We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rio Playa Blanca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just back from a week at Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote. We found the hotel very clean and tidy, bungalows great and give you a lot of space. Plenty of sunbeds and food is good and fresh. All the staff very friendly and helpful (barr one waitress in the restaurant who was not at all friendly and generally miserable). The hotel is very family orientated not so good for couples if they want a quiet romantic 'together' holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PippaJPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Upon arrival, even late at night, was pleasantly surprised. Staff are great the entertainment team were amazing work so hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay. Plenty choice in restaurant and handy that drinks are self service. Near to beach and shops however there is little there anyway but because of staff in resort theres plenty to keep you entertained. Rooms are fab; spacious, clean and mattresses were extremely comfortable which is not usually the case abroad. Pool also spacious and clean would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 103Anonymous103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just returned from hotel -very enjoyable 11 night holiday, The hotel is made up with central reception which includes pool areas , restaurant, bar and help yourself cold drinks, wine, beer and coffee machine.You reside in a one or two bedroomed bungalow which surround the hotel. We booked one bedroom and got two bedroomed bungalow (Air conditioned) with two bathrooms, livingroom and kitchen Bungalow was number 1143. This was cleaned daily and towels changed as often as required.The surrounding gardens are well kept, we got a good view of these as we were the furthest bungalow from restaurant (both in our mid 60`s) Thank goodness it was very warm. There are plenty of sunbeds and the hotel provides beach towels. The staff are very helpful especially the ladies in reception. The food was very well prepared and some meats cooked openly within the restaurant. Beach abot 500 yards away
FAULTS (1) On arrival offered a swap of Hotel (Paradise Hotel) 3 star plus 2 days car hire declined they would not provide reason but later established that that hotel was pretty empty and not very nice. It appears everyone was offered swap.
(2) Dinner is 1930- 2200 don`t go late lots of best stuff gone and definately no soup after 2030
(3) Got remote to work TV not told at that time that only CNN News available in English
(4) If due to arrive late in darkness take a torch, lighting at that time very poor and trying to find bungalow very difficult. Hotel provided map but took ages to find (WHY CAN`T HOTEL PROVIDE TORCH)

All in all a very good hotel well run a credit to the HL group of hotels

Room Tip: Take a torch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, from the Headoffice Hoteles Lopez Group at Hotel Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear guest of the Rio Playa Blanca Hotel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to publish a feedback of your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and are grateful for your comments regarding the garden light situation at the Resort.
We are already working on a project to improve the lighting throughout the entire premisses, and this will be completed soon.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you again at our Rio Playa Blanca Hotel or another hotel of the Hoteles Lopez Group some time in the near future,
with best regards,

The Management of The Hoteles Lopez Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from our third visit to hotel rio, this time taking all the family and what a great time we had even our 2 year old grandson
Can't wait for next year . The food was great and on tap drink to help your self amazing .
The hotel has a new manager and was always checking on things , thank you to all the staff for a great time .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anthcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Got back (today) from an 8 night stay. I have read a few reviews on this hotel, some which were not so good so this is my opinion:
Rooms: not rooms but bungalows so there was SO MUCH ROOM, lovely. Cleaned daily, clean towels whenever you want them. All in all superb,
Pool: superb! Plenty of sunbeds but of course everyone is out putting out their towels out as soon as the sun is up.
Food: Plenty of choice, you would have to be a fussy eater to go hungry.
Entertainment: Daytime good with aerobics, ping pong, water-polo, football etc.
Evening: Not our cup of tea but the team tried really hard.
All in all a good resort but would say the waitresses are a bit on the miserable (even rude!) side and this is a real family resort but there is a distinct lack of a quiet bar for couples who do not have young children, but good value for money.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: rooms away from pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We've just returned from two weeks at the Rio and had a great holiday.

On arrival, our bungalow wasn't quite ready so we were directed to the bar for a drink then to go for lunch at 1pm.

We were initially given room 1164, but there was no air con in the bedroom ( which I knew I'd need!) so I returned to reception to request another. They were super-helpful and understanding and we were allocated another room, 1111.

I was concerned as this was on the very edge of the complex, which other reviewers had previously mentioned had been subject to break-ins....especially as the patio door looked like it had already been forced open with a screwdriver beside the keyhole. Still, the rooms were bigger and the air con was in the bedroom, which was a huge bonus when you needed a bit of respite from the searing heat-it was in the mid 40's when we were there.

The bungalows are clean, spacious and had plenty of storage. Sure they could do with an update but they are perfect for a two week holiday. The maids came in every day, cleaned up well and changed towels if you needed them. The maid we had was so nice and helpful! We never had any bug problems whatsoever, apart from the flies that never leave you alone at dusk but that's just nature and you can't control that!

We took the safe box option for 28 Euro given the alleged break-ins; it just made us feel safer to have our cash, ipods, ipads, cameras, passports etc locked away. We also took the tv remote control (10 Euro deposit) to see what was on. We did watch CNN, but most of the channels are either German or Spanish so I'm not sure if it was worth it. My hubby did start to like watching The Simpsons in German which was worrying.... ;0)

We got beach towels for a 10 Euro deposit each too, then just paid 50cents to change them when you need new ones.

The hair drier, which was hard wired in the bathroom, died after a few days but it was speedily replaced within the hour after we reported it.

The all inclusive package was ok, local beer and wine was fine. I tried a vodka one night but couldn't finish it as it was SO strong! Ditto the cocktails on the tropical nights. You can buy Mojito's or Daiquiri's for 3 Euro each....again I barely touched the Mojito as it was turbo charged. Still they seemed popular with others.

The food was ok: breakfast was the best as there were plenty of options. Lunch was fine and I always managed to find something. Dinner was a bit hit and miss for me, so the salad bar was a boon! During the second week the menu was definitely geared more towards other nations-more of a German twist on the dishes. This made sense as there were far more German, French, Spanish, Russian and Dutch guests there than Brits during our stay. This was really nice to see, as others have said it's not a "mini Britain" resort. It also made for good fun during the games sessions!

There were issues with some guests and their lack of manners regarding the buffet queues...I'm not a mistress of etiquette but surely everyone knows not to butt in and push you out of the way. Hate to say it, but certain nations were worse than others...

The animation team worked so hard keeping both children and adults entertained. Tommy and Christian, who organised most of the adult games such as darts, football, French boules, rifle shooting and water polo, were brilliant fun! Ola coca-cola!

The evening entertainment was a little lacking, even though the team worked really hard and some of the nights were a good laugh (the men v women nights were a giggle) others were hard to take. The reptile night was disappointing: a couple of tortoises, an owl and an eagle I think. It didn't last long. And the singing duo were a wee bit cringey.

Most of the entertainment was aimed at children, which was understandable given that it is definitely a family resort. As we don't have children, we did find the evening "music man" and "superman" songs a bit wearing every night. But the kids there loved it.

The pools were brilliant, lovely and cool. Sun beds were at a premium when we first went and we never bothered the first to days as all beds were block booked with towels by 8am...I finally relented and started to do my own resevations on day three....again, I hate to say it, but the bed booking eased off a lot when the first week ended and a lot of Brits left.

The staff are fabulous, always attentive and polite. Constantly working, cleaning, smiling and desperate to make sure you're having a good time.

All in all, we had a fab holiday and loved Playa Blanca. the hotel was perfect for what we paid and no, it's not what you would class a 4* resort, but it is definitely a 3.5* and great value for money. Enjoy!

Sx

Room Tip: It was handy to have the air con in the bedroom rather than the living area, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SAspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just returned from this hotel. Ok so its probably not the plushest of places but it does exactly what it says on the tin.

All the staff were very friendly, rooms although could do with updating are adequate, although beds are a little hard and there's only air conditioning in the bedroom. Did have a slight problem with ants but mentioned it to reception and they brought some spray round straight away. The garden areas around the rooms are well kept.

The pools are great, a little cold, plenty of sun loungers and umberellas. There's plenty going on during the day for both kids and adults. Evening entertainment was ok. Went to waterpark which was great for the kids and if you book the waterpark rooms you get AI whilst there.

Food was good, should imagine even the fussiest eaters would cope. No upset stomachs, not a big drinker but what I had was ok.

All in all we had a good time. The weather was fantastic, hotel is well positioned abouit 25 mins walk from Playa Blanca and about 10 mins from the beach which is lovely.

Would I return, probably.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maldives1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.7 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,308 reviews
1.2 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,826 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
2.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.4 mi away
Marconfort Atlantic Gardens Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Playa Blanca

Address: Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly HL Rio Playa Blanca)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $114 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rio Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rio Playa Blanca is situated in the south of the island in a tranquil location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, in the middle of a wonderful garden of palm trees. The sandy Playa Flamingo beach and the beach promenade can be reached within approx. 500 mtrs and the village center of Playa Blanca with its restaurants, bars and shops after approx. 1500 mtrs. A free shuttle bus service is arranged several times a day to the “Dino Park” at the sister hotel Paradise Island. The main building and the 190 one story bungalows are distributed on the approx. 80.000m2 grounds. The reception with Internet corner (against charge), a salon bar and the restaurant with non smoking zone and terrace can be found in the main building. Wifi is available throughout the entire premises against charge. The hotel facilities include as well a pool bar, 2 freshwater pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04), a sun terrace with sun beds (free) and a playground. Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. A multi purpose sport ground, Boccia, Darts and table football, as well as a varied daytime animation program and evening shows /live music complete the offered arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rio Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Rio Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Rio Playa Blanca
Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote
Hotel Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing