We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$147
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pueblo Marinero(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
$174
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
H10 Rubicon Palace(Playa Blanca)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$235
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ona Las Brisas(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
$175
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
VIK Coral Beach(Playa Blanca)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,012)
Filter reviews
3,012 results
Traveler rating
1,257
1,062
421
174
98
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,257
1,062
421
174
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moonholiday villagefirst choicetex mexatlantic barquiet poolmain poolmickey mouse poolel chefkids clubupstairs restaurantsuperior apartmentfootball academyla bambolaevening entertainmenthigh ropesswimming lessons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,764 - 2,769 of 3,012 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2007

Spent a week at Playa Flamingo at end October which we booked on back of great reviews on this site.

Travelled from Ireland so booked via an internet site (& also contacted hotel directly).

One of my reasons for booking was great reviews on kids clubs - my kids were not allowed join in these because we had not booked through Thomson or the Scandanavian company, which I was disappointed with.

Guests over 90% Scandanavian (and very quiet / reserved - we spoke to hardly anyone else in the resort all the time we were there which I found very unusual)

Our room was right overhead Blue Moon Bar so very noisy - luckily closed early. Apartments clean (and cleaning service excellent) but quite small & very hot.

I was sorry that we hadn't stayed at a resort closer to the centre of Playa Blanca.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

We have just returned from our two weeks holiday and we were really disappointed. We had booked it out of the Summer brochure so we expected Superfamily Entertainment. How wrong!
When we arrived at the apartments we noticed that it was really quiet. The next day we went to the reps meeting and we were told that it had now changed to Blue Village, but we would not notice the difference. Having been to three other thomson superfamily accomodations we were not worried.
On our first day you had to pay for the mattresses for your sun loungers. The next day a huge arrival of Scandanavians arrived and the mattresses were then free. Futher into our holiday or tv was changed, we had to pay at the beginning of the week but then it was free. British guests should be treated the same as the Scandanavian guests.
The entertainment was a hugh let down. Magic Martin and Little Legs Laura were really fantastic but they could only do a limited amount of entertaining, because of the scandanavian reps. We missed some of our activities in the day because the scandanavian reps ran over with their activities so we had no time to do ours. The scandanavian reps didn't want the british to join in, it was a large party of Norwegians who said that they would like us to join in their olympic games. We won, but on the presentation night there was no british flag and they announced Finland as the winners.
We had the kids disco every night and two professional shows. The rest was for the scandanavian guests. It was the same five singers every night and they didn't always sing or talk in english. Unfortunately it was the same songs every day and night. On these nights you would find all the british guests sitting outside making our own entertainment.
I would not go here between November and April it is not for British guests.
On the plus side Playa Blanca is great and it has some fantastic restaurants.
Also a big thankyou to the kids reps you were all great. We all enjoyed joining in on the chocolate night.

10  Thank LisaPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Just returned from Playa Flamingo apartments very disappointed. At our welcome meeting we were told it was now Blue Village (Nordic region) We were assured by our reps that nothing would change, everything would still be in English with a full entertainment program but this was not the case. The first week Magic Martin and Little Legs Laura were still there & everyone joined in together but when they went on the 2nd week the nordic reps were reluctant to let the English join in but we did anyway. The Blue Moon bar was supposed to be open until 12.00 but it closed most nights at 10.30, so we then had to sit outside making our own entertainment. There was no happy hour as advertised, the bar was only open at lunchtime. The first couple of days we had to pay for matresses on the sunbeds but once Blue Village took over they were free & also the tv's but why should the British have to pay? Do not stay in these apartments from October until April as it is Blue Village. We booked this holiday on the strengh of the reviews & holiday brochure saying "exclusive to Thomson Superfamily in the UK" but this was not the case. On a good note an excellent Chinese was Jumbo down in the harbour and also the grill place with the cows head outside. The Anvil was great for breakfast. The Chinese with the bouncy castle was awful and a good karaoke bar was Legends open until the early hours. We did have a great time, met loads of nice people but we didn't get what was advertised.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JUANDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelRivero, Management at TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2007

Dear Guests,



Our goal is to ensure that all customers are 100% satisfied with the stay in the Playa Flamingo Apts and on behalf of the hotel, I would like to say that I am disappointed that the hotel did not match your expectations in all areas.



It is true that in the middle of October, there is a changeover in tour operators as there is no winter Superfamily programme for Thomson. Thomson guests however can continue to enjoy the Playa Flamingo and its fantastic facilities throughout the winter season (November-April) but during this season, the Scandinavian tour operator, TUI Nordic operate their equivalent of Superfamily, which is called Blue Village.



The Blue Village programme offers a host of activities both during the day and the evening and although the reps carrying out these activities are Scandinavian, they speak excellent English and the British guests are always encouraged/welcome to join in. In the evening, the entertainment is carried out by one of Scandinavia’s leading entertainment companies, 2Entertain. As with the daytime activities, the majority of the evening entertainment is in English. The Blue Moon Bar (night-time venue) operates two different timetables and the winter timetable kicked in mid-October which explains the change in opening hours during your stay. It is open until 11pm in the winter which gives guests plenty of time to sit back, relax with a drink and enjoy the show. There is also something for the little ones as although Thomson the Dog goes into hibernation in the winter, Bamse Bear and friends come out to play! In the Scandinavian countries, Bamse is more popular than Mickey Mouse and he can be found walking around the Playa Flamingo throughout the winter welcoming all of our smaller guests!



Here at the Playa Flamingo, we aim to ensure that your holiday dreams come true and that is why we were so pleased to have been awarded a Gold medal award this summer from Thomson in recognition of the excellent quality scores we achieved. These awards are based on feedback from the guests which make this award all the more important. Thank you to all of your guests and we hope to see you back at Playa Flamingo soon!



Should you wish to contact me further, please do not hesitate to drop me a line at: angel.rivero@nordotel.com



Kind regards,

Angel Rivero

Manager of the Playa Flamingo



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

I have just returned from the Playa Flamingo Apartments. We travelled from the 11th to the 25th October 2007. The first week was brilliant, lots of entertainment and excellent superfamily facilities. A special mention goes to Magic Martin and Little Legs Laura for their hard work . The second week was unfortunately not so good!. Suddenly all of the British tourists vanished and were replaced by Scandanavains with their own group of entertainers. We were told that now only 25 apartments were for Thomson/British guests and the remaining 200 plus were from the Nordic regions. Our reps were very apologetic and could not have tried harder to give us decent entertainment, however, Superfamily signs were given second place as Blue Village signs went up everywhere. We were treated to Nordic day which consisted of Nordic Olympics and an evening of Nordic entertainment. In fact these same evening entertainers/singers sang for the last five nights which became very repetitive and boring. We were told that the Tui/Thomson group had allowed the Scandanavians into the complex too early in the season and on realising the mistake in the dates they had stopped taking any bookings fro Thomson Customers. Unfortunately the small amount of British that were there were not informed and subsequently had to suffer this extremely boring form of entertainment. ( Hello to my fellow British travellers who sat outside the bar at night). I would recommend a Superfamily holiday, however, make sure that you have a full Superfamily entertainment programme in place. After all that is what you are paying for!!!!!.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Just returned yesterday from our Holiday & I can recommend it to anyone with Children.

The apartment was spacious & spotless, we had TV (1 euro for 1 hour for premium channels BBC1, Sky Movies etc), hairdryer, microwave, kettle, toaster. They even left us washing up liquid, coffee, tea & Sugar & loads of toilet rolls. We were in Room 39a, which was near the main pool.

My Daughter only used to Kids Zone twice,as we had Family in another set of apartment's, but the reps were fab. There was also loads of buckets, spades, lilo's to borrow from there as well.
We didn't really stay at the Flamingo much as we had days at the Beach & at The Atlantic Gardens (where our family were staying)
The Restaurants & Supermarkets near the main beach are more expensive than they are at the Habour.

We walked into the Town every night, which is a pleasant walk along a Prom.
My Husband is a Vege & we always have problems with food on Holiday. I must say though, that the food was excellent & plenty to chose from. We only had 1 bad meal.
Our Favourite place was at the end of the habour, up a set of stairs. I can't remember what it was called, but it was an Italian & had seating outside to the right.
The other place was at the start of the main town & was called Momma something. Was really nice & they made a fuss of our Daughter.

We never go back to a resort, but we are thinking of booking again for next year. Really was a lovely place & was really safe for Children.

It was lovely to go on Holiday & completly relax. We never saw one group of louts & that made our Holiday enjoyable.

Oh nearly forgot the weather. It was in the 80's every day. Quiet cloudy, but we still got a lovely tan.

Any questions that anyone would like to ask, please feel free.

Stayed: October 2007
4  Thank haywat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews