We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Return Visitor”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Back to this lovely hotel for the second Christmas running. Everything was as to be expected, great staff, immaculate cleanliness, super food with great choices and the weather was superb - really enjoyed our holiday.

What has happened to the entertainment staff? Big change of staff - no Roberto who had a great personality and worked hard both with the kids and adults. Last year they had a great team and this year it seemed a little bit subdued. The childrens entertainment appeared to be the same but the staff did not seem to put the same effort to the adult holidaymakers.

Notwithstanding the above comments this is still a really good well run hotel and gives a very enjoyable holiday experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    1,124
    388
    86
    48
See reviews for
881
1,392
100
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you want a great venue, in a superb area of the beautiful island of Lanzarote, choose this hotel and you shouldn't be disappointed. My husband and I have just enjoyed a 7 night break throughout the Christmas period. We enjoyed every moment of our stay.

Negatives:
For us the single slight negative during our stay was that there were a couple of 'hyper-active' children 'messing about' in the main bar area on Christmas eve who were not being managed by their parents. The staff could have possibly requested more calm!

Positves:
So many positives but in a nutshell... Top notch and plentiful selection of delicious food and drinks, virtually around the clock. Branded / well known drinks, excellent wine selection, good soft drinks and snacks all available on the All Inclusive option.

Our accommodation was excellent. Contrary to what some other reviewers have commented upon, the accommodation 'across the road' from the main hotel was absolutely delightful.

When we arrived, we were advised that the double room we had requested was unavailable due to overbooking. We were offered 'an upgrade to family accommodation' and were advised that if for any reason we were unhappy, we must report this to Reception.

We received a wonderful 'apartment' which was really secluded, quiet, and had both a garden and sea view. Our bedding and towels were changed every single day and the housekeeping standards were excellent.

The staff throughout the hotel, from the Reception to the waiting staff, to the bar staff, everyone who works there, wonderful and helpful.

Summary:
Great venue, great people, great place to holiday in Lanzarote.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valandal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We decided on the Papagyo Hotel at Plya Blanca because of it's location, close enough to Plya Blanca but far away enough to offer us a peaceful relaxing holiday. The Hotel did live up to our expectations and we found the Management and staff to be very helpful, Overall the food was good and there was always a hot plate (important) to place your food on. The variety of food was very varied and the Gala Dinner on Christmas day evening, which commenced with a Champagne and Canopies recemption was very good, my wife and I both had the fish of which there was ann excellent selection. The weather of course was fantastic, sunshine every day not a cloud in the sky so we were able to sit by the pool, pool towels could be changed daily if required. If I had the ability to change something it would be to Remove the TV, Pool Table and other entertainment from the lounge bar area as it distracted people like ourselves who preferred a quiet drink and to chat with new found friends. maybe there could be a dedicated sports room.
However overall a very pleasent holiday. We will of course probably return at some futur date.

Room Tip: Sea view room is always good for couples, but if you have children, maybe a pool view would be bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank callawaygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lanzarote is great - this was our third time - February, October and now December, all fabulous weather and superb scenery. Knew Playa Blanca but first time we have stayed here, 23rd - 31st December, 2012 to escape the UK weather .Iberostar Papagayo was an excellent choice. The reviews on this hotel were a factor in choosing it and - as ever - the overall score was pretty accurate. The staff were very friendly, the Christmas meal really special, the location fine if you like walking or have a hire car, and the weather exceptional. Only two overcast days, and great swimming/sunbathing on Puerto del Carmen beach on Christmas day. Most days the temperature was mid 20s and more like an English summer at its best. Possible reservations to take into account have already been mentioned in previous reviews and none serious - a long way out of Playa Blanca if you don't like walking, though easily done in around half an hour - ten minutes to Rubicon Marina. The rooms were close to five star with excellent storage, but the bedding, though clean and changed every two days, was definitely two or three star at best (narrow sheets and blanket, tired bedspread). The wi-fi isn't cheap - these days one would expect it to be free, and there isn't really any need to charge for the safe as no effort is involved in activating it. Food choice is excellent, air-conditioning fine in December, though probably would work hard in mid-summer, the pool area is stylish if a little on the small side, and the reception staff, checking in and out, and general atmosphere all are welcoming. We wouldn't hesitate to return, or to recommend for couples, singles or small groups of family or friends. There were a wide cross-section of ages and nationalities in over Christmas, with a slight bias towards older couples.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view if this is your only holiday - otherwise, couldn't see any roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadm705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and honestly could not find a thing wrong with it. The reception was always helpful, the restaurant had every selection of food you would wish for at all meals, the rooms were well equiped, clean and spacious and would recommend this hotel to any one.

Room Tip: Any sea or pool view are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile


my wife and i,and a friend stayed at the papagayo 9th-16th december,our fourth stay and our friend,s third.i have written a review once before ,after our first stay.firstly some minor criticism,which doesn,t detract from our enjoyment at the hotel.my wife and i had a double room(531)and our friend had a double for single use(515)our room was rather smaller than our friends room,but perfectly adequate for the two of us.we could have swapped ,i suppose,but our friend had been allocated her room first as ours was not ready,and she was happy where she was.our room was at the end of the corridor ,which i think,explains the size of the room.we had a better view of the sea,and over to fuerteventura.check in seems to take longer than other hotels we have stayed in.reception staff have to fill out a form manually which takes a bit of time,we have stayed in sol hotels and a swipe of your passport through a scanner and it is done in seconds.simples!!i know that you don,t go on holiday to watch the tv,but in the winter ,when it is dark early,it would be nice to have a bit more choice than bbc world news.this is the only english language channel available,so,come on management, and give us more choice,it can,t be that difficult.now the good points,which easily outweigh the minor moans.the staff are among the best we have encountered on our travels.always smart and courteous.the food is marvellous for a buffet,a good selection ,freshly prepared,although the plates could do with being warm.plenty of loungers ,you don,t have to be out early to book your spot,although a few guests do,despite notices forbidding placing towels on sunbeds ,then disappearing for a couple of hours.we like the position of the hotel and enjoy walking to playa blanca along the walkway ,stopping at the marina for a coffee etc.we hired a car,a fiat panda,which was adequate for the three of us.booked it through pluscars.picked it up at the airport and it only cost 77euros for the week.we booked the flights with jet2 from glasgow,and booked the hotel direct,on iberostar website.worked out a lot cheaper than a package.most guests seem to go all inclusive,but half board suited us fine .so,to sum up ,great hotel,marvellous staff,good food,all the ingredients for a good holiday.we will certailnly be back for a fifth visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank james23Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

we are currently 6 days in to our 10 day All Inclusive stay at Iberostar Papagayo at Playa Blanca and cannot fault anything. We upgraded to a seaview room which has a fantastic view of Papagayo Beach, you can alo see the distant dunes at Feurteventura.

The room is in very good condition with a shower over the bath and plenty of hot water at anytime, the tv is ideal for catching up with the news but that is the only English Channel. WiFi is available at €20 p/wk with the signal being very good anywhere in the hotel including your room.

The food is very good the breakfast has an excellent choice from fruit to cereal to full English served with piping hot coffee/tea or fresh juice. Lunch has a choice of various meats, pasta and rice or salad items, help yourself to wine or beer.

The pool bar serves late breakfast and lunch if you fancy continental or burgers, sandwiches and pizza, there is something for everyone. The evening meal again is a choice of varying meats, fish, pasta and rice and the salad a items and cakes/puddings served with various wines, beer or soft drinks. The staff are faultless nothing is too much bother and they are always smiling.

The location is a 20 minute walk along the promenade to Rubicon Marina where you will find various bars/restaurants with a further 20 minutes to the main town which is full of sea front restaurants. You can also walk 30 minutes in the opposite direction to Papagayo beach which is totally natural with none of the usual developments on it.

If you are on a budget and want to eat out meals at Rubican Marina vary from €7 to €17 with wine or a large beer starting at €3. There is a bus stop near by should not want to walk to town and a taxi is about €5 each way. There are various excursions available from the tour companies scattered around the marina, we went on the Raquel C which is an old Spanish sailing schooner which cost €45 for a 3 hour trip to Papagayo beach including tapas and drinks, the lady who runs it is very friendly along with the crew, el capitano will let you take the wheel and the crew let you help raise the sails I would recommend this trip as we thoroughly enjoyed it on Xmas day.

Be warned this is a far quieter resort than all of the others perfect for relaxing but not for raving, I am looking to come back next Christmas, well done to all the staff at the hotel and thank you for a super holiday

Room Tip: Upgrade to seaview on floor 3 it's level with the pool area and main restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stevet106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

As it is our deepest desire to offer comfortable accommodation, we enjoyed reading your description of the rooms which are designed to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Further, we are glad to read that you could enjoy the culinary efforts of our chefs and the service in our restaurant. In Iberostar we understand that eating and drinking are important parts of the all over experience and when we achieve your satisfaction this is the best reward for our day by day labors.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for. They will surely celebrate that you wrote that they were very friendly. As all of them work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, we will definitely pass on your satisfaction with their services.

It is very nice to read that you felt well whilst being among us. At Iberostar we try or our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars, fills us with joy. We will be delighted to welcome you back next Christmas!

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
1.6 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel

Property: THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel
Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5 | San Marcial del Rubicon, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Papagayo)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo, located close to the beach Playa de las Coloradas and next to the paradisiac beaches of Playas de Papagayo, is an optimal place to enjoy your family vacation in Lanzarote. This four-star- resort features 291 ample rooms distributed in two buildings of three floors each. It disposes of two pool for adults and two for children, restaurant, snack bars and a conference room. The wide offer of entertainment, sports activities, leisure and relaxing has been conceived for every family member to enjoy this experience to the maximum. For it, Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers among others a gym, a spa center, a multipurpose sports court as well as kayak and bike rental service. Naturally, the little ones will have great fun at our Mini Club. Due to its touristic attractiveness and its good infrastructure, Lanzarote is the ideal venue for holding multiple events such as weddings, congresses, conferences and business meetings. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers modern facilities with the audiovisual equipment for celebrating this kind of events. With spectacular views over Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island, here you have everything at your disposal for your “tailor-made” vacations. Discover with Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo a universe full of tiny pleasures. An unforgettable experience to share in good company in an idyllic place. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo disposes of 291 rooms, four of them adapted for people with disabilities. Each of the five categories Double Superior Sea View, Familiar Room, Double Sea View, Double Sea Side View and Double Standard puts everything at your disposal for you to immerse in the blue color of the Atlantic. Your wellness and the comfort at your feet. You will find us in Lanzarote, the “island of the volcanoes”. As expected, it was declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 1993 by the UNESCO. This place is magic: natural paradises where the golden sand meets the crystal-clear waters of the Atlantic, volcanic landscapes and unusual tropical vegetation. This island is pure contrast, it´s land of fusion of work of art and nature. It´s the place of exceptional landscapes of unique beauty. The views from our hotel will leave you breathless: in the horizon Lobos Island and Fuerteventura appear. Furthermore, close to Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo you will find the port Marina Rubicon, a place to enjoy a walk while contemplating the sea and the sailing boats, have a drink or go for some tapas, or go shopping at the flea market or at the shops around. With its average annual temperature of 22°C, Lanzarote not only is an optimal place for practicing water sports, but it also offers everything for you to enjoy the vacation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
THe Mirador Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing