We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel-Excellent staff- Superb food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
THe Mirador Papagayo
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Me and the wife and two boys (6) & (1) booked our first trip to Lanzarote through teletext holidays
from June 16th - 22nd for one week. I spent many late nights looking for various deals for value and quality..We have usually stayed in the Riu chain Hotels ,so this was our first booking with Iberostar hotels.We went for the all inclusive . We arrived at the Iberostar Papagayo at around 6pm and were greeted by very friendly reception staff and told that we have been upgraded to a family room opposite which you walk under a tunnel to your room which was only a minute or two from reception. The room(71) was on ground floor and was excellent ,spacious and clean with a kitchen ,small hob ,fridge freezer microwave and sink.Large family bathroom ,separate shower,bath,and bidet.The Room was cleaned regulary and clean towels supplied.The pool was just outside the room which my 6 year old loved.The area in and around the pool was cleaned early every morning.The hotel is close to the beaches and has a wide safe path which is great to walk right to the Rubicon Marina and playa dorada beach or left to the national park (about 40mins walk)with secluded beaches.The views are great !!.The food at the hotel was excellent and the waiters could not be more helpfull especially with the children (manuel thanks very much) .The Kids entertainment was great fun as with the evening entertainment . Bar staff were all Excellent . I recommend go all inclusive . I would definetly choose a iberostar hotel again . Thankyou very much...

Room Tip: If you have kids go for the Family rooms they are spacious and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank trevlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 2,937 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is one of the best on the island this is our 3rd visit in 2 years the staff
are very courteous and happy The food is excellent All the sunbeds are new,
all the chairs every were are new We had an upgrade room at no extra cost
Brits out number the rest no need to put towels out could do with more sunshades though Tony

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
5  Thank TonyAbergele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here for a mini break. Found the staff very helpful in all departments. Food is quite good as I went all inclusive I did eat out on a couple of occasions as it can be quite bland. The hotel is in a quiet location so not one for party animals. I had mobility issues following injuring my ankle prior to going but hobbled to the marina which is beautiful and lovely to sit for coffee. I love a decent cup of coffee and hotel did not serve good coffee. There was a nice bar which I tended to sit in and watch world cup games. Briefly popped to the other bar where entertainment was but in a hot basement so not where one wants to sit on warm evenings. Room was ok , found it hot and was on the ground floor so did not want to sleep with balcony door open. Also air conditioning not very affective. I also found the bedding a bit old fashioned. It would be better to provide guests with a sheet and duvet, no need for blankets
My only major complaint is the wi fi. There was only about 30 minutes a day free wi fi in the bar area. You then have to pay for it. I refuse to pay for wi fi, In today's climate when more people have tablets and laptops on holiday wi fi should be free for hotel guests. Sometimes people want a break from the sun and it would have been nice to have been able to spend longer on my tablet then 30 minutes a day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wexter98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one week my brother and his family stayed 2 weeks. Loved every minute of it we were all inclusive and we all enjoyed the food and service provided. Really can't complement the bar and restaraunts staff enough always very friendly and patient.
Lovely hotel lovely staff nice food and drinks good selection of both.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
5  Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Angela,

Thank you so much for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction on your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel; it is wonderful to hear that you “loved every minute” and felt welcome at all times, this is always our goal.

Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

We also loved reading your praising comments on our restaurant; at IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and strive to make it one of the highlights of our guests’ stay among us; it is very rewarding to read you enjoyed every dining experience among us.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The views from the sea view rooms are superb on the upper floors. We were half board and food was ok drinks bill wasn't to bad.
Staff apart from one miserable waiter we encountered who i complained directly to reception about were all friendly and helpful.
The massage in the wellness center was brilliant one of best .There are a few minor niggles that need to be looked at such as tiles of in pool but to be fair unless its drained i cant see it easily repaired.
would definitely consider staying there again

Room Tip: I would suggest top floor sea view rooms great views towards papagayo beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank colin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel from 2nd to 12th June 2014. We were half board.

We had booked a standard room but when we arrived we were advised the hotel wasn't that busy and we had been upgraded to a family room. The room was lovely, we had a living area with sofa's, kitchen with microwave, cooker, fridge, freezer, dining table, large bathroom and bedroom with double wardrobes and a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the pool and the sea in the distance, was fantastic! You need to walk through a tunnel to get to the main hotel, I've heard on other reviews people moaning about this, I don't know why, it takes about 30 seconds! Not a big deal!
The only bad thing about the room was the air conditioning, wasn't the best!

We were half board so breakfast and dinner was included, plenty of choice and all really tasty! Men need to wear trousers though for dinner so don't forget to pack some!

The pools looked lovely, I never went in but my boyfriend said they were freezing! Probably refreshing when it gets really hot! There are lovely views whilst sunbathing, big glass panels so you can see out onto the sea, was beautiful!!!! The staff came round with fruit skewers during the day which a nice little treat!

The entertainment is definitely family orientated. We still found it amusing though! And they make a good effort!

The only thing that annoyed me about the hotel was the drinks. You can't pay for anything up front, not in the restaurant or even in the bars, you're given a receipt and you have to pay at reception. So don't get too carried away or you'll have a hefty bill by the end!

It is a lovely walk to the marina, takes about 10 minutes and then another 5 or 10 minutes to get to the beach, nice walk though!

Due to the location of the hotel, if you go on any excursions you will be on the coach a looong time, it took nearly two hours from the airport because of all the drops and we went on a few excursions and were always the first to be picked up and had to spend about an hour or more getting everyone else before you set off to your destination! This isn't the hotel's fault, just pointing out!

All in all I think this was a brilliant hotel and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a nice break in lovely Lanzarote!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42 which looked over the pool and had the sea in the distance, was really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ceara26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel and are sincerely grateful for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers.

Moreover we are very pleased to read your satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and the quality and variety of our buffets.

We are also grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our pool area and the lovely views over the Ocean and the island of Fuerteventura.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel when visiting Lanzarote; we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Iberostar Papagayo, and we were less than impressed, particularly after reading the reviews on here. We found the reception staff to be rather rude, the food awful, the cleanliness of plates and cutlery was also a concern. (my son barely ate a thing in the hotel and we ended up dining out on several occasions) made even worse by the fact that we had to wear long trousers to dine in the evenings. Who wears long trousers when its 30 degrees centigrade? I lost count of the number of males I witnessed being refused entry into the restaurant in the few evenings we stayed in to eat, due to having shorts on, yet also witnessed many females in mini skirts and strappy tops... Double standards on view here!! . We were half board as my wife doesn't drink alcohol, & I have very little alcohol, so we were amazed when the restaurant staff took a very dim view of allowing us to take even a small bottle of water to our table. We found the rooms to be very dated, with holes in the curtains in our room and the decor looking very tired.The bedding was stained and also contained holes in the sheets. The air conditioning was an absolute farce, we mentioned this to the reception staff twice, on the first occasion we were told an engineer would come to fix it however on returning to the room following his visit, the situation was no different. On the second occasion, the receptionist informed us that the air conditioning is regulated centrally by the Hotel and it is their policy to have the temperature the same in every room in the property, which begs the question why have a system with variable settings as they are completely useless. We ended up sleeping with the patio doors open, to cool the room down. Having stayed in many four star properties around the Med and further afield, this property falls short of a four star rating on almost every front in my opinion. Clearly it depends on what your used too, but we spoke with many other British residents who shared our conclusions of this Hotel

Room Tip: Stay at a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 16SavvyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Our mission at IBEROSTAR Papagayo is to make every stay as close to perfection as possible and it is with great concern we have read we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion.

For IBEROSTAR thorough cleaning is an absolute must and we have protocols and procedures to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness; our head of housekeeping and a member of our management undertake random checks to our rooms after their cleaning to ensure that everything is in accordance with our demanding standards and we were surprised to read your description of the curtains and sheets in your room; For future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our reception in case you find any shortage being to us of prime importance to offer total confidence in this area and we will be enchanted to adjust any situation that leads us ways from our goal to offer comfortable and spotless accommodations to our guests.

As you can see both on our website and brochure we kindly ask gentlemen to wear long trousers for dinner and drinks are reported to be on extra charge for dinner for guests staying on half board basis, we lament you weren’t properly informed at time of reservation and encourage you for future occasions to visit our webpage or contact our call center from where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and give you all the relevant information for you to fully enjoy your holidays among us.

Last but not least, we sincerely regret reading your comments on our restaurant; the gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company our talented Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a wide array of local and international delights to cater for all tastes and please the most demanding palates, we lament we were not able to conquer yours.

Our main commitment is to offer the best vacation to our guests, based on the service provided by professionals and the delivery of high quality products, so we do hope we will have the opportunity to change your first impression about our service and turn it into a wonderful holiday experience with IBEROSTAR in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,865 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,362 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THe Mirador Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Mirador Papagayo

Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5 | San Marcial del Rubicon, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Papagayo)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $107 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THe Mirador Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo, located close to the beach Playa de las Coloradas and next to the paradisiac beaches of Playas de Papagayo, is an optimal place to enjoy your family vacation in Lanzarote. This four-star- resort features 291 ample rooms distributed in two buildings of three floors each. It disposes of two pool for adults and two for children, restaurant, snack bars and a conference room. The wide offer of entertainment, sports activities, leisure and relaxing has been conceived for every family member to enjoy this experience to the maximum. For it, Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers among others a gym, a spa center, a multipurpose sports court as well as kayak and bike rental service. Naturally, the little ones will have great fun at our Mini Club. Due to its touristic attractiveness and its good infrastructure, Lanzarote is the ideal venue for holding multiple events such as weddings, congresses, conferences and business meetings. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers modern facilities with the audiovisual equipment for celebrating this kind of events. With spectacular views over Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island, here you have everything at your disposal for your “tailor-made” vacations. Discover with Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo a universe full of tiny pleasures. An unforgettable experience to share in good company in an idyllic place. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo disposes of 291 rooms, four of them adapted for people with disabilities. Each of the five categories Double Superior Sea View, Familiar Room, Double Sea View, Double Sea Side View and Double Standard puts everything at your disposal for you to immerse in the blue color of the Atlantic. Your wellness and the comfort at your feet. You will find us in Lanzarote, the “island of the volcanoes”. As expected, it was declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 1993 by the UNESCO. This place is magic: natural paradises where the golden sand meets the crystal-clear waters of the Atlantic, volcanic landscapes and unusual tropical vegetation. This island is pure contrast, it´s land of fusion of work of art and nature. It´s the place of exceptional landscapes of unique beauty. The views from our hotel will leave you breathless: in the horizon Lobos Island and Fuerteventura appear. Furthermore, close to Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo you will find the port Marina Rubicon, a place to enjoy a walk while contemplating the sea and the sailing boats, have a drink or go for some tapas, or go shopping at the flea market or at the shops around. With its average annual temperature of 22°C, Lanzarote not only is an optimal place for practicing water sports, but it also offers everything for you to enjoy the vacation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your THe Mirador Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
THe Mirador Papagayo Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing