in all we really enjoyed our stay and wouldnt hesitate in staying there again

Room Tip: we would have prefered a higher floor room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Calvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife & I booked Cay Beach Sun on b&b basis.
Nice size apartment type room overlooking pool area.
The room was clean with kitchen facilities (microwave,hob,kettle,coffee maker,toaster etc.)
Pool areas were of good size with plenty of sunbeds.
The big problem was the the food.
Thank goodness we were only B&B.
The hot breakfast offerings consisted of tray upon tray of undercooked fried eggs, cold baked beans, overcooked hard Spanish type bacon, varies boiled sausages (depending on day), cold scrambled egg, tinned carrots, tinned green beans, garlic mushrooms & garlic topped tomatoes. The toast was ok if you could wait 15 mins for it to toast on the electric grill type toasters provided.
We would have no problem recommending this aparthotel on Self-Catering format, but avoid the food. It was some of the worse we have come across.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulSan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Booked with Cosmos, slow transfer dropping random people in random places after a flight delay the last thing you need is another 1 and half hours sat on a coach. Arrived at 10pm much to the surprise of the guy on reception he looked rather confused that we was checking in. Besides that check in was smooth hired a safe 9 euro deposit and a charge of 1.80 a day. Was Given room 751 far corner of the complex and very quiet nobody around our side of the complex. Large balcony with a table 2 chairs and a clothes drier a sun trap from around midday until sunset, views of the mountains and the sea port and harbour. Room was spacious usual 2 ring hob microwave fridge kettle toaster electric juicer and coffee machine, plenty of cutlery and plates etc, beds a little hard but good sleep quality, maids wiped bathroom and made bed 5 days out of 7 but never swept or dusted and this was evident if you looked under beds table etc with a lot of lying fluff hair dust that has built up. More sunbeds than i've ever seen at any hotel never needed to reserve and always plenty of space around the main 2 pools which we're cold but still braved it, little water park kept a few kids entertained along with a few adults :).
Pool side bar was good value for money chips 1.50 huge plate burger hot dogs the usual pool side snacks. Stayed SC so can't comment on the restaurant although there was a sign up saying they are ugry busy ( whatever ugry means) so may have to come back at alternative time. Little shop on site and not the usual rip off very reasonable prices compared to spar dino etc and everything you need even down to fresh baked baguettes. Cheap english drinks strongbow and the likes 99c a bottle. Wi fi available 6 euro 1 day 12 for 3 and 18 for 7 days pretty decent when it was working. The entertainment was indeed extremely poor run by a single person i say person as i don't know if it was male or female we attempted the downstairs bar entertainment room where there was supposed to be live music ha no it was a 5 year old screaming into a microphone so as most people we left. The Bar closes at 11 no matter what. 10 min leisurely stroll down to the main strip bars strip clubs( couldn't go Mrs was with me :) ) Plenty of food places and shops although every one sold the same at the same price. Went to the marina Rubicon and ate at Aphrodite little Italy very nice place to dine with a live saxophonist the night we was in. The market on weds and sat at the marina again is very samey but ok. Hire a car very easy to drive the whole island and visit different places of interest. Playa Blanca beach is nice and seems to be a suntrap compared to rest of the resort where it can be a little windy. Overall a good holiday but prob won't be back there again.
Also an indoor pool and small gym for 18 and over but if a 14 yr old pays adult prices they should benefit also but isn't allowed.
Tennis court with goal posts half way inside the 1 half so cant tennis at same time as football.

Room Tip: Indoor pool fitness centre are for adults only but if you have to pay a adults price for a 14 yr old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank studley73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,766 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pueblo Marinero
Pueblo Marinero
#10 of 37 in Playa Blanca
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Sun

Property: Caybeach Sun
Address: C/ Las Brenas n 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caybeach Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Hotel Playa Blanca
Caybeach Sun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing