We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family holiday”
Review of Caybeach Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caybeach Sun
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in number 503, this was just by the slides. Accommodation was of high standard and unlike many other venues that advertise as self catering, it really was. The kitchen was very well equipped including a microwave, grill and oven, also a real granite work surface.
The pools and slides were great for the kids and there was no issues regarding sunbeds as there were enough for everyone and reserving with towels was not allowed. All staff were excellent. Of note were the reception staff who could not have been more welcoming or helpful and Alexandrou the entertainment man who worked really hard to provide the extra activities for our holiday. Our children both loved him and the activities he ran from killer darts to cookie making.
On site was an excellent mini market, this was not only well stocked but very competitively priced, you could also get freshly baked bread every day, which was a great bonus.
The complex was only a short walk from the excellent clean golden beach, and the wide range of restaurants on the sea front.
We could not recommend this hotel more highly, it fitted the bill for our family perfectly, and we would love to return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnNorth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    554
    290
    108
    85
See reviews for
534
534
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here at Easter with a 6 year old and 3 year old. When we first arrived she did say we weren't staying there but I emailed before coming out to say I have read comment about being moved and was not going anywhere else, so I soon clarified that one but not very friendly welcome.
The apartment was very clean and had what you needed for a comfortable stay, although beds where as hard as a rock.
Just a short walk to the beach and the town and about 15 min to marina so good location for the price.
The hotel is a little bit tiered in places with a few cracked patio slabs etc
Swimming pools are very cold also the pirate ship for kids was not heated and was freezing so I was a bit upset as that's the reason why I chose this as I kids would of loved it but they went in one day and that was it there were no kids plying in there.
The entertainment seemed non existent, I was going to send the kids to kids club but when I could not understand what they were saying and they could not also under stand me I decided not to risk it.
The food at pool bar is cheap enough 1.50 for chips, and the supermarket is really good and a lot cheaper than those in the town.
We had a lovely holiday, and go to the Italian job for a meal wonderful food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lanzarotte is not the greatest place to go to if you are looking for wonderful things to see and do. There are of course the visits to the Volcano, Camel Rides, Parrot Shows, Eagle Shows, Cesar Manique exhibitio0ns etc.....but not the prettiest island in the world. But you will probably have checked that out before deciding.

We knew that and so just wanted a nice safe environment to which to take our Grandson. Playa Blanca is just that. The Hotel was excellent - I will come to that in a minute. But the beach at Playa Blanca is brilliant - safe, sandy and not too expensive to rent your sunlounger/shade (and you will need a shade because it can get very hot without you knowing it in the sea breeze). The water sports are kept to a minimum so you do not have the ghastly smell and taste of diesel in your way all day as can happen elsewhere. The restaurants are nicely placed along the promenade between the Marina (this is where the market is on Weds and Sats) and the Harbour (get a boat to the the nearby islands from here).

So - the Hotel - we stayed at the Cay Beach Sun Aparthotel. It is a 3 star so expect that when you stay there. Having said that I would say it is a bit better than a standard 3 Star. The Receptionists are excellent (I had seen some previous comments so was a bit worried)- always willing to help and give advice or info. We booked a couple of trips via them and had a couple of very minor problems sorted by them.

The rooms are typical Canarian style - we had Room 356 at the far end of the complex looking towards the sea. It got sun on the very large balcony from first thing in the morning to last thing at night. It was a pleasure to sit out with the wine or sangria and read in the evenings after a long day with the grandson. Large double bed and the sofa bed was plenty large enough for an adult to sleep in. Decor is basic and you do get all plates, cutlery, cups and glasses even if All Inclusive, along with fridge, microwave, cooker. Bathroom was functional but the shower could have been a bit better - handheld attachment to the taps, connecting to the wall - it worked though

Recommend uasing the safe which is easy to use and rent. Also recommend hiring the Hotel towels for round the pool - 15 Euros each returnable at end of holiday. Television needs to be paid for if you want all channels - but who's on holiday to watch TV?

The pool area is excellent - although the pools themselves (large, medium,, kiddies and slide pool) can be a bit cool to begin with. If going All Inclusive you have drinks on self service taps all day, except tea and coffee. The Restaurant is again fine if unspectacular. Food can get a bit samey but that is the same for any All Inclusive hotel. The service in the restaurant was excellent and again the drinks inc beer and wine on self service taps.

Evening entertainment was a bit sparse within the complex, but there is a ballroom where they hold their functions - only ranging from a bird show, sangria making, quiz, Kids Disco etc. The chap doing the animation is fine and friendly but they could do so much more. I suspect however they do not because the majority of people on the complex are self catering and thus go out in the evenings.

There is a shop in the Hotel and the prices seemed to be very good for the few things I bought.

I would recommend this Hotel being just a few minutes (15?) walk down one road and then alleyway by side of another hotel to the centre of the beach area.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing towards the pool, or alternatively those on the outside of the building facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraemeMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were in Cay Beach for 9 nights and our goal was to get as lazy as possible. And for that purpose the hotel met our expectations. The hotel buildings are low and dispersed, with spacious rooms. The restaurant provided tasty and varied food. Most of the guests were English, German and Polish, the animation team were not too disturbing and noisy. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk apart from the coast, which offers nice beach and a lot of restaurants and shops.
We highly reccomend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piotr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went as a couple, with friends in another apartment, on a self catering basis with Monarch. Other more expensive operators such as Thomson also use this hotel. We did not try the food at the hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. It was a five minute stroll to a road with several good restaurants and shops and a further two minutes to the beach. There are several large pools at the hotel, with a 2 for 1 on drinks 12.30 to 1.00 lunchtime at the pool bar.
Service at receptionwas excellent and all with a friendly attitude - when the fridge stopped working they replaced it immediately, and when I left my coat in the room on the last day they sorted it all out and got it back for me.
As a tip, if you transfer from the airport by taxi make sure you tell the driver it's the Calle Las Brenas one not the Papagayo one (there are 2 Cay Beach Hotels in Playa Blanca).
Next time we go to Lanzarote this is the first place we will look for availability.

Room Tip: Our room no 555 was on the first floor south side and was very quiet with a sea view and actually ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you want a low cost holiday in the sun, comfortable apartments, ideal for families of all ages, things for the kids to do, good selection of resturants, bars, shops, beach, funfair rides, splash park, more shopping... all within walking distance of the complex this could be the holiday for you!

We are definaltely going back!

We booked to stay at the Cay beach sun hotel a month before we went in the February half term 2013. We went with the grandparents so we booked 2 rooms (7 of us) and sent an email to the resort to request both rooms to be close together. To our delight upon arrival we found we had inter-conncecting appartments. As we have 3 young children this workded well as so many hotels don't accomodate larger families. WIth the 2 rooms we had a huge habitable space.

We chose this complex because we liked the look of the childrens splash park and pools and the fact that it also had an indor pool (if the weather was too cold for the children to go in the outdoor pools in February). We wanted a lively resort with things for the children to do as well as a good selection of restuarants and shops for us adults! (which we could walk to, avoiding costly car hire fees).

We got it all! The complex was fairly central from either the Marina or the resort centre, easy to walk, good paths - although took a minimum of 20 minutes. (We had young children in pushchairs).

The marina was lovely and very different at night (much more classy) with designer shops and more expensive restaurants and it had a small funfair for the kids and bunjee trampolines. The resort centre had so many shops in addition to the usual bucket/spade & postcard shops near the beach which made very enjoyable holiday shopping for perfumes, shoes and clothes, which was a blessing when the football was on one day!

The appartment itself was basic, but we found it very comfortable and clean with everything we needed. Plenty of hot water. clean towels and never a cold shower!

The complex was well maintained, lots of staff and very clean. There were several pools and we found the toddler spalsh pool a bonus! (It was like a hot bath and it had a selection of toys for the liitle ones to play with in it). The water slides were great fun and would suite children more 8+ or confident swimmers but there was an area for younger children with smaller slides. The water was quite cold though, but after 2 or 3 slides it was fine!

Snack bar was always open and good value for money (or free if all inclusive).

We did not go "all inclusive" because we prefer the choice and did not find eating out that expensive and there was so much choice! You have the option to buy "All inclusive" meals when you are there (Large restaurant, food ok but wine watered down and only beer or soft fizzy drinks as an alternative)

We had an excellent last minute family holiday away from the cold UK and can't wait to go back next year!

Only negative was that the indoor pool was adults only (and cold) but didn't matter because of the toddler splash pool which was warm like a hot tub. Out door hot tub and indoor steam room were out of action during our stay though.

Thanks Cay beach - we had an excellent holiday!!!!!

Room Tip: There wasn't any loud music on the complex when we stayed and pools closed ealy evening so anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 15JLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I cant really comment on this hotel, as we never got to stay here, we arrived on 7th March- 14th march for a week to relax, as we arrived at the reception we were told we were not staying there as there had been storm damage to our room and we had to be taken to the other Cay beach at Papagayo, they ordered a taxi for us and was told it was free and we would also get a free evening meal, as we went along with this we didn't realise we would be moved so far out, There were where hardly to buy what we needed as we had booked S/C so we could go out and eat at different restaurants and was there any nearby NO not a chance, so not very impressed at all, although the room was very nice, wouldn't have booked to stay so far out. really think they ought to get there act together as we spoke to other holiday makers and the same thing had happened to them so we thought the reason might be to fill this other hotel up.

Room Tip: Too far out for S/C
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.1 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palmeras Garden
Palmeras Garden
#1 of 45 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Sun

Property: Caybeach Sun
Address: C/ Las Brenas n 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caybeach Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Hotel Playa Blanca
Caybeach Sun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing