We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay”
Review of Caybeach Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caybeach Sun
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having just returned from our stay, having lost count of how many times we have stayed there now(been 4 this year and have booked to go back in January), this little gem of a complex has once again not failed to impress.
If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in an ideal location then do not hesitate to book this as you will not be disappointed unless you are expecting 5 star treatment while paying for a very good three star complex.
We always have gone self catering so cannot comment on food however this is only because we prefer to eat out in the evenings at the vast choice of restaurants in the town with my personal favourites La Gondola on the promenade and Little Italy at the Rubicon Marina for pasta dishes, Jumbos on the prom for chinese and Lani's snackbar(not steakhouse which is next door and poorly run) for light bites and lunch.
Have hired a car the last two trips from Cabrera Medina which is fantastic value with offices all over the town and you can also pay in cash so no debit card charges or deposit required with the cars being fully insured with no excess. Having the car allows you to visit places that organised excursions do not go near for example the Mirador del Rio in the north, the pirates museum above Teguise both of which have stunning views and a great little wildlife park called parque tropical. Alternativley you can just drive and stop where and when the mood takes you.
Once again this is a fantastic base whether you want to explore, chill out and relax or do a bit of both.
Finally if you are a cat lover look out for the white cat(Snowy) who lives on the complex and if you fancy a house guest who is better behaved than our 3 domestic cats then a box of biscuits or pouch of cat food will be most appriciated by her and you will have a friend for life(or however long you are there!)
I do hope that if you have chosen this hotel from this review you have a wonderful time like we continue to do on our many visits.
P.S. Don't forget to visit the indoor pool which has hot tub, gym and sauna and is usually very quiet and warmer than the outdoor pools.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room ask for one near the indoor swimming pool which is at the back of the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dmcphers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

989 - 995 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was a familey holiday with my wife 3 sons and a grandson, one of my sons is disabled so we found the disabled parking outside the main reception very convienient but was a bit p****d off when one particular female employee alaways parked in the disabled parking place although able bodied! first moan over!. Rooms were very nice apart from when we went to "upgrade for the airconditioning i was told there were no controllers therefore would have to wait until someone returned one, which i found hard to believe as air conditioning was in all rooms but they only had a certain number of remotes.... work that out!
Pool was great pity that selfish people put towels on sun beds and dont use them one of my main gripes.......why do they do this?? Well great rooms nice and clean good pools for the kids with slides a bit cold though lol we were all inclusive and there was always a good selection of food take no notice about poor food you get what you pay for and you wont starve! again the only downside was the entertainment was downstairs with no disabled access only through the restaurant so if we wanted a late night we had to go to reception to get access through the restaurant for the lift not ideal but the reception were very helpful.
A ten minute walk to the beach whch was very nice and a little further to the main shops and nightlife, would definatley recommend.

Room Tip: request one !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MarkSue44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We went for two weeks s.c. In August 2012. About 95% of those staying were all inclusive but we can't comment on the food.
The rooms were okay. We asked for ground floor and were fairly happy. We were in 414 which is ground floor but down some steps or via a ramp so disabled access seemed good all round.
When we arrived the microwave had not been cleaned and it took two days to get this done, but they were apologetic.
Air con does cost three euros per night but is worth it. We met some people who left windows open instead and they were covered in mosquito bites.
The kids pools were excellent. My boys had lots of fun. However, all the pools seemed to leave a green hue on all the clothing. My white bikini is ruined! And my boys shorts and tshirts took three washes to get clean at home, so be sure to take laundry detergent with you.
The area around the pool was INCREDIBLY slippery and everyone there must have slipped at one point or another. We saw one boy have to have nine stitches due to being knocked in the slides pool. My eldest was badly bruised from a fall by the pool, so be warned!
The kids entertainment was in a number of languages but they all seemed to enjoy it. The entertainment went poolside during the day and the speakers were a bit loud at times but bearable.
Most people we spoke to felt that the Cay Beach was okay. It was in an okay location, about ten minutes walk from the beach. The cleaners changed sheets and towels regularly but we all had to ask for extra bedding if booked for Four people.(They only had linen for two people).
The bar drinks and food was costly if not booked on all inclusive. The shop was double what you pay in the local Spar in town but the staff there were very helpful.
You can pay extra for TV but we didn't and didn't find the need really.
And finally sun beds cannot be reserved here, allegedly! They were and sometimes they were removed by the staff, but in most cases not. Some days people had put towels out as early as 530a.m!!!! All in all though it was worth what we paid. We would go back if the kids wanted us to, but otherwisewe will try somewhere else. Put it this way it's worth a shot.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Annie752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We was a party of 8 people who Had a great 10 days here all inclusive !! After booking last year we was a bit worried when the bad revives started to appear but honestly don't let them put you off!! So what if the rooms are slightly dated the longest I was in them for was to sleep.yes our sheets had small holes but didn't stop us from sleeping.the bar staff work Sooo hard. They do take towels off beds if put on before 7.we got beds everyday about 7.30 but I must say we had the best appartment room 121 right next to the pool so I basically rolled straight out of bed!! We saw 2 life guards & the one guy so helpful.every morning we was there the pool gets vaccummed I've never seen this done before & the water gets tested.while we was there the wind which everyone talks about was virtually non existent apart from the last couple of days. Bar snacks great kids loved being able to go and ask for themselves.soft drinks & larger on a self serve which is great.couldn't moan about food really always something there for everyone. Kids loved the breakfasts especially the pancakes :)) the hotel is in a lovely quiet area & only a 10/15 min walk to beach. Beautiful view of futureventura! Lovely flat promenade walk to the left is the marina & the right is where all the restaurants are & lovely shops .every night at 8.45pm fireworks come out the wall the kids loved it. We did 2 trips first to timfanyn volcanoes absolutley amazing!! & also the catamaran boat trip also great .met some lovely people there too. The maids work hard & left us lovely swans made out of our towels :) the only down side was the air con was only in the bed room which wasn't fair on anyone sleeping in the livingroom & was no good if you wanted to have time out of the sun in the day so we never bothered having it. Would I stay there again?? Definatley !! This has taught me one thing not to read too much into peoples fussy,picky, reviews !! Enjoy :))!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dtkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our family stayed for a fortnight at the beginning of August, there was 11 of us in our party ages ranged from 4 years to 76 . The apartments were very clean and well furnished only downside with them was you had to pay extra for air con!! We were all inclusive the food was plentiful and fairly varied , pool bar very good . 3 swimming pools and a brilliant kids pool with waterslides.
Reception staff very helpful , entertainment team worked very hard even if evening shows were a bit naff also evening bar area very hot as all inside, bar staff worked very hard especially Omar who kept us entertained with his cocktai making!!
Playa Blanca really nice, lovely beach plenty of sunbeds, pedaleo hire ,bananna boats etc.
all in all a lovely holiday all you would expect plus a bit more from a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank juliejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Itys the second time we have been to the Cay Beach. Its Clean and tidy. The appartments are very large especially for 2 people. Ok Its a bit dated but you would struggle to beat it for the price.

Can't comment on the food as we went room only. Cay beach is in a good position about 10 minuites from the beach and restaurants. Its nice to wander out in the evening as oposed to being all inclusive and feeling you have to stay there. There is a small shop on site which sells all the essentials you may need. Only gripe is there are not enough sunbeds and the pool bottom needed a good clean. But overall you would not de dissapointed its such good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mick1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

we stayed for a week in early august. we are an older couple, late 40's.
the hotel was ideal for families with the entertainment team working hard throughout the day.
the food was plentiful but a bit repetative. pool bar was really convenient and also provided great
snacks. getting a sunlounger shouldnt be a problem if you have kids cos you are up early anyway, ha.
the quality really is what you pay for, no real complaints and families will have a good time.
playa blanca is also family friendly with a nice beach, the marina and port area are both good nights out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank graeme b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,926 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1.2 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#11 of 37 in Playa Blanca
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Sun

Address: C/ Las Brenas n 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $88 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caybeach Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Hotel Playa Blanca
Caybeach Sun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing