We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ardderchog, fantastic, brilliant - an aboslutely amazing first family holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Well. Where to start? We booked this holiday after reading some bad reviews and were just hoping for the best. I'm so glad now that I didn't pay any attention to the negative feedback because the holiday was absolutely brilliant! We came to the holiday village at the beginning of May which was when the village actually opened. Myself and my partner went with a young child and an infant.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by members of the entertainment and in2 action team. We were helped with our luggage and directed to reception. My little boy was made to feel at ease instantly as he was showed a range of toys and facilities that the hotel had to offer. We were shown to our rooms and wished a very good holiday. We were later greeted at our room by one of the hotel managers, Miguel. What a lovely welcome we had.

The appartment itself was located about a minutes walk away from the evening entertainment venue the blue moon and about 2 minutes walk away from the restaurant and the pool area. Ideal location for a family with little ones. The room itself was spotless. Beds were made up and fresh towels awaiting. The bathroom was spacious with shower over the bath. We had a double bedroom with plenty of cupboard space and a safe. In the living room was a pull out bed which would have slept two. The kitchen was the best we've seen for an all inclusive appartment. We had a fridge, freezer, microwave, cutlery and crockery, kettle, toaster and coffee machine. The appartment was cleaned regularly and fresh towels/ linen available as requested in between maids visits.

The restaurant was fabulous. For breakfast there was a hige range: full cooked breakfast, 6 types of cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurt, croissants and pastries as well as ur juices, tea and coffee. Lunch time offered fish, vegetarian, meat options, baguette fillings and salads, range opf cakes and deserts. Evening menu was also extensive. There was so much choice and of such a high quality that we were never dissapointed. My little one loved the kids buffet area which children could help themselves too. Some people complained that there wasn't enough kids choice? If the kids wanted something from the adult menu, then that was fine too. U could eat what u want, when u wanted. Oh and I forgot, there was a chef available to cook u fresh omlettes and burgers upon request! In the restaurant, u could help yourself to soft drinks and lager, so no queuing needed at the bar!

The entertainment was fab. So much to do and so little time. During the day there were kids clubs 10-12, 2.30-4.00, 4.30-6.00 and 9.00-11.00. These were opportunities for the kids to get out of the sun for a bit and were completely free. On occasions during the 9.00 -11.00 there was a small fee payable for chocolate, sweets parties etc but these were all worth it. In addition to the kids clubs were activities round the pool. These included painting, stories, skittles, lympics, water sports to name just a few. My little one wasn't bored for a second. Evening entertainment was just as good with the kids being entertained firstly and then the adults. There's aso a creche at the hotel. I was sceptical at first about creches, but after meeting the girls who worked there I changed my mind. They were fab with our little one and well worth the money.

There were a few pools at the hotel. A main mool, two shallow kids pools, one splash type pool with slides, a mickey mouse pool (shallow) and a quiet pool oh plus there was the pool that the swim academy use. Loads of sunbeds available, loads of choice. There were also plenty of sun umbrellas available.

U could pay a deposit of 10E for pool towels. They were fab towels which could be changed daily for fresh ones. Upon return of your towel at the end of the stay you then got your money back. No need to take towels away with you!

Staffs english at the hotel was fantastic. All staff tried their best to please and do anything for you.

I bet there's something ive forgot to write but i just want to stress that the holiday village is a fab place to stay and Im already looking to book again for october. Please dont pay attention to the egative reviews, try the hotel yourself!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank alli5blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,893)
There are newer reviews for TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,498 - 2,504 of 2,893 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2010

we had mixed feelings about this hotel after previous reviews but we had no need the good points
rooms excelent comfortable and clean (we had upgraded to superior which was worth it for the larger balcony chairs with cushoins)
swimming pools good though cold plenty of sunbeds and activities for the children
staff excellent both hotel staff and first choice reps always cheerfull and ready to help nothing was too much trouble
yes the beach was closed this is not the hotels fault and they have tried to make the best of things by offering free transport to another beach and the avaiability of take out food etc
not so good we felt though the food was good there was limited choice and very english good for the familys but not our choice we found the food cold at the begining of the holiday we raised this as an issue and it was resolved
would we return on our own no we wouldn't but this is not because of a bad experience it is just not our type of hotel unless we had the grand children with us and then it would be our first choice we had a great time and the location is fantastic

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toadie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I came back from flamingo village on the 13th may and must admit before travelling i was nervous having read the reviews, but i was pleasantly surprised. The hotel has excellent facilities with friendly staff, yes the beach is closed but there are two beaches 15-20 minutes away if you stroll along the seafront,which is beautiful. If walking is not for you, the hotel have arranged a bus to take you to the beach and back 3 times a day with a free lunch!!. The food was a bit limited, very english but loads of it, you would never go hungry. Ice cream all day, lots of activities for kids and although i went with my partner, i still had a good time joining in the dancing in the pool and night time shows. overall a fantastic holiday, the views from the rooms are beautiful with fuerteventura 15 mins away by ferry. Would definately go back. i think the negative reviews were from the transition but now its up and running as a holiday village, it is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank char388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed at Flamingo Beach in April and ended up staying an extra 6 days due to the volcano. I would like to say what a fantastic holiday we had. There are more positvies than negotives, the hotel was lovely with really nice soroundings in a great location and had really nice walks along the promonade, the room was very comfortable and clean and we had the most amazing sea view from the balcony which I really enjoyed every morning. We all found the food really good and lots to choose from, (so much better than any other all inclusive holiday we have been on before) the drinks were ok! I can not fault the way we were treated by the rep Dave throughout the whole holiday especially when the flight was canceled, he kept us well informed and worked really hard and really looked after us.Now for the negotives....As people have already pointed out the smell did get pretty awful at times and we did notice that some of the grids were not sealed...the reception staff had a bad attitude every time we needed to speak to them, but the rest of the staff made up for this as they were more friendly. The day time activities were ok but the night time entertainment was terrible.After taking everything into consideration I would go back to Flamingo beach in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

I have just got back from 11 nights at the Flamingo Beach Resort with my partner an 3 year old and we have all had a great time. We were a little worried before we went as first choice contacted us to say the beach was closed. This is really not a problem, there are much nicer beaches walking distance away and a free bus to them.

We were also a little worried about the hotel due to the bad reviews recieved during March/April - the manager anf his team admitted that the bad reviews were due to people expecting the holiday village to be up and running, even though the brochure does say the hotel only becomes a holiday village from the 1st May. We decided to travel on the 2nd May for this reason and paid more so I do feel the bad reviews are very unfair!

There were some last minute touched being put to the hotel to transform it to a holiday village when we got there and everyday there was extra touches being added which were great. The staff were all excellent, the waiters were so friendly and the cleaner must have been in our room for at least 15 minutes each day - the place was imaculate!

The rooms were nice-we tried to upgrade before we went and were told we would have to do it on arrival but the room was so nice, the bed big and comfy, all new sheets and towels and lots of channels on the tele (including Cebebies!) we decided not to bother!

The entertainment was excellent and great for our 3 year old. The resort felt very safe and there was lots for her to do. There wasdsomething to do all the time if thats what you wanted and the evening entertainment was good.

The food was great - we have stayed in All Inclusives in Spain and the Canaries before and weren't expecting the food to be that great - it far exceeded our expectations! The restaurants were great and you have the option of Pancakes/Waffles in the beach front restaurant in the morning if you don't fancy the buffet restaurant - I would recommend.

Playa Blanca was nice and the market and marina is worth a wonder to - a good walk but only 4 euros in a taxi.

A great holiday - thank you to the hotel staff and the first choice team for making it one to remember! Danielle, Ben and Ella

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danilouelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed for a week just before the resort changed to a First Choice Holiday Village (it actually started on the 1st May but we left 2nd). Not sure what all the fuss was about in other reviews but we enjoyed our stay and had no problems.

The food and drinks were good, weather superb, met great people and generally had a good chill out week in the sun. I emailed Angel the manager before our stay and asked for a room near the quieter pool. We got what we asked for and had loads of spare sunbeds. Right by the pool bar (which needs to get rid of that Whitney Houston CD by the way lol).

The staff were friendly and always hard working. The place was spotless. As it was pretty quiet in the resort, we never had to queue for any meals or drinks which was great (the drinks are very strong - try the vodka sun).

The spa actually opened on our last day and we were the very first customers to use it - very nice and a break from the sun if you need it.

The only downsides were that the beach was closed (not the resorts fault), entertainment was pretty much zero (make it up as you go along sort of thing) and I would imagine it would be a nightmare when it's full and you don't have kids (the place is huge).

All in all I would recommend for people without children in off season and those with kids will enjoy anytime.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dikthegeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

I have just returned from a family holiday to this resort with my family a 3 month old and a 3 year old and we had a brilliant time.
I consider myself to be well travelled too a good standard of hotel and this a good family complex.
The beach is closed but what moe do people want the hotel run a FREE shuttle to Dorada beach which is a fab beach and you can walk to this in a pleasant walk along the coast .
Food is good a wide range of food every night always at least two different meat choices every night and buffet is well varied as much as all inclusive can be if people can find any fault with the food then maybe they should go self catering next time.
Entertainment was good we didnt see much of the Adult stuff but kids entertainment team were brill.
Too sum this place up you would find it hard to complain about anything and people that do must be looking for things to complain about.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hanlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
23.7 mi away
Los Zocos Club Resort
Los Zocos Club Resort
#8 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,424 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.9 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort

Address: Avenida de Canarias S/N | Playa Flamingo, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $148 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Club Gold medal in 2007 and 2008 with Thomson.Flamingo beach just some steps away.Great offer of Restaurants, bars and entertainment.Football pitch and tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Playa Flamingo Apartments
Playa Flamingo Lanzarote
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing