We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Nearby Hotels
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
H10 Rubicon Palace(Playa Blanca)
$144
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$163
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$205
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$259
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ona Las Brisas(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
$194
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$180
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$180
$168
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,850)
Filter reviews
1,850 results
Traveler rating
454
684
402
178
132
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
684
402
178
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelanimation teamwater parkpool areatropical nightgreat holidaytropical partybedroom bungalowplenty of choiceair conplenty of sunbedsmini discobit datedsomething for everyonewater poloself servicekids club
Filter
Updating list...
901 - 906 of 1,850 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our expectations were modest, because of the low all-inclusive package price we paid. Very pleasantly surprised by excellent food served all week by very hard working and conscientious staff. Gardens and pool area are outstanding and very well maintained. The animations team are very enthusiastic and entertaining, but also sensitive enough to know when you want to be left alone! Maitre 'D very attentive and continually checking standards, as was the Director who was very visible at meal times making his own checks. Rooms are bungalow style, which means just one neighbour to the side so noise kept to a minimum. Set in lovely volcanic gardens, the bungalows are clean and functional but fixtures and fittngs will need updating soon. Mattrasses and bedding were very clean, but not the most comfortable. Flamingo Beach is just 0.5 mile stroll away with lovely golden sand and some cafe-bars. Playa Blanca a further 0.5 mile stroll along the promenade. Ideal restful locations for a week in the sun with family. Based on our experience, would use hotel again if visiting the island in future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Lovely holiday. Animation team, especially niells and yvette make the holiday. Activities on throughout day and night but can relax if you wish. Beds very hard and occasional smell of sewers but all in all fab. Parents spent a month here and loved it. All staff helpful. Lots of different cultures here will varying degrees of manners!!! Once again big thanks to niells. Great career ahead hotel management...good luck x x x "big kiss from lazy guy and angelina jolie" x x

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a great holiday food was great free pouring drinks wine beer and sangria. The place is spotless a wee bit out dated but the space you get is fantastic. We have done plenty AI all over the world and we really rated this place. Will be going back again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lagemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Before booking the holiday we looked at it on trip advisor, so many fantastic reviews. After the hoilday we had to look it up again, was this the same place?
The first room we were offered was Grubby and had architrive hanging off one of the doorways.
The second room was not a lot better. But we were there and we wa not going to let it spoil our holiday.

Good points:-
The Staff are very friendly. Generally their English was not so good but I like that on a foreign holiday. If you needed to speak to someone the people on reception spoke excellent English and were most helpful.

The swimming pools are very good. One large , one smaller heated pool and one paddling pool.

Food- Not 4 Star but your not going to starve.


Not so good points:-
Beds creaked with the slightest movement. Mattresses are very poor - I hope you do not have a bad back.
All inclusive - It would have been nice to have had tea/coffee making facilities in the room, Instead of having to go to the supermarket like self catering.
Air conditioning has mould growing in it that is a health hazard.

I am not going to harp on about it, I will let the attached pictures tell the story.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel when it will be refurbished.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria_L24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Rio Playa Blanca Guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
Letting us know your opinion is very important for us in order to improve the service of the different departments.

Wishing you the best we send you kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a very enjoyable holiday booked through Easyjet and our holiday proved to be excellent value for money. Accomodation in spacious bungalows which was ok, although it could do with a makeover particularly the lighting and tv (poor signal).
The complex was spotless, particularly the pool area and gardens. The food in the restaurant was varied and everyday there were new dishes to try. The staff were all polite especially the receptionists who were great.
We found it amusing that certain guests got up at dawn to bag their favourite sunbed spot when there were dozens that remained empty all day. Some things never change!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertiebuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews