We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caybeach Sun
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
H10 Rubicon Palace(Playa Blanca)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$180
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$235
$209
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ona Las Brisas(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
$175
$169
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,480)
Filter reviews
1,480 results
Traveler rating
287
615
341
131
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
615
341
131
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscay beachself cateringindoor poolshop on sitethese apartmentsjungle barmin walk to the beachsauna and steam roombaby poolapartment was cleangreat holidaycleaned regularlyper daysea frontthree starwatch tvhot dogs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
981 - 986 of 1,480 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just returned from the Cay Beach Sun Aparthotel (February 2013) travelling with my stepson and his girlfriend. Reading some of the reviews on this site I felt concerned but we were on a budget and there were many positive comments so we went ahead.

We had a great week! Others have commented about the location which is very good with easy walks to the sea front or the Marina. Incidentally we loved the Marina with some small artisan shops and Lani's Bar -- good snacks or meals sitting overlooking the boats at anchor in the Marina.

Excellent welcome from reception, maps of the site, maps of the area available for free. We had asked for a quiet room at the back but the hotel was full up and this wasn't possible. However it didn't matter as we were away from the pool area and looked on to a pleasant courtyard with many palm trees. In general the hotel was pleasantly quiet but then we were not looking for night life and entertainment -- more of a rest really! I'm sure it's livelier and possibly noisier in the high season but they have a policy of no noise or disturbance after 11 pm and certainly that was the case while we were there.

The apartment was clean, bright and quite large with all the essentials. We found lots of electric sockets for our needs.

Let me just try to tackle the food issue as this seems to worry some reviewers. We were half board and we enjoyed the food. It is not of course gourmet dining but we found it good and quite varied. On a typical night there would be a choice between pork cutlets, rice with vegetables, fish in sauce, Canarian potatoes with two sauces, pasta with tomato or sometimes pesto-type sauce, chips, meat in fritters and more. All well cooked and delivered to the counter by very friendly and approachable staff who will help you or bring you extra items.

One of our group needed gluten free food. We had let the hotel know about this a week or two in advance and they said they would do their best to provide something. They really did! For breakfast they provided gluten free cereals and bread and other things. With the dinners in the evenings they would ask us the night before what we wanted as the gluten free dish and then one of the friendly waiters would proudly bring it to the table after we arrived. One night it went a bit wrong and there was some confusion but otherwise it went perfectly!

This had been a great concern for us, especially as the "gluten free food in Playa Blanca" forum on this site did not produce many suggestions. However if you need gluten free food or have any special requirements, I believe you will not be disappointed. Do make sure you let the hotel know in advance and they will do everything possible to help you. The staff are terrific -- reception, cleaning and particularly our friends in the dining room.

The general setting and location of the hotel is excellent. The pool area (I think there are three outdoor pools) is very attractive and kept clean -- we saw people cleaning each morning in the early morning. Pleasant walkways around the hotel lead to the bungalows. All is low rise with just ground floor and first floor.

I think this hotel is an excellent choice, especially if you are on a budget -- and who isn't these days. You cannot expect a five star experience but that isn't really the issue here. It is comfortable, clean and bright with a good atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. I could not really recommend it more highly in its category. There were many families there with young children and they all seemed to be enjoying things -- there is a special pool for the young people where parents can keep an eye on everything.

Do not be put off by some of the more negative comments on this site -- it all depends what you are looking for. I do not think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room behind the pool area (403) was pleasant and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HenryPurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've stayed here for the last three years in Jan/Feb and haven't been disappointed. We've always gone self catering so I can't comment on the food and drinks, but the apartments we've had have always been clean and good value, (especially when using Tesco Clubcard vouchers!). The apartments could probably do with being updated, but as we spend most of our time outside this isn't a problem for us

It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach and resort centre and a further 10 minutes to the marina and, all being well, we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blakes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Having already taken three somewhat expensive holidays in 2012, we were looking for a cheap & cheerful week of winter sun, over the New Year period.
Booked on line with Direct Holidays (whose service was excellent) & chose self catering for a total of £1505.
Having read most of the reviews, we did not have high hopes so can't say we were totally disappointed, however, there is certainly room for improvement.
We were the last drop off on the transfer from the airport so we saw several other properties in the area, all of which were quite a long way from Playa Blanca (too far to walk). Cay Beach, along with Princess Yaiza & Lanzarote Princess have the best locations.
On arrival we were checked in quickly by a polite lady, given our keycard (1) plus a small map of the apts. There are signs showing apt nos ( illuminated at night ). We found it easier to find our apt first before taking our luggage.
The apt was adequate with the obligatory pine furniture whch had been given a very unattractive green wash, a large patio with table 3 chairs but unfortunately no loungers.
The kitchen area, utensils etc were sufficient for light snacks, however there were no sockets for toaster, coffee maker??? On the opposite wall were 2 sockets about 3ft high, nothing underneath - sorry but I can't work that out. Managed to use the toaster by standing it on top of a suitcase!!
Bathroom was fine unless you want a bath instead of a shower, in whch case you will flood the apt on emptying, because the floor drain was blocked.
Beds firm ( ok hard) pillows thin but clean overall.
Pool areas ok apart from the bucket which fills & empties every 45secs in the childrens pool, water freezing & a distinct lack of sunloungers ( in good repair) the hotel policy of not reserving loungers is blatantly ignored by both staff & guests.
Can't comment on the food as we did not sample any of it - the restaurant looked ok, if a bit canteenish & we did not try the bar as it was mostly empty & seemed lacking in atmosphere.
The walk to the Marina is considerably more than the 10mins suggested in some reviews, with not a lot at the end of it.
Playa Blanca beachfront (10mins) is a delightful area, lovely shops bars restaurants & this is where we spent most of our time - I believe you can hire a lounger plus umbrella for 3.50 euros per day. This would have been a better option than the pool area however the weather was unkind to us for 4 days, so we didn't get the opportunity to try it.
Plenty of places for food shopping if s/c - the site shop is great for heavy items, water milk etc, also has delicious freshly baked bread/rolls delivered each morning.
We enjoyed our week away but will not be returning to this hotel.


,

Room Tip: there is a lot of passing " traffic" if you have a room facing the pools. Rooms facing the road have no view so its swings & roundabouts
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WalesHolscrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a week all inclusive in January 2013.We were given an excellent room overlooking the pools.The room was clean but there was no soap issued in the bathroom and no hot water in the morning. The shower was from a mixer tap on the bath which would leap off the holder when the water was turn on.There are 3 good pools,with a pool with slides for children and a very good indoor pool with a Jacuzzi and a Gym .It,s under the tennis court.Over 18,s only. Use your door pass key to get in You could help your self to wine,(red, rose and white), and beer in the restaurant, Beer just in the bar and pool bar . I couldn,t drink the red. There,s 1 litre wine in cartons in the shops for 85 cents ! They must have used that . The food was good and sometimes not so good. I liked the goat stew,beef stew and steak . There was a better selection of fruit for lunch than for breakfast. Service in the bar was strange, every so often the barman/maid would disappear for 5 minutes .I know we went in the low season but even so it was very good value for the money.
The fresh fruit juice is from the m/c with the hot water for the tea.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank internati0ntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We struck lucky in that we booked this sight unseen so we were very pleasantly surprised for what we got for what we paid. The apartment was clean and spacious and well appointed - although the addition of a tea towel for the kitchenette would have been an improvement. The complex itself was obviously well cared for and the staff, particularly the lady on reception, were helpful, efficient and friendly. The real jewel in the crown for us was the indoor swimming pool and gym - restricted to over 18s. For most of the time it was like having our own private pool. We were self catering so cannot make a valid comment about the quality of the food on offer. The complex is in easy walking distance of both the more upmarket marina area and the main town. We found that external noise was minimal although you could hear furniture being moved above us. We went out of the main season and it was quiet. I am not sure what it would have been like in the height of the season. Overall, a good value for money complex in the nicest of the island's resorts.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 500 range get very little sun.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews