We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THe Mirador Papagayo
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a relaxing break”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed in this hotel with a friend in March 2011. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite on arrival, as all other sea view rooms were occupied, which was a really nice surprise. It is a good place to stay for a short relaxing break. Nice and clean rooms, fantastic sea view. Excellent food, which can't be taken for granted in All Inclusive hotels. Location is just right if you fancy a 15-20 min walk to the marina, or a further 10-15 mins into town. Amazing pool, and a great sun deck if you like to sunbathe. Hotel bar could've been better, but service and staff were great. Beach is about 30 mins walk, and hotel provides a shuttle bus service to the beach and back, 4 times a day. Overall, quite pleased with this choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliet298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    1,154
    404
    88
    49
See reviews for
921
1,420
100
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Stayed at Iberostar Papagayo from 1-7 April 2011.

Having always scrutinised Tripadvisor reports before choosing a hotel, I will be much more sceptical in future!
Factually, they are a useful tool.
However, opinions can vary so much.
If you are used to going 4-5 star all inclusive, in places like Egypt and Turkey, then I suspect the Iberostar Papagayo would be a major let-down!
However, if your usual holiday is a 2-3* B+B hotel, then the Iberostar Papagayo might seem like a luxury hotel.

The Junior Suites are excellent, and have a very spacious private sunbathing area with sunbeds.
The Junior Suite rooms are spacious and comfortable, with large bathroom, walk in wardrobe, lounge area, and large bedroom area.
The cleanliness of the hotel is a big plus.

A previous Tripadvisor contributor mentioned the noise from rooms above you.
He/She is dead right!
We had the misfortune to have a thoughtless family staying above us (parents and 3 young children).
From 7 a.m. onwards, the children were charging up and down the floor, jumping up and down, scraping the furniture across the floor, shouting, fighting, etc.
It didn't appear to enter the parents' minds that there were other guests staying in the hotel.
The floors are all tiled, so noise carries. A LOT!

Some of the food was frankly quite poor, but remember that's just an opinion. Lots of chips and pizza and that sort of thing. Some good things included freshly fried chicken breast and ratatouille, and also shell on prawns.
The oranges and tomatoes were good. There was a lot of tinned produce.
There were a lot of 'fantasy salads' or 'chef's salads' which were concoctions of the previous meal.

Other members have mentioned the Marina (Rubicon) which is 15 mins brisk walk.
You can go to the market here twice a week, and have some nice meals, and drinks overlooking the marina. There are a few little shops and a supermarket. The marina is relatively new, has only been built in the last few years. Quite a lot of properties seem to have been built, but not openened due to the recession. It was fairly quiet. Not a lot of atmosphere.

Further along, you have Playa Dorada, which is the golden beach next to the harbour at Playa Blanca. This is a good 40 mins walk from the Iberostar. The Playa Dorada is a spectacular beach, really clear blue sea, beautiful sand. At Playa Dorada / Blanca, there are loads of restaurants and bars, and a lot of shops.

The walk along the seafront is a well laid out, clean path, lit at night. You can walk for miles along this path in both directions from the hotel.

The entertainment is not something I would recommend! There were some 'acrobats' - well school boys could have done better.
The animation team mimed some songs to Grease.
They also mimed to Mama Mia, although this show was better.

The pool area is small, and we didn't like the black colour of the tiles. Made you wonder what they were hiding! After a day out by the pool, the area gets quite squalid, with everyone bringing their free drinks and food outside, drink spilling on the floor, bins overflowing with plastic cups etc

There is only really one bar to sit at in the hotel, the lobby bar. Not the most inspiring of environments. The bar in the entertainment venue is better, with more atmosphere, but this is only in use in the evening when the entertainment is on.

The decor of the hotel is a bit past it. Lots of yellow and blue. All the fabrics in our room were faded. The black out curtain was coming off the rail.

AS for the drink! I found the wine (red/white/rose) vile! Absolutely awful. Very thin, and like vinegar. So I moved on to the gin / vodka. Again, odd flavour, and no kick. Some of the clientele (have you ever watched the programme 'Benidorm,'????) were enjoying the 'cocktails'. These were supposed to be alcoholic. You could drink a good dozen and not feel much effect. My husband thought the beer was very watered down.
We both like a drop or two (!), and in the end, the only thing the hotel offered that I actually liked, was their version of Baileys. We ended up going to the supermarked to buy our own vodka, which rather defeats the object of going all inclusive.

Plusses:
The size of the Junior Suite, and its own sunbathing area.
The paved walk from the hotel along the coast.
The entertainment provided (unwittingly) by the clientele.
The stunning view from the hotel.

Minuses:
It is surely NOT a 4 star!
Faded - lack of atmosphere - poor quality drink - uninspiring food.
The black pool.
Sunloungers that were well past their sell by date.
The evening entertainment

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonbridgeJollyyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay on an Ai basis , this was our second visit the first being 2 years ago. The hotel again came upto our full expectation.... i will keep this short but ALL STAFF from the cheerful ladies that cleaned our rooms daily , the waiters, bar staff , receptionists and porters ALL were genuinely friendly, polite, helpful and attentive when required.They are a credit to the company. The food was superb, lots of choice and freshly cooked. Our seaview room 335 was much appreciated with a glorious view over the bay. Situated on the quiet side of Playa Blanca but very relaxing with a lovely walk to the marina....... a superb holiday all round.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Stayed 29March - 5 April for one week. We stayed Half Board. (most people stay AI)

Hotel - Reception a bit dated and corridors to rooms could do with an update. The bar area near reception is the only bar and is quite dated. It also has no atmosphere as quite bright lighting and no music. Did not bother us as we stayed HB so went out at night. If I was AI would have got very bored sat in this bar all night.

Rooms - we had a room ground floor with a sea view.(245) It had a lovely terrace with sun loungers and could sunbathe in private. Room kept immaculate by maids and bathroom modern & sapcious. Beware if you have rooms above they are very noisy. If you are a light sleeper take earplugs!

Pool area - plenty of sunbeds in the morning and a nice terrace type area overlooking the sea. Pool bar convenient and help yourself (even if only staying HB we found!)

Food - this was excellent and the quality even comparible with cruises I have been on. So much choice and always replenished. Fresh food cooked to liking at breakfast and dinner. Be warned if only staying HB do not help yourself to any drinks from the server, even water, they will automatically add 5euro each to your room. However, if you intend on drinking a lot at dinner paying this is worth it as you can have as much as you like.

Location - this is what we felt let the hotel down. The hotel is around 10-15 minutes walk to the marina, which is nice but very quiet especially at night. Nothing going on, although one bar at the near end is very nice and sells amazing cocktails. Also as it was VERY windy did not feel like walking along the costal path at night as got blown to pieces and was quite cold. Playa Blanca is at least 30-40 min walk away, again along the costal path so very windy. The hotel do offer a shuttle to Playa Blanca but limited times and this ends at 5pm.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel was a good 4*. If you like to walk out at night and visit a few bars for drinks then this is probably not the best place to go. If you prefer staying in the hotel all the time then its probably better, although the issue with the bar atmosphere may dampen your enjoyment. One thing I would say is beware of the wind! great when sunbathing but drove me mad by the end of the week!

Room Tip: If staying HB try your luck -drinks for free?!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenster212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

As someone who always looks at hotel reviews before booking i always find it confusing that some people can have such differing opinions on the same place. We are just back from a fanastic break at the Iberostar Papagayo, the weather was brilliant and very unexpected for this time of year. I don;t think we have ever been somewhere so clean, the staff couldn't do enough for you. As previously mentioned the enterntainment was west end quality but it is what you make it!
the lcoation of the hotel is lovely for walking to the marina or into Playa Dorada or Blanca.
Our first time in laznarote but would definietly go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz5679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Stayed for one week with husband and friends - had a lovely time - food and drink excellent - location of the hotel brilliant for walks to Papagayo beach and to Playa Blanca , market at the new marina worth a visit. All the staff very pleasant and helpful - would go there again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlastoFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Have just returned home from this lovely hotel stayed in a Junior Suite no 357 the view was beautiful the food and staff were really great only fault we had was the entertainment it was really poor and the entertainment area was closed completely on the sat night which is poor but it did'nt stop us enjoying ourselves had a lovely holiday and hope to return soon met some nice people there Karen& Steven. Enis & Rodger

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.4 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,790 reviews
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
7.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,806 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THe Mirador Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Mirador Papagayo

Property: THe Mirador Papagayo
Address: Calle Las Palmas, 5 | San Marcial del Rubicon, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Papagayo)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — THe Mirador Papagayo 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo, located close to the beach Playa de las Coloradas and next to the paradisiac beaches of Playas de Papagayo, is an optimal place to enjoy your family vacation in Lanzarote. This four-star- resort features 291 ample rooms distributed in two buildings of three floors each. It disposes of two pool for adults and two for children, restaurant, snack bars and a conference room. The wide offer of entertainment, sports activities, leisure and relaxing has been conceived for every family member to enjoy this experience to the maximum. For it, Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers among others a gym, a spa center, a multipurpose sports court as well as kayak and bike rental service. Naturally, the little ones will have great fun at our Mini Club. Due to its touristic attractiveness and its good infrastructure, Lanzarote is the ideal venue for holding multiple events such as weddings, congresses, conferences and business meetings. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo offers modern facilities with the audiovisual equipment for celebrating this kind of events. With spectacular views over Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island, here you have everything at your disposal for your “tailor-made” vacations. Discover with Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo a universe full of tiny pleasures. An unforgettable experience to share in good company in an idyllic place. Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo disposes of 291 rooms, four of them adapted for people with disabilities. Each of the five categories Double Superior Sea View, Familiar Room, Double Sea View, Double Sea Side View and Double Standard puts everything at your disposal for you to immerse in the blue color of the Atlantic. Your wellness and the comfort at your feet. You will find us in Lanzarote, the “island of the volcanoes”. As expected, it was declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 1993 by the UNESCO. This place is magic: natural paradises where the golden sand meets the crystal-clear waters of the Atlantic, volcanic landscapes and unusual tropical vegetation. This island is pure contrast, it´s land of fusion of work of art and nature. It´s the place of exceptional landscapes of unique beauty. The views from our hotel will leave you breathless: in the horizon Lobos Island and Fuerteventura appear. Furthermore, close to Hotel THe Mirador Papagayo you will find the port Marina Rubicon, a place to enjoy a walk while contemplating the sea and the sailing boats, have a drink or go for some tapas, or go shopping at the flea market or at the shops around. With its average annual temperature of 22°C, Lanzarote not only is an optimal place for practicing water sports, but it also offers everything for you to enjoy the vacation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your THe Mirador Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Papagayo Hotel Lanzarote
Iberostar Hotel Papagayo
Iberostar Playa Blanca
THe Mirador Papagayo Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing