We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want to go home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't want to go home!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed for 10 nights all inclusive, and were gutted to be going home. It was our 1st holiday abroad as a family of 5, the youngest 2 children had never been over seas until this holiday. Our boys, aged 8 and 5 spent most of their time in the pool and made some great new friends, who they are now pen friends with. We were a little weary going all inclusive as have been previously to other all inclusive hotels and been stuck with larger lout Brits, but thankfully all of the families at the Rio Playa Blanca were lovely.

The waiting staff were very helpful and we were amazed at how hard they worked to keep the dining room clean and keep tables ready for use. As we were in a party of 11, the staff asked if we would like a table reserving each meal time, and even made sure a high chair was ready for my daughter.

I found that the meals were great for our family. The children all have different tastes but were happy with the choices available and went back for seconds most meal times.

It was good be able to let the children go to the bar to get their soft drinks as they wanted, this would have cost us a fortune if not all inclusive! Our 5 year old son, Oliver made good friends with "Mario" a member of the bar/catering team, who called Oli his best friend. All of the staff were great to our children. The kids loved the evening 'Mini Disco' where they learned songs and dances from different countries.

The rooms were spacious (even for our big family). The bedding and towels were clean and changed regularly. Yes, if I was being picky, the rooms are slightly dated and could do with freshening up, but overall we were quite happy with the accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    590
    338
    156
    114
See reviews for
740
528
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just returned from an 8 day stay in this hotel and just don't see why people are putting all the negative comments. If I wanted to be really ruthless then yes the beds aren't like home and you do get some noise from the water in the bathroom during the night and I would say its nearer 3* than 4 and the pool was cold however here's the great positives. The location is peaceful , the food is great and varied, the staff are friendly and polite , the entertainment for the kids is lively , rooms are cleaned and freshened daily , kids and adults loved the choice of 3 pools, there are plenty of sun beds , 15 min walk to the beach which was lovely , tables in restaurant were quickly cleared ready for the next holidaymakers, All inclusive recommended for families pays for itself as we had around 2 visits at each meal both mains and desserts ( lovely) and beer and wine self service with meals. I would definitely recommend this if , like us , you wanted to relax , enjoy and soak up the sun - would definitely go again it was brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just back from 2 weeks. Room was adequate - only for changing and sleeping really. Spent all day outdoors and evenings in the bar area. Beds are not comfy and needed to do the stretching & yoga in the mornings! Very creaky beds so every time you turn over it wakens whoever else is in the room. There were a few ants but room next to us had more but were given powder to put down. Tv remote is €10 but fefunded when you hand it back. Not worth having as only english channels were sky news & a cartoon channel which kept my son entertained before dinner. First week was quiet as just before change of season. Could get a sun lounger anytime and no towels out as signs say no reserving or towels would be removed. Animation team were so friendly and did so much for us and my 5 year old son. 2nd week was mayhem. Towels on longers from before 8am. 3 loungers next to us had towels on when we arrived back from beach at 12.45 and people eventually appeared at 4pm. Woman got in a strop cos I'd thrown her towel onto the next lounger so my son could actually lie down for a little while. Long queues in restaurant and tables not cleared very fast so sometimes we had our main course dishes still sitting while we were having dessert. Change of animation team so only 2 original ones from our 1st week during the day and new ones at night - some not so friendly. On the whole, staff were nice and we got to know a few of them well. Was quite sad to leave. Busier also meant long queue at the bar and most of the time only 1 barman. Sometimes 2. None of the pools were heated and so were always freezing. I did not use them much and my son had to come out every so often to heat up. He actually shivered. Food was very repetitive. Chips, rice, pork, chicken and pasta every lunch & dinner for 2 weeks with 1 other choice on the grill. Was usually roast chicken but twice there was fajitas and burgers. On the whole this is a nice hotel but would not like to be there for 2 weeks when full.

Room Tip: All rooms are away from pool and bar area so youl do not hear anything at night. Only noise was suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0ris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We came home yesterday and I've just looked at the reviews for the first time and I cannot understand those who have been critical about this hotel. My husband, daughter and myself had a really lovely time and thought that the staff were excellent. The food was so good that we've all put on nearly half a stone after our two week holiday! The bungalows were set in beautiful gardens and were away from any noise from the hotel and pool. Thank you to all the hard working staff for looking after us so well. I would certainly recommend the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I've just returned from a weeks holiday here with my father and two children, The bungalow we stayed in was very basic the tap in the bathroom was wobbly, the plug socket in the kitchen wasn't really attached to the wall properly, and the tiled skirting some was coming off, the dining room gets very busy the tables aren't cleared very quickly and the food was average and repetitive, no wifi in the bungalows, pool was freezing not heated, and beware of the receptionist very rude lady!!!! No customer service skills what so ever, we had an incident in the reception area where I was asking her for bus times, as I walked back to my family who were sitting in reception waiting for me, my eldest son sat down at the same time and slightly knocked the bottom of the coffee table with his foot, which was like outside garden furniture with a glass top, unfortunately for us there was a 3" piece of glass somebody had already broken!!!!! as my son knocked the bottom of the table the little piece of glass fell on the floor the receptionist rushed over pointing her finger in my face accusing my son of breaking the glass which he did not !!! She wasn't interested in listening she just accused us of breaking it which we did not!!!! If we had we would of apologised and paid for the damages, we didn't receive an apology this spoilt the rest of our holiday there is no CCTV in the main reception room I wish there was!!!! The holiday for a week wasn't cheap I feel very disappointed and let down its definitely not 4 star accommodation I've stayed in far nicer 4 star accommodation would not return to this hotel if paid me!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

just got back from 10 nights at this hotel and got to say its 2/3 star at best, bar staff are ignorant unless your spanish of course! and the entertainment is terrible really neeeds some investment here, the area itself is lovely and the restaurant staff are really friendly. the pool is so cold the kids couldnt go in which ruins the holiday for them. wont ever return

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorizia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I've been in this hotel for two nights, because my girlfriend had booked there.
I can only say that the staff is ok, kind and helps where they can, but some things should be adjusted. The food is better than no comment because I would be too bad. As the location is quiet, but far from the beach. I do not recommend this hotel. The animation does not exist.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca
#31 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
1.2 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,963 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#29 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Labranda Alyssa Suite Hotel
Labranda Alyssa Suite Hotel
#5 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca

Property: HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
Address: Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly HL Rio Playa Blanca)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rio Playa Blanca is situated in the south of the island in a tranquil location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, in the middle of a wonderful garden of palm trees. The sandy Playa Flamingo beach and the beach promenade can be reached within approx. 500 mtrs and the village center of Playa Blanca with its restaurants, bars and shops after approx. 1500 mtrs. A free shuttle bus service is arranged several times a day to the “Dino Park” at the sister hotel Paradise Island. The main building and the 190 one story bungalows are distributed on the approx. 80.000m2 grounds. The reception with Internet corner (against charge), a salon bar and the restaurant with non smoking zone and terrace can be found in the main building. Wifi is available throughout the entire premises against charge. The hotel facilities include as well a pool bar, 2 freshwater pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04), a sun terrace with sun beds (free) and a playground. Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. A multi purpose sport ground, Boccia, Darts and table football, as well as a varied daytime animation program and evening shows /live music complete the offered arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Rio Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Rio Playa Blanca
Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing