We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THe Mirador Papagayo
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Week”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I have just returned after a 7 day holiday, our first at the Papagayo Iberostar. We were all inclusive. The great reviews regarding this hotel helped us in deciding to book the holiday and the prior reviews have lived up to expectations. I concur with all the reviews relating to the great staff, room (we had a sea view and pool view combined), food and overall service.

A couple of special points worth noting. Staff walking around the pool and bar every day offering free ice creams, smoothies, candy bars, sweets and crips is a very nice touch! The Animation team members lead the usual activities but a nice addition was providing simple games to play actually sat on your sun lounger was a great addition e.g. higher/lower card game, velcro ball target shoot - the guy in the target cape was very tall and made a great target! So the game activity comes to you rather than you having to go to it.

Finally, a couple of pointers. The hotel does not provide Sky Sports so for those of you wanting to watch rugby/football etc you either have to walk into the main town area (20 min), or take a short walk to a sports bar by coming out of the hotel onto the prom and turn left (5min). The WiFi 24/7 network access costs 20Euro for 7 days and like others, I find this rather expensive. However, if you use your iPad, mobile etc and search the WiFi connections, you will find 'FREEPOINT'. This provides free WiFi for 30 mins per 24 hour period. I used it on my iPad and mobile so I had a total of 1 hour WiFi per day - plenty to check mail etc. You need to be sat near the pay as you go work stations situated in the bar area to get a good signal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tapolino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    1,146
    397
    87
    48
See reviews for
900
1,411
100
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Five of us went, nearly 350 years total age of tourists. One couple and three singles; we all enjoyed every minute. We realised after about five days that we had walked more in three days compared to being at home where we all are actively engaged in walking most days. Free shuttle bus every day!

The hotel is on the edge of the sea walkway that stretches along the whole of the coastline of Playa Blanca. Eat in the morning, go out and walk. Eat at lunchtime and go out and walk. Eat at dinner and walk down to the entertainment and enjoy some music, dancing singing etc. Thence to bed. That is all you have to do.

Eating in the restaurant is fun and rewarding. Five of us would go to the food counters and five of us would return with different combinations of food. Eye of the beholder worked every time we ate. The griddle foods were excellent, the carvery best with roast duck and chicken. Why is it that beef is usually verging on tough in all holiday hotels? From my point of view there is no need for the beef to be on the menu when fowl and fish are excellent. Fruits and salads were plentiful and varied, thanks Gaston for buidling me a different lunchtime hamburger (only time on the menu for any food snobs). Hassan and Gaston on the griddle foods were great, the tables were cleared quickly so that you could get through three courses without the table getting crowded. Beverages were available throughout (all inclusive) the meal times and all of a good standard. A table of taster local drinks were around at lunchtimes and there was always a member of staff around if you needed help. Prawns turned up and made me eat a number of platefuls, no blood tests for a while then.

The hotel is run quietly and firmly, the staff are friendly in the restaurants and bars and in housekeeping. Some work in bar and restaurant so you feel welcome when they recognise although when they see me I am never forgotten. One good sign, no line managers jumping up and down causing chaos amongst the staff (as we saw in a Moon Palace Hotel when a new chef and his team arrived and were interrupting service and upsetting staff and guests) as they try to work, a credit to the manager.
Iberostar in general need to check on their disabled access situation as we noticed with a couple where the husband was wheelchairbound, room for improvement here.

My only serious complaint is one we have all experienced. Speaking to a person at the reception desk and the telephone rings; they interrupt you and pick the telephone up. I have cancelled bookings at two hotels in the past when we have been checking in. Why is the telephone more important than the paying guest in front of you? Technology must mean the call would be rerouted after a number of rings elsewhere, a little respect for the person in front of you please, are you reading this receptionists around the world?

If you want old folks sunshine in the winter go here for a good hotel, good food and friendly staff, sunshine is beyond my review.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ramede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrykeel, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Went for 5 days, sorry it wasn't longer. Very nice hotel with lovely rooms. Weather was unusually hot with a breeze constantly. Had Zumba classes in the pool. Great fun but pool was freezing! Plenty of space for sunbathing. Complimentary fruit or ice cream every day. Food great, all buffet both hot and cold with free champagne at breakfast and baileys, whiskey or liqueur at evening. I am a very fussy eater and i still had amazing choices to eat. Rooms spotless and staff lovely. Had a great massage and they will give you what you need and not promote a dearer package. Towels cost €10 which is refundable on your departure. Lovely walk each evening to main town (3kilometres) where you can shop til you drop. Best place for bargain perfumes is sasha's on the higher road. Also shop around for cigarettes as there can be a big difference in price. Would go back there again in a shot.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank islandlass46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Would definitely recommend this hotel, the staff at reception were excellent they couldn't of been more helpful, the apt was lovely with our own private balcony it was cleaned daily and fresh towels daily. Food excellent with a different choice each evening, staff were very pleasant and helpful,Had a lovely relaxing week. Thank you

We visited 7th March 13 weather was perfect.

Room Tip: We booked a basic room but had an upgrade do an apartment which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lesvron02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel, good food and plenty of choice. staff are friendly. The rooms
are clean and towels are changed every day. if you require clean sheets for your bed you just leave a notice on your bed . They even open the restaurant early for you if you have an early
pickup.Enjoyed our holiday so much we have booked again for next year.

Richard C.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wendy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a great holiday. The food was great and the staff very helpful. The place was cleaned every day. The room was a nice size and had everything that you needed. I think the entertainment was quite good and it was in the basement so you could only hear when you wanted to!!

Room Tip: Not over looking the pool as they seem to start early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WendyW20091952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I have had a fantastic week at this hotel. It was my wifes first time abroad and thoroughly enjoyed it. Unfortunately we arrived late due to poor visibility so ate late on so the food was past its best but from then on the food the rest of the week was fantastic, plenty of choice. The room itself was very good but one minor gripe is that the TV needs updating with maybe a couple of channels in english as we only got the news channel. Bathroom was nice with a decent shower . Our room overlooked the pool plus a view of the sea. I liked the design of the pool. Overall a fantastic place to stay and would definately recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms 500 to 510 will give you a sea view as well as over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.4 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,770 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,742 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THe Mirador Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Mirador Papagayo

Property: THe Mirador Papagayo
Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5 | San Marcial del Rubicon, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Papagayo)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — THe Mirador Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo, located close to the beach Playa de las Coloradas and next to the paradisiac beaches of Playas de Papagayo, is an optimal place to enjoy your family vacation in Lanzarote. This four-star- resort features 291 ample rooms distributed in two buildings of three floors each. It disposes of two pool for adults and two for children, restaurant, snack bars and a conference room. The wide offer of entertainment, sports activities, leisure and relaxing has been conceived for every family member to enjoy this experience to the maximum. For it, Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers among others a gym, a spa center, a multipurpose sports court as well as kayak and bike rental service. Naturally, the little ones will have great fun at our Mini Club. Due to its touristic attractiveness and its good infrastructure, Lanzarote is the ideal venue for holding multiple events such as weddings, congresses, conferences and business meetings. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers modern facilities with the audiovisual equipment for celebrating this kind of events. With spectacular views over Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island, here you have everything at your disposal for your “tailor-made” vacations. Discover with Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo a universe full of tiny pleasures. An unforgettable experience to share in good company in an idyllic place. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo disposes of 291 rooms, four of them adapted for people with disabilities. Each of the five categories Double Superior Sea View, Familiar Room, Double Sea View, Double Sea Side View and Double Standard puts everything at your disposal for you to immerse in the blue color of the Atlantic. Your wellness and the comfort at your feet. You will find us in Lanzarote, the “island of the volcanoes”. As expected, it was declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 1993 by the UNESCO. This place is magic: natural paradises where the golden sand meets the crystal-clear waters of the Atlantic, volcanic landscapes and unusual tropical vegetation. This island is pure contrast, it´s land of fusion of work of art and nature. It´s the place of exceptional landscapes of unique beauty. The views from our hotel will leave you breathless: in the horizon Lobos Island and Fuerteventura appear. Furthermore, close to Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo you will find the port Marina Rubicon, a place to enjoy a walk while contemplating the sea and the sailing boats, have a drink or go for some tapas, or go shopping at the flea market or at the shops around. With its average annual temperature of 22°C, Lanzarote not only is an optimal place for practicing water sports, but it also offers everything for you to enjoy the vacation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your THe Mirador Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
THe Mirador Papagayo Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing