We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time round” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caybeach Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caybeach Sun
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Second time round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at Cay Beach for a second time 17th- 27th December and had a lovely time. I asked for 1st floor overlooking the pool (booked through Travel Republic) and that is what I got.

The apartments are very spacious and clean and provide adequate cooking facilities for fixing light meals/snacks, with a full selection of pots/pans/crockery/cutlery and they also provide a kettle and toaster. I found the beds to be comfortable, although i do dislike the plastic undersheets they insist on putting on the mattresses as it can make the bed a bit 'sweaty!'

My room was cleaned every day by a very charming young lady, with new towels provided every day as well and the bed also made (and changed a couple of times in my 10 days there)

The location of these apartments is ideal, 10 mins to the seafront and lovely beach where you will find a large selection of bars/restaurants. Then a very pleasant promenade takes you round to the main 'town' where there is an enormous choice of places to eat and drink.(another 5 mins). There is a large (super Dino) supermarket heading in the direction of the marina, and a couple of other smaller ones centrally in town (one is a Spar).

The 2 pools on the complex are kept very clean, and the gardens are lovely. The usual gripe is the freezing pools, and the sunbeds have definitely seen better days and are prone to shooting up at the back when you try to move ! But once you know that you can deal with it!There is a really nice heated indoor pool/ gym/ sauna/ hot tub - adults only, well hidden below ground round the back of the complex (go past the water slides on the right and follow the path round) or ask reception! A nice haven and also very pleasant if the clouds come over during the cooler winter months.

I stayed self catering as I enjoy trying the different restaurants and supporting the local businesses, so cannot comment on the food or entertainment!

This is a very good value for money complex, which could probably do with a bit of a spruce up in the rooms, but at the price I paid I am not complaining.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank Lassi_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    535
    280
    104
    84
See reviews for
511
516
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Currently staying at this complex with my girlfriend for a weeks holidays. I am giving it a 5 star as everything bar one thing is top notch for the price you're paying so I did not want to give it a 4* rating over this one thing.We had trouble sleeping in the beds we just could not get comfertable so we happily slept on the pull out sofa bed. Everything else about the stay is just as we expected if not better the building is very well equiped to suit everyones needs and at the price we got it for it was a steal. Great location, very close to town center and all ammenities so overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mairt211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Horrendous week's stay. Apartment was on top of something like 2 jet engines. One roared for 5 minutes every half hour from late afternoon whilst the other roared continuously all night making sleep almost impossible. Frayed and holey towels which were only changed on the Wednesday after our Sunday arrival. Holes in sheets. Badly patched enamel on the bath. Ancient fridge with chunks out of the door and no door on the freezer section. Hob so old that the heat settings weren't visible. Holes in taps where hot/cold indicators should be. Bad smell from drain in bathroom. Bathroom floor flooded. Some light switches that did nothing.

Room Tip: Don't have room 853 unless you are a heavy sleeper. Suspect all the 800 rooms have night time no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Leicester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Visited Cay Beach between 3 - 17 January. The complex is clean, well laid out and well kept. Our apartment was a good size and was cleaned (although not dusted) regularly and the sheets and towels replaced frequently. We stayed on an "all inclusive" basis so only used the hob to heat the kettle. However there did not appear to be a plug in the kitchen area for the toaster etc. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We paid to have the television for a few days to find that there were hardly any channels in English and the sound quality was very poor, definitely not worth the money. This facility should be provided free. The food was very disappointing. The choice was limited and the dishes that should have been hot were always cold and therefore not appetising, Most people appeared to be self-catering and that is definitely the best option, Whilst we were there, possibly due to the limited number of guests, the bar was deserted in the evenings and no entertainment was provided. It was useful to have the shop on site for essential items.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed in the Cay Beach on a number of occassions in the past. Last two trips we decided to try other places. To be honest, there is good and bad in them all. We are returning to Playa Blanca Oct. 2013 and we are considering going back to the Cay Beach NOT FOR THE FOOD (generally not good) but because its usually a relaxing place and because its not too big, its easy to keep and eye on children. The apartments also have the option of air-conditioning, which we could of done with last year as it was really hot. We have found that generally its not a good idea to go for the all-inclusive because if the food is bad, you are rightly stuck. Even the H10 which used to have really excellent food, has also gone down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights in early December(self catering), we were really surprised with the quality of the facilities as it is only a 3 star. The apartments are all set around two large pools, there is also a child's paddling pool and a separate area with two short water slides. There is also volleyball, tennis, indoor pool and a gym. We felt the complex was very family friendly and quiet. The apartment was well equipped with microwave/oven/grill, fridge and hob, it was cleaned frequently and towels changed regularly. There is a small laundry and a shop with all the essentials on site.
Be prepared when you check in to put lots of deposits and pay charges for the likes of TV channels, remote control, safe key & pool towels. Nothing is very expensive but if you do it all in one go it appears to be, even though you get the majority back when you leave.
The complex is about a 10 minute walk from the playa blanca town centre and just a bit less to the promenade at the sea front. It is well situated between the Rubicon Marina (20-25 mins) and the lighthouse if you like walking. Market in the Rubicon marina on Wednesday & Saturday well worth a visit.
We stayed self catering and having spoken to other guests it may well be the best option, we ate breakfast once in the complex and you can pay as you go if you want. There is a great choice of restaurants at good value in the town itself.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank suegav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

the pools were good and so were the staff the food was a disappointment but the new year dinner was best i sleeped on the couch cause it was comphyer clean complex and plenty to do we had to pay for everything but over all a good holiday and enjoyed myself

Room Tip: all rooms are good but bottom floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#30 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palmeras Garden
Palmeras Garden
#2 of 45 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Sun

Property: Caybeach Sun
Address: C/ Las Brenas n 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Caybeach Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Hotel Playa Blanca
Caybeach Sun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing