We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ace Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ace Holiday”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We went to "Hl Rio Playa Blanca" for 12 days in September 2013. We arrived around 7-9pm. When we went into the reception we were greeted by a pleasant staff Member (receptionist) we were told to leave our bags there and go to the restaurant to get some tea, which was very nice after a 4hr flight with Jet2Holidays!! The Hotel staff are very pleasant, Especially the "Animacion/Animation Team"

ROOM/BUNGALOW:::
The bungalow that we stayed in was very nice it had two beds and two sofa beds, It also has air con! The TV has a few English channels (BBC/News). It also had a spare Cupboard in the Main Room

RESTAURANT:::
The food was nice at tea time there wasn't much choice, Mainly Pasta Chips etc.. But each night they would have something different like Chinese or Curry... Pop Machine,Juice Machine,Wine,beer etc...

Pool:: cold but nice

I recommend This hotel but its not my fave so it got a 3* from me:)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JaKeD1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    606
    347
    164
    115
See reviews for
773
539
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My two friends and i have just returned from a four day holiday get away here and had a wonderful stay.
We were greeted by very proffessional and pleasant reception staff who advised us our room wasnt quite ready so to enjoy a drink at the bar.When we returned to collect our cases and be taken to our rooms my leather jacket had vanished. I was very upset and it did eventually get 'found' after two days of the manager following it up. They were very helpful and informative.
The two bed bungalow we had was huge.It had two massive bathrooms and a terrace that you could have had a party on! So please request room 1121. The lounge and kitchen could be big enough to cater a family of eight! Lovely quiet location too...
Pools were spotless but yeah shame the heating still not working in them....nothing a few cava's couldnt cure!!!
Food...amazing. Even if your fussy there was at least chicken, pork fresh fish and pasta.My friends enjoyed the huge prawns and salad choice. Can say my favourite was on Sunday and it was themed to be Italian dishes....yummy.
My only gripe and it is trivial is we also agreed with past comments....sometimes couldnt find a table to eat at as very few staff waiting. we went in for breakfast at 8am and dirty tables everywhere. So i feel not acceptable in a 4*hotel!!
Animation team really good fun and you can tell they adore what they do.
Would i go again? Yup in a
heart beat.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Manager at Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Tracy,

thank you very much for your comment.
It is loveley to read that you spent a great time in Rio Playa Blanca.
We want to agologize that the pool wasn't hot the time you were with us. We are working since some weeks with solar energy and had some problems at the beginning.
We would love to welcome you again and wish you & your friends all the best!

best regards

the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

this is our second year visit to this hotel/apartments. This time we returned as a party of 7, all adults & family youngest 24. What a blast we had. When we arrived we were greeted by extremely pleasant receptionist who advised us to leave our baggage and to go and get our dinner as the restaurant closes at 9pm.

The food is brilliant, compliments to chef. We have a few fussy eaters amongst us and they were well pleased with what was on offer. My only gripe this year is there was clearly a staff shortage from the previous year as tables were not cleared for ages and as it got nearer xmas it got busier so it was ofen quite hard to find a clean table, however hopefully management will take not and employ some extra staff.

The apartments again were well appreciated by all in our party and were quite really clean by the maids, bless them, as I am sure they would have their work cut out with our brood.

No problem getting a sleep at night beds comfy and resort extremely quiet at night which is great. The apartments themselves are very spacious with small patio to sit out in morning with your coffee.

The entertainment on offer was second to none, brilliant, as we were all adults we took part in everything and won nearly everything, ha ha! I do not normally bother with this but as we were in a group thought why not. There was all nationalitys taklng part & each applauding one another great sportsmanship and everyone really having a laugh. The animation team doing these activies were fantastic Adrian and Quinn our hats off to you both for keeping us well entertained and getting everyone involved, you are the ones that deserve a medal.

At the time we went there was not many children about so I could not comment on what activities was on offer for wee ones but if the standard of the adult activities was anything to go by I am sure it will also be great.

Yes the pool was broken and it did annoy us momentarily but not enough to spoil our holiday. I actually told the boys in our party it was heated and they dived in not too amused but they did stay in until they turned blue. Our son-in-law also complained each day but was told a different story but again it did not spoil our holiday.

We had access to the sister hotel waterpark also and we tried it out, really good fun to. There is also tennis courts at hotel which our brood made good use of thanks Yousef for giving them some lessons they really enjoyed it.

So all in all one memorable fantastic holiday so good we all want to come back this year again. Wee note for Manager please, please, get the pool fixed.

Room Tip: Think I have said everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 707planet54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked to go to this hotel arriving on the 26 th December for 10 nights, all inclusive so not a cheap option.
The 2 bed accomodation we had was big but basic. Rooms were serviced everyday as promised. The restaurant food was good ( very Spanish) but quite repetitive. But no lack of choice!
The reason for the poor report is the fact that we booked for a heated pool but it was broken and had been since the beginning of December. We asked every day what was going on with and everyday we got a different story and were lied to by the manager and their lies the problem with the hotel! The man was a compulsive liar telling each guest a different story everyday! He really did not care does not understand customer service and in fact is a disgrace to the hospitality and hotel industry! I would avoid this hotel for this reason alone! He then tried and I say tried to charge us 60 euros to watch the new years eve entertainment show - we refused so were not allowed inside so had to sit outside in the cold!! Great for an all inclusive resort where we had already paid extra for the gala dinner. Do not go or if you are going then check to make sure the heated pool is working otherwise your swimming in water that's 16 deg. No good for children.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Martyn12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We took our family of 4 adults and 3 children to this complex for xmas and new year after 2 days in the apartments where infested by small black flies we purchased some insecticied from the on site supermarket but used a full can in one apartment. reported to reception who left another can but the problem stayed as these apartments where surrounded by palm trees where we assumed the midges came from. the wife and grandchildren all had bites and we eventually obtained some creams from a pharmacy rooms number 1093/1094 avoid.
Not many english speaking people on site mainly germans and spanish may be different during the summer. Beware of coach transfers if you book with cosmos we only had a brief visit once and our transfers where with a company called jumbo tours which you have to ring 48hours before leaving date this we have never had before and as i did not bother to take my mobile abroad asked the reception to ring for us and was told that cosmos would send an e-mail confirming pick up times etc. this never happened and if it not for the helpfull reception staff we would have missed our flight home comos emergency number in the uk where not interested and as such i shall never book a holiday with that company again

Room Tip: take a torch as the lanes to the apartments are very poorly lit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

my family stayed at this hotel for christmas and new year and on the very first day we wanted to return home. the staff were very rude and all of the other guests staying at the hotel were german and french families. we were all inclusive but ended up eating out all the time as the food was terrible. their was suppose to be a heated pool during winter months but all of the 3 pools were ice cold so the children would not go in it. their was no kind of entertainmement for the children as also stated in the brocure. all the evening entertainment was in german and spanish so we hardly stayed on site at all. this is meant to be a 4 star hotel i would not even class it a 3 star. also the hotel is in the midle of no were and if you wanted to be in the heart of the resort i would not recomend this hotel as we had to get a bus and taxi to were we wanted to go. we will NEVER be returning again , we was very dissapointed!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Two years ago along with my husband and 2 sons we made our first visit to Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. We enjoyed our visit and left a review on this site. Last week I revisited again with husband and 2 sons, now 14 and 15 years. We have just got home having had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable pre Christmas break. Once again, we appreciated the low rise bungalows set in well tended gardens. It was only a few minutes walk to a beautiful golden sandy beach and the Rubicon Marina is well worth a visit especially on market day. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Last time I mentioned the beds being uncomfortable but with mattress toppers now in place the beds were comfortable. Rooms are cleaned every day apart from Friday and linen changed mid stay. Our All inclusive tariff provided us with an abundance of lovely food, lots and lots of variety - it was difficult to choose just what to eat. Breakfast consisted of full English, continental or combination, so much choice, my sons not used to having breakfasts these days tucked in. Lunch-time was excellent - lots of choice to suit the different nationalities catered for. The huge well stocked salad bar offered plenty of choice, including fruit salad, always a soup available and then several choices of main course plus vegetables, potatoes/chips/rice etc. A multi choice sweets table finished off the meal - if you could manage to decide what to have. Fresh fruit was always available as was several different flavours of ice-cream or sorbet. The evening was a repeat of the lunch-time but with different choices. Most evenings were themed - Chinese, Mexican, Italian and Canarian specialities (complete with trio who serenaded us whilst we ate - thanks guys for the 'special' song especially for us. The staff as on the previous visit were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We could name them all, but as each one was special we don't want to miss anyone out. They all contributed to our excellent holiday. One evening, a light bulb went in the bedroom - it was replaced even before we returned to the room. One tip - as we were travelling with Ryanair, we only took hand luggage, the on-site laundrette washed the clothes whilst we ate and they were dry before it was time to retire for the night. 2 washes/dries cost only 18 Euros (wash powder and conditioner provided in the cost) - much cheaper than the cost of taking extra 'hold' luggage. We only sat in on 2 of the evening entertainment sessions - due to age of children. Husband and children took part in daytime activities, shooting, archery,etc whilst I relaxed with a good book by the pool. One disappointment was our visit to the sister hotel with the Waterpark. We enjoyed the food there (included in our all inclusive), but the site seemed so squashed and crampt when compared with Rio Playa Blanca. We had paid for a 'Waterpark room' which included free access to waterpark and shuttle service but only went once and stayed for only a few minutes once we had finished our lunch. Our only 'gripe' with was the fact that the heated swimming pool at Rio Playa Blanca - was in fact not heated - we were told that the system had broken down. This in no way spoiled our holiday but some families, especially those with young families were disappointed. All in all another excellent holiday - Thanks Rio Playa Blanca - we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms near the road suffer some night time road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Canon1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment & thank you for coming back to our Hotel.
We are very happy to read that you had a wonderful holiday and really enjoyed.
We wish you a happy new year & a fantastic New Year's Eve.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.7 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,266 reviews
1.2 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marconfort Atlantic Gardens Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Playa Blanca

Property: Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
Address: Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly HL Rio Playa Blanca)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rio Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rio Playa Blanca is situated in the south of the island in a tranquil location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, in the middle of a wonderful garden of palm trees. The sandy Playa Flamingo beach and the beach promenade can be reached within approx. 500 mtrs and the village center of Playa Blanca with its restaurants, bars and shops after approx. 1500 mtrs. A free shuttle bus service is arranged several times a day to the “Dino Park” at the sister hotel Paradise Island. The main building and the 190 one story bungalows are distributed on the approx. 80.000m2 grounds. The reception with Internet corner (against charge), a salon bar and the restaurant with non smoking zone and terrace can be found in the main building. Wifi is available throughout the entire premises against charge. The hotel facilities include as well a pool bar, 2 freshwater pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04), a sun terrace with sun beds (free) and a playground. Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. A multi purpose sport ground, Boccia, Darts and table football, as well as a varied daytime animation program and evening shows /live music complete the offered arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rio Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Rio Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Rio Playa Blanca
Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote
Hotel Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing