We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

First time visiting this hotel and Playa Blanca and going all inclusive and was a bit worried from reading some of the reviews but I like to make my own mind up. The bungalows were lovely and spacious, set in beautiful gardens with a lot of space around them. We were in 1020 which was near the exit gate to go down to the beach (1500m away). The pool area was nice , loads of sunbeds so no problem getting one .The pool although advertised as heated in Jet2 Brochure was NOT !! This was one reason why I had booked it so that was disappointing but did managed to venture in once . Animation team where good during the day and got you involved.
Now the food . It was really good especially Breakfasts and lunches .plenty of choice and it was fresh and replenished regularly but you must like salads which we do so that was ok . Wine and beer on tap to help yourself during dinner , could get very busy in restaurant and tables not cleared that quickly.
Drinks at pool bar were great but in main lounge bar were ok but beer seemed to go flat quickly.
All in all had a great holiday and would return to this hotel and to Playa Blanca

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    572
    332
    154
    114
See reviews for
728
515
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went to Rio Playa Blanca for 2 weeks. Hotel nice and tidy, spacious bungalows. Good choice of food( not enough fruits,and sea foods), very little choice of snacks between meals. Quite a lot of choice from the bar for drinks. Staff very professional and helpfull (except some bar staff). Animation team was keeping amused my 4 years old boy,also me and my wife apart of night entertainment what was boring and aimed to Spanish pensioners. Pool was lovely and clean even if a bit cold. we had never problem to get sunbed what was fantastic 10 minutes walk to nearest beach,about 30 minutes stroll to Playa Blanca resort (too far).We had very nice holiday, went to Fuerteventura and Timanfaya National Park what was great even for 4 years old child.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin19761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very happy that you spent a great time in our hotel.
We will pass the mentioned points to the departments in charge in order to improve our services.

We wish you all the best & remain with

best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here 12-19th november for one week. On arrival my room wasn't ready due to a problem with water supply so was sent to another of the chains hotels the club playa blanca for the night.

On arrival back at the rio i was warmly welcomed by the receptionist and for the inconvenience i was given free wifi, free safety deposit box (10euro deposit) and free waterpark access at paradise island another of the chain.

FOOD: very repetitive but of good quality being a fussy eater i always found something (for the moaners) if you fancied something different you could use the restaurants at the other two hotels free if you were all inclusive including drinks.

DRINKS: usual cheap local spirits good local beer (tropical) a few cocktails in the evenings in cluded sex-on-the-beach pina colada etc.

BUNGALOWS: very clean maid service every day apart from friday linen changed once a week bugalows in good decoration but could do with a spruce-up and modernisation.no kettle but if you ask at reception they will give you one (free)

POOL: very nice pool plenty sunbeds but very cold

ENTERTAINMENT: 4 different languages very basic but they tried their best

if you catch the water park bus to paradise island (free) the entertainment during the day and night is run by thomas cook so all in english as its a mainly thomas cook resort.
:
WEATHER: not good very cloudy and windy occasional sunny patch and 9-11am best sun

All-in-All a good holiday would i stay here again? no but would stay at either the club playa blanca or paradise island both hl properties

Room Tip: all pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alboy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are happy to see that you spent a good holiday with us and also liked our sister hotels.
We hope to welcome you soon to one of the HL Hotels on Lanzarote.
We wish you all the best & remain with

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived back from Rio Playa Blanca last night! Receptionist was very helpful and welcoming on arrival. have to say first impression was that bungalows and complex was lovely clean and spacious! 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms which was fantastic with 2 year old twins! Pool area was always spotless - we used to stay by the kids pool - never a problem getting beds.
Then came the food! The only meal that was ok was the breakfast. I have been to all inclusives before but never to one when I knew what food was on before I had even looked. Same every single day. Children ate hardly anything and they both have really good appetites. We ended up eating out a couple of times to get some proper food. Its such a shame that let it down.
The bungalows are also further from the centre than advertised. You can get to a small area in 10 mins walk which has couple of restaurants and by the beach but the main centre is more like 25 mins. We did have people carriers back a couple of time from centre to bungalows as 6 of us and they were cheap at 4 euros.
Would stop there again but definitely not all inclusive

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunseeker005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
The entire Rio Playa Team is very happy to read that you had a good stay at our Hotel.
Regarding the food, we will forward your information to the department in order to improve our services.
Wishing you all the best, we remain with

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay and had a lovely break and family time in the sun but overall were disappointed with the resort.
The bungalows were extremely basic and badly in need of updating. They were clean but not spotless. We had a significant insect problem and my husband was quite badly bitten. On arrival the shower didn't work and our kettle kept blowing the fuse box! These issues were resolved quickly once reported but it wasn't the best start to our break.
The hotel should not advertise that it has Wi- Fi as the connection was terrible. It was slow and largely non exsitent. We paid the weekly charge but eventually asked for and received a full refund.
The food was inconsistent, often cold and quite uninspiring. The dining room desperately needs refurbishing and a good clean plus there was no air conditioning.
The pool was freezing. Such a shame the baby pool wasn't heated as it was far too cold for our baby.
The staff were friendly and did help but I feel they were understaffed and stretched to capacity.
On a final note, the beach, bars and shops are a lovely ten minute stroll away which was to be honest our saviour. The hotel has the potential to be wonderful - it simply needs major investment. More staff and refurbishment!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very sorry that you did not spend the expected holidays in our hotel; we appreciate your opinion very much and will pass the given information to the different departments in order to improve our services and satisfy our guests.

We wish you all the best & remain with

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went there in November 2013. The bungalows are definitely ok and also clean. Just the beds are way too soft, and if you travel as a couple you don't really like separate beds pushed together.
But beware of an all inclusive offer! The food is really bad, you'll hate yourself paying for this. It's the cheapest ingedients you can get, And one kind of cheese. We were on half board, only went to the restaurant for dinner once. For breakfast only the coffee (in the big, old machine) and the bread was tolerable, and one kind of cheese. So if you're catched by the attractive price keep in mind you have to at least go for dinner somewhere else every evening.
Besides that the hotel is kinda nice situated, not too far from the beach. Buses go regularly, staff was nice, too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo808303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

A good hotel. Food was very fresh and replaced at the end of each meal. Rooms were clean, tidy, and well tended.
Go with a reasonable expectation and you will not be dissapointed.

Beach was a small walk away, but so what, I need the exercise.

Kids enjoyed the aqua park and the food. Restaurant staff were VERY professional and helpfull.

For those slamming the 4 stars, I would simply invite them to stay in a 4 star Egyptian hotel.

Our only downside was the bed, which was a bit hard. Oh and the WIFI in the room was £20 per week, per computer / mobile. My bill would have been £60

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dr_Paul_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
The entire Rio Playa Blanca team appreciates your opinion very much and is very happy to read that you had an excellent time with us.
We hope to welcome you again and send you

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#30 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
1.2 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Labranda Alyssa Suite Hotel
Labranda Alyssa Suite Hotel
#4 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca

Property: HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
Address: Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly HL Rio Playa Blanca)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rio Playa Blanca is the perfect place to enjoy an unforgettable holiday on the island of Lanzarote. The horizontal distribution of the hotel and the stunning views of Lobos and Fuerteventura islands make it the perfect place to stay with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Rio Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Rio Playa Blanca
Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing