We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with in easy access of Papagayo beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
THe Mirador Papagayo
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked into the Iberostar Papagayo at the last minute after having decided not to stay at the Hotel we had prebooked in Yaiza. The checking in process at the Iberostar was not the easiest - as the front desk could not take direct bookings and we had to book via the web and then use the confirmation code. This was however the only drawback we had - and enjoyed a good nights stay at the Hotel. To be fair - I doubt the hotel gets many last minute bookings for one night - so doubt this is an issue for most people. The room had a great view - the decor was fairly basic - but all very comfortable, quiet and clean. On the night we arrived we walked down to the rubicon marina to eat - which is not far just along the sea promenade and has a good choice of food. The hotel is very close to Papagayo beach - which is an amazing beach that should not be missed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Simon,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for choosing our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel as a last minute option for a night’s stay in Lanzarote and for the time you spent to share your feedback with your personal experience.

It is true that unfortunately we are not able to take direct bookings through our reception, however as you well mention, we offer you the possibility to make the reservation through our website so as to apply the correct price depending on the arrival date.

On the other hand we are glad to read that you had a restful night sleep and enjoyed the location of our hotel, within a walking distance to the beautiful Papagayo Beach and the many dining options on the doorstep.

Once more, thank you for your visit; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotels at your earliest convenience.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 2,940 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had checked the feedback on this hotel before choosing it and we agree with those who praised the staff firstly because of their friendliness. This was especially so in the restaurant and the bars. We had an all-inclusive deal and the choice of food was excellent, except perhaps for the chicken on offer, as there was only once that it was breast of chicken. But having said that there was such an extensive selection of everything else that I couldn't see anyone not finding sufficient to satisfy.
The rooms were spacious, clean, had aircon, we're very conveniently located to the pool and restaurant. We also had a balcony overlooking the sea.
The nightly entertainment was very good and the animation team provided a good quality show on 3 nights. My only criticism here would be that those members of the team who introduced the entertainment spoke too fast when using the microphone. It would have been easier to understand better if they had slowed down especially as they spoke 4 languages one after the other.
The pool area was very well laid out and we were not bothered by the fact that the tiles in and around the pool were black in colour( as some people had criticised). The waiter came round most days with free drinks, crisps, sweets, ice lollies or fresh fruit. A very nice touch!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank Maurice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Maurice,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel. It is wonderful to hear our staff was able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

We took good note of your comment related to the evening shows’ presentation in 4 languages and passed it to our Head of Animation so as to guarantee that all guests understand the presentation speech; on the other hand we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the shows.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out the quality and variety of our buffet offer as well as the comfort and cleanliness of your accommodation.

Once more, thank you for your time, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and would be enchanted to accommodate you again in our hotels and resorts worldwide ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to offer you another enjoyable holiday experience with IBEROSTAR.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed at The Iberostar Papagayo for ten days late October. All the staff were amazing from reception staff to cleaners. Spoilt for choice in the way of food in the dining hall. We had sea view room 436 which was also spot on, beds nice and comfy, with healthy firm mattresses. Maid looked after us with the standard of cleanliness. Only slight complaint was that you were not allowed to take drinks from bar back to room. I did notice however that quite a number of guests did sneak drinks up, and we're not stopped from doing so. I think the hotel may just turn a blind eye to this procedure, wish I had realised before buying wine for room from supermarket next door.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffydogflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

As you well mention, we ask our guests not to bring food or drinks in the rooms because this could lead to a plague of insects, such as ants, nevertheless, we cannot guarantee that none of our guests do it.

On the other hand, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our staff, their genuine kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel’s main strength and we are glad that they were able to meet all your needs whilst staying among us.

Moreover, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the room we accommodated you in, since they are designed to offer maximum comfort to our guests and a relaxing nightly rest.
Last but not least, thank you or pointing out the wide variety of local and international delights thoroughly prepared by our Chefs in our buffet restaurant.

Once more, thank you for your time, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to remain an option for your next visit to the beautiful island of Lanzarote.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

arrived 9pm just in time for dinner check in fast.our room was facing the wall downstairs but we expected that and we were not there to sit in the room all day.next day breakfast great not fussy eaters so plenty of choice,staff very good and well oganised and friendly coffee delivered to table.walked to playa blanca took our time following the coastal path 40 minutes there and the same back,.take a torch on a night as some of the lights are out..arrived back a bit thirsty as it was very hot 1st november , it was just what we came for.went to pool bar slush drinks and fizzy drinks etc very good.went to dinner we were shown to a seat abundance of choice could not fault it, the place i am beginning to like.the rest of the afternoon spent by the pool and participating in games,archery,schuback,boules etc animation team fantastic fernando,fi, billy and the rest of the team very enthusiastic and jolly.that was the first day yipee six more to go.

Room Tip: book the room you want,the rooms facing the wall were quiet.if you want a sea view room. fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fodden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great feedback on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel, guest satisfaction is our top priority, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

In IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we are glad to read that you took part in the many activities on offer.

Last but not least, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurants where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to taste the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Once more, thank you for your time and very kind review; we look forward to welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels at your earliest convenience.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Positives: Great position in a fantastic resort. Very friendly and helpful staff without exception.
Cleaners, Restaurant staff, reception, all great. Food good, all inclusive package good value (though a lot more limitations than many - read the small print!). We had an excellent sea view from our junior suite.
Negatives: First impressions did not do the place justice at all. It took all week for us to get past them and start to see the hotel's many positives. Worn out carpets in public areas. Air conditioning in room feeble. Worn out room fridges don't cool anything much. And yes, the mattresses are a bit on the firm side!
Would we go back? Probably not unless we heard that some update program had been completed.

Room Tip: We found Junior Suites block spacious, and nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Charles,

We would like to thank you for having so carefully explained your positive and negative feelings about your stay at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Further we would like to point out that despite the fact that our hotel was built a few years ago, we do our utmost to take good care of it, maintaining all of the installations the best we can; nevertheless we took good note of your comment and commit to revise the possibility to renovate some of the areas in the near future.

On the other hand, we highly appreciate your kind words towards our staff and are glad to hear that you felt well cared after throughout your stay.

We are also grateful for your positive mention on the view from your junior suite and the good gastronomy offer by our restaurant.


Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and look forward to welcoming you again at your earliest convenience.

Best Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just returned home today to the freezing cold not happy, quick break in sun. Weather great all be it 1 day rain. Hotel clean spotless cleaners do great job. Animation team that caught our children's attention Billy, Fi, Fernando great interaction with kids big thank you.....

Food was great a lot of variation my children are fussy wont eat the norm chips, nuggets etc they will try various cuisines.

For me the night time entertainment starting at 2130hrs is a little late having twins at 6yrs and 4 yrs old is a little late, they really enjoyed the shows they saw but unfortunately in the week we was there fell asleep 5 times prior to the show starting.

We stayed in the family room through the tunnel, rooms spacious with separate pool although I feel in need of updating, and I didn't like the fact they put a extra bed in the kitchen area for daughter the twins slept on the setees in open plan living area.

I also think with the facilities they could also just add a little touch of coffee and tea facilities in the room all other appliances are there just not this for all inclusive.

Bit way out for youngsters to walk to town or beach as the one below is rocky not suitable for swimming. Although there is a little floating jetty which my kids loved feeding the fish (sorry if the bread rolls where down ha ha)

This is our 4th trip to lanzarote in 2 years, we enjoyed the break but for us HD beach resort, costa teguise is the winner still...........

Finally met some great families and children and neighbours....who shared their life stories with us so funny they'll know who they are.

Big thank you to our cleaner who found my daughters mousey (comfort teddy) our life's would have been hell from now on x

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Toni,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your feedback on you recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel, we are glad to read that overall you had an enjoyable holiday among us.

We took good note of your comments related to your family accommodation and lament not being informed about your dissatisfaction with your daughter’s bed in the kitchen area as we would have looked for a suitable solution, do not hesitate for future occasions to contact our reception for anything you may need to fully enjoy your holidays among us; moreover, we are sorry to hear your disappointment for not providing a tea/ coffee machine in the room, however, as most guests use the restaurant and bars for drinks throughout the day, we do provide kettles in the rooms against a little supplement.

On the other hand we are glad to read that the good gastronomy and the kindness of our staff contributed to offer you a pleasant holiday experience in Lanzarote.

Last but not least we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations and the efforts of our housekeeping staff as we strive to give total confidence in this area being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel.

Once more, thank you for your time; we look forward to serving you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide at your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

we stayed 8 days in this hotel, the food was excelent, the only comment we have that the bed was terrible, so we didn't sleep much. We asked the second day if they could do something about the matras, I think they turned it around, but it didn't help, matras too hard en too small, for the rest, perfect

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank 84Tessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Tessa,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Papagayo hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We are sorry to hear that you didn´t find your bed comfortable and will try to find out what failed to correct that situation as guaranteeing a satisfying night rest to our guests is one of our top priorities.

On the other hand, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comment on our buffet offer, our professional Chefs are committed to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to taste the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Once again, thank you for your time, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,866 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,367 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THe Mirador Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Mirador Papagayo

Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5 | San Marcial del Rubicon, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Papagayo)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $107 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THe Mirador Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo, located close to the beach Playa de las Coloradas and next to the paradisiac beaches of Playas de Papagayo, is an optimal place to enjoy your family vacation in Lanzarote. This four-star- resort features 291 ample rooms distributed in two buildings of three floors each. It disposes of two pool for adults and two for children, restaurant, snack bars and a conference room. The wide offer of entertainment, sports activities, leisure and relaxing has been conceived for every family member to enjoy this experience to the maximum. For it, Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers among others a gym, a spa center, a multipurpose sports court as well as kayak and bike rental service. Naturally, the little ones will have great fun at our Mini Club. Due to its touristic attractiveness and its good infrastructure, Lanzarote is the ideal venue for holding multiple events such as weddings, congresses, conferences and business meetings. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers modern facilities with the audiovisual equipment for celebrating this kind of events. With spectacular views over Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island, here you have everything at your disposal for your “tailor-made” vacations. Discover with Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo a universe full of tiny pleasures. An unforgettable experience to share in good company in an idyllic place. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo disposes of 291 rooms, four of them adapted for people with disabilities. Each of the five categories Double Superior Sea View, Familiar Room, Double Sea View, Double Sea Side View and Double Standard puts everything at your disposal for you to immerse in the blue color of the Atlantic. Your wellness and the comfort at your feet. You will find us in Lanzarote, the “island of the volcanoes”. As expected, it was declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 1993 by the UNESCO. This place is magic: natural paradises where the golden sand meets the crystal-clear waters of the Atlantic, volcanic landscapes and unusual tropical vegetation. This island is pure contrast, it´s land of fusion of work of art and nature. It´s the place of exceptional landscapes of unique beauty. The views from our hotel will leave you breathless: in the horizon Lobos Island and Fuerteventura appear. Furthermore, close to Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo you will find the port Marina Rubicon, a place to enjoy a walk while contemplating the sea and the sailing boats, have a drink or go for some tapas, or go shopping at the flea market or at the shops around. With its average annual temperature of 22°C, Lanzarote not only is an optimal place for practicing water sports, but it also offers everything for you to enjoy the vacation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your THe Mirador Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
THe Mirador Papagayo Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing