We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok bungalows, bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went there in November 2013. The bungalows are definitely ok and also clean. Just the beds are way too soft, and if you travel as a couple you don't really like separate beds pushed together.
But beware of an all inclusive offer! The food is really bad, you'll hate yourself paying for this. It's the cheapest ingedients you can get, And one kind of cheese. We were on half board, only went to the restaurant for dinner once. For breakfast only the coffee (in the big, old machine) and the bread was tolerable, and one kind of cheese. So if you're catched by the attractive price keep in mind you have to at least go for dinner somewhere else every evening.
Besides that the hotel is kinda nice situated, not too far from the beach. Buses go regularly, staff was nice, too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojo808303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

A good hotel. Food was very fresh and replaced at the end of each meal. Rooms were clean, tidy, and well tended.
Go with a reasonable expectation and you will not be dissapointed.

Beach was a small walk away, but so what, I need the exercise.

Kids enjoyed the aqua park and the food. Restaurant staff were VERY professional and helpfull.

For those slamming the 4 stars, I would simply invite them to stay in a 4 star Egyptian hotel.

Our only downside was the bed, which was a bit hard. Oh and the WIFI in the room was £20 per week, per computer / mobile. My bill would have been £60

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dr_Paul_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
The entire Rio Playa Blanca team appreciates your opinion very much and is very happy to read that you had an excellent time with us.
We hope to welcome you again and send you

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here 17 - 24th Oct on a week all inclusive with 2 adults and 2 children. We have for the last 4 years stayed at the Hotetur BlueBay in Costa Teguise but decided on a change.
On arrival check in was simple and friendly. On getting to our rooms they were spacious, but we were slightly underwhelmed over the décor and age of the furniture.
However, our feelings were soon dispelled. The pool Is fantastic, never a shortage of sunbeds.
The food is excellent, always a good variety, hot and cold food at every meal. You could live purely on the salad and pasta bar without touching the hot food. As previous posters have said there are themed nights too.
Bar is good - with some cocktails included in the all inclusive deal.
What made the holiday for us was the entertainment, Italo and Gabriel were fantastic in getting the adults joining in, and Julie was fabulous with all the kids, who just loved her and wanted to be with her all day!! - I can't thank her enough for the enjoyment my kids got on holiday!
All in all a great hotel, rooms could do with a facelift, but your on holiday - you sleep in your room and that's it!

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms are closer to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BLC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Having just returned from an 11 night stay here, on 31st oct, well what can I say Firstly check in was great and the reception staff so friendly and cheerful even when we were delayed over an hour and explained a cold meal was available for us in restaurant which was much appreciated after our journey.
Accommodation was great 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large living room and a kitchen with large fridge with freezer box and a kettle more than expected as all inclusive, lovely large patio too! bungalow was spotlessly clean and cleaned every day except Friday by very friendly staff, also only saw about 4 ants in our whole stay which is quite unusual abroad, only .hing beds are quite hard but didn't bother me but might some people,
Restaurant was clean and staff were all great! food became abit repetitive but you expect that when you are there 12 days, lots of different foods to try and was always piping hot, always plenty of tables and never a fight for them.
Bars were open till midnight although all inc finished at 11pm which was late enough, we got plenty of drinks all day and yes were in plastic cups, but I understand why not just for safety round the pool but easiness for the staff when there are so many people, never saw a miserable bar staff yet and they never stopped keeping bar area tidy and tables washed and straightened as soon as had no one at the bar. Pool area was always spotless too, never a fight for sunbeds even plenty still at lunchtime even during the school holiday part of our stay
Entertainers were brilliant and tried really hard, some of the shows were very amateur and mimed and as we had 2 teenagers with us that didn't use mini club or disco we went out a few nights but must say the Halloween show and all the work that went into doing up the stage was amazing and made our last night it was so well done and great how they involved all the children
Finally would like to say that the staff at Rio Playa Blanca are a credit to the hotel and they should be proud, thanks for a great time and hopefully we will be back

Room Tip: 1122 at back of complex but quiet, sunny patio and 2 bathrooms an extra bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chloeemily0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Didn't get off to a good start when the battered jet2 transfer coach broke down on route to our accommodation.
On arrival all looked lovely, the receptionist was very friendly and pool and gardens looked well kept. When we got to our room it was very spacious with 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms a small kitchen (only a fridge and hob - no kettle), and quite a big living room.
On reading previous reviews we took some ant killer, boy are we glad we did! There were ants everywhere in all our rooms, crawling on the sides of the baths, sinks and kitchen worktops, on the towels and all round the edge of the floor!! We managed to kill 'thousands' (yes we do mean thousands), of them and swept them up onto the dustpan which the maids emptied every day but Friday. There were also loads of spiders with very long legs in every room - even two on the pillows in the main bedroom! On trying to get rid of the spiders on the roof, we climbed up to find the ceiling was covered in webs! The bug killing went on for the duration of our 'safari' and we had to check our beds every night before we got in just to make sure we were alone.
The entertainment wasn't up to much, (wise to take a pack of cards). It was very basic, with the reps usually miming to backing tracks, we only saw a few 'professional' acts and these were quite poor, if you have young children the 'mini disco' entertainment is ok.
We found the restaurant quite good, although the food was a bit repetitive there was enough choice to able to eat something different on most days, although sometimes it could be a bit of a battle to get a table. The drinks at meal times are all self service but the tea and coffee machines are turned off at these times for some reason. The plastic cups your drinks are served in are appalling and we usually only got served half a cup! The free ice cream is only out for two hours between 3 and 5pm, and only worth having if you get there before the kids, dripping with water from the pool, have tried helping themselves, also the ice cream cups are even smaller than the drinking cups.
The staff were friendly, worked very hard and long hours and seemed to have too much to do. We noticed the bar staff working on the pool bar at meal times also had to clear tables in the outer part of the restaurant, leaving the bar empty and people waiting.
We visited the Dino Water Park, free to all inclusive, at a sister hotel a few times, it wasn't what we expected but ok and it kept our 15 year old son occupied. Had lunch each time we were there which was also free. The free bus to the water park picks up 4 times up to lunch time and drops off back at the hotel 3 times.
The pool does seem cold but once you're in, after the initial shock, it's fine.
Apart from the cleanliness of the rooms, the hotel was ok.
All in all we had a nice break as the weather was lovely, but wouldn't go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sueanne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 5th October to 15th October all inclusive.party of 12 ages 7yrs to 70yrs.overall a very good holiday for all,the bungalows were huge,2 bathrooms in the one we stayed in which was at the back of hotel but not that far away from pool ,bar,restaurant etc and surrounded by beautiful gardens,the bungalows are dated and in need of a refurb and new beds that's the only reason I wouldn't say this is 4star .Food was lovely,always something to eat even for the fussy eaters,just wish they'd put air con on in dinning room more often,beer and wine on tap so no worries about the 2 plastic cups per person at the bar rule ( Bacardi and coke very nice ).staff were all very friendly and helpful ( ask for a kettle to be put in your room if you want a cuppa in the morning).the pool was very clean and lovely to swim in,we spent most of the holiday in it,lots of water polo and other entertainment if you wanted it,something for everyone.the animation team (Gabriel and italow ) were brilliant,often being thrown in the pool,the kids loved it.The Dino water park is worth a visit or two (10 euros under 14yrs and 15euros for adults) worth the money.we would definitely return to the rio playa blanca.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near pool if you have difficulty walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We've just returned from a weeks all inclusive at Rio Playa Blanca and having never written a review on TripAdvisor felt compelled to this time. We arrived late (11.30pm) following a meltdown at Gatwick airport and our welcome couldn't have been better, a bit tired, hungry and grumpy we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who efficiently took us through everything we needed to know before informing us that dinner had been saved for us in the restaurant (lifted our mood straight away!) and it wasn't a problem for us to get a couple of drinks from the bar even though all inclusive had finished. Throughout our stay the staff were all extremely friendly, polite and curteous (with the exception of the receptionist who checked us out, she seemed so disinterested we didnt know whether we'd actually checked out or not! Certainly an exception to the rule though) The accommodation, although not the Ritz, was perfectly acceptable, very private, TV with some English channels, air con in the bedroom (welcome even in October) and kitchenette with everything you need. The grounds and pool area were very well kept, the restaurant was a bit dated but absolutely fine. The all inclusive food and drink were again perfectly acceptable, we weren't expecting much after reading some of the reviews on here but were pleasantly surprised by what we found. My partner is quite a fussy eater but always found something to eat, there were themed nights every other night or so (Chinese, Italian, Mexican and Canarian while we where there) and drinks were self service during meal times. The pool bar drinks were standard local beer, wine and spirits with some cocktails available too but all fine - the barman is quite a character! We didn't find the animation great to be honest but we don't have kids and they all seemed to love it. There are 3 HL hotels in Playa Blanca and you can use the facilities and you all inclusive in all of them (including a water park called Dino Park). From what we saw though we certainly preferred the hotel we were staying in. Its also well located only 10 mins walk from town and 5 mins walk from the beach (using the bottom gate which you are given a key for on check in) All in all we were a bit wary after reading the reviews on here before we went but had a really lovely week at Rio Playa Blanca and for the money we paid would certainly reccomend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oliofleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.7 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,309 reviews
1.2 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,833 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
2.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.4 mi away
Marconfort Atlantic Gardens Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Playa Blanca

Address: Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly HL Rio Playa Blanca)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $115 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rio Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rio Playa Blanca is situated in the south of the island in a tranquil location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, in the middle of a wonderful garden of palm trees. The sandy Playa Flamingo beach and the beach promenade can be reached within approx. 500 mtrs and the village center of Playa Blanca with its restaurants, bars and shops after approx. 1500 mtrs. A free shuttle bus service is arranged several times a day to the “Dino Park” at the sister hotel Paradise Island. The main building and the 190 one story bungalows are distributed on the approx. 80.000m2 grounds. The reception with Internet corner (against charge), a salon bar and the restaurant with non smoking zone and terrace can be found in the main building. Wifi is available throughout the entire premises against charge. The hotel facilities include as well a pool bar, 2 freshwater pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04), a sun terrace with sun beds (free) and a playground. Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. A multi purpose sport ground, Boccia, Darts and table football, as well as a varied daytime animation program and evening shows /live music complete the offered arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rio Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Rio Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Rio Playa Blanca
Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote
Hotel Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing