We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, no complaints.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good hotel, no complaints.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent a week at the Flamingo Beach in late August. All areas clean and well looked after, the room was cleaned on 5 out of 7 days. The food was very good for an all inclusive, a good choice each sitting and the quality of the food was higher than usual for the hotel price range.

Staff all very friendly and helpful.

The sunbed situation around the main pool was comical, people reserving floor space with towels then going into a frenzy at 9am when the beds were unchained, seizing beds and dragging them around like a load of refugees. Seriously, watch this from the balcony outside the reception, it is unreal.

If the management read this I think the system that you run at the other pools where the life guards identify unused towels and beds at 9.30 and remove them at 11.30 is the way forward, it frees up about 50 percent of the hogged beds every day. And the look on peoples faces when they pitch up at 2pm to find a pile of towels is great.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for your air con remote when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    995
    393
    160
    89
See reviews for
1,990
405
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Myself, hubby & two children age 6 & 3 have just returned from a delightful stay at the Flamingo Beach Holiday Village in Playa Blanca & we throughly enjoyed it. It was fantastic! The hotel is immaculate, we stayed in a bungalow which was well equipped & spacious, with a lovely sea view :-) The food was beautiful with plenty of variety for everyone..
The staff couldn't do enough for you, the entertainment team work so hard day & night bringing lots of joy to all the children! Mine certainly had a ball!
We would 100% recommend this holiday to any family with children in a heartbeat! We loved it & hope to visit again soon! Well done! X

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollydaydrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJonayAfonso, General Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your email. Thank you very much for your nice and friendly review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you son.
regards
Jonay Afonso
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just returned from weeks holiday and had an absolutely fantastic time. It was the first time abroad with just me and my 2 daughters and we weren't disappointed. The hotel was spotless, the food was fantastic (even for a vegetarian and 2 fussy children), the entertainment staff (Frank, Jamie, Holly, Rachael etc etc) were brilliant, beach lovely and clean, didn't get bitten once and no upset tummies. My girls used the kids club on a number of occasions and loved it. They were entertained by the pool too and tried lots of new experiences. The one down side is the rush for the sunbeds with some people waiting from 7.30am to get their spot (but as I didn't care where we sat I got a sunbed on all the days) - this could be better done though as this is the only down thing I can say about this hotel. If I could afford it would definately return next year. Don't listen to the bad reviews go and have a fantastic time like we did

Room Tip: Central location near the main pool is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJonayAfonso, General Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear customers,
Thank you for your email. I am very happy that your experience in Flamingo has been as expected. Hope to see you soon again.
regards
Jonay Afonso .
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we returned from Holiday Village Flamingo Beach about a week ago and i cant fault anything, the entertainment team worked seriously hard, there was thing for all ages to do during the day, and things happening all hours of the day, my Son aged 7 and daughter aged 13, have already said they would love to go back next year.
The resort was tidy all the time, the cleaners didn't work on a Wednesday or Sunday which was a problem atall.
All the staff in the resort was always polite, towards everyone, very very friendly, got everyone involved.
For us the sun beds wasnt a problem. there was plenty, seeming the children was hardly with us we didnt need 4 sunbeds where others wanted one for every person that traveled with them.
The food was amazing, plenty to choose from, and plenty of options.
We would 100% come back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

There was a large amount of us that went on the 27th of August and all of us say it was the best holiday ever, the food was good with a good selection to eat, the entertainment during the day was too there was always something to do we all loved doing ifit burning 250 calories a day doing it it was a laugh to take part in. My sister went to the kids clubs a few times and she always seemed to have a good laugh and when she came back she wouldn't stop talking about the fun she had and the things that she had done.

We had no troubles with the sun beds, we would get there at about half 8 8:45 and then they would be unlocked at 9am.

The rooms were good I have never been to a Hotel where the beds are so comfortable. The apartment was a good size and there was enough space for 4 of us to put all of our clothes.

We all loved the night entertainment always kept us laughing. There was something for everyone the dancing for the children bingo for adults (witch we won the full house one night) and then a show, our best show was ' a night with frank' he has such an amazing voice and was amazing to listen to! We loved the entertainment team as the were always interacting with the families witch makes there holiday a lot better.

We have walked away with a lot of memories that we won't forget and already looking at going back next year. Thank you for a good holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paigesibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJonayAfonso, General Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear customers
Thank you for your nice words.
Yes we have a great team and in general we have very satisfied customers with everything: food, cleaning, service, etc. Of course it is impossible to please everyone but the big majority thinks you. Hope to see you soon again.
Best regards
Jonay Afonso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Flamingo beach is an awesome place for families to holiday!
All the staff are friendly and helpful and very very hard working.
The "reps" in particular made this holiday for me and the family's I holidayed with, the games, constant positive attitude towards work, banter, energy and effort put in particularly by frank, Jamie and mel has blown me and my friends away! These guys deserve a pay rise !
Thanks team flamingo beach I will 100% be booking next years holiday there when I get home !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JordenA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in August 2013. Travelled with my sister, 6 year old nephew and family friend. We had a ground floor apartment, well furnished with a full sized fridge freezer (ideal for taking frozen drinks to the pool) and large terrace. Don't forget to ask for the remote for the air con when you check-in as they don't tell you that you have to pay a deposit for it and then you have to go back to reception after you have found your room.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The First Choice all did a fantastic job, from the Travel Advisors to the Kids Club Reps to the Entertainment Team. All worked extremely hard and we all enjoyed both the daytime entertainment around the pool and the evening entertainment in the blue moon bar. Jamie, Frank, Holly and Mel were all brilliant and worked very hard.

My nephew loved the kids club and enjoyed various activities from raft building, archery, canoeing, science experiments and the famous chocolate party.

Food in the hotel was Excellent! This hotel has probably some if the best food i have tasted and such a varied selection in the different restaurants. The main buffet had a fresh fish and meat everyday. The Green & Grill was also excellent, we went here most days for lunch as it had such a good selection (chicken nuggets, burgers, chips, hotdogs, jacket potatoes). They even had steak in the evening and roast beef and yorkshire pud on Sunday! La Bambola (Italian) was good if you fancied something other than a buffet, pizza, pannini's, lasagne etc. lovely and quiet at lunch time too and nice to be waited on for a change too! The Tex Mex and Tavern by the Sea were also very good too.

The main downside to this hotel is the sunbeds around the main pool. They are locked up every night and unlocked at 9am each morning and everyone grabs them. However people still get up at 7.30am to secure their spot around the pool with the little tables and parasols and then just wait until 9am when they are unlocked. In my opinion the pool area is not large enough for the amount of people in the hotel in the summer season, there is no room for more sunbeds in the pool area and when they are unlocked they are all reserved immediately. There are also just 15 parasols around the pool, this is just not enough in the summer season. The pool is also rammed all day long, not helped by the entertainment team having parts of it cordoned off for various activities throughout the day.

We did go to the beach a few times to escape the sunbed situation but at 18 euros for 4 sunbeds and umbrellas this proved expensive!

The only other negative for me was all the extras that had to be paid out, air con remote (deposit), pool towels (10 euro deposit per towel), safe, Wifi - 18 euros per week! I know some of these things were only deposits but they were still extras that i've not had to pay for on other All Inclusive holidays.

Overall we had a lovely 2 weeks and as long as you can put up with the sunbed situation i would recommend this hotel to anyone with pre-teen children. This is a family hotel and i wouldn't recommend it if you are not travelling with children.

Room Tip: We had room B86 close to the blue moon bar and the main pool. Not much of a view but not too many p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJonayAfonso, General Manager at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear customers,
I wish to sincerely thank you for your recent review on our hotel. Guest Feedback is extremely important to us and my staff and I use this information to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable stay with us. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments on our staff and hotel.
Regards
Jonay Afonso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,134 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Los Zocos Club Resort
Los Zocos Club Resort
#8 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort

Property: TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Address: Avenida de Canarias S/N | Playa Flamingo, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Club Gold medal in 2007 and 2008 with Thomson.Flamingo beach just some steps away.Great offer of Restaurants, bars and entertainment.Football pitch and tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Playa Flamingo Apartments
Playa Flamingo Lanzarote
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing