We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, great location bungalows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa Limones Apartments
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Value for money, great location bungalows”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at the Play Limones Bungalows for 3 nights during early May 2013 and on a self-catering basis.

On checking–in the receptionist was friendly and informative and allocated me a bungalow a few rows back from the reception, bar, restaurant, the three pools and large sun deck (with more than enough sun loungers).

The bungalows are neatly arranged in rows and although I only had a view of other bungalows, it was surrounded by many colourful tropical plants which more than made up for the lack of a view and also made it very quiet.

At the front there was a large patio, partly shaded, with two sun beds (worn but clean) and a patio table with three chairs. There was also a small patio at the back, enclosed by a high wall, perfect for sunbathing ‘Au Natural’ or hanging out your washing , which occurred to me might be considered by some to be the same thing ;).

Inside there was a bedroom with comfortable twin beds and a bathroom with walk-in shower.

The lounge/kitchenette featured a two ring hob, a fridge (essential for those little luxuries; San Miguel being my favourite) and a toaster, kettle and coffee percolator.

I was impressed how clean the bungalow was, right down to the cutlery and utensils which made this possibly the cleanest self-catering accommodation I have ever stayed in.

The bungalows are situated just a couple of minute’s walk from a pleasant promenade with several restaurants and shops and just minutes from a superb beach. Although at the quieter end of Playa Blanca this accommodation is perfect for that relaxing holiday. I really felt that there was enough in the vicinity that you didn’t need to venture too far away in the evening.

Apart from having to pay for the safe (something I strongly object to) these bungalows tick all the boxes for location, comfort and cleanliness. As a solo traveler on this occasion, although I had to pay a premium for single occupancy, I considered them to be excellent value for money and would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andy_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    106
    65
    19
    11
See reviews for
74
127
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Booked a last minute holiday to get away from the snow - budget airline and self-catering accommodation with limited availability.

Having consulted Tripadvisor, the Playa Limones Apartments were not my first choice - but I needn't have worried. The apartments are quiet and clean, and in a great location - a short walk from the beach, with restaurants and supermarkets, and a longer walk into town and the marina.

Bungalows sleep 3 (sofa bed in living room) and are semi-detached with simply furnished living room/kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Small drying area at the back is equipped with washing line and pegs - ideal for drying swimwear and towels. Kitchen has fridge, 2-ring hob, kettle, toaster and coffee machine - adequate for basic self-catering (we made Spanish omelette). Wide outside terrace has table and chairs and two sunloungers.
We didn't use the bar or restaurant. Pool area was quiet with lots of space for sunloungers.

The only negatives might be:
- limited wifi availability (but it's hot, sunny and holiday-feeling - you don't need to check your emails!)
- no air conditioning (but perhaps that Lanzarote breeze blows all year round).

On balance, good value - we would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moulinal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The bungalow was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The pool area was well kept. Lots of lovely planting along the paths. The old fishing village is now a collection of shops, bars and restaurants and is an easy 15 minutes stroll along the sea front. Marina Rubimar is about a 30 minute walk.
Kitchen has everything you need for simple self catering. No oven nor kettle, but a decent fridge, plenty of pots, pans etc.
Bathroom is lovely, hand soap and loo roll provided.
Beds comfortable, good sheets, changed once during our 7day stay. Daily maid service.
I advise taking a hairdryer as the one provided is weak and attached to the bathroom wall, like those found at public swimming pools.
The nearest beach, bars and restaurants are a short, two minute walk straight opposite the reception. Lots of local supermarkets.
Go to La Rustica restaurant, on the way to Playa Blanca town, up some steps near Legends Bar.

Room Tip: All rooms were fine from a noise point of view though some are near a road. All have walled patio ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was our 8th visit to these bungalows and they are good value for money ,booked via on the beach but you can e mail them directly.we always ask for poolside bungalows as they have a better view,
there are 3 pools here which never get busy and no queueing for a sun bed either, no air con in bungalows which is the only downside but good location to town and local restaurants. maid service is 5 times a week not every day , the gardens/poolside are tended every day so nice and clean, this is very much a budget apartment but never the less worth it. we will definitely go back for the 9th time

Room Tip: ask for poolside room 41 or 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garythegasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay here and couldn't fault it. The bungalows were lovely and spacious and seemed quite new, clean and modern. The terrace was fantastic - we didn't actually sunbathe by the pool (or go in it) once. The setting/gardens were beautiful. Couldn't comment on the restaurant as didn't use it (we came self catering for a reason!). Speaking of which, all the essentials were there for self catering and there were 2 well-stocked supermarkets very near by (across the road, down the hill and turn right - the first you come to we found to be more expensive than the second, so we recommend going the extra 20m!)

Reception staff seemed pleasant most of the time. Our electrics went out (our fault for spilling water behind fridge) and it was sorted very promptly by friendly and professional maintenance guy. and yes you need to hire cushions, fan, tv remote, but I dont think this is too big a deal and the room was very cheap - and it's not like they hide it from you; it's there in the description.

It was close to the lovely beach (again, cross the road and down the hill - 2 minute walk), but a good 20 min walk to all the restaurants at the papagayo harbour - which was a very pleasant walk next to the sea - just follow the walkway! We also got the local bus (every half hour, only a couple of euros return) to the new marina (rubicon). As it wasn't peak season it was a bit lifeless there but we did prefer the quality of food at the restaurants.

I recommend for people looking for nice, basic but clean accommodation who don't mind a walk to the centre. It was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah222030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We visited for one week in June 2012, we went with an open mind as we had read all the reviews and we are easy to please people and were on a budget. boy is it basic. the pool area is fine with 3 pools and shower, the location is great as it is very close to the beach and shops (SPAR) there it stops.... the apartment looked clean on the surface but it was in need of a deep clean it took makeup wipes to get the table clean ( A WHOLE PACKET) The bedroom walls were covered in splats of dead insects which we added to while we were there. the reception staff while professional did not go out of their way to make you feel welcome. DO NOT USE THE RESTAURANT is all I can say we had breakfast the first morning and did not return. we made the best of the week as playa blanca was great and the beach was great but I think the time we spent away from playa limones was the highlight of the week. DONT BE FOOLED BY THE PHOTOS. I know you get what you pay for but please think twice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veronica n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

my husband and I are just back from a weeks holiday(june 2012) ,Although the apartment was clean and hot (no air con you have to hire a fan) we had a hugh tree right beside our patio which completely blocked out the sun and dropped large green like peas on you and patio constantly. You got the sun from about lunchtime till about 5 although the sun would shine from about 8am till 8pm. We very politely asked if we could have another apartment and were basically told no and not my problem (staff were very rude at reception when you want to move). Also had to hire cushions for sun loungers, key for safety deposit box & remote control for tv (which has only news channels for us) at a total cost of 91 euros. you do get 50 odd back at end of holiday, but place is a total rip off. So if you do decide to go , do not take aapartment 16. We would never go back

Room Tip: stay away from room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank alyson186570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.7 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,241 reviews
1.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,577 reviews
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
2.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Limones Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Limones Apartments

Property: Playa Limones Apartments
Address: Playa Limones Apartments Avenida Comunidad de Canarias 6, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Limones Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Limones Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Limones Apartments Hotel Playa Blanca
Playa Limones Apartments Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing