We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing family holiday, the village is ideal for families who want to have fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
lincoln
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing family holiday, the village is ideal for families who want to have fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed between the 1st - 15th August and can honestly say we had a fantastic time. We have 2 girls aged 5 and 8 and the village was ideally suited to their needs. i think the phrase "it does exactly what it says on the tin" ws mentioned when talking to other guests, this really sums it up. If you go expecting a quiet holiday where you can sleep on your beds all day its not for you. If you want to have fun and see you kids having fun, making friends and experiencing things that they have never done before its super. having said that at no point were we pressured into doing anything, you were asked if you wanted to join in and that was it, I have felt obliged to join in with activities on other holidays.
My oldest went to the kids clubs 4 or 5 times and found the activities to be fun and different, the water party, canoeing and raft building were her favourites. She also took part in the high ropes (3 times!) and loved the water walkers. Whilst my youngest didn't attend the clubs she was pleased to take part in the poolside activities which were also varied (circus skills, balloon modelling, puppet shows).
The highlight of the childrens holiday was the stage academy which they attended twice. It was run professionally by 2 very lovely teachers who really did get the best out of the children. My eldest does a stage school at home and we pay an awful lot more for that! The shows were suited to the children and the teachers took a real interest in the children, we love you Taz and Luke!
The reps worked tirelessly from morning till night, and always had a smile on their face. The entertainment was different every night and we enjoyed it all, again its suited to children and therefore the parents enjoy it too. The hotel staff are also fantastic, the rooms were clean and towels replaced when required, the waiters and bar staff always had time to say hi and pass a lolly to the girls and the management were a real presence in the village. Angel even arranged for my oldest to have a birthday cake presented to her!
We hired towels, which was great for space saving and yes we did get up between 7.30 and 8 for a bed but only because we wanted them in a particular place, there was plently of beds on the complex. The food was varied, you could eat breakfast in 3 places and the same with lunch and dinner. The mexican and curry nights were a real treat in the Sports Bar. The Italian restaurant was also nice and people said the Tapas Bar was too, although we didn't eat there.
The beach is now open and looks like it will be fabulous. We enjoyed the Holiday Village so much we have already booked another one for next year. We would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly and wish we were still there!
To Kerry, John, Ricky, Leanne and Emma (and Shifty Shu) thanks for the great entertainment, the girls have already downloaded Choco latte and Shaker on to their i pods!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellieandcaitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Hi, many thanks for your great comments and we’re thrilled you had such a good time with us. As you said, there is plenty going on for all the family to join in. We hope that you enjoy your next Holiday Village experience as much as you enjoyed your time at Holiday Village Flamingo Beach.

Simon and Angel – Holiday Village Flamingo Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    950
    372
    156
    85
See reviews for
1,880
395
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

This holiday was truly about as relaxing as a trip on the underground during rush hour. There was just far, far too many people for the square footage of this complex which is not particularly attractive and sports 3 fairly small pools. We were told the beach was closed 1 week before our departure and given the opportunity to change our accomodation which I now bitterly regret not doing - however having said it would have taken 50% of the guests to be on the beach for the space situation to be acceptable. We had to get up at 7.00am every day of our "holiday" in order to secure a sunbed and then I felt bad about taking up more than 2 beds which meant my kids ended up sharing my sunbed and my husbands sunbed - not really what you pay hard earned money for!! On a positive all staff very helpful and friendly, food good and dining areas run very well but I would definately not return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Hi, thanks for your comments. We always strive to improve our offering to our customers. We hope that you will visit one of our other Holiday Villages in the future.

Simon and Angel – Holiday Village Flamingo Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Spent the first two weeks of August here (well the first actually).Thought it was the most awful place we ever stayed in. Have travelled with First Choice for the past number of years and have never been disappointed like this before,nor have we ever complained before. Don´t be fooled by the first choice rating of four suns/keys it is two stars and barely lives up to this rating. All of the negatives that were written about before are very much true and MORE. If you like to sunbathe next to boozed up tatooed british families by all means this is the place for you. If you like a leisurely relaxiong break with adequate entertainment for all the family stay well away and find somewhere else. The entertainment area is a joke, liable to loose your children and find them having been stampled on. My husband accidentally knocked against a table of drinks in this overcrowded unsafe area and was as a result threatened by one of the aforementioned boozed up, tatooed British holiday makers. Meal times were by far the worst we have experienced. while you would always get a table, a combination of noise, pushing and shoving, unnecessary queueing and a mediocre standard of food contributed to us dreading going for our meals. We actually all never got to have a meal together due to the queues for food and the fact you yhen had to get up again for drinks etc. Absolutely no relaxtion value at all to this part of our holiday. Awful. As for the sunbeds everything that was said before stands. you have to crawl down your sunbed to get off as they are so close together. From cigarette smoke from our neighbouring sun bathers to young children doing number two on potty at the foot of our sunbeds we got to the stage we didn´t even want to spend time around the pool.
In actual fact we didn´t stay there. We approached our first choice rep and explained as i have here, what we were encountering on our holiday. The rep was so much in agreement and understanding with us that we were moved to a real four star hotel within 24 hours. Ironically we could have originally booked this hotel for the same price as we paid for the holiday village. This place was fabulous but I will review it separately.
Before I finish I want to mention Angel who we met early on in the holiday when we wished to be moved from the miserable rooms first choice had allocated to us (49 D and 50 D) with the kitchen of a chinese restaurant out the front and a building site out the back. Angel was great and gave us select rooms in block C with lovely sea views and we can´t fault him. I don´t know how he copes seeing the nightmare that first choice have made out of his previously well run property.
As for fellow travellers we found that 90% of people we spoke to were in agreement with us and I can imagine when they saw us moving on at the end of week one that they were only sorry they didn´t speak up too.
The service and attention we received both from first choice and from Angel the manager were excellent it is just such a pity that this place is overcrowded and out of control.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debbie123412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Hi, many thanks for your comments and again we will look to implement your ideas and any changes that we can very soon to further improve the experience. Many customers are having wonderful holidays with us and both First Choice and the hotel work hard as a team to allocate rooms and to help customers if they need anything. We hope you will try another Holiday Village in the future.

Simon and Angel – Holiday Village Flamingo Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

I had my concerns about the holiday from reading the negative reviews on this site but i had no reason to be worried. I feel sorry for the people who did not enjoy this holiday as they must be very difficult to please, some people will always find something to moan about!
The flight was brilliant, with the in flight entertainment having so much choice of films, tv and games. I cannot fault the hotel at all! All of the staff work so hard, the cleaning staff, bar staff, waiters and chefs and always with a smile on their face!
The food was absolutely amazing, there is so much choice at each meal. Breakfast in the buffet restaurant had everything you could possibly want, you could also get a good breakfast in the sports bar or as a special treat there was the Portobello beach club which does a la carte french toast, pancakes and waffles with fruit and cream which are delicious!! For lunch there is the pool snack bar or again the buffet so much choice again. Take away boxes are amazing for taking to beach or eating in room or by the pool, such a good idea!
For dinner buffet amazing again, def not the same each night, also sports bar has a different theme each night, the mexican night was good, We tried both the spanish and italian a la carte restaurants and would def recommend as they were excellent. The cakes are also so tasty!
The entertainment and activities throughout the day were superb, i've never seen so many holiday reps and they all worked so hard to make sure everyone enjoyed their holiday. My son attended the football academy, which he loved. They didn't want to go to kids club but the children who did go seemed to really enjoy it. There was also a cinema.
The hotel was so clean which is obviously a mammoth task considering the number of guests. Room was lovely, yes did get flowers, think the maids pick them from round the complex so may depend if any near your room, lovely touch though.
Sunbeds are a bit of a problem however this will now improve with the beach open, we came home on the 12th aug and they had part opened beach on the 10th, its not completely open and finished but they are trying their best and made so much progress whilst we were there. The free bus to the other beach was great and we walked back which took half an hour with 2 small kids. Its a lovely walk with some really nice shops and the marina to look at.
On one day we got the glass bottom boat from the marina and stopped off for a couple of hours at another beach which was good value for money and a lovely day out.
The entertainment team, kerry, john, ricky, leanne, emma and shifty shu were fantastic and kept us entertained each night, if you didn't have kids you may not be so impressed however we did, and so it was perfect. Bingo was great especially as i got line and full house on the last night!
All in all it was a fantastic holiday, we made great friends ( Hi sarah,john,katie and beth!) put on some weight! We would def go back as it will be perfect when the beach is fully open, although this did not affect our holiday. If you've booked, you will love it unless you want to find something to moan about! If you're thinking of booking then do!
Wish we were going back! Kids still singing chocolate!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjsLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Having read all of the reviews prior to going we were all somewhat concerned at just what we would encounter in our one week of the year in the sun. Some of the reports really did make us believe we were entering some kind of assault course.

However, the following was the case for us and i heard very few grumbles whilst there. Our kids are 10 and 14 and we stayed for 7 days early August.
Reception. Had to wait an hour for our room on arrival.Not unreasonable though as we did get there at 12.30pm. The staff were somewhat unfriendly.As previously mentioned get your safe deposit key and air con controls. You have to ask. Shown to the dining room, fed and had a drink and then room was ready (almost).
Welcome meeting ok but acoustics were poor at the back. Suggest you look at first choice web site before you go and know what you want to do. We did the island tour which was brilliant and we had a tremendous guide in Anna.
Room. Really good in general and no complaints re facilities although kids pull out beds had seen better days.Tthe cleaning did leave a little to be desired in terms of attention to detail but it was ok. Our room A75 was not cleaned on Sunday and Tuesday. Leave towels in the bath to be changed. They do give you more if you ask and the same goes for anything else. Nothing is too much trouble and is done quickly. We needed more pillows and they were there within 10 mins. Sea view was stunning!!
Food and drink. For all inclusive it was really good. The staff in the bars and restaurants are really efficient and work really hard. They do care and have a pride in their jobs. For the numbers of people it was quite impressive. Queues previously mentioned by people were a concern but we went to meals at various times and never really saw them. We were on holiday and if we did encouter any delays it was for no more than a minute despite the places being full. Quality and variation was above average considering the size. Yes i have stayed at Butlins and this was way above the "slop" they serve. Dont make the mistake of bracketing them in this category. The El Duque Tapas bar was great. Ok, so its a set menu, but the amount and quality of the food couldnt be faulted. Nice people too. Tip. Book early as we missed out on the Italian.
Overall good choices, quality and Service with a smile. My 1/2 a stone weight increase is testament to this.
Take out boxes are a fantastic idea.
Pools. So its the height of summer and kids play in pools with lilos etc.. Nothing wrong in that so expect them to be busy. Again no complaints. If you want quiet pools then go somewhere else. Simple.
Hopefully the beach opening will take some pressure off the overall numbers.
The cleaners around the pool work really hard and keep it tidy. Didnt see any overflowing bins and the maids came and tidied up after tho se who left cups lying around
Sunbeds. i'm used to getting up early and didnt mind being down for 8am. Most beds were gone by the main pool but there were always some available nearer to the Blue moon bar at 9am most days. I didnt feel it was as bad a people make out but then again i didnt want beds right next to the pool.
Entertainment. Its as much as you want to get involved with. The reps work so hard and are to be commended. They create a nice atmosphere and always have a smile on their faces. They seemed really patient and looked like they were having a good time. They all seem really talented with John (my daughter called him twinkletoes) standing out.
Blue moon bar is really busy and hot but again stay outside if it gets too much.
Kids were too taken with pool etc.. to go to kids clubs but would have if we had stayed longer.
We all wanted a holiday with lots of downtime and no real restrictions on us and Flamingo beach gave us that. Its not quite a 4 star and not a place to go if you dont have kids. However if you want a holiday where you can get as involved as you want, eat when you want, drink when you want and dont forget you are on holiday to relax a little and go with the flow then this is the place.
its their first year as a FC village and i've come away with a smile on my face, not stressed and spent real quality time with my family. I'd go back again without hesitation..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndytheMull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Hi, many thanks for your posting - it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we we’re able to put a smile on your face which is what holidays are all about! Thanks for all your excellent comments about the staff and the food. Come back and see us again soon.

Simon and Angel – Holiday Village Flamingo Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed here from Sunday 25th July 2010 for 11 nights. I wish we had booked for longer. We were in the bungalows over by the quiet pool and the rooms were large, clean and perfect for a family of 4.

There is so much to do for all ages. Our children were happy from 10am in the morning until 11pm at night and so were the adults. A huge thankyou to all the first choice team who work so very hard, but especially James who goes out of his way to make you feel involved. Activities range from walking on water, aero ball, high ropes (bring your trainers) raft building, canoeing, short mat bowls, large jenga (36 blocks 5/8/10).

The restaurant area is busy but that is to be expected in the height of season and on change over days.

Would we go back......YES . Our family and friends had a fantastic holiday and loved every minute we were there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2205annemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Hi, we’re really pleased that you had a great time with us and James especially will be thrilled by your comments, as will all the team. Come back and see us and tell your friends what a great time you had a Holiday Village Flamingo Beach.

Simon and Angel – Holiday Village Flamingo Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

we stayed here with my young son and my older daughter,for 2weeks.the accomodation was very good and the food,first time we been all inclusive,after the first week of going to eat at the same places,i thought was bit monotomous.but got used to it,we all enjoyed the day and night time activities.my son jake learnt to swim here,we been trying for a year to learn him.we got on well with the holiday reps,who do a great night time shows,especially kerri,ricky,leanne,emma,john.even i joined in for the first time ever,was up dancing every night.will miss them.the room was very nice,big enough,we were a 15mins walk from playa blanca,which is lovelyfrom michelle,jake,rob,melissa,telfordx

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakeygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#21 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort

Property: TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Address: Avenida de Canarias S/N | Playa Flamingo, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Club Gold medal in 2007 and 2008 with Thomson.Flamingo beach just some steps away.Great offer of Restaurants, bars and entertainment.Football pitch and tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Playa Flamingo Apartments
Playa Flamingo Lanzarote
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing