We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value”
Review of Caybeach Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caybeach Sun
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
staffordhsire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent value”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

just come back from having a week at the cay sun beach, lanzarote, new what it was like my husband and i went last year, the staff are brilliant and make your holiday complete, if you have children, they have a kids club their is lots for them to do, i love it here and carn't wait to go back, we go self catering, due to eating out at different restaurants every night. I would recommend this to any one, well worth the money,

Room Tip: we asked for apartment by the pool and we got what we asked for,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bevStaffordhsire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    554
    290
    108
    85
See reviews for
534
534
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I have just returned from a lovely week @ Cay Sun Beach.

Having stayed in a fair few similar apartments in both Lanzarote & Fuerteventura I can say that these are up to a good standard, and provide very spacious, comfortable accommodation for the price paid! Yes, maybe some of the furnishings are a little tired around the edges, but my place was exceptionally clean and provided everything I needed including in the kitchenette a good selection of pots/ pans,kettle,coffee maker,crockery/cutlery and there is a hairdryer in the bathroom. There was a huge balcony and i requested first floor overlooking the pool which is exactly what I got! (753)

(I went on a self catering basis so can't comment on the food, and did not stay in for the entertainment)

The complex is well kept, clean, with lovely gardens and two good sized pools (unheated) on different levels. Plenty of sunbeds too and a hot tub.There is also a children's small paddling pool and a children's play area with several water slides.

Hidden away underground (barely signposted at all - go down the steps to the left of the children's slides) is a fabulous indoor heated pool/ gym/ sauna/ jacuzzi. No children allowed (18+) so a good place to chill and have some quiet time, if that's what you fancy....or a workout!!!

In a quietish loaction 10 minutes easy walk to the promenade, beach, restaurants and bars, and about 15/20 mins walk to Marina Rubicon where there are yet more attractive waterside bars and restaurants (and a lot of boats too !!) There are loads of great, good value places to eat in Playa Blanca and a handful of lively bars and plenty of quiet ones too.

Finally a mention for the lovely staff and in particular the lady receptionist (didn't get her name) who was very friendly, helpful and chatty and made everyone feel welcome especially when checking in.

If you are thinking of booking for Cay Beach Sun and aren't expecting 5 star treatment for your 3 star prices, then I say go for it and enjoy!

Room Tip: Fisrt floor overlooking the pool and gardens are good apartments, sun in the morning until mid after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lassi_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Had a week at the Cay Sun Beach on a half board basis. We were allocated an appartment which was very clean but "tired" - bedspread was faded & had 2 holes in it. Through the week the cleaning was basically a case of emptying bins and a (very) quick mop around. Hair on the bedroom floor stayed put for a week
Food was boring but ok - However plates were dirty (on occasion), saucers were virtually non existant and teaspoons an endangered species (although there were loads of plastic ones....). Nothing matched and plates were chipped.
On site supermarket was cheaper than the local Hyper Dino though, which was a plus.
The reception staff were second to none - polite, helpful & friendly as were the waiting staff so definitely no complaints there.
Pools were large & clean & there was a hot tub plus indoor pool and sauna.
I got this as a cheap late deal and therefore for the money I paid I have no complaints.......Basically a bit more imagination with food choices and some updating of rooms and crockery would lift the star rating of this complex.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PurrdyWurrdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Spent a week all inclusive at Cay Beach Sun during the Easter holidays. We did have a lovely holiday, and feel the complex has a lot of potential, but falls short on a few aspects. We have been to a lot of all inclusive holidays, and are not ones to complain, but there are a few issues with this hotel that you may appreciate to know about before booking.
I will start with the positives:
The complex itself looks the part-the pool areas are large and clean, and the gardens are beautifully maintained.
The apartments are clean and comfortable, and quite well decorated. A good sized living room/kitchen with a separate spacious bedroom, and separate bathroom. The cleaning was generally good, but if you were very conscious of cleanliness you may notice a few bits of dust behind doors etc-didn't bother us at all.
Staff - All the staff were lovely, and very helpful. The barmen/waiters work very long hours, yet always have a smile on their face. We noticed that they were very good with children, particularly in the restaurant and made a big effort to make families feel welcome. Omar works his socks off-and is quite literally running the bar alone in the evenings. Ask him to make you up a cocktail-some of his creations were delicious! Reception staff v happy to give info/advice about the resort.
The hotel has a fantastic spa/gym centre, which boasts top of the range gym apparatus, plus a large indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna - brilliant!
There are two (that we saw) lovely cats onsite which are very friendly and affectionate-particularly if you sneak them some ham out of breakfast!
The food - Most reviews I read were negative about the food, but my partner and I were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food cooked. Yes, there was a limited choice as the restaurant only needs to accomodate for a rather small amount of guests (due to the complex being on the smaller side), but there was always more than enough to make a good sized meal. Breakfast: choose from hot drinks, juices, water, cerials, yougurts, fruit, bread, cold meats/cheese, and full cooked breakfast.
Lunch and dinner: large salad bar, usually 2 different cooked meats (chicken, pork or beef usually), a fish dish, 2 potato choices, rice, pasta with sauces, a choice of veg, and usually a veggie option (though this varied, and was often limited). Dessert was usually a choice of mousses, cakes, ice cream, tinned fruit salad, and 2/3 fruit options.
We were impressed with the food, and felt the quality was a good 3 star standard.
Negative points:
NO REP ON SITE: Be warned if you go with First Choice/Thomson to this hotel, you will have no rep to ask for info etc, and your welcome meeting will be in a hotel down the road (The Princess). Thomson/FC do not ever attend meetings at the hotel, and their folder in the reception area is virtually empty. We were very disappointed with this service, especially after using this company for many years and being loyal customers. We feel we did not receive a fair deal, and had to ask the hotel receptionist for advice on trips etc.
Lack of signs in hotel: We noticed that the hotel has a lack of signs around to tell guests where things are. Such as, the entertainment room, and especially the spa (we spent ages searching!). Also at the pool bar, there was no large sign with available/drinks food on, just a piece of A4 paper on the wall with choices handwritten - not very appealing.
Entertainment: The hotel must have a very low budge for entertainment as each night revolved around the 2 reps at the hotel, and was often a (pretty rubbish) quiz, or bingo etc. The reps were Polish and spoke some English. For us, there was a lack of atmosphere in the day and evenings, with not much going on. Perhaps this was down to a language barrier, but we feel the entertainment in this hotel needs to be worked on if it wants to live up to a 3 star standard.
On the whole, we really enjoyed our holiday - great complex, good staff, Playa Blanca is lovely. Makesure you go on a trip to Timanfaya national park (20E pp if booked at the ferry port, as opposed to Thomson's overpriced trips), and avoid the trip to Fuerteventura unless you have a car as there is nothing going on in Corralejo! This hotel just needs to work on a few things: getting a Thomson rep in, putting some signs up, and getting some proffessional shows in for entertainment value. If these things are achieved, Cay Beach Sun has all the makings of a great 3 star!
I hope this review is useful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Charlotte259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birkenhead
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

hi i just got back from cay beach sun and with a lot of experience on allinclusive hotels my true report would be first we arrived to a friendly hotel smooth transition to our room and request of a pool view room due to my disibility was granted the rooms are very good clean and spacious with a nice verandah the pools were very good 1 with a water park small slides and one with the restaurant nearby bottom pool is warm pool for slides and water bucket is cold the beer is san migeul and are very effecient at the bar sometimes a bit slow but its spain food was not good to look at but very tasty theres not a lot of choice so after 4 days you get fed up but burger king and restuarants 10 min walk entertainment not very good as they speak more in polish reps for entertainment werent very lively as one was good and spoke good english the other we couldnt understand dont play bingo unless youre a good runner thers games for adults ONLY in the day not much if anythink for kids lifeguard FEMALE ONE is very grumpy and strict but she has to be in 10 places at once and better being strict and safe staff very friendly and i would say that omar is the most honest person and a great barman the weather for april is very windy but after 1230 lunchtime the blue skies arrive and it gets hot but that wind burns very quick and can be dangerous to kids and adults alike so my honest opinion is a very good hotel that could easlily be a 4 star with abit more hard work on entertainment and daily atmosphere as its very queit in the day i would return i couldnt do more than 7 days and i think i would do self catering as lanzarote is reasonable prices 2.50 euros a beer so thank you cay beach for a lovely week and a special thankyou to omar for is honesty also the pillows arnt comfy so take your own

Room Tip: email hotel before you go and ask for your requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lleyton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Don't be put off by any bad reviews. If you go self catering and NOT all inclusive then this is the place for you. Plenty for the kids to do by day and plenty for the adults to do by night at either the beach front bars and resteraunts or at the port. The prices for meals are very good at the beach or port resteraunts but I understand the food is not upto much at the hotel based on my chats with people I had met that had gone all inclusive.
The hotel is well presented and kept. The rooms are comfortable and most are well positioned to the pools. The entertainment could be improved but like I said. If your self catering, you will be out and about making your own. 10 min max to walk to the beach and bars. Stayed here for a week with 2 children and they and us had a great holiday getting out and about unlike our new friends we met who went all inclusive. Staff friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymomdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at the Cay Beach for the Easter Holidays 2012. We really enjoyed our stay and found it to be everything we expected and more. The staff were all friendly and very helpful.

We have two young children 5 and 8 yrs and the kids entertainment suited them well, it was really aimed at children up to a max age of 11yrs. A bit repetitive.

We all got involved in the activities during the day time too and really enjoyed them trying to get certificates in the evening!!!The rooms had all you need but the beds were quite hard. We liked the fact that it was quiet at night.

We were all inclusive and had plenty of food,snacks and drinks available all day.Music by the pool was played once in a while and we enjoyed hearing it .The pools were really lovely and the children enjoyed the water slides although the water on them was colder than the other pools.

We were in walking distance of the of the shops, restaurants and beach. Plenty to do if you wanted to do it.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked over the road at the back.It was quiet and we had plenty of sun on the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.1 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palmeras Garden
Palmeras Garden
#1 of 45 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Sun

Property: Caybeach Sun
Address: C/ Las Brenas n 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caybeach Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cay Beach Sun Hotel Playa Blanca
Caybeach Sun Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing