We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst week ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa Limones Apartments
Reviewed June 27, 2012

my husband and I are just back from a weeks holiday(june 2012) ,Although the apartment was clean and hot (no air con you have to hire a fan) we had a hugh tree right beside our patio which completely blocked out the sun and dropped large green like peas on you and patio constantly. You got the sun from about lunchtime till about 5 although the sun would shine from about 8am till 8pm. We very politely asked if we could have another apartment and were basically told no and not my problem (staff were very rude at reception when you want to move). Also had to hire cushions for sun loungers, key for safety deposit box & remote control for tv (which has only news channels for us) at a total cost of 91 euros. you do get 50 odd back at end of holiday, but place is a total rip off. So if you do decide to go , do not take aapartment 16. We would never go back

Room Tip: stay away from room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank alyson186570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 292 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

Playa Limones  20/03/2012
We've just spent a very enjoyable week here from 15th to 22nd March. We were very pleased with our apartment. It's facilities are comparable to apartments we've stayed in and has everything you need to prepare simple meals. You can get a cooked breakfast at local restaurants if you prefer to and there are lots of restaurants to have dinner.
The apartment was very clean and there was maid service five days out of seven. You are asked to drop towels on the floor if you would like them to be changed, but we found they were changed anyway. The maid was very friendly and spoke good English. A door at the back of the apartment leads to a small enclosed area with a washing line and pegs.
There is a walk-in shower but no bath. This was fine for us but might not suit everyone.
The front of the apartments face south and there is a lovely large terrace with table and chairs, and sun loungers. The pool area is spacious and there are ample sun loungers. Lanzarote is windy but the layout of the complex, with low walls, mean you can still sunbathe.
We chose this site as we like to walk, and the map showed that the apartments were pretty central and you could walk either west or east along the coastal walkway. We had expected that there would be a few bars, shops and restaurants to the west, but this was not the case. There are a few places by Flamingo Beach, which is lovely, but otherwise you need to walk to the central part of the resort.
The only negative was that my husband was bitten quite badly by a mosquito during the second night. We could hear the pesky thing flying round! We found a plug in repellant device at the local supermarket and that did the trick. We've been to the Canaries at different times of the year but this is the first time either of us has been bitten.
To sum up, Playa Limones is good for couples who want a comfortable base, who don't mind walking and don't want entertainment or a lot of facilities. Highly recommended.


Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: The bungalows are in staggered rows. We were in 65 which was in a good position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brier4651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Difficult to find any fault with this complex. Apartments are ground floor bungalows with own sun loungers. The complex was lovely and quiet, maids are happy and do a good job. Can't see why some people say that the apartments need refurbishing as they seemed fine to us. 20 minute walk into town, recommend the glass fronted restaurant half way along by the ferry port on the sea front if you like fish. There is a line of restaurants further along but do not be fooled into thinking that there is nothing beyond them - about 800 yards around the corner there is a complex of bars with live entertainment every night. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mand187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This was my second trip to Playa Limones although my wife has been visiting 2-3 times a year for the last 8 years or so.
The service provided by the 2 reception staff was faultless. They were also more than happy to put phone calls from family through to our room each day.
We always travel on an accommodation only basis , the cooking facilities in the room are basic but enough to heat soup , cook egg bacon etc. The fridge although small was enough to put food and drink in.
It is easy to eat out at the restaurants either down the road opposite the hotel by the water front or in Playa Blanca about 10-15 mins walk.
Our room was clean and the maid friendly and service was excellent .
The rooms have loungers on the patio along with table and chairs enabling you to sit out at any time.
The bathroom was clean with adequate towels,
The bedroom has 2 single beds and the bedding clean changed once during the stay. Although i must say that the beds are hard and pillows lumpy. The location is very quite at night. There is a safe in the wardrobe that can be hired together with a key deposit .
The living / dining room has a large sofa style settee and single chair along with dining table and chairs. The is a TV in the room , the remote can be obtained from reception for a deposit. *** i would however point out that English are not catered for on the TV services provided the only stations in English BBC World news and CNN, hardly fair when French and German have about mixed programmes 7 each and something the Hotel should put right ****
The pool area was clean , although I must admit allowing the staff families to use the pool area on a Sunday makes it very noisy for a while.
I have noted remarks from 21.10.10 re which was to go and sent the wrong way , these comments are totally incorrect.
The quickest way to get to Playa Blanca and the shops is to turn left out of the hotel and carry straight on, although the road is unlit at night, it takes about 10-15 mins. You can walk down the slope opposite to the Sea and follow the footpath around which takes you to the Harbour then use the dirt track and stairs to get to the shops. However using this way will miss out the Spar food shop on the road ( supermarkets on the front down the hill are much more expensive) Walking the sea route is far longer making the walk about 20-25 mins.
I would also advise anyone leaving early next day to return all items on a deposit the night before as reception is only open 9am – 9pm. If you are due to arrive late afternoon or evening it may also be advisable to contact the hotel before leaving home or when booking to arrange how to check in if after 9pm?
Overall Playa Limones provides an excellent quiet relaxing holiday, i would certainly return .

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Bungalows/apartments are very well set out, although could do with being refurbished. Cooking facilities are limited with two hotplates and a toaster, although you can hire a microwave for €30 per week. Patios are furnished with a table and chairs and two sunloungers, which you can hire cushions for €10 each per week.

Ideally siutated for Playa Flamingo Beach and very near the promenade, from which you can walk to the harbour, marina, restaurants and bars.

Playa Blanca is a quiet resort ideal for a relaxing beach holiday. You can get a ferry over to Fuertuventura (€20 per person return).

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackie149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The complex is in a good location and the gardens and pool are tidy and well kept the staff were helpful.
The bungalow though roomy was in desparate need of updating. It was generally poorly equipped and had a noisy old damaged fridge with a faulty door. The toilet cistern was also in need of repair, leaking and flushing of its own volition. The towels were threadbare ,sheets old and worn and the beds creaky and uncomfortable. The rough stone shower area was hard on the feet. Cleaning was inadequate.
Some bungalows may be better than others we were disappointed with ours.

Room Tip: Avoid bungalow number 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at Playa Limones.
The complex itself was clean, quiet and peaceful.
The bungalow we had was clean and spacious. It had a private terrace with its own sunbed and table/chairs.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
The only slight inconveniences that might affect people – although we weren’t bothered by it – is that reception is only open 9am to 9pm and the bedding is only changed once per week.
Breakfast was pretty good with a large selection to choose from – everything from cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses, bread and pastries, and a selection of hot food (fried, scrambled & boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, etc.) that varied from day to day.
Plenty of sunbeds around the pools - although we preferred the sea and sand as the complex is also well situated with a just short walk down to Flamingo Beach.
What we really liked was the pedestrian promenade that’s about 4 miles long and Flamingo Beach is situated at the midway point. From here, you can walk west all the way to the lighthouse or east all the way to Rubicon Marina - a really nice walk either way in the sun.
At night we would walk the promenade east to the town area where all the restaurants are situated overlooking the sea with plenty of choice of restaurant style. We ate in a different place every night and didn’t have one bad meal.
There are also a couple of decent restaurants, (we had a lovely meal in the Greek one), if you head west along the prom as well
We also did the South Tour of the island taking in Timanfaya & El Golfo and on another day, the Cesar Manrique Tour which we thought was even better, taking in the water caves, the artist’s house and the amazing cactus garden.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Playa Limones/Playa Blanca and haven’t got a bad word to say about the place.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
7  Thank bluevaleCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.7 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,358 reviews
1.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marconfort Atlantic Gardens Bungalows
1.2 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Limones Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Limones Apartments

Address: Playa Limones Apartments Avenida Comunidad de Canarias 6, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $53 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Limones Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Limones Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Limones Apartments Hotel Playa Blanca
Playa Limones Apartments Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing