We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable relaxing break”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent a week 21/28 February at the Iberostar Papagayo hotel in Playa Blanca Lanzarote. We had a junior suite facing out to sea which was lovely. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent with a wide variety of choice to suit everyone. Although the main centre of Playa Blanca was about 45 minute walk away, a courtesy bus was available to and from the edge of the town centre every couple is hours for those who wanted it.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend it.

Room Tip: The junior suite we had was spacious clean and even had a roomy "walk in" wardrobe which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sue,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We do our utmost to ensure that our customers can enjoy an enriching dining experience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Therefore, we are delighted that you underlined the fantastic buffets our chefs prepared for you as well as the friendly and efficient waiter service.

Regarding the service orientation and professionalism of our staff, which is the prime pillar of our company, we are delighted to read how much this contributed to your wellbeing at the Iberostar Papagayo. This strengthens our determination to continue developing an authentic service culture that enchants each and every of our clients.

It is also very enjoyable reading that you felt comfortable in the room and the common areas which we keep very clean. It is our goal to provide comfortable and spotless accommodation in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with it.

Last but not least, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your first holiday with us and we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Lanzarote.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    1,124
    388
    86
    48
See reviews for
881
1,392
100
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband tried somewhere new this visit and there was a goo deal on with this one. So wasn't expecting much as the reviews are very hit and miss, but were pleasantly surprised.
Nice friendly staff on reception and bars, all the amenities you need and a nice atomosphere.
The food was nice but we ate out a lot to try the local cuisine and venture into the town anyway.
Rooms were cleaned well and like I said has very thing you needed.
The weather was just right as well! Very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanzlover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

Our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for, always attempts that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and welcome. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. Being this one of our main strengths, we are absolutely delighted to read how much you have enjoyed their professionalism and client-friendliness at the reception and bars.

Moreover, we are grateful that you underlined the quality and variety of our buffets. We pay the finest attention when it comes to culinary highlights and tasty drinks, because we are convinced that the gastronomic experience covers an important part of the all over experience and it is one of the pillars of our company to conquest all palates.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Our best wishes,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent a week 21/28 February at the Iberostar Papagayo. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is situated in a quiet area within easy walking distance of the Rubicon Marina (15 mins) and main town a further 20 mins, along a well made wide coastal path. The food and service were both good and the whole hotel was very clean. Whilst the bedroom was spacious it was in need of refurbishment, as was the bathroom, with an upgrade required in technology particularly the television and availablity of international channels. We would happily stay there again by which time hopefully the facilities will have been up dated.

Room Tip: First floor sea view room is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard63029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Richard,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

It is a pleasure to inform you that as we speak a project is set up to study the possibilities of renewing some of the areas of our Iberostar Papagayo. However, we are glad that you highlighted the fact that despite being constructed a few years ago, we go out of our way to keep everything spotless and as well maintained as we can.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the cleanliness, the varied entertainment and the location, were satisfactory to you.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable vacation and phrases like “We would happily stay there again “indicate us that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because to us there is no better reward than the confirmation of our guests that they had a lovely stay.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

this was r first trip abroad and we had a great time,we were there for 1 week,the food was amazing the staff were so friendly i took sick on the 5th day with a kidney infection the receptions were brillant they write everything down for us 2 give 2 the taxis drivers so we cud get 2 the medical centre.we were bac in the hotel in less than an hr an had my anticbiotic,nothing is 2 much bother,the hotel is very clean and the food was lovely there is sumthing for every taste,if u want sumwhere nice quiet an relaxed wiv amazing views an walks this is it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnesmoore61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a weeks board in a Side Sea View via Jet 2 Holidays in Feb 13.
Reception on arrival was OK. Instead of a personal book in, we were given a mini group intro to the hotel and we were all given an upgrade to what we had booked, which was OK.
The room we were given was a ground floor sea view. The room smelled of damp. We found that when the shower was used water was not caught by the short curtain and the floor was soaked. This had obviously gone on for a while because the door and surrounds were rotted because of the damp. We complained about a loose toilet seat. This was fixed within the hour, but not properly. The rest of the room was dated and well used but clean. The sun beds were on the patio were filthy, certainly not cleaned this season. We cleaned them ourself. The Patio was in need of repair with a gap running along the tiles. The windows appeared locked but were not secure, as we found when we found that our room had been broken into. The TV was old and only carries the one English Channel which is BBC World. It's time this was upgraded.
This is a n All Inclusive hotel but we stayed as Half Board guests. The food was acceptable but as you would expect with All Inc., it wasn't 4/5star but it was OK. There is a Wellness centre and a Pool. The staff were OK, actually a bit better than OK, they were mostly very attentive.

As stated, our room was broken into along with two others. We were immediately given another room which was one floor up. The Hotel Director did not offer any compensation for our losses or upheaval. However, her assistant was brilliant and took us to the police station next day to make our statements and help with translation.

The hotel is in a good position for PAPAGAYO Beach or The Marina. It's not as good as The Timi but its OK!

Room Tip: DO NOT TAKE A GROUND FLOOR....JUST IN CASE! We should add that after our break in, Security Guards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Jim,

Although we feel very sad to read that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

We deeply regret the robbery you have suffered whilst staying at the Iberostar Papagayo and we apologize once more for the inconvenience. In order to avoid any further occurrences and despite having been informed by the police that the delinquent who is responsible for this and other thefts in hotels in our area has been caught, we took appropriate measures expanding the surveillance schedule covered by the private security company which watches our property. The wellbeing of our guests is of prime importance to us and therefore, we go out of our way to ensure their comfort and safety within our hotel.

Moreover, for Iberostar thorough cleaning is an absolute must and we want to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations. We have protocols and procedures to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness. For future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our reception in case you find any shortage (like dirty sun beds). To us it is of major importance to offer total confidence in this area and we will be enchanted to adjust any situation which is not in accordance with our established standards.

To succeed we are glad to read that we fulfilled your expectations regarding the friendly service Iberostar is famous for. We strive to ensure that the culture of warm hospitality is imbued in every person who works at the Iberostar Papagayo and to capture perfectly the exact balance between courtesy and friendliness which is different for each guest. We are delighted that you underlined your satisfaction with this aspect of your stay with us.

We will take your comments into our consideration and we will try our very best to improve these points. Comments like yours motivate us to continue improving our exclusive and personalized service, so that our guests can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel Iberostar Papagayo.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks recently and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. We were upgraded to a family room with kitchenette and lounge in a separate building from the hotel which had its own pool and was joined to the main building by a tunnel. The room was clean and spacious.

We only stayed bed and breakfast but the breakfasts had everything anyone could want and then some! We were impressed by the little extras like sparkling wine or buck's fizz and strawberries brought round some mornings.

The staff were lovely - always helpful, smiling and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were particularly grateful for the cold drink on arrival. The hotel is up to the usual Iberostar standard - very well run, spotless and with good facilities.

The area is quiet with a lovely marina housing shops, bars and restaurants about a pleasant 10 minute walk away with the main resort a further 30 minute walk along a pleasant walkway along the cliff top and beach which was well-lit at night.

We had a wonderfully relaxing two weeks without leaving the resort (a first for us) as there was enough to keep us amused just pottering in the shops and walking to and from the lighthouse at the far end of the resort. We would definitely return to this hotel for a winter holiday - again not something we have ever said before.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment in the separate block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank very much for sharing this nice comment about your stay in Iberostar Papagayo. The heads of departments have been informed about your wonderful feedback so they can share your comments with our team. Your positive and encouraging words motivated us to keep on working with joy and enthusiasm.

Our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for, always attempts that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and welcome. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. Being this one of our main strengths, we thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed their professionalism. We will congratulate our colleagues and inform them regarding your praising comments.

It is very nice to read that you felt well whilst being among us. At Iberostar we try or our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars, fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts . We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

From the 12th - 19th February my wife and I stayed at the Iberostar Papagayo to help celebrate our Wedding Anniversary on 14th.

A short break and a welcomed time getting away from the English climate. The third time at this hotel in about a year. Bearing in mind it is also winter in Lanzarote we had 6 really good and sunny days and one cloudy day that was still much warmer than our friends and family were experiencing in the UK so really nice.

As usual we booked a Sea View (NOTE - NOT a 'side sea view') and Half Board which meant that we could spend our days relaxing on one of the Papagayo beaches or driving around the island.

Flying Ryan Air from Bristol we arrived at the hotel at around 5pm (so a little late in the day) and were promptly given our room key. Rather surprisingly we were allocated room 578 (a room overlooking the pool, other buildings and then the sea) which was not in the area we where had benefitted from a Sea View (not a side sea view, see previous reviews) before. I queried this and was told that this room still had a sea view. Luckily the hotel was fairly quiet so no problems with the general noise and hubub we have experienced in rooms overlooking the pool previously during peak season (which can last from 07.30am to 10pm in high season).

It was only when checking out on the last day that I noticed on the room card that we had actually been allocated a Junior Suite but the room number had been Tipex'ed out and changed to 578 which was a standard twin room.

Looking at the hotel web site, I see the picture shown against a 'sea side view' was actually taken from room 578 so maybe we didn't get what we paid for after all. From previous experience a sea side view can entail having to lean out over the balcony and look left (or right) to be able to see the sea but in this instance it might be an indication of being slightly removed from the sea.

Room detail apart, the room was clean and tidy, the service was very good as always, the food was great and facilities were excellent.

I have a slight doubt in my mind that we actually ended up with what we paid for and also have a feeling that the Junior Suite we had been allocated (possibly by booking early and in recognition of our 3rd stay in a year) had been given to someone else.

Maybe I'm whinging unnecessarily but the holiday which was enjoyed greatly just left us with the slight feeling that we didn't quite get what we expected or what looked as if had been allocated to us.

The above will not stop us from returning but I think I will try and nail down the detail before our next visit to the hotel as when questioning reception staff, although very professional, polite and always greeting with a smile, maybe you might be told what you need to know rather than how it really is?

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, make sure you don't end up with a room with a 'sea side view' wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Chris,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the Iberostar Papagayo for your wedding anniversary, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. We are convinced that listening to our clients is the best way to achieve their satisfaction and therefore we took good note of the opportunities of improvement that your review offers us.

Regarding the doubts related to your booking and the rom you have been allocated in, we would like to point out that we have different types, views and rates at disposal and we can only imagine that there must have been confusion during the booking as all of the types are precisely described at our webpage. As you comment that your room was not fitting the advertised conditions, we are afraid that the reservation might have been of another category than the one you saw on internet. As we feel sad about your disappointment, for coming occasions, we would like to offer you a very personal booking guidance through our Iberostar call center or webpage, to make sure you become what you actually desire.

Further, we are happy that you could enjoy the efforts of our housekeepers and find that everything was kept very clean at all times. We passed your compliments to the staff and they were all delighted to have contributed to your wellbeing at the Iberostar Papagayo. Positive commentaries like yours help us to stay motivated and continue trying our utmost to provide perfectly spotless accommodation.

Moreover, we are proud and happy to see that you enjoyed all of our other services and we will certainly congratulate all the staff that contributed to delight you with the culinary highlights and the friendliness whilst serving you. This positive feedback stimulates us to continue meeting our demanding quality standards.

Once again, thank you for your feedback; we do appreciate all of your comments as they help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a completely enjoyable and satisfactory experience at the Iberostar Papagayo.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
1.6 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel

Property: THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel
Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5 | San Marcial del Rubicon, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Papagayo)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo, located close to the beach Playa de las Coloradas and next to the paradisiac beaches of Playas de Papagayo, is an optimal place to enjoy your family vacation in Lanzarote. This four-star- resort features 291 ample rooms distributed in two buildings of three floors each. It disposes of two pool for adults and two for children, restaurant, snack bars and a conference room. The wide offer of entertainment, sports activities, leisure and relaxing has been conceived for every family member to enjoy this experience to the maximum. For it, Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers among others a gym, a spa center, a multipurpose sports court as well as kayak and bike rental service. Naturally, the little ones will have great fun at our Mini Club. Due to its touristic attractiveness and its good infrastructure, Lanzarote is the ideal venue for holding multiple events such as weddings, congresses, conferences and business meetings. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers modern facilities with the audiovisual equipment for celebrating this kind of events. With spectacular views over Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island, here you have everything at your disposal for your “tailor-made” vacations. Discover with Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo a universe full of tiny pleasures. An unforgettable experience to share in good company in an idyllic place. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo disposes of 291 rooms, four of them adapted for people with disabilities. Each of the five categories Double Superior Sea View, Familiar Room, Double Sea View, Double Sea Side View and Double Standard puts everything at your disposal for you to immerse in the blue color of the Atlantic. Your wellness and the comfort at your feet. You will find us in Lanzarote, the “island of the volcanoes”. As expected, it was declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 1993 by the UNESCO. This place is magic: natural paradises where the golden sand meets the crystal-clear waters of the Atlantic, volcanic landscapes and unusual tropical vegetation. This island is pure contrast, it´s land of fusion of work of art and nature. It´s the place of exceptional landscapes of unique beauty. The views from our hotel will leave you breathless: in the horizon Lobos Island and Fuerteventura appear. Furthermore, close to Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo you will find the port Marina Rubicon, a place to enjoy a walk while contemplating the sea and the sailing boats, have a drink or go for some tapas, or go shopping at the flea market or at the shops around. With its average annual temperature of 22°C, Lanzarote not only is an optimal place for practicing water sports, but it also offers everything for you to enjoy the vacation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing