We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
THe Mirador Papagayo
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Michael and I stayed at the Iberostar Papagayo for 2 weeks and had a great time, the hotel room was a bit dusty and we had to ask for the room to be swept. The bed was a bit hard, not like what I am use to. The food was very good catered for everyone, there was so much choice. The entertainment was very good. The hotel staff were very nice. We would like say Thank you to Robert who made a lovely Iberostar cocktail. Billy, Laura and the rest of the entertainment crew were just great. I would very much recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was a family room on the end of the block so it was large.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank elidadawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,892)
There are newer reviews for THe Mirador Papagayo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 2,894 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

After waiting months for our holiday, we arrived at papagayo hotel at 10am after catching a 6am flight. We were greeted by a receptionist who gave us our info ect and sent us off until check in was possible. After running into some issues with our booking of our stay here, the receptionists soon changed there tone. Unhelpful, ill-mannered and made trying to solve our issue extremely stressful. Eventually after several minutes of asking to use the phone i was able to make a call after having to find numbers on 3g as they would not let us use the wifi to help solve this issue, and i quote "Your problem, you solve it", only to be hassled 5 minutes later for the phone back as we had been to long. i won't ramble on much more about the reception staff as the room that apparently "upgraded" for us was nothing to be desired. Moved into a family suit on the outskirts of the complex, which some may enjoy, this is not what we were expecting. Greeted by a foul smell, and a temperature warmer than outdoors. When showering the water would also come up through the sink. All in all the worst experience of a hotel i have endured and i am very well traveled individual.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
7  Thank Theclimber2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Although we sincerely regret reading that your experience at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel did not live up to your expectations, we thank you for taking the time to share a review on your stay; We are always trying to improve our service and we want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved.

We sincerely apologize for your experience at the time of check in, even though we were very surprised to read the attitude of our reception team when enquiring about your reservation as at IBEROSTAR we lay high value on our staff to be welcoming and guest oriented at all times, we did not fail to share your review with the head of department for revision and improvement; We also lament hearing that the upgrade for a Suite was not a satisfactory solution for the issues related to your booking; those rooms are in fact bigger and located at 10 seconds walk from the central area of our hotel.

Moreover please receive our apologies for the imperfections you seem to have found in the apartment we accommodated you in, we lament not being informed during your stay as we would have looked for an immediate solution, for future occasions we encourage you to contact our reception desk to point out any disservice, our team will do whatever is possible to make you’re your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible.

Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that IBEROSTAR will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great value hotel. Very clean, considering there are lots of competition with star hotels in playa Blanca this is cheap and very good value, however complete rip off being charged for internet and not being able to get a signal, and after several enquiries and the staff fully aware it was not working we were still charged 20 euros and the receptionist Ells was Just unbelievably rude!! Apart from that you really need to get your air conditioning updated!!! Overall Very good holiday and great location but completely spoilt by rude reception staff.

Room Tip: Room 26 top floor over looking the terrace and pool, very good, however air conditioning not working...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel; we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

We lament your disappointment on our Wi Fi service and would like to take the opportunity to clarify that we did not experience any disservice during your stay however we always inform our guests that during peak hours it may be difficult to be able to download contents as the signal is shared between a considerable amount of devices; In case the service does not work, we of course refund the price paid; We sincerely regret reading that you did not feel well assisted when reporting to reception and will not fail to share your review with the appropriate managers, although we were surprised to read your comments on our receptionist as our staff is highly qualified and able to deal with our guests ‘concerns and complaints in a very professional manner.

The air conditioning is centralized and turned on as soon as the temperatures rise, we however always recommend keeping windows, balcony doors and curtains closed during the day so as to maximize the system’s power and ensure a perfect temperature once back to the room.

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the great value of our hotel, this is a wonderful recognition, especially considering the wide selection of hotels in the area and for your highlight on our location fronting the Ocean, affording great views over Fuerteventura and with a wide array of leisure and dining options within easy reach.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; our goal is to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits. We are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Me and the wife and two boys (6) & (1) booked our first trip to Lanzarote through teletext holidays
from June 16th - 22nd for one week. I spent many late nights looking for various deals for value and quality..We have usually stayed in the Riu chain Hotels ,so this was our first booking with Iberostar hotels.We went for the all inclusive . We arrived at the Iberostar Papagayo at around 6pm and were greeted by very friendly reception staff and told that we have been upgraded to a family room opposite which you walk under a tunnel to your room which was only a minute or two from reception. The room(71) was on ground floor and was excellent ,spacious and clean with a kitchen ,small hob ,fridge freezer microwave and sink.Large family bathroom ,separate shower,bath,and bidet.The Room was cleaned regulary and clean towels supplied.The pool was just outside the room which my 6 year old loved.The area in and around the pool was cleaned early every morning.The hotel is close to the beaches and has a wide safe path which is great to walk right to the Rubicon Marina and playa dorada beach or left to the national park (about 40mins walk)with secluded beaches.The views are great !!.The food at the hotel was excellent and the waiters could not be more helpfull especially with the children (manuel thanks very much) .The Kids entertainment was great fun as with the evening entertainment . Bar staff were all Excellent . I recommend go all inclusive . I would definetly choose a iberostar hotel again . Thankyou very much...

Room Tip: If you have kids go for the Family rooms they are spacious and great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank trevlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is one of the best on the island this is our 3rd visit in 2 years the staff
are very courteous and happy The food is excellent All the sunbeds are new,
all the chairs every were are new We had an upgrade room at no extra cost
Brits out number the rest no need to put towels out could do with more sunshades though Tony

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
5  Thank TonyAbergele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here for a mini break. Found the staff very helpful in all departments. Food is quite good as I went all inclusive I did eat out on a couple of occasions as it can be quite bland. The hotel is in a quiet location so not one for party animals. I had mobility issues following injuring my ankle prior to going but hobbled to the marina which is beautiful and lovely to sit for coffee. I love a decent cup of coffee and hotel did not serve good coffee. There was a nice bar which I tended to sit in and watch world cup games. Briefly popped to the other bar where entertainment was but in a hot basement so not where one wants to sit on warm evenings. Room was ok , found it hot and was on the ground floor so did not want to sleep with balcony door open. Also air conditioning not very affective. I also found the bedding a bit old fashioned. It would be better to provide guests with a sheet and duvet, no need for blankets
My only major complaint is the wi fi. There was only about 30 minutes a day free wi fi in the bar area. You then have to pay for it. I refuse to pay for wi fi, In today's climate when more people have tablets and laptops on holiday wi fi should be free for hotel guests. Sometimes people want a break from the sun and it would have been nice to have been able to spend longer on my tablet then 30 minutes a day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wexter98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one week my brother and his family stayed 2 weeks. Loved every minute of it we were all inclusive and we all enjoyed the food and service provided. Really can't complement the bar and restaraunts staff enough always very friendly and patient.
Lovely hotel lovely staff nice food and drinks good selection of both.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
5  Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Angela,

Thank you so much for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction on your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel; it is wonderful to hear that you “loved every minute” and felt welcome at all times, this is always our goal.

Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

We also loved reading your praising comments on our restaurant; at IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and strive to make it one of the highlights of our guests’ stay among us; it is very rewarding to read you enjoyed every dining experience among us.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.4 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,924 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THe Mirador Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Mirador Papagayo

Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5 | San Marcial del Rubicon, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Papagayo)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $116 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THe Mirador Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo, located close to the beach Playa de las Coloradas and next to the paradisiac beaches of Playas de Papagayo, is an optimal place to enjoy your family vacation in Lanzarote. This four-star- resort features 291 ample rooms distributed in two buildings of three floors each. It disposes of two pool for adults and two for children, restaurant, snack bars and a conference room. The wide offer of entertainment, sports activities, leisure and relaxing has been conceived for every family member to enjoy this experience to the maximum. For it, Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers among others a gym, a spa center, a multipurpose sports court as well as kayak and bike rental service. Naturally, the little ones will have great fun at our Mini Club. Due to its touristic attractiveness and its good infrastructure, Lanzarote is the ideal venue for holding multiple events such as weddings, congresses, conferences and business meetings. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers modern facilities with the audiovisual equipment for celebrating this kind of events. With spectacular views over Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island, here you have everything at your disposal for your “tailor-made” vacations. Discover with Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo a universe full of tiny pleasures. An unforgettable experience to share in good company in an idyllic place. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo disposes of 291 rooms, four of them adapted for people with disabilities. Each of the five categories Double Superior Sea View, Familiar Room, Double Sea View, Double Sea Side View and Double Standard puts everything at your disposal for you to immerse in the blue color of the Atlantic. Your wellness and the comfort at your feet. You will find us in Lanzarote, the “island of the volcanoes”. As expected, it was declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 1993 by the UNESCO. This place is magic: natural paradises where the golden sand meets the crystal-clear waters of the Atlantic, volcanic landscapes and unusual tropical vegetation. This island is pure contrast, it´s land of fusion of work of art and nature. It´s the place of exceptional landscapes of unique beauty. The views from our hotel will leave you breathless: in the horizon Lobos Island and Fuerteventura appear. Furthermore, close to Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo you will find the port Marina Rubicon, a place to enjoy a walk while contemplating the sea and the sailing boats, have a drink or go for some tapas, or go shopping at the flea market or at the shops around. With its average annual temperature of 22°C, Lanzarote not only is an optimal place for practicing water sports, but it also offers everything for you to enjoy the vacation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your THe Mirador Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
THe Mirador Papagayo Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing