We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Lanzasur Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lanzasur Club
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here and thought the rooms were very clean and has everything you needed within them, we had access to the waterpark but was not quite want enough but it looked very good.
Receptionists were friendly and efficient, it was just a little too out of town.
We had a lovely stay in playa Blanca.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lanzlover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    616
    328
    115
    99
See reviews for
1,151
220
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited Lanzarote Lanzasur Spash Resort 1st 2 weeks in August 2012, two adults, two children 11 and 12 years old.
It's 3 star plus rating, coupled with the fact that the First choice travel agent assured us that the splash park was not open to the public and only for hotel guests gave us a level of confidence it would be a good holiday, but....

On arrival at the Hotel we saw turnstiles to the Splash Park from the road.
We found that the park was open to the public even though we were categorically told it would NOT be!

If that wasn't bad enough, the entry to the Splash Park also gave unsupervised access to the hotel grounds.
Quite a concern as there are lots of children walking about and playing and anyone can just stroll in off the street unchallenged.

The general external appearance of the hotel was tired, with paint pealing off walls and furniture.
It was not kept tidy and had paper cups and other litter all over the grounds, with the bins overflowing for most of the day.
Internally it was quite nice, Marble effect/tile floors usually kept clean and tidy, during the day at least, but at night again, there was paper cups all over the place.

The bungalows seem to have been nicely refurbished but had no no air conditioning and no through ventilation, so it stayed hot all the time.
We were able to hire a fan from reception or could pay in excess of £500 for portable air con.
The fan only made things slightly less uncomfortable.
This, along with the very hard beds made it impossible for any of us to get a good nights sleep.
The cleaner made the beds, but never cleaned the floor, only dry wiped it over, so we had a spill stain for most of the holiday.
She would also forget to leave enough loo rolls and only replaced our four towels with two for the last few days of the holiday.
There was satellite TV but only two channels in English - CNN news and BBC world news. Not very entertaining for adults or kids!

The food at the hotel and splash park was certainly not great.
There was a problem with flies on the bread, fruit and salad, which the restaurant staff did not seem bothered about.
The main restaurant was definitely not big enough for the number of guest so it was mayhem most meal times, unless you got there as soon as it opened.
If you tried going toward the end of the opening time, empty food trays were not replaced, so you had less choice.
There were usually only two people clearing the tables so when you finally found a free table you had to wait ages for someone to clear it, but then you'd give up and clear it yourself.
Then had to put up with the plates from all three courses on the table for the duration of your meal.

The plates and cutlery were frequently dirty and had residue from the previous meal time.
The table cloths were frequently dirty and on one occasion at breakfast, it had a large smear of chocolate sauce from the previous night's dinner on it.
Our youngest son turned 11 on holiday and we paid 15 Euros for a Birthday cake.
What we got was 80 cubes of the same cake that was on the desert area at the buffet. No candles, no singing happy birthday, nothing.

We complained to the rep, "Jumping Jess" she said she would definitely get us a refund on it, but the next day she said she spoke to her manager who said "You paid for a cake and you got a cake, so no refund".
The next day I complain to the manager myself and got a refund.

Poolside was a disgrace!
Paper cups on the floor and overflowing bins all day.
The time the pool itself was cleaned kept getting later and later until it was after the specified opening time, so they were clean the pool and surrounding area while guests were swimming.
When I mentioned this to "Jumping Jess" she asked if I would preferred the pool was not cleaned at all !!!
The pool bar had pigeons eating the nuts and popcorn from the bar counter and its floor was frequently cover in drink.
There were not enough sunbeds and hardly any parasols. What they did have were filthy, but they did start cleaning them after many guests complained, but this only lasted for a few days and then they were just lightly hosed down.
One day, two sunbeds and a table we managed to find were covered in wet cigarette ash....after they were "cleaned".
The pool was far too cold and quite frequently had less than a dozen guests in it. The rep said they only heat it in the winter.
On one occasion when a young kid had an "accident" in the pool the lifeguard/handy man simply swished it down the grill at the side of the pool with a bucket of water, no disinfectant, just pool water and he was not even going to close the pool for cleaning until some guests complained to the manager.
Apparently this was not the first time the "remains" were put in the grill.
On another occasion and drunk man leaned out of the pool and vomited at the side. Again the pool guy just washed it down the pool's grill with a bucket of water.
Also the pool guy/lifeguard/handy man was hardly ever there and when he was he was mending sunbeds or doing other maintenance away from the pool side.

The splash park was OK, apart from being open to the public and the lack of security.
Not many slides but the kids had fun there. They did get bored after a while.
There were no sunbeds there, just uncomfortable deck chairs, so parents can't really sun bath while their kids are going on the slides?

There were not enough communal areas and what they did have were not big enough for the number guests and were too hot and stuffy with inadequate cooling or ventilation.
The outside seating was undercover so smoke just accumulated there. You could, if you wanted to, sit on the sunbeds but you were surrounded by litter and dirty paper cups and glasses.
There was a TV room which was so hot hardly anyone used it. When I complained and asked for a fan in it I was told they would see what they could do. One never appeared.
The main bar was constantly wet and dirty and had a queue of people waiting for drinks.
This was mainly due to the fact that there was only one bar man (Miguel) serving all the guests.
He worked damn hard and was probably the one good thing to say about the hotel, but he could not serve everyone and clean the bar and collect empty glasses, so towards the second half of the evening the self service drink drip trays were overflowing and we all had to use paper cups.

I had a sit down with the rep, "Jumping Jess" who begrudgingly took my complaints formally this time.
She was obtuse, rude and unsympathetic, but did later apologise.
I later express my concerns to the hotel manager who seemed very concerned and grateful for my input.
She also agreed with me when I said things got worse when she was not there and said she would be looking into it.
When we got back to our room there was a bottle of warm sparkling wine, but still the same stain on the floor that mad been there for most of the holiday.

Things did improve for a little while.
Bins were emptied, floors were mopped and a couple more staff worked in the restaurant.
The reserving of sunbeds was banned, so everyone had a chance of getting one.
But then things went back to how they were.

Now onto the excursions.
We went on two.
Fire Mountain, which was interesting, but vastly overpriced.

The Submarine Safari, which was a total waste of our time and money, even with one free child's place.
The water was so murky that they had to go so close to everything that you only saw it for a few seconds and they kept us in their gift shop longer than we were on the Submarine.

I asked for a full refund for this one, but was told by the rep that because we went on it, we couldn't get a refund.
How else would we know it was a waste of time and money if I didn't go on it?
Knowing what I know now, if they would have offered it free I wouldn't have bothered. It was a waste of time.

In summary I have to say that First Choice have totally let us down.
We feel that we were mis-sold this holiday, not only because we booked it on the condition it's water park was only for the hotel guests, buy also the gross misrepresentation of the standard of the hotel.

The customer service by the resort reps was the worst I've ever experienced.
Reps should be there to help solve the problems that the paying guests have, pass on the complaints to the hotel and try and get them fixed, but the hotel manager did not hear about half of the problems until some guests, myself included, went directly to them.

My complain to first choice resulted in them thanking me for pointing all the issues out, but they would not give any compensation. Surprise surprise.

My advice....don't travel to this hotel.
Pay a few hundred more and go to a holiday village.

Room Tip: Might be better outside of August holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hcsg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaxia L, Public Relations Manager at Lanzasur Club, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank You for Your review in this web page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

we have just returned from a Christmas break, which we enjoyed. food was plentiful and generally tasty, however Christmas day gala dinner was a bit disappointing. Generally it was better on the other days. I could not fault the cleanliness or service from the hotel staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EssexClarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Brilliant overall holiday! we spent our christmas there and our two grandchildren ages 6 and 8 years, adored the staff at the mini club. They got to receive a present from father christmas who arrived on a camel (brill).

Entertainment was great for the kids, may need a little more for the adults maybe (e.g. bingo or something).The entertainment staff tried very hard and loved the 'Grease night'.

Food was varied, bit confused with the christmas dinner night as there were a strange selection (maybe we are too english).

Rooms was spacious and bedding and towels changed regular, the only down side was although the cleaner dry mopped the floors, the floor was still dirty hence when we had had a shower our feet became immediately dirty off the floor.

Room Tip: rooms with numbers beginning with 1 are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just return from the Lanzasur hotel today, such a great place to stay if you have children! I have a 4 year old and a 6 month old and was worrying about taking them away (especially the baby)., but staying here was just perfect! Especially if you have a baby! Not only do you have a little villa ( so no worrying about kids on the balcony) but they provide a job, microwave, fridge freezer, kettle, toaster Ect!- so perfect for making baby bottles! The food was fine, not the ritz but it was always fresh and very tasty! Especially on the theme nights! The animation team were amazing, working from morning until night.. Sometimes they would put on shows and sometimes there would be other entertainers come to the hotel eg, an amazing magician, an owl show Ect.. My four year old has had such an fab holiday! The staff just love children, everyone makes you feel welcome.. The splash park is great! Everywhere was kept so clean, everywhere u went u would see someone cleaning something :-) if I could pick this hotel up and change countries I would, as I found Lanzarote rather full in comparison to other countries I've been too.. However we went on holiday for the kids not for us and Aslong as they had a great time then so did we :-) there's so much for them to do.. And it was so lovely that by the pool there was a big box full of arm bands, baby floats, balls, rubber rings Ect that previous guests had left for others! The drinks were great, u could help yourself to as much beer, wine, fruit juice, fizzy and tea or coffee as u liked by the pool! Everything was so laid back, that it was a great place to do what u want, drink what u want when u wanted it and just relax! Can't say enough about this hotel! You will always get some picky people who like to moan about everything, I myself admit that I'm not the easiest person to please.. But this hotel was great!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Katiejmfreddiejrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaxia L, Nora Cisterna - Reception Team at Lanzasur Club, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank You for Your time in this feedback regarding Your experience in our Resort.

We feel happy seeing that You had such a great time during Your holidays!

The animation staff is great and we can see that Your child really enjoyed the experience.

This is a daily work and we know we have to improve some things. Your suggestions helps us to do so.

Hope You can visit the Island once again and that You choose us in the future!

We will be waiting to welcome You once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolves
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We recently came back from this resort. To be honest its very ideal for children and families. The pool area is adequate and has enough to keep the children occupied. The waterpark is a short distance (5min) walk round the complex from our room. The water park is excellent with a lot of slides, shoots, wave machine and lazy river for the children and adults to enjoy.

The apartments were a little bit crammed. The best thing about the apartments are the power showers lol. A big disappointment was there was no basic tea or coffee facilities in our room. A coffee maker we had to use to make tea from this hot water, but we made do.

The entertainment got very tiring towards the end of the holiday. Kids entertainment was extremely repetitive. And the adults entertainment was not much better. As I traveled with a big extended family we made our own entertainment...Luckily!!!

The food is going to be a big disappointment to fussy eaters. The choice was a little bit limited, and not always hot. The deserts were always the same as too was the breakfasts.

Our first choice rep was also a bit annoying at times, for this reason we choose to do many of the activities with the locals instead of booking with the rep.

We done a submarine dive which was excellent, boat rides which included banana boats, Kyaking, and food and drink on the boat included, go karting and texas Rancho zoo and waterpark. Booking with the local worked out cheaper and we got good deals.
The beach is 5 mins from hotel. The beach was beautiful and the sea so clear you can see and try and catch the fish.

Overall an okish holiday. Few little things which need to be ironed out, this would make the holiday much more satisfying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellieWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaxia L, Reception Team at Lanzasur Club, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank You for taking a time in a review regarding Your stay in our Resort.

We are taking note on Your suggestions and we will see what we can do in a better way.

Our services for meals is Buffet and sometimes this make guests find meals repetitive as You have said, but we also have alive cooking from wich You can choose and Oriental, Mexican and Italian evenings as thematic dinners.

We can see You experienced Lanzartote and it´s tourist offers, and had a great time doing this!

Hope You can return to our beautiful island and do not hesitated to visti us again.

We will be here as always to welcome You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here with my friend and 15 month old son. There were plenty of loungers by the pool area and at the waterpark so no stress having to get your towel out early. The food in the hotel is ok however the food at the waterpark (which is included if you're all inclusive) is alot better. The waterpark itself is a great addition to the hotel, the only down side is that there are no loungers there, just chairs so you cant relax as much. The beach near the hotel (about 5 mins walk) is clean, safe and lovely sand. There's a great walk on the promenade all the way along to Marina Rubicon. We did this walk a few times as the weather in the mornings was abit overcast. The evening entertainment was ok, the animation team did a great job of composing shows (I can see its not an easy job) but they always have smiles on their faces and there's no forcing you to get involved.

All in all this is a family friendly hotel, the accommodation is nicely decorated and very clean, the staff are lovely and the waterpark is a must (however the water in all the pools isn't the warmest so you may just have to jump in to get the shock over with). I'd definitely return to this hotel and I'd urge people not to listen too much to the negative reviews. If you're wanting a 3-star, good value holiday then give it a go, I'm sure you wont be disappointed!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dolphin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relaxia L, Reception Team at Lanzasur Club, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank You for taking a time on a feedback regarding Your holidays in our Resort.

We can see that You enjoyed Your days in our beautiful island and with us.

Please do not hesitate to come back and visit us, we will be waiting to welcome You again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Atlantic Gardens Bungalows
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#16 of 37 in Playa Blanca
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,589 reviews
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Lanzarote Park
IBEROSTAR Lanzarote Park
#3 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzasur Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzasur Club

Property: Lanzasur Club
Address: Urb Montana Roja s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#19 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanzasur Club 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanzasur Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzasur Club Hotel Playa Blanca
Lanzasur Hotel Playa Blanca
Lanzasur Club Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing