We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed December 11, 2008

This is the 3rd year we have been to the Playa Flamingo in Playa Blanca and I have to say we have never been disappointed.

We are not generally a family who revisits the same holiday destination again and again, but we were so taken with these apartments that we have come back and have never been disappointed!

We do normally have a week away towards the beginning of the year and 2 weeks later in the year. Playa Flamingo is our first choice for our week at the beginning of the year.

The apartments are well equipped and scrupulously clean. Bedding and towels are changed 5 out of 7 days a week and the maid often leaves flowers in your bathroom or bedroom. We always go self catering although now I understand that you can go all inclusive if you want to.

There is lots to do with a young family. The first year we came our son was not very confident in the water so we stayed by the tots pool, but the second year, he was in the main pool and this is where the activities are. You can be as involved as you like - there is playful teasing for those who remain on their loungers! You can expect water aerobics in the pool in the morning and some child activities by the pool bar around lunchtime. In the afternoon there was water polo which my husband always took part in and a quiz later on.

As the supermarkets on the complex were so well stocked we had breakfast and lunch in the apartment and then went out for dinner in the evening, often down to the harbour. But a mention must be given to the Chinese restaurant along the promenade - the food is delicious and the staff are so friendly. There is also a bouncy castle just outside for the children. This is definately our favourite place to eat.

Also the weather at this time of year (May) makes the holiday. We have only seen rain (and this was a very brief shower) on 1 occasion - the rest of the time it is fabulous! Perfect for laying in the sun!

Overall this is a great destination, but like anything, if fits the profile - Family orientated - anyone expecting anything else probably will not enjoy this destination.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CherylS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,892)
There are newer reviews for TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,619 - 2,625 of 2,892 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2008

We stayed at the apartments in the 1st week of October. We went as a big family and had 3 apartments, which I asked to be located next to each other. Which they were.....apart from we were unlucky enough to be put above the disco bar!! We had arrived in the day, unpacked, then by evening realised we were in a bad position, especially with a 3 year old. Although I felt like complaining I thought best not to as there were 3 rooms to consider, so we put up with it. I have to say we got used to it, it did spoil the holiday abit but everything else made up for it.

The maid service was absolutely superb. Our maid was sooo lovely, and made such a fuss of our daughter. The rooms were cleaned daily and I never saw one cockroach!! Unlike other apartments I have been to. Not one, across the whole complex. The room was an adequate size for us as a family of 3.

The kids zone club was brilliant! They looked after our daughter so well. It was her 3rd birthday out there so we couldnt take her until she turned 3, but on her birthday she was given a present and made a right fuss of. One perk to the location of the apartments, right next to the kids club. Although no noise from that.

The location of the apartments is excellent. Quite yet very near to amenities. I would definately return but request a different room location.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sazzlebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2008

Everything you needed was there. Nice, quiet and safe for the kids.Unfortunately the beach was in poor condition during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Just_i_dag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

we stayed in this complex as we thought it would be good for the kids as thomson states its a family plus and gave it a 4 t rating
oh boy were we wrong would urge people not go its a basic 2 star.
on the arrival not bad 1st imperrsion on the way to our apatment there were big holes in the drain cover easy for you to get your foot stuck,broken steps when we got to the room we had a door that was kicked in with sharp edges when we entered we were as disapointed to say the least. we had room that is to small for a family off 4 adquate for 2.
kitchen we had a corrided fridge the facia board that was rusty and hanging off.bedroom unfinshed painting works, a campbed that was for my child to sleep on with a 2inch mattress which was not fit to sleep on along with holes in the sheets.overall very shabbty needs money spending on it badly

swimming pools are to small for the size of the complex we went to the beach which is lovely

please think twice iberostar is a lot better which is next door and a 3star

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cassidy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelRivero, Hotel manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2008

Dear guests,
Thank you for your review.
I am sad to read that your holidays were not as expected. The hotel has had a succesfull summer operation and this is why a second Gold medal has been awarded. We thank all the families and guests that scored high as a recognizition to their excellent holidays with us. I would like to have the opportunity to meet you personally if you choose us for the next summer season 209 as Family Club Xtra.
Kind regards,
Angel rivero
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Me and my husband stayed at these apartments for 2 weeks in September and we had a great time. The apartments were very clean the maids came in daily, the rooms are very spacious and have everything you need (except air con), but there was a ceiling fan and also a plug in fan. The pool area was also very clean although we sunbathed on our balcony as it was more peaceful and relaxing, if you've got kids the pool would be great plenty going on to keep the kids happy. Playa Blanca is a very nice place to visit if you want a relaxing holiday you dont get time share touts or lucky lucky men trying to sell you things. it has nice shops, restaurants and bars. The walk along the front into the town from the apartments is really nice especially early evening when the sun is setting. Now the food the irish anvil is relly good they do great breakfasts, lunches and evening meals and the staff are really friendly, we tried the indian tandoor house in the centre and we not impressed, spices on the harbour was much better and also the coach and horses do a great curry just like back home !!!! the staff there are also a good laugh. Its worth hiring a bike as parts of playa blanca is too far to walk so with a bike we got to see more. The big white building in the harbour is a fish market and they the most fantastic prawns. we will be returning to these apatments again, we travelled with thomson and couldnt fault them everything was perfect !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cooperNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Recently stayed at The Playa Flamingo for 2 weeks with my wife and 8 year old daughter.
Excellent apartments, very spacious and absolutely spotless. We were in room 40D which was at the rear of the complex however was a great location for the main promenade and couple of supermarkets about 30 yards away. Maid service most days with clean towels and sheets, can't be faulted.
We didn't go to the pool area as the pool was quite cold for my wee girl so we beached it every day.Thought the pool was a wee bit like the tv programme "Benidorm"with loads of things going on, but if that's your thing then you will love it. We went to the entertainment in the Blue Moon bar a few times and thought that the hotel entertainers were excellent however the Tom Jones impersonator took some beating(nice dancers too!)
As we have stayed in Playa Blanca before we had a fair idea where to eat out. The chinese in the resort centre, think it's China City, was outstanding.Also tried the couple of restaraunts near the apartments, the Beach Club and the one next to it-lovely food and great service. Also reccommend the Pizzeria at the rear of the Apartments.Only "bad" meal we had was the steakhouse/chinese with the bouncy castle, though the prices there were high also.
All in all an excellent holiday and we would highly reccommend these apartements.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Clogger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

3 of us stayed in the playa flamingo resort. we had a great holiday. the pool was good, location was good, setting was good, entertainment was good,bars were good, situation was amazing as we had room 2C which was on the promenade with access to a restaurant 10m away. the sutuation is good as it is a 20 min walk to town where you will find everything you could want. the only thing i will say is we went in July and the hotel really did need air con.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank big-rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
23.7 mi away
Los Zocos Club Resort
Los Zocos Club Resort
#8 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,421 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.9 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort

Address: Avenida de Canarias S/N | Playa Flamingo, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $145 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Club Gold medal in 2007 and 2008 with Thomson.Flamingo beach just some steps away.Great offer of Restaurants, bars and entertainment.Football pitch and tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Playa Flamingo Apartments
Playa Flamingo Lanzarote
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing