We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good.But things could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caybeach Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caybeach Sun
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good.But things could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is is a Good spot 10 minutes from the beach it is also close to the town centre just over 10 minutes walk you. Its a 30 minute taxi ride away from the airport.I strongly recommend SELF CATERING! Because we have spoken to people who are all inclusive and they said the food in the restaurant is not that good. Their are some world class restaurants on the sea front in playa blanca which are wonderful the Roca-ma and a nice Chinese restaurant called china city which is also on the sea front. The hotel has two pools one which is heated. If you want a sun bed you have to set your alarm for 7:30 in the morning. Their was four bad injuries in one week while we where her 1 brocken foot.,one broken leg,cut knees, and a head cracked open this was all because of how wet and slipy the floor was around the pool and water slides, thank god for jonny the lifeguard/ first aid. The hotel is very clean the rooms are cleaned daily and the pool areas are also cleaned daily. The hotel is always looking for money €3.00 per day for air con,€6.00 per day for wifi.we had the T.V because we could only get 3 Spanish channels and got the extra package which was a rip off because we couldn't get the channels they said we could get and it made a buzzing noice the hole time.All of the housekeeping staff where lovel and they do a brilliant job and work incredibly hard! Their is a indoor pool, hot tub, spa, Turkishbath which are all beautiful. The shop could do with alot more variety of products. But Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Well-traveled987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    535
    280
    104
    84
See reviews for
511
516
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were expecting just a bedroom but were delighted to find we had an apartment with a lounge, kitchen area, bedroom and complete bathroom. The shower was perfect. The whole place was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely sun terrace too. We'll definitely got back there.

Room Tip: Room 212 - bedroom at back away from noisy swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valerie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

For a 3 star the Caybeach sun does very well We had room 109 quiet downstairs I separate bedroom with twin beds and a large dining area with pullout bed settee and with large terrace cleaned regularly staff work so hard Beautiful pool areas and play areas for kids with flumes and chutes are a dream.Special mention to Johnny the lifeguard he was so helpful and pleasant and my grandson Jordan says I love you!!!Special mention to Richard in restaurant so polite always a smile of welcome.Entertainment is for families with kids Polish team try hard and there is football darts and water polo if you want in the day.Lovely pools clean and despite being cold they are clean and lots to choose from .If you put towels out before 8am they will take them back to reception so Germans beware!!!!.We never had a problem getting sunbeds.Food was good 3 star always variety I usually have problems as Im veggie but plenty to choose from.Let me say that some people were making comments about the food but you get what you pay for if you want 5 star pay a lot more money for the.privelegeLots of help from reception and polite at all times Weather was fab 30 degrees plus most days Playa Blanca is a short walk along a beautiful promenade and take a boat trip to Fuerteventura from the harbour 23 euros kids free !!Visit Mollys bar on Papagayo overlooking the sea fab!!!!Be warned your all inc will cease at 12 and if you have kids this may require planning.Just one little thing the upstairs restaurant (closed at the time)and seating outside area could have been used to better advantage All in all a great family holiday for a good price.Would definitely return well done

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nettybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

we stayed at caybeach for 2 weeks beginning of october and had a wonderful time. the rooms are spacious , clean and have everything needed for self catering even though we stayed all inclusive, which was quite handy.
we were given a ground floor apt right beside the pool, which at first i wasnt happy about as i prefer upper floor but on reflection they were situated in a great spot . we did ask to move but most likely would have been put round the back which wasnt so nice so was happy to stay put.
The apts and surrounding areas were clean and comfortable, pool area was fine and plenty to eat and drink all day if you wanted it.
The dining room was quite big and plenty of food available, some reviews have said food was a bit repetative, but ive found this in all hotels ive stayed in, and it didnt matter what time you went for lunch or dinner there was always hot food to be had, and it was nice too.
We ate out and got take-aways a couple of times just for a change though.
we served our selves with drinks and yes they were in paper cups but didnt mind so much during the day as this was round pool area so made sense really, and on evenings we did have glasses some of the time,

We didnt use the entertainment room other than to get our drinks and while the staff were lovely they were really pushed at times as there was usually only 1 on duty.We also would have liked a separate bar area to relax in on an evening but most of the time we got our drinks and sat out on our terrace with them.

We used the jacuzzi and indoor pool occasionally and it was lovely and relaxing, no children allowed in so not busy or noisy.
We were a party of 4 early 50s , adjacent apts as requested and had a great time , well worth the money we paid for 2 wks a/i,
With hindsight i wish i had booked a taxi rather than a shuttle transfer as we waited ages to be transferred to our hotel,however this was our choice, I cannot fault their service and at the end of the holiday they faxed our hotel with confirmation of our pickup time.
Lovely resort not too far for an evening walk after dinner , plenty shops and restaurants , and a lovely marina .

Room Tip: if you like terrace , rooms 121 and 122 are in a great spot , near pool and across from pool bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladyk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

just got back from 10 days...was lovely...clean..lovely pools...BUT..all inclusive customers BEWARE your all inc ends at mid day no matter what time you leave the hotel...5 kids under age of 10 and 5 adults was made to go from 12 noon until 18.50 when they collected us to go to air port, without food and drink, one of the kids still had wrist band on and went to get a drink but the pool bar man asked him room no. and phoned rec to see if he was still allowed a free drink...this is the first place this has happened..one rep said its thomson policy your all inc ends at mid day another rep said its at the hotel discression.....so just beware of this ...we have been to many countries and this is the first it has happened...apparantly its breifly said at welcome meeting BUT it should be told to you at time of booking...entertainment is virtually non existant...staff are rushed off their feet doing many diff jobs throughout the day and night...if downstairs bar not open at 6 then ask restraunt staff to get your spirit for you...food is luke warm and more or less the same each day ..beach is appx 15 min walk..sun beds 3 euro and parasol 3 euro...take some bread to beach and feed the fish whilst swimming...but beware whilst paddling it can slope off quite quick..wine tasting at volcano trip is just enough to wet your lips...but the half day at 20 euro is enough for adults and kids....DON'T put your towels on sunbeds before 8 am or jobs worth will collet them and put them all in reception ....all in all not a bad hol...last day spoilt it really...wont return but thats cos we prefer turkey and mallorca

Room Tip: rooms are nice especially if you get one over looking the pool....room no.s 201 to 204 and 703 perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a great holiday here the first week in October.
We had a nice ,well equipped 2 bedroom apartment on the first floor overlooking the toddler pool,everything worked, it was clean, spacious and comfortable ,and had a good sized balcony.
The swimming pools are nice,we spent a lot of time in them and didn't find them too cold like some of the other reviews have mentioned.The kids loved the water slides and spent most of the week on them.The tiling around the top pool requires attention in places and gets very slippery when wet!!
There is an indoor pool which i never used as the weather was so good-but it was there if you wished to use it along with a gym,jacuzzi,sauna and steam room that all looked nice but closed at 5 or 6 pm(it would be better if you could use them later in the evening when the suns gone in)
There is also a volleyball pitch,and tennis court/5 a side pitch.
Food-i was pleasantly surprised with the food , there were 13 people in our group ranging from 3yrs old upto 66 and we all managed to find something we liked to eat each meal time .-Ok, its not posh food but its as good as at any of the other Spanish 3* all inclusive hotels we have stayed at and there is no need for anyone to go hungry in my opinion. Hotdogs,toasties ,burgers and chips are available at the pool bar most of the day as well .
The lager,wine ,spirits ,pop and sangria were all fine.
The entertainment team are Polish (as are many of the hotels customers who were all nice)they work hard and try to include you in aqua-aerobics,volleyball,water polo,darts and sjoelen lol.
The night time entertainment was~ ahem ~interesting, pop quiz with a language barrier is quite funny.The kids enjoyed the mini disco though.
What the hotel could really do with in my opinion is another more comfortable, quieter ,night time bar area where you could sit and relax and have a few drinks and a chat away from the birdie song etc, and a few extra bar staff as the whole set up is hugely under staffed at night!!!

The resort of Playa Blanca is a 10 -15 minute walk away and is really difficult to fault.It is very clean has many nice shops ,restaurants/bars,along the seafront,a lovely marina,and a clean sandy beach with watersports etc.
Overall a great family holiday ,we will return to Playa Blanca in the future and we would be happy to stay at the Cay Beach sun again.

Room Tip: Pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ash25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Me,my husband and 2yr old daughter stayed here for one week at the Begining of Oct. First impressions a nice looking hotel and pleasant reception. Our room was clean but needed a face lift (507) although having said that it was in a brill location next to the baby pool and pool bar! There where 3 pools altogether a small pool, big pool and a pool with separate water slides which are brilliant for the children. We stayed all inclusive and I must say I found the food very repetitive and cold most of the time. They have a children's section which was generally just chicken nuggets and chips which my daughter never really ate. The desserts were not very good either. The salad bar was always fresh though and the fruit too. My daughter loved the children's disco which sadly was only on for around 20mins per night then after that there wasn't any entertainment which I found disappointing. The day time entertainment was ok which mainly consisted of pool side games darts,volleyball etc. the downside was it was mainly polish and not spoken in English very well so hard at times to understand but the team did there upmost to involve everyone. The hotel itself is a good 10 min walk to the beach and centre which I must say is absolutely beautiful. There is a nice costal path which is lined with shops and restaurants. Would reccommend the Italian Job for a tasty meal out. To sum up we would return but would probably do self catering.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyphoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#30 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palmeras Garden
Palmeras Garden
#2 of 45 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Sun

Property: Caybeach Sun
Address: C/ Las Brenas n 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Caybeach Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Hotel Playa Blanca
Caybeach Sun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing