We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good complex with room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Tyne and Wear
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good complex with room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

We booked on Monday 12 July and travelled Thursday 15 July so for booking last minute we were overall pleased with the outcome.

The staff here work extremely hard all day every day and do so with a smile on their face. This includes the maids and grounds staff who kept the complex clean throughout the day and always gave us an hello,

The room was a very good size and well equipped........in fact considering we were all inclusive it was better equipped than any self catering apartment we have stayed in! Our first night we woke up freezing cold which was a shock to both of us. However, the extra thick blanket did the trick and we enjoyed comfortable sleeps without the usual waking up hot and sweaty.

Massive downside to our room was the constant smell from the drains. We complained the first day and whilst initially it did go it soon came back. Most days this wasn't too bad and when we returned from day/night out we simply opened the windows and doors to air the place and this seemed to work. Sadly one night was particularly bad and the bathroom had a strong sulphur smell (which did at least go by morning). There were others with similar problem so it really does need looking at to try and resolve once and for all. We stayed in room B11.................the shame of it was we were nicely located as it is away from main pool and entertainment area and had it not been for the smell the room comfort would have been excellent.

Food was okay and we really didn't have to queue very much. For us, the biggest issue was the sheer chaos!! Whether this was down to the number of diners or the speed at which the staff work we are not sure but it didn't make for a very relaxing environment and we just didn't enjoy the experience of eating in there. For lunch times we opted to takeaway back to our room but when it came to evening meals we ended up eating out 3 nights. The sports bar isn't as busy we just didn't fancy the food on offer. The Tapas had a lovely laid back feel and we enjoyed our night there.

We felt that it lacked a bar with a real chilled/relaxed feel......I know this is a family orientated hotel but it would be nice to have at least one bar on offer with a slightly different vibe. Even in the sports bar it is not that relaxed as you are sitting enjoying evening drinks and the staff are whizzing around setting up the empty tables for breakfast!!!

This is the first time we have gone all inclusive and we enjoyed having water and other drinks available throughout the day. Likewise it made a nice change being able to get breakfast and lunch so easily to hand. We will certainly give all inclusive hotels another go and will definitely return to Lanzarote at some point in the future.......although perhaps not at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Hi, thanks for your comments and feedback on the complex. We are continually aiming to improve our holiday offering and have also received many great comments from our customers. We hope that you will return to Lanzarote in the future or maybe to another holiday Village around the world….we have new complexes opening in Tunisia and Tenerife next summer!

Simon and Angel - Holiday Village Flamingo Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    958
    376
    158
    85
See reviews for
1,897
397
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

If you are reading this review then stay away from this hotel because you will regret it trust me we did. We stayed for 2 weeks and wanted to come home after the first week.

The rooms were ok cleaned every 2 days and the cleaning staff were friendly and always spoke. The entertainment staff were excellent and thats all for the good points.

The food was not good at all, very repetative, my partner got food poisoning and was stuck in the room for 2 days, my daughter had a raw piece of chicken, my beef was still dripping with blood. Everything was to a schedule so always rushing around for meal times. Had to come from the pool early just so we could get ready to go and have tea, then get a seat in the Blue Moon Bar otherwise could not get a seat to watch the entertainment. Even that got a bit boring we watched some of the shows twice.

The sunbeds were a real problem, the first week i had to get up at 5AM to put my towels on the beds. Did not like doing this but as all other guests were doing it some evan at 2AM. By the second week the reps told all that if towels were left on the beds before 9AM they would get taken off. This did not happen very often by this time i was having to get up at 7.30AM and sit on the beds otherwise would not be able to get any. We had to sit around until 9AM before we could move and go for breakfast. There were far to many beds around the main pool but there was still not enough beds by far for all guests. You were lying on top of each other how close they were together. The pool was freezing cold like ice water kids were going in but when coming out there lips were blue and could not get warm. This did not improve even when the weather picked up. The main pool was used by lots of people but when the entertainment team done any activities in the poool they decided to block half the pool off. This was a pain when trying to swim has pool got packed. Far too many kids i have 2 of my own but when trying to sunbathe the other kids throught it would be good to keep squirting you and this got annoying after about the 50th time.

The all inclusive drinks were only local brands and were not the best, only had one larger local stuff called tropical and did not taste very nice, the cocktails were never the same even though should have been the same cocktail.

All in all i would not recommend this hotel to anyone and i will never return. I have been put off Holiday Villages for life and this was my first and probably my last.

I would recommend that if you get the chance do go on the Catlanza Boat Trip this is a little expensive but well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty_partridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Hi, thanks for your comments. We will look at your comments about the veggie offering on the complex and look to improve this for our customers. Our clubs are run on a ratio of 1 instructor to 8 children and only operate together if the numbers are too low to run 2 separate clubs but at this time of year the clubs are running as 2 separate operations so I’m disappointed that your child didn’t enjoy her session. We hope that you will try another Holiday Village in the future and thank-you for your comments.

Simon and Angel - Holiday Village Flamingo Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Staffs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at the holiday village and to be honest upon arrival I wanted to turn around and come straight back home. We were given an awful room far away from pools etc and the map we were given and the way we were told to go we had to battle with 150 steps with 4 heavy suitcases and a baby in a pushchair as you just make your own way to your room with your cases. We were a family of 5 and the room was far too small, for some reason the travel cot was placed in the lounge but you couldn't get past it to get to the bathroom hence the lack of space. I did complain and we were given a different room in a better location but it had a terrible smell of drains but this I decided to put up with as I really couldn't face moving again. The hotel does have ramps but I only found these the next day.
Like all the previous reports it can be hard work to get a sunbed we never bothered to try around the main pool because all the beds were taken by around 8am if you put towels down before 9am the reps would remove them but what people do now is sit on the sunbeds so the reps can't remove them. We always went around the mickey mouse pool where you normally managed to get a sunbed up to about 9- 9.30am but you need to be earlier if you want a parasol. The quite pool is more like inflatable hell and obviously really cold but I braved it with my 4 year old to try and encourage her to do some swimming but this was just impossible with too many huge inflatables in there. The staff both local's and first choice are very nice and work hard especially the one's in the restaurant where my baby daughter was a huge hit and everyone wanted a cuddle. The maid wasn't great and often I couldn't tell whether she had been or not the only give away was if the bed was made but one day one bed was made and not the other one so I think she must of simply forgotten. The rooms, I found just too small but I am sure if you don't need a cot then it would have been fine. Upon collecting my tickets I was told that the beach was open which is not the case and we never saw any work going on so I think this will be closed for a while longer. The hotel does run transport to a beach but for us this wasn't an option with a young baby. My older child went to wavelength which he loved to the point that we hardly saw him just at mealtimes. My 4 year old wasn't too keen on her club and to be honest neither was I as upon signing her up I was told that they run the 3-5 year olds and 6-8 year olds sessions together for the 1st 3 sessions, this is before they have any idea of numbers and I think there is a huge difference between a 3 year old and a 8 year old and the bulk of the children were older, so if like me you have booked thinking that a younger child will be ok as they will be with other young children prepare to be disappointed.
The food was really nice unless you're a veggie like me, I stuggled to eat most nights but in the end on our last night I spoke to the chef to see if he could make me something and I was given a plate of onion and peppers that had been roasted which was ok, my hubby who is a real meat eater said the meat was fab and the kids ate every night so that is the main thing.
All in all, the local's are some of the nicest you will meet, the hotel itself is looking really tired and for the amount of people staying there it is simply to small maybe when the beach opens and people are able to leave the pool area the place could have a different feel but I wouldn't recommend it unless you like wall to wall people.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Hi, thanks for your comments. We will look at your comments about the veggie offering on the complex and look to improve this for our customers. Our clubs are run on a ratio of 1 instructor to 8 children and only operate together if the numbers are too low to run 2 separate clubs but at this time of year the clubs are running as 2 separate operations so I’m disappointed that your child didn’t enjoy her session. We hope that you will try another Holiday Village in the future and thank-you for your comments.

Simon and Angel - Holiday Village Flamingo Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We had a fantastic time here. We stayed for 2 weeks from the end of June. Can see why people complain about this complex - it was the cleanest I have ever stayed in, staff were superb, both hotel abd First Choice.
Yes people do queue for the buffet when they serve at both sides, dont get that but there was always plenty both quality and quantity. Loved the take away boxes if you wanted to sit at the pool or back to your room.
We had a lovely room with a terrace front and back. Grounds and communal areas were kept spotless by the hardest ever cleaning staff I have seen. We were grumbling it was too warm to sit out and there they were toiling away with a smile on their face.
This holiday was superb value for money. I have stayed in Playa Blanca twice now, it really is a lovely resort. If I return in the future, it will definitly be to Flamingo Beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ammmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Hi, Thanks for your comments about the complex and also the staff from both the hotel and also First Choice. We will pas on your comments to the cleaners and the ground staff as they work very hard to make sure the complex is spotlessly clean. As you said, Playa Blanca is a great resort and we look forward to seeing you on your 3rd visit.

Simon and Angel - Holiday Village Flamingo Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinhamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

My wife and I have just spent two weeks at this hotel, and because I have a little difficulty walking I had to ask for help. The reps working there as indeed all the staff were very willing and helped me with good grace, a special thank you to Dave, you were really good. We were surprised at the number of children that were at the hotel and had we known beforehand we may have chosen somewhere a little quieter.

We had only one complaint, the variety of food on offer was great but in so many instances it was not cooked properly and whatever I chose 80% was left on the plate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish0695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Hi, thanks for your comments. Holiday Villages cater mainly for families and at this time of year we receive many children and their families. We will pass your comments onto Dave who works tirelessly on complex to make our customers have great holidays!

Simon and Angel - Holiday Village Flamingo Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Hi there
Just returned from holiday here and it was a great holiday, the staff where all so friendly and very helpful.
The Food was excellent and some of the chefs were british so they knew how to cater for us.
The rooms where very clean and spacious they are the cleanist apartments we have experienced apart from a timeshare one we have been to.
The Blue Moon Bar where the entertainment took place was very busy at night the bar staff where very friendly and always looked out for the kids.
No need to take towels can hire from the hotel.
Cinema for the kids which is a good size.
Kids clubs on everyday but my girl who is 8 was quite happy playing at the pool all day she went to the kids club only twice.
The entertainment at night is Bingo a show and then some dancing for the older kids. This did this get a bit repetative, but all in all the entertainment staff did a good job.
The sunbed issue was a bit of a task, but the hotel have now addressed this issue so it should be a lot easier.
All the staff work very hard to keep the standard of the hotel up so well done to them.
LOved this Hotel and would return and the beach should be open when we get back so that will be better.
You can also walk down into Playa Blanca this is a nice relaxing walk and the shops are also great.
We all enjoyed this holiday the hotel was spotless, the food was great and the Kids are well catered for.
Go for it and have a Ball !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baltolori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Hi, We’re glad you had a ball at the Holiday Village. We will pass on your comments to the entertainment team who are keen to please all their customers and will no doubt take these on-board. Look forward to seeing you again.

Simon and Angel - Holiday Village Flamingo Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed here for two weeks and are in the process of booking for next year. The entertainment staff were amazing tey work so hard and make sure you all have a good time. The kids clubs were run fantastically well and when I asked my son what he thought of the reps he said "Awesome". The waiters and bar staff work very hard. There were a couple of nights that we had to queue for dinner but the queues went down quickly. Looking forward to going back next year possibly with friends!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noofywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FC_Holiday_Village, Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Hi, Many thanks for your fabulous comments and we will pass the comments onto the team who will be very pleased to hear them. We look forward to seeing you again next summer.

Simon – Holiday Village Manager
Angel – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,878 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,607 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
23.8 mi away
Los Zocos Club Resort
Los Zocos Club Resort
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort

Property: TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Address: Avenida de Canarias S/N | Playa Flamingo, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Club Gold medal in 2007 and 2008 with Thomson.Flamingo beach just some steps away.Great offer of Restaurants, bars and entertainment.Football pitch and tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Playa Flamingo Apartments
Playa Flamingo Lanzarote
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing