We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go!”
Review of Lanzasur Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanzasur Club
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just back from lanzasur club. Cost us over a thousand euro each, there was eight of us.

Food: unless your willing to pay a lot of money to get pasta for dinner EVERY night. Not much of a selection. One night my sister had a plate of under cooked chips and dry pasta for dinner. Went out and paid for dinner in a beautiful Chinese restaurant. Food is mostly catered for Dutch people.

Staff: very nice, hard working, but it's very under staffed in all areas!!

Entertainment: terrible! Just terrible! Reps were useless, nowhere to be seen.

Location: on its own. Nothing around. Needed to get taxis into town to look in the shops.

Cleanliness: We got clean towels on the first two days and on my last day. I had to take towels off the trolley and toilet roll and sneak them up to my bungalow. Bed sheets were only changed twice, bins weren't emptied. Badly need more cleaners. The beds are comfortable but there was no air conditioning unless we paid 40euro for a week and a 20euro deposite!

Water park: the main reason we booked here. There is five slides, a lazy river, a beach with waves every hour from 11am to 5pm, a shallow pool for kids. Nothing spectacular.

Snack bar: left over croissants from breakfast and dry left over sandwiches. Only allowed ice cream between 3pm and 5pm. Drink machines were often flat and sprite tasted like tonic water.

Bar: only one man serving, he was a lovely, friendly man. But the drink was awful, was served a cocktail in a paper cup! Need more bar staff.

Would I go back? Never!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaxia L, Reception Team at Lanzasur Club, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciatte your time in your review regarding our Resort.
We are sorry to see that although we have seven thematics dinners (oriental, canarian, italian, iberian, etc) you have not found your wishes in our meals and, of course we will look to improve our buffet service.
Regarding the change of towells, we invite you to check the services you have purchased with your company, that is two bed sheets and towells chances per week of stay.
All of our guest has the option of additional changes if you contact with our Reception Department.
Our Resort has some Superior Bungalows equipped with Air Conditioner. If our guests are interested in this sort of allocation, they can contact with the Reception at the check in to "upgrade" their stay.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your review and we hope you have the opportunity to return to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    618
    330
    118
    99
See reviews for
1,158
220
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just back from a fortnights all inclusive at Lanzasur. Picked this because it was a splash resort and shelled out almost 3 Grand for 2 adults and 1 child (12) The splash park is probably better suited to younger children. There are 5 slides. 2 for inflatables and 2 tubes plus a "toilet flush" type slide. Let's start with the two tubes. One is pitch black from start to finish. The other is dark at the start but so slow you nearly have to crawl out. Two inflatables, again the first is pitch black from start to finish. The second is quite good though. The toilet flush has so many rough joints that it genuinely hurts. The worst water park we have ever been to. Seriously understaffed too.The guy responsible for checking heights is also responsible for people handing over inflatables so don't be surprised if you have to wait. I have to say that they have a very easy going attitude but it just means that if you want to chill on the easy river then forget it as its full of kids swimming under you, around and sometimes over the top of you.
The hotel on the surface is very clean and maids work hard to ensure rooms remain that way. The kitchen as well looks really clean and the chef puts out a mean spread. Something for everyone with a wide and varied selection. Again, understaffed as the person showing you to your seat is also responsible for cleaning tables so it's confusing as some people wait to be seated and others just dander on in depending where the staff are. Now for the biggest holiday gripe ever. When, oh when, did it become acceptable to ask people to eat food that everyone has handled. Every second night at dinner, they put on a dessert course that consisted of bowls of unwrapped jelly sweets and a chocolate fountain. Now the thing is by the time you've finished your dinner, at least 50 people have stuck their hands in and lifted out sweets from the bowls. I mean, not even just the kids who've just picked their nose or scratched their nether regions but the adults as well who should know better. I also observed a man take a scoop of soup from the tourine, taste it and replace it into the pot. I mean, seriously "Yuk". It all boils down again to the lack of staff. Made me wonder what else went on in there. If you're going to have a buffet then at least someone should oversee it. Ruined my holiday as I like to eat dinner late evening but either went at 7 when it opened or dined out. Far from ideal. Also, First Choice or whoever, the first thing people notice when they drive up to their apartment complex is the front entrance and I have to say that there are 8 of the tattiest and oldest flags I have ever seen at the front entrance. Surely not expensive to change and would give a better first impression. The animation team are fun and hard working. The blond guy is especially good. Chats with everyone and must have been thrown into the pool a hundred times. The staff are very friendly and the cleaners work hard. Cutting corners on staffing however lets the place down badly. I've read the other reviews and can understand how you would enjoy staying here, but you need to close your eyes to the fragrant disregard for hygiene in the kitchen. The barman in the main bar is priceless and a credit to the complex. Watching him serve people with tissues hanging out of his ears on Karaoke night was memorable and genuinely funny. Again he is exceptionally pleasant and hard working as only him serving drinks.( Again under staffing)This place could work well and has pleasant and hard working personnel but let down in abundance by the lack of staff. Come on Relaxia or whoever, get the finger out and sort out the kitchen hygiene issue. Horrible. Wouldn't ask my dog to eat something that's been through so many hands. Also no air con so be prepared to rent fans and bear in mind that you'll need two if you and your kids are sleeping in seperate rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms are off the main pool so as long as you get one not too far away then it's fine. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cantonasbigbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaxia L, Gerente at Lanzasur Club, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for you feedback, this will help us a lot to try to make it better.
Regarding the comment of the slides, we have a special inspection company from Tui U.K. who comes often to supervise the slides.They didn't mention any incident about the slides.
We will of course inspect again the slides that you mention.
We are a company with 20 years experience in hotel trade and know the needs of employees.
We assume that adults know how to behave in the restaurant.
kind regards
Gladis Scotto de Páez
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Dirty! And and unsafe! There is no health and safety at all! Old tables and chairs piled up in the kids area which was also littered with rubbish!!snack are dried up old sandwiches and left over croissant from breakfast!
Maid service is disgusting! Our room wasn't mopped for 10 days! Bed sheets looked dirty! Towels not changed!
They try and charge u for nearly everything!no aircon and was not told we could upgrade for €40 euros to a room with aircon!
Staff are great but just not enough of them!
Drinkis Machines were not always working ! So had to run around the resort alot looking for one that did!!
First choice reps were aboaolutely crap and will be putting in a complaint about them!
Only one lifeguard for the resort which is not acceptable! Toilets were filthy and not cleaned properly!
Not much good to say other than food was very good and lots of variety and kids meals were more than sufficient! Plenty of fruit and veg available
Definitely will not be going back again and will steer people away from first choice!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We've just got back from the Lanzasur Club in Playa Blanca. For a 3 star I'd have to say it is very good. The rooms are on the small side, but with a modern feel & clean, with 5/7 days maid service and 2 changes of towels and bedding per week, but to be honest if you get your towels dirty they tend to change more if needed. Theres a fridge, microwave, hob & hairdryer. The pools there are 3, 2 deeper and a kids pool. They are clean & maintained daily. The hotel was full during our stay and the sun beds as with most hotels are first come first served and tend to be "towel" reserved early on. We had free entry to the aqua park as part of the package with Thomson and this is worth a lot of money. It's 20E per adult and kids 12 and over, 15E for kids if you're paying. As a Lanzasur customer you get all inc drinks at the park & lunch 12:30 - 14:30 which again is a great saving. Plus you can just go in and out when you like. The hotel food is of a good quality and plentiful, with some themes days all in a buffet format with 1 station cooking on a grill. There's a bar in the main hotel and 1 by the pool (serves ice cream 3-5), the barman is probably the most efficient I've come across and beer, wine, local spirits and half a dozen cocktails are all available, there's also self service beer, hot drinks, water and soft fizzy drinks. There's a supermarket on site and its not bad for prices, a football is 2E, water for 5ltrs 1.5E and is open 7 days per week. You can walk to the beach in just under 10 minutes and to the port of Playa Blanca in 30 minutes comfortably.
Only things I can think of the hotel could improve on are safes are only available in reception, which is a nuisance esp as most people tend to have iPads etc nowadays. Wifi isn't free and is a silly price and there are other costs such as for towels for the pool, the brochure could be clearer about this, the gym is also an added charge, as are some bar items such as slushies 1E from the bar. Staff are friendly and helpful and work hard keeping the place clean. The animation team are there 6/7 days working long hours, with plenty to do if you want it. They also provide most of the eve entertainment, but to be honest you could do with some more external acts, the 2 we saw were both very good. Last year we went 5 star in Tunisia and rated it a 4. This year it's hard to find many ways in which the Lanzasur isn't as good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tardiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

i know it's took awhile to write this but i have to say this was one of the best holidays my family have had .
it was the first time to Lanzarote and it wont be the last visit.
the hotel is a lot of bungalows that overlook the hotel pool ( if you want a day by the pool you need to be up early or you wont get a sunbed around 6 am ) and the is no air con so you will need to hire a fan for the hotel reception for 15 euros a week
the food is good always a choice and the deserts are very good..
the staff are only to happy to help but in the main bar there's only 1 bar man so you will wait but he was very good so you didn't wait to long and the larger was self service .
the splash park was what made the holiday for you we had 2 boys with us age 8 and 5. the lifeguards are alway on the ball there are height restrictions and if your smallest child is under 1.2 meters high then he is not getting on the bigger slides( if the guard at the bottoms does not stop them then the one at the top will) but there is plenty for the small kids and our 5 year old loved the wave and lazy pool. the food in the splash park was way better than that in the hotel.
now for the kids club our kids only did it for a couple of days when we was there but they did enjoy it very much. the kids club work very hard all day to entertian all the kids and adults with pool side activities through out the day and then on a night they the keep fun going for the kids

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikecalvert2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just arrived back from one of the best holidays we have ever had. Decided on this particular hotel due to the splash park and it had a free child space available. We were a bit worried as it didn't have air conditioning in the bungalows, however, due to the wind it was tolerable.

Hotel staff - all staff were approachable, helpful and pleasant.

Entertainment team - the entertainment team were brilliant. They were very enthusiastic and it was obvious that they enjoyed their jobs, speaking many languages, introducing and participating in evening shows as well as running the kids clubs and day-to-day activities.

Water Park - Fantastic! It consisted of an adult water slide area, kids pool (with a variety of slides) and a beach pool with wave machine. It did get very busy so would advise going at 10 when it opens. You also have options to sunbathe (chairs and parasols are available) and have lunch at the cafe. There is a photographer on site to take photos during your time there and you have no obligation to purchase anything.

Food - There was a wide variety of foods and a different theme each night. There was a children's buffet for fussier eaters, a general buffet and a grill chef where food was being cooked and he/she would prepare your steak to order if required! Breakfast had a variety of cereals, fruits, full English and freshly prepared pancakes on the grill. Overall the food was a good standard.

Pool side - The pools were lovely (heated by the sun so a bit of a shock when you first get in! Overall, the cleanliness around the pool was good apart from the last day, where some families left their rubbish around, so could do with a member of staff ensuring that things are tidy around the pool area.

Bars - The pool bar is self service unless you want to pay for a snack that isn't included in the deal. There are some snacks at the bar that are included and a out on the side for your convenience. Ice creams are served at lunch and dinner times from the main restaurant area and at the pool side bar from 3-5. The evening bar you can have a small selection of cocktails as well as the self service on the beer, wine and soft drinks. The barman is very friendly and approachable with a good sense of humour!

The resort - the hotel is located very close to an enclosed beach, a couple of restaurants (if you decide not to go all inclusive) and a short distance from the main harbour.

Will hopefully return and will definitely recommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AlexaM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked our 14 night, all-inclusive holiday through First Choice and flew with Thomson from Gatwick. This was the first time we'd taken our two boys (aged 3 and 2) abroad. I'm always 100% honest and try to be as subjective as possible.

Firstly I must say that I think the holiday was over-priced (we paid over £4000) but this is probably little to do with the resort. The flight was as expected from Thomson: efficient check in (we bought extra luggage allowance as 15kg per person when you're taking things for kids including nappies, etc, would never be enough), little leg room on the flight and no entertainment or refreshments, but that seems to be the norm now (although I think 4ish hours shouldn't be classed as short haul). I must say as well, that the snooty couple in front of us (with an older daughter) should realise that kids of my boys ages are going to play and be a little excited - the woman in particular should think again before booking a flight with "normal" people if she's going to expect silence/solitude, etc. Idiot! I won't be hurrying to fly with Thomson again. I digress however.

On arrival at Lanzaur we had a couple of hours wait for our room. Initially the Reception Staff were lovely but their attitude soon changed - having little children they really should have made sure our room was sorted so we could have got the kids settled. They did, however, look to put us in a room with air conditioning but then proceeded to tell us we had to pay extra to actually use it - 40 euros per week, plus a 20 euro deposit. Quite expensive but well worth it. Our bungalow was lovely with kitchen unit: fridge, TV (only a few English languages new channels - a portable DVD, tablet, etc is a MUST), cooking facilities; and a large bathroom. Sleeping arrangements were tricky - we had two large mid-sized beds pushed together to make a HUGE double and had been given a cot (probably for our 2 year old) and a made up sofa bed in the living room. We all slept in the double in the bedroom area which was "cosy". This was manageable due to the age of the boys. I suggest that you confirm what you need when you book. Our room was cleaned on 12 out of the 14 days we were there.

The hotel itself is very clean - the swimming pool areas are kept tidy during the day. There are a few paper cups (from the self-service drinks) blowing around but not enough to worry about. Just tidy up after yourself and you won't notice it. Regarding the sun-beds and the problems people have spoken about; this is the same in every hotel isn't it? Just get up early-ish and don't lay in bed till gone 10 and then you'll get the sunbeds you want and where you want. The swimming pools are a little cool but you soon get used to the temperature. There are two adult pools and one small paddling pool. They're really nice. There's a bar in the pool area where you can help yourself to soft drinks, lager and wine. You can also get ice cream for the kids after 3 and other snacks during the day. The Animation team run lots of activities and are very enthusiastic.

The restaurant was again clean and well organised. The food was typical all-inclusive offering, more than enough, always warm and with a decent variety - you will not go hungry. What is AMAZING though are the fantastic staff - they were so lovely to us and in particular our boys, Juanjo (the restaurant manager?) and particularly Margarita were courteous and really child focused. Thank you again for making meal times so much fun and memorable for my two little men.

When we booked, we were told our eldest son could go to Kids Club, which he could but only with one of us accompanying him (thank you First Choice)! Not really the point of having the club (although we were going to go so the little one could go). The Kids Club workers - July and Betty - were really good with both boys though. Our boys were desperate to go each and every day so it must have been good fun! July got a little admirer in our eldest! The kids club disco in the evening was good fun if a little repetitive. Our eldest got a little bored of it during our stay. If you have older kids they'll probably need something else to do to be honest in the evening. There is a club for older kids but we didn't use this for obvious reasons.

Evening entertainment is usually provided by the Animation Team who work incredibly hard. I was impressed with their Michael Jackson and Glee shows and I don't usually like those kinds of things. Local beer, wine and spirits are available here as part of the all inclusive along with soft drinks, etc.

The next-door water park, Aqua Lava, was FANTASTIC. It was spotless - without a doubt the cleanest attraction I've been to (including the Disneys). The lifeguards were again child-focused and very friendly. There was plenty there to keep my boys happy (even if the eldest wanted to go on the height-restricted slides and chutes). Again, drinks are available all day with a delicious buffet between 1230 - 230.

In all, the holiday was brilliant for the kids. It was an experience for us adults but to be honest this may be because it was our first time properly away with the boys... First Choice and Thomson again have not impressed me BUT the Lanzasur Club, with the fantastic Restaurant Staff and amazing Animation Team (especially July who made my eldest boys fortnight really memorable for him) being so focused on making sure the kids have a great time; and Aqua Lava with its caring/funny lifeguards, contributed to making my boys really enjoy themselves.

I recommend Lanzasur Club for those with young children (from our own experience) and would go again. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 910 which had air condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bert1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Atlantic Gardens Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,771 reviews
1.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,625 reviews
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Lanzarote Park
IBEROSTAR Lanzarote Park
#3 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzasur Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzasur Club

Property: Lanzasur Club
Address: Urb Montana Roja s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#19 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanzasur Club 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lanzasur Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzasur Club Hotel Playa Blanca
Lanzasur Hotel Playa Blanca
Lanzasur Club Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing