We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Caybeach Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caybeach Sun
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just visited cay beach for a week as my husband celebrated his special birthday. Hotel was very clean pools very good especially for the children. We went self catering which we enjoyed doing. Eating put was great found some great places and met some lovely people. The walk down to the main street or the beach is only ten mins, we ate in Tipico espanol bar steaks where great. Also little Italy Italian resturant on main street. Wud definitely go back but not inclusive as tried it one night we are not fussy eaters but diddent enjoy it. Other people we met who where allinclusive said it was very reppetive and wud do self catering next time

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mouselancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
There are newer reviews for Caybeach Sun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

888 - 894 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our second visit to this aparthotel. We like the feel of the place (very casual -do not expect entertainment ) and also excellent value for money.We were All-inclusive and I feel that it was value for money on drinks alone.(Gin and Tonic in town 5 euros each ) The food was fine ,sometimes lunch was better than dinner,but salad and fresh fruit excellent.We Know that it has really improved from last year.if you are a real foodie then go self catering.
The place offers real extras with the full sized kitchen and indoor pool.Also like the village feel of the place and the lanscaped gardens. But go for a walk out at night,buy a drink downtown,don't sit round the bar at night moaning about lack of entertainment.
Also one tip -put your keycard in the box by the door by the door first it generates the electricity. Then operate the room safe! We figured this out 15 minutes later.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west block get sun all day and there is a lift.You do overlook waste ground but you can...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sue4i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

having never been to the Canary Islands and never holidaying outside of peak season we were unsure as to what to expect. Having read some of the reviews we were slightly apprehensive, but we need not have worried. The resort is lovely, slightly tired but very clean and tidy and the staff were great, lots of useful advice and always happy to help. There was little or no entertainment on while we were there but we met some lovely people and entertained ourselves. We went all inclusive as there was little difference in price and did not regret this decision. The food was fresh daily, considering there were over 200 guests on site there was plenty of food and choice. We did eat out on 2 occasions the retaurant worth a mention is on the front in Playa Blanca it is all green outside and 2 pet parrots have a stand outside no cage, dont get too close they shout for the waiter if they feel threatened, it is very funny. The paella was to die for more than enough for 3 although recommended for 2, stone cooked mixed meats was delicious i was assured. Weather was amazing, as was the Island. Tamafaya volcano trip was amazing as was the trip to Los Jameos del agua house and cave in a lava tube it is like a james bond movie set. The location was excellent ten minute walk to the beach, using path down the side of the Yaiza hotel and beutiful flat walk from Playa Blanca to Marina at Rubicon. Great budget holiday, we will return and to the same hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 801-803 next to shop and reception lovely location with pool view from entrance b...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geldardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

stayed in a bungalow 309 , three of us, rooms ok cleaned regularly pool areas nice , some of the staff in reception were not helpful , while others were excellent, had to have maintainence in a few times, on first day safe didnt work despite three attempts by their engineers, to fix ( ready for the last two days of holiday) toilet required fixing on first day also, beware of locks on inner doors as can be left on lock position and lock you out when shut, reception told how to get in over the phone as it happens alot, within easy reach of beach , if hiring a car walk down towards town as far cheaper than that offered in hotel, didnt eat in hotel so cannot comment on the food, plenty of good restraunts along the front of playa blanca, there is wifi available for charge, on site library exchange small shop and pool bar,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walletShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week and have no complaints. We paid 275 each for a week self catering including flights so were expecting it to be pretty basic, and were pleasantly surprised.

We are used to staying in Greek studios, and whilst we do love Greece, this was much better equipped. We were amazed that the kitchen had a microwave, toaster, kettle and toaster! The hob was a fast, effective one and we were able to eat in in the evening twice.

It was also very big, we had a room round the back overlooking a garden which was lovely and quiet, and a nice patio which caught the morning sun. As well as the bedroom with twin beds, you get a lounge area with sofa, and a kitchen table.

Cleaned all but two days, bathroom and shower were fine, no complaints really. We didn't use the pool or pay for the tv so can't comment on that or the food, which we didn't have.

Location was good, behind the Princess Yaiza and about ten minutes to the beach, 15 to the marina and seafront in the main bit of town. Lots of space to park if you have a hire car and easy to find if you're driving.

Would recommend. Ignore the negative reviews and go self catering, they're mostly about the food!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzi1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just returned from the Cay Beach Sun Aparthotel (February 2013) travelling with my stepson and his girlfriend. Reading some of the reviews on this site I felt concerned but we were on a budget and there were many positive comments so we went ahead.

We had a great week! Others have commented about the location which is very good with easy walks to the sea front or the Marina. Incidentally we loved the Marina with some small artisan shops and Lani's Bar -- good snacks or meals sitting overlooking the boats at anchor in the Marina.

Excellent welcome from reception, maps of the site, maps of the area available for free. We had asked for a quiet room at the back but the hotel was full up and this wasn't possible. However it didn't matter as we were away from the pool area and looked on to a pleasant courtyard with many palm trees. In general the hotel was pleasantly quiet but then we were not looking for night life and entertainment -- more of a rest really! I'm sure it's livelier and possibly noisier in the high season but they have a policy of no noise or disturbance after 11 pm and certainly that was the case while we were there.

The apartment was clean, bright and quite large with all the essentials. We found lots of electric sockets for our needs.

Let me just try to tackle the food issue as this seems to worry some reviewers. We were half board and we enjoyed the food. It is not of course gourmet dining but we found it good and quite varied. On a typical night there would be a choice between pork cutlets, rice with vegetables, fish in sauce, Canarian potatoes with two sauces, pasta with tomato or sometimes pesto-type sauce, chips, meat in fritters and more. All well cooked and delivered to the counter by very friendly and approachable staff who will help you or bring you extra items.

One of our group needed gluten free food. We had let the hotel know about this a week or two in advance and they said they would do their best to provide something. They really did! For breakfast they provided gluten free cereals and bread and other things. With the dinners in the evenings they would ask us the night before what we wanted as the gluten free dish and then one of the friendly waiters would proudly bring it to the table after we arrived. One night it went a bit wrong and there was some confusion but otherwise it went perfectly!

This had been a great concern for us, especially as the "gluten free food in Playa Blanca" forum on this site did not produce many suggestions. However if you need gluten free food or have any special requirements, I believe you will not be disappointed. Do make sure you let the hotel know in advance and they will do everything possible to help you. The staff are terrific -- reception, cleaning and particularly our friends in the dining room.

The general setting and location of the hotel is excellent. The pool area (I think there are three outdoor pools) is very attractive and kept clean -- we saw people cleaning each morning in the early morning. Pleasant walkways around the hotel lead to the bungalows. All is low rise with just ground floor and first floor.

I think this hotel is an excellent choice, especially if you are on a budget -- and who isn't these days. You cannot expect a five star experience but that isn't really the issue here. It is comfortable, clean and bright with a good atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. I could not really recommend it more highly in its category. There were many families there with young children and they all seemed to be enjoying things -- there is a special pool for the young people where parents can keep an eye on everything.

Do not be put off by some of the more negative comments on this site -- it all depends what you are looking for. I do not think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room behind the pool area (403) was pleasant and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HenryPurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've stayed here for the last three years in Jan/Feb and haven't been disappointed. We've always gone self catering so I can't comment on the food and drinks, but the apartments we've had have always been clean and good value, (especially when using Tesco Clubcard vouchers!). The apartments could probably do with being updated, but as we spend most of our time outside this isn't a problem for us

It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach and resort centre and a further 10 minutes to the marina and, all being well, we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blakes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,303 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.8 mi away
Pueblo Marinero
Pueblo Marinero
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
809 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Sun

Address: C/ Las Brenas n 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $91 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caybeach Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Hotel Playa Blanca
Caybeach Sun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing