We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value all inclusive hotel but mainly for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good value all inclusive hotel but mainly for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

Went on a last minute deal looking for some January winter sun ( it was 23 - 26 degrees every day - lovely). We paid £400 each for a week for all inclusive 'superior room' which was very good value. Yes there are lots of better hotels out there but for what we paid it would be picky to start complaining. Right on the sea front and sandy beach with about 20 to 30 minute walk along the well lit prom to the centre of town; plenty of bars etc on the way if you fancy a change.

The buffet meals were generally good, the upstairs buffet was for adults while we were there with the ground floor one for families which was a good idea (as we had no kids) - same food. Lots of choice. Bit short staffed at times but generally drinks service very good.
You are allowed one meal a week on all inclusive at their Italian restaurant on the prom which we felt was enough; we would not have wanted to pay for it; service poor and food just OK. Buffet was more organised with better food.

Blue Moon bar had 'family' entertainment followed after by bingo on some nights which cleared the room!! Must be difficult to get in at peak times. Bar staff in there a lacking some customer service skills. Local drinks throughout hotel on all inclusive; local beer (Tropical) the best cure for constipation you could ever get if you get my drift! Local wine passable drink. Cocktails seemed to be from a carton.

Room was quite big with decent beds - advertised as having a DVD player which it did not. Small kitchenette with kettle, fridge etc which was handy. Ran out of hot water when showering; very small hot tank in each unit. Had to wait 20 minutes for it to warm up again. Maid service 5 days a week but we did not know which days the maid was coming.

Going after the new year break we assumed that all the kids would be back at school but there were under 5's everywhere. Loads of different swimming pools for them. So really not a hotel for couples. If we went back we would go out more in the evening after eating and avoid the entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dignidut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    958
    376
    158
    85
See reviews for
1,897
397
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

The hotel accomodation was great, we had one of the apartments which gave us some brilliant views of the sunset. This was cleaned regularly, with the towels being taken to be changed even when we did not put them on the floor to be swapped!
All of the complex is close to the beach, even from walking across from the main building it would take less than 5 mins to hit the sand.
We stayed during Christmas, and a special dinner was included on Christmas Eve. Sadly I am a fussy eater, but my partner enjoyed each course, and think everyone enjoyed the chocolate pudding! On all the other nights there was plenty of choice, even for fussy eaters like me, and it was nice to have ice cream on offer throughout the day (as some all inclusive resorts can be limiting about this and aim it at children).
My only improvement comment is over the swimming pools - the playa flamingo offers a number of pools - a main one with activities going on, one which was sectioned into lanes, some smaller childrens pools and another good sized pool. However these were over dominated by children (yes I know it is a resort for children too!!) Considering the number of pools and the fact one was divided into lanes I feel this could have been monitored so that it was a 'swimming' pool rather than kids ducking and diving all over the place. I noticed a number of people trying to swim lengths but unless they did this early in the morning they were risking being jumped on by groups of children. An attendant or something to make this a swimming only or an adult pool would make this an ideal resort to visit.
There was a slight sewerage smell at times, but nothing major that affected my stay.
I would definitely stay again, though definitely not in summer or peak times with high numbers of children.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunshinegirly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelRivero, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Dear customers,
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your holidays here. It is true that Flamingo beach has been mainly a family hotel but we do care about couples and adults. We have a buffet restaurant just for adults and a quiet pool area that is mainly used by adults. At night the Sports bar is the perfect place to be enjoyed by adults.
Hope to see you soon.
Angel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

From check in to check out it was fantastic.
The Hotel Staff and from the Manager down to the cleaning staff they where all happy smiling people not once did we see a member of staff who looked unhappy, this gives you a feeling that you should also enjoy yourself as that’s why your there.
The adult only restaurant was a great idea which we both enjoyed, clean excellent staff with a very good choice of food.
The bar staff well what can I say fantastic polite nothing seemed to much for them Eva and her team where the best.
This also goes for the Atlantic bar for a drink after dinner a quiet place to relax.
We tried the Tapas bar which we went to twice again fantastic the staff there where very attentive we would both recommend this for a treat.
Would we go back? YES and will later this year we would recommend the hotel and location.
Our thanks to all at the hotel for making it a great 2 weeks thank you all very much.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobthefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelRivero, General Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Dear customers,
Thank you very much for a very nice review. The hotel philosophy as you say, from management to the last member of our staff, is to give an excellent service and always with a smile on the face. To us customers come always first. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Best regards
Angel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Stayed at the Flamingo Beach 23rd- 30th Dec.
This was our first Christmas away and we really enjoyed ourselves,no we didn't see santa and there wasn't a very Christmas feel, in fact Christmas Day felt like any other day with not a lot going on, the hotel put on a special dinner on christmas eve, one sitting 6pm then all the bars closed at 10pm so if you want to party at christmas this isn't the place for you, but normal services resumed on christmas day.
We had a lovely room down by the beach (thanks Angel) the place was spotless ,cleaning going on all day by the friendly staff.
Food was very good, in fact a lot better than we expected, we ate in the adults only restaurant for breakfast and it was really chilled with no queues, and the food was fresh and appetizing.
We had two little gripes, the first being that there was no bar or drinks being served down by the beach, and the second was there was no lounge with comfy seats to have a quiet drink in the evening, but these would not put us off returning in the future.
The Port was a nice 15min stroll, Playa Blanca Centre 30mins, and the Marina 60min.
On Christmas day we went to the Asian restaurant on Flamingo Beach and had a banquet, really enjoyed by us both.
Any questions please feel free to pm me.
.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelRivero, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Dear customers,
Thank you for your very nice words. I am happy that you liked the room I booked for you and very happy that you enjoyed our food and beverage facilities. I just would like to see you back again here. Please contact me as always in advance to book a nice room for you.
regards
Angel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

Payed for superior room, worth the extra money, we had a bungalow 100 yards from beach at the quieter side of the resort. Extra soft beds ,dressing gowns ,slippers,welcome tray,19"flat screen tv with dvd,maid 5 out off 7 days. Food all-inclusive very nice, good selection, desserts really nise. The wellness center was included ,the indoor pool and gym only, children alowed 10.00-12-00. My son aged 9 went on the high ropes 11-00 am onwards.The bus was easy 100 yards from main reception No 30 bus, 1.40 euros the rubicon marina ,or 1 hour to walk to it. There is a market there on a wednesday, and a small shopping center with a large ball park and a proper ten pin bowling ally, 10 euros for 3 games for two children.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelRivero, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear customers,
Thank you very much for your nice words. In Flamingo we work hard to give the best possible service. I am glad we got it with you.
best regards
Angel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St John-in-Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Have just returned from this resort with the mrs after a supurb weeks R&R.

Angel and his staff work extremly hard to make your stay a pleasent one.

For the cost of this all inclusive holiday we dont think you could do better! Anyone that moans about the food and accomodation here must be mad, completly and utterly mad! just eating out in the evenings for a week for two will cost roughly the same as the whole all inclusive package.....


the accomodation is very functional, clean and tidy and seems to be doing well for something that is cleaned every day, no it's not new by any means and is not 5 star luxury, if you want that then you are gonna have to pay for it! it doesnt come for the money it costs to stay here by a long way.

what you do get is 5 star service, a fantastic selection of freshly cooked food at every sitting with enogh choice to embarras any resort in the UK!
i counted the the dishes one breakfast time and there were 48 different things you could have to make your breakfast with, now, if you cant frind anything here to eat then you need to stay at home!
There is a dining room for adults only which is priceless for those looking for a quiet mealtime.

nothing is too much bother for the staff here, if they can help in any way then they will.

we went looking for peace and quiet and that is what we got, Angel was good enough to put us in a quiet elevated apartment away from the pool, we could have been anywhere, it was spot on.

we will be returning next christmas to continue to explore this wonderful island.

If you get the chance then definatly do the "Buggy tour" it is a fantastic way to see some of the island. book at the quiosk at the harbour where the Fred Olsen ferry runs from. a top day out!

remember, the holiday is what YOU make it and not just about where you stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 33paulus33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelRivero, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear customers,
Thanks a lot for such a lovely review. I will pass it over to my staff as I am sure they will be glad to read it. Hope to see you soon in the future.
regards
Angel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

big deal the beach was closed and the pool was busy . angel miguel and his team once again made us feel like part of their family, the refurbishment was top notch and cant wait till next year when the beach opens and all the future plans angel has in mind will only make it harder to leave. was not sure about it becoming a holiday village but danielle { 10 } did not stop for a minute and as such did not have a good tan as she was always to busy to sit, razamataz was top notch and all the entertainers were great { james i will always love you mate } . we have already booked along with another familt for next year.
just one more big thanks to angel , miguel , bambam and all the staff.
see you next year love brian , tricia and danielle

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrazGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelRivero, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear customers,
Thank you for your review and nice words. It is important to us that you keep your loyalty to Flamingo as a very satisfied customer and we have the pleasure of greeting you year after year. I am sure that this year you will book for 2012!!. See you soon.
regards
Angel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,878 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
23.8 mi away
Los Zocos Club Resort
Los Zocos Club Resort
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort

Property: TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Address: Avenida de Canarias S/N | Playa Flamingo, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Club Gold medal in 2007 and 2008 with Thomson.Flamingo beach just some steps away.Great offer of Restaurants, bars and entertainment.Football pitch and tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Playa Flamingo Apartments
Playa Flamingo Lanzarote
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing