We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had an enjoyable holiday, the Kid's Club Reps were amazing and made the trip enjoyable. Although, some of the time there were far too many screaming children. Even in the quiet area it was hard to escape the noise! The pools were good, there were some quiet ones in case you wanted a relaxing swim, the beach was nearby with 3 resturants that were very nice. Waiters were amazing and nice. The rooms, were a good idea you have your own little house apartment thing which made the rooms private. All in all a very good holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach are the best or one near the outside of the pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,603 - 1,609 of 2,925 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

When my wife told me how much she had paid for this holiday I thought "Thats expensive". But I thought the resort must be worth it. Lol It was definitely not! We arrived fairly late and after seeing all the other hotels where people were getting dropped off at this place looked like Fawlty Towers! We got these annoying sharp wrist bands put on us which we could not take off for the whole week. We got no help with our luggage and there were quite a few sets of stairs on the resort – so not push chair friendly. The bungalow we were staying in was very disappointing. Showers were COLD! The phone didn’t work, the fan didn’t work, the air con didn’t work, the toilet seat would not stay up, there were not enough bedding/blankets, the television was tiny – I expected more considering we had paid to upgrade to a superior room. The bed side lamps in the bedroom were connected so you could never have one on and one off- very annoying as I like to read till late. The bungalow was not particularly clean. The wiring was dodgy – I tried to take a plug out and the whole socket came away from the wall exposing all the wiring. This is definitely not safe when you have an inquisitive toddler running around! Also another plug socket was making a constant crackling buzzing noise. We got a dvd player with the upgrade but the resort’s dvd collection is pathetic. The resort has a sports bar but it doesn’t have Sky Sports! Anything extra comes at a price – a highchair, the safe, beach towels etc. The sea is freezing and waveless (as the beach is in a mad made cove), the pools are all very cold so pack a wet suit! You are not guaranteed good weather either due to the storms. Breakfast is a free-for-all and the food is very average. One of our party got food poisoning. If you get ill here you are in a world of pain. The resort doctor (private) will just hit you with injections in the bum and you wonder why? Its because she’ll bill you 50euros for each one! The nearest pharmacy is a taxi ride away. There were a lot of coughing, fluey people around – so you if you’re immune system is not up to it you will definitely catch some sort of bug here! The resort staff were not particularly helpful with one receptionist having a “what the f do you want” attitude. Our room keys kept getting deactivated which meant yet another long walk uphill to reception. To top everything off there were frequent power cuts at the resort and our return flight was delayed by 2 hours. Overall take my advice and avoid taking a holiday here – its a waste of money and you’ll be lucky to escape with your/your family’s health!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank xXJogaBonitoXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I agree with previous comments that this complex is great for young families but totally unsuited for adults wanting a quiet relaxing holiday. The food and drinks are very good but both restaurants are extremely noisy. the apartments are very tired and we had heavy rain one night which completely flooded out our lounge/kitchen area there was also water coming in from the electric lights in the bathroom - not a safe thing to happen. I would not choose to stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I booked this package holiday for my 20 month old son and my wife and we were pleasantly pleased with what we found when we arrived. While the apartments are not large they are clean and have everything that you need. In fact the whole resort is very clean with all the pool areas hosed down every morning. The best point was the food, we have stayed at quite a few 4 and 5 star hotels and I must say that the buffet food was as good as buffet food can be, hot, fresh and always looks inviting to eat. On a couple of mornings we woke up at 6 & 7am to find no electricity in our apartment, no problem as the hotel had it fixed within 10-15 mins, very impressed. We had a room near the bar, not a good move with a little one as we could hear the music in our room till 10:30pm thankfully it did not wake our little man, if you are around room b72 and want an early night forget it! In fairness this was the only problem. Mark & Anne

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, most have terraces that are south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quilter-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are a mixed English and Norwegian family and stayed at Flamingo Beach Resort during the last week of February. We were there with the Scandinavian Star Tours group. Our children are 7 and 5. We had chosen to be all inclusive. The resort was a mixture of Scandinavian and British families, which of course suited us and our kids very well. The weather was lovely and warm all week.

We were very happy with our room, which had a view of the sea and it was nice to get a welcome pack with bottled water, wine and snacks. The room was clean and well appointed. We needed extra pillows and they were brought very quickly after a call to reception.

The girls went to "Bamseklubben" and "Super kids" and the staff were absolutely wonderful. They really connected with our children and managed very well with the variety of languages they had to deal with. They had lots of energy and always had time to chat to the kids even outside of "club time". There is a "Highropes" climbing activity area that was great fun and free to use too.

We also took advantage of the swimming lessons, which the girls enjoyed too, these were in one of the smaller, quieter and warmer pools.

The food was great too and the restaurant staff were always helpful and friendly as well as playful with the children. The literature said that only adults should eat upstairs, where the views are fantastic, but happily this policy didn't seem to be in force and we used both restaurants. The downstairs one has a chocolate fountain that was a big hit. The variety of food was superb, but we found it a bit unpleasant seeing people swigging from drinks bottles, then jamming the saliva coated bottles up onto the water dispenser nozzle.

We loved the evening entertainment, which was a big surprise for me as I've always been quite cynical towards cabaret style entertainment. It was a Swedish group who performed several long and varied acts throughout the week and switched regularly between languages to keep everybody happy. Our girls absolutely fell in love with them and treated them like celebrities whenever they saw them. One night was run by the British tour group and that was actually very poor in comparison. Lina, Emma, Erika, Herman and Ante were a real surprise highlight.

The beach is a lovely, artificial bay with plenty of space for renting beds or putting mats down on the sand.

We took part in one bus trip to a nearby volcano, which was okay, but it was a bit too much time on the bus and on reflection, we would have preferred to be back at the resort. I also enjoyed a very good massage for a small extra fee during the stay.

One minor point for improvement would be that we found the reception staff rather unfriendly and almost hostile at times, especially in comparison to our smiling and enthusiastic guides and the cheerful hard-working restaurant staff.

For a Scandinavian family travelling with young children, this really is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ben_Cornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelRivero, Director General at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear customers,
Thank you very much for your nice review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holidays with us. However, I would like to know what happened in Reception as they normally score very high and are very friendly. Please email me personally to angel.rivero@nordotel.com and tell me more about it.
regards
Angel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

traveled with my two sons 11 and 7 in February half term and had a lovely relaxing week.We stayed on an all inclusive basis and it was fantastic value.The hotel is well situated next to a beach and a short stroll to both a water park and the resort of playa blanca.
The whole complex was spotlessly clean.The apartment was well equipped with everything you could need but maybe a little bit tired in places.The view from the balcony was wonderful.
The staff all spoke perfect english and were friendly and helpful.
The food and drink on offer couldn't be faulted and even my very fussy 7 year old managed to find plenty to eat.
The children visited the first choice kids club and loved it.

Room Tip: we stayed in an upstairs apartment and had great views and weren't overlooked.The ones nearest t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Traveled here with my hubby and 10yr old son, for 1 week back in August 2012, Had a fantasitc time, weather perfect, hotel very nice, staff very friendly, reps energetic and very entertaining, beach is beautiful, food was lovely. Only problem was when we arrived in the dark, we found it very difficult finding our room, when we did, it was pitch black, couldn't see and hadn't a clue how to open the door with the card key. would also say that its not suitable for the less mobile, lots of steps even up to some of the rooms, which is difficult with heavy cases. On one occasion we did see a small cockroach on one of the tables near the big padded wall, was only one we saw all holiday though and didn't put me off, It is the canary islands after all. My son made lots of friends and we hardly saw him. which is great as no bored kids= happy parents. :) Best bit for me was the Beach and the clear blue sea. very safe for kids too, not too big. also loved how you could make a tray full of food and take it to the beach with you. all in all very enjoyable holiday and would defo go back....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Los Zocos Club Resort
Los Zocos Club Resort
#8 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,489 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.2 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort

Address: Avenida de Canarias S/N | Playa Flamingo, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $146 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Club Gold medal in 2007 and 2008 with Thomson.Flamingo beach just some steps away.Great offer of Restaurants, bars and entertainment.Football pitch and tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Playa Flamingo Apartments
Playa Flamingo Lanzarote
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing