We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Polesworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not for us”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just come back,Thank god.You get off the coach to see a 4 star sign.(Tip ex required.)FOOD.Not our cup of tea presentation not too good. Chips in cups,bowls,& not very clean glasses
at the drinks machine.At the bar your served with plastic or cardboard beakers to drink out of.
Never seen anybody cleaning the pools .Went to get some chips one day
they were covered in grease and looked if they had being warmed up.The manager walks round every day,but i dont think he looks at the right areas.Very short staffed in restaraunt.Rooms are kept clean,nice fluffy towels. Gardens kept clean & tidy.The toaster you have to put it in 3 times before its done.There,s a microwave up the corner to warm your food up if you need to.Would i return? sorry not for us.You only get what you pay for

Room Tip: we had rooms 1084 &1083
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mickylawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, from the Headoffice Hoteles Lopez Group at Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest of the Rio Playa Blanca Hotel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to learn that you have not entirely enjoyed your holiday with us, and that you were not happy with the some of the hotels services.

We always strive to strive deliver the best possible service to our guests, and your comments are very important to us.

We are currently offering daily changing buffets at the restaurant, including 2 theme nights (Canarian and Italian night) , and our Chefs are allways eager to please the different preferences of our international guests as much as possible. Our kitchen and restaurant undergo regular and very rigorous health and safety inspections, which certify our high
according standards.
We have of course forwarded your comments to the respective departments in order to have a look into possible further improvements.

For safety reasons, no glassware is used to serve drinks around the pool, and plastic cups are used instead. We are aware of the fact that this might not have the same appeal to it as drinks served in a glass, but we do hope for your understanding in this matter, as safety of our guests and especially the children is in this case our first priority.

The public areas of the hotel including the pool are cleaned daily. As the hotel is located in an area with a lot of wind and sand, it might unfortunately be possible that dust will settle in the pool water between cleaning schedules.

We would like to thank you again for your visit and stay with us, and would be glad to be able to welcome you again in one of our Hoteles Lopez in the futures.

With best regards

The Management of the Hoteles Lopez Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    597
    342
    159
    114
See reviews for
755
535
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for half term week 27 Oct - 3 Nov. This is the 4th time we have been to Lanzarote and the 3rd time staying in Playa Blanca.

We arrived after a 35 minute private taxi journey (40 euros) at about 8.15pm. The lady on Reception spoke excellent English and hurried us down to the restaraunt before it closed at 9pm. This was a nice gesture and the Reception staff contiuned to be helpful, polite and informative throughout our stay.

ROOMS
We had a 1 bedroom bungalow, lovely and spacious. Bedroom (aircon), bathroom, kitchen, living area and large terrace. The rooms need a bit of modenisation but are kept very clean with clean bedding and towels. The aircon was good. We hired a safe 14 euros a week or 2.10euros a day with a 10 euro deposit. Rooms are cleaned everyday except Friday. We asked for a kettle which was provided at no extra charge.

POOL
Pool is good, although cold it didn't put the children off (or adults). Some of the sunbeds need replacing. You can hire pool towels for a 10 euro deposit.

FOOD
This is what lets this hotel down. The food is very average. We are certainly not fussy eaters but the quality was very poor. There is quite a good choice but the meats are very cheap, fatty and very salty. They failed to label the dishes on many occasions, so you werent always sure what you were eating. Breakfast was probably the best meal. We actually ate out 3 times on this holiday, just so we could have a meal that tasted of something!

BAR
Selection of drinks was very good. They had the usual local spirits and beer, wine but also did a daily cocktail, Cava and sangria. There were also a couple of water dispensers about too. Wine was available on tap in the restaraunt and the white wine wasn't bad.

STAFF
The staff are really friendly at this hotel. Cleaners, waiters etc all say hello.

ENTERTAINMENT
The entertainment was the usual holiday type stuff, We didn't really watch any of the evening shows specifically as we sat away from the main stage area. Charlie, the entertainment guy was a noticebale figure during the day and was great with the kids organising football games. It seemed a 'toned down' programme for the winter season however.

The beach is an easy 5 minute walk away and the main resort/town about 10-15 minutes away, very pleasant along the promenade.

Wifi is available by the reception area. On our last day we werent leaving until 5pm but the hotel do provide you with a room to shower in, you just have to book a slot the morning you check out.

We were disapointed to have our All Inclusive wristbands taken off us as we checked out at midday This is only the 2nd time this has EVER happened during any AI holiday we have been on. I think this is VERY poor practise. It certainly wasnt made clear on check in. How much do they think your going to eat and drink in 4 hours before you leave. I wouldn't stay at this chain of hotels again for that reason. We have been to Turkey 4 times in the past 2 years and this has never happpened. Ironically we paid for a full days use of the safety deposit box on our last day but only used it for half of that day but didn't ask for half our money back for that! But that's us just being picky!

On the whole this was a cheap(ish) budget hotel. It was nice enough for a weeks winter break but I have stayed in much better hotels for slightly less money. It is true you get what you pay for! We had an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louby41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, from the Headoffice Hoteles Lopez Group at Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest of the Rio Playa Blanca Hotel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and for your valuable feedback.

We are sorry to learn that you have not entirely enjoyed your holiday with us, and that you were not happy with the some of the hotels services, in particular the quality of the food in the restaurant.
We always strive to strive deliver the best possible service to our guests,and the Food & Beverage arrangements are of course a very important part of it.
We are currently offering daily changing buffets at the restaurant, including 2 theme nights (Canarian and Italian night) , and our Chefs are allways eager to please the different preferences of our international guests as much as possible.
We have of course forwarded your comments to the respective departments in order to have a look into possible further improvements.

The official check - in time at the hotel is as per international standards 14:00hrs, and the official check-out time is 12:00hrs. Unfortunately we have to end the All-Inclusive Arrangements once the check-out is made. We kindly ask for your understanding for this regulation, which we follow in accordance with international hotels standards.

We would like to thank you again for your visit and stay with us, and would be glad to be able to welcome you again in one of our Hoteles Lopez in the futures.

With best regards

The Management of the Hoteles Lopez Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Have just returned from a half term break with my 14yr old daughter at the Rio Playa. We have been to the resort several times over the years & I feel I know the hotels & standards here to give honest fair comments. I have to say I was rather disappointed with this hotel, mainly because of the standard of the food. The hotel should only market itself as a 3 star & not a 4 for this reason. Yes, 'you get what you pay' for, as the saying goes, but the food was VERY poor.
Plenty of choice but of a very low quality & often 'recycled' each meal time. I could not eat the meat all week as it was so 'fatty' & on some occassions I really didn't know what it was I was eating! The fish (when served, twice I think!) was very undercooked. Fish is in abundance in The Canaries, a natural local food item. You can see the local fishermen in the harbour cleaning their catch of the day, its so fresh! But not available in this hotel. The amount of waste of food is evident, as guests leave plate after plate of food, trying to find something to enjoy! This could all be rectified with higher quality produce! Much more cost effective to have better food, that would inccur LESS wastage! When you have to eat out 3 days of the week to eat well, its a shame!
The dining staff were also very 'unhappy' in their day to day job, which is a shame. They just need motiavtion & inclusion to be 'real' waiting staff not just plate clearers!
On a lighter note, the hotel is a little tired looking & could do with a makover. But in my opinion the food is a must to be improved first!!!
The all inclusive is a bit 'dog eat dog', paper cups, no lunch included on check out day! And 15e per person for lunch! If you want to pay of course! I think not!!
Lastly, beware of the supermarket! All unpriced! And when you go to pay you realise you are in 'rip off' market! The beach is only a 7 min walk away where your packet of crisps will be half the price!!!!
I was very disappointed, but know the food issue could be rectified easily if they wish to continue advertising as a 4 star, if not, then you are defernity a 3 star Rio Blanca! Sorry!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have recently returned from hotel rio playa blanca, 6 adults and 3 children. We had a fantastic time day and night. Some people find the smallest of things to moan about,but at the end of the day your holiday is what you make it, and you get what you pay for. Charlie and Beth from the entertainment team were brilliant and were not pushy, so if you want a quiet holiday you could. They kept my kids and husband entertained the whole holiday. Food was awesome and plenty of it. I would also like to thank one of the lady on reception daytime sun 28 oct, as I needed hospital treatment due to having an ovarian cyst, can't thank her enough for her help, I have since been operated on in uk. Planning on returning next year. From mickey, Lisa,Kayleigh, Ellie,James and Stacey(angry girl).x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

everything good here the only couple of things stopping a 5 star was the pool tables need refurbishment drastically,often balls get stuck so not fair once your money has been taken, considering the amount of guests using them, so does the bar football but all in all food good,very clean,helpfull staff,
Be aware the super market sells things that are left behind by pool so thats a bit naughty one last thing buy ciggys/tobacco at airport g/virginia only 36.50 at airport

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just got back from this hotel, absolutely fantastic, the staff are excellent always friendly.
The cleaners are meticulous and the rooms get cleaned daily the bar and pool area are cleaned every morning.
I was on holiday at the same time as big Gary P and the incident he mentioned was the only downside staff did nothing i believe after these reviews the first aid training will be reviewed, i would of given a 5 rating if it wasnt for that.
The animacion team were superb especially Charlie who worked tirelessly daily with a smile glued to his face!! Great with the kids and also the adults. If you are considering a affordable holiday in Playa Blanca book this for a fun and memorable holiday. 11pm cut off was fine for me i had no problems with that, off back next year for my 40th Trigger!!!!

Room Tip: Take a torch if arriving at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeedsCountryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had been booked into the Club Playa Blanca (20th Oct for a week ) but on arrival we were asked whether we would like to move to the Rio as I think they were very full and wanted to fill up the Rio a bit as it certainly wasn't full They provided a taxi and we had a look before committing and all seemed nice so decided to stay here.
Well the staff couldn't have been more helpful from helping about car hire, a problem with a light in the room which was quickly resolved to generally good and happy service.
The management team were introduced at one point and the general manager was always seen to be out and about on the premises which showed he was interested in maintaining and improving standards .
Rooms were basic but comfortable and quiet set in nice and well maintained gardens . As we don't spend much time in the rooms on holiday then they are perfectly adequate.
The food was excellent and with different choices at Dinner every night and breakfast was a lot better than some hotels with freshly cooked produce arriving regularly
The drinks are served in plastic cups apart from in the restaurant as the bar is outside in the pool area so its for safety reasons and choices are adequate though should have a substitute for something like baileys ! The all inclusive did finish at 11 but that does seem to be the norm out in the Canaries unless in a 5 star maybe .
We generally didn't stay by the pool but on the one occasion we did we noticed a lot of the sun beds were past there best and could do with replacing though there were plenty of them .Another suggestion would be to have an iron and kettle in the rooms as standard as had to borrow the iron from reception and take back when finished and had to ask for a kettle (which was supplied quickly)
Overall then a very pleasant stay and very helpful staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 313Russ313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Club Playa Blanca
Hotel Club Playa Blanca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,941 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,241 reviews
1.2 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,045 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marconfort Atlantic Gardens Bungalows
1.1 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Playa Blanca

Property: Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
Address: Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly HL Rio Playa Blanca)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rio Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rio Playa Blanca is situated in the south of the island in a tranquil location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, in the middle of a wonderful garden of palm trees. The sandy Playa Flamingo beach and the beach promenade can be reached within approx. 500 mtrs and the village center of Playa Blanca with its restaurants, bars and shops after approx. 1500 mtrs. A free shuttle bus service is arranged several times a day to the “Dino Park” at the sister hotel Paradise Island. The main building and the 190 one story bungalows are distributed on the approx. 80.000m2 grounds. The reception with Internet corner (against charge), a salon bar and the restaurant with non smoking zone and terrace can be found in the main building. Wifi is available throughout the entire premises against charge. The hotel facilities include as well a pool bar, 2 freshwater pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04), a sun terrace with sun beds (free) and a playground. Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. A multi purpose sport ground, Boccia, Darts and table football, as well as a varied daytime animation program and evening shows /live music complete the offered arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rio Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Rio Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Rio Playa Blanca
Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote
Hotel Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing