We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Holiday - ignore bad reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
THB Tropical Island
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday - ignore bad reviews”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed for 12 days all inclusive at the THB tropical from 3rd to 14th August. Firstly transfer time excellent we landed at 8.35pm had collected cases, seamless transfer to coach and checked in by 9.40pm. The only downside at night it's dark and the rooms are not that well signposted and we ended up finding a lovely janitor who helped us find our rooms (and he carried all our cases up the stairs too)



Hotel is maintained very well, every evening and morning the pool areas, paths and pavements are all cleaned and during the day the staff work tirelessly to collect cups, plates, empty bins, clean the toilets around the pool area and several gardeners around the grounds maintaining the greenery etc. The staff really do work so hard especially in the restaurants to make it as pleasant as possible for everyone. Restaurants are busy but we went to Restaurant 2 (happened to be near our room) and we used to get there for 6.55 (opens at 7pm) and food always hot, plenty of choice (even our fussy eater enjoyed trying new foods) occasional issues with having to wait for clean glasses for drinks but the staff do try and sort these as quickly and efficiently as possible. Breakfast was one of the children's favourites as 'proper' sausages, beans etc only criticism would be that they need more bread toasters as you do have to queue to make your toast. Always lots of fruit available and bread rolls too etc. I did not visit restaurant for lunch but my husband did and enjoyed the variety of meat, rice and pasta (snack bar by the pool constantly replenished with burgers, hot dogs , chips and salad every day from 12 to 6 which suited our children perfectly as they often made themselves a ham,cheese or tuna roll there)



Rooms are basic but very similar to many other spanish apartments we have stayed in, the sofa bed was not particularly comfy, however, when I asked reception for extra sheets and pillows they were delivered to our pom within an hour. Rooms cleaned 5 out of 7 days and beds made etc. You can have clean towels every day (there is a sign to explain that towels on the floor mean you would like clean ones) only thing we would have found useful was a broom to give floors a quick sweep (children often had crisps in the apartment and dropped them) we did have a very small issue with ants (we were upstairs) however reception sent some one immediately to deal with them. Balcony overlooked beautiful garden area and gave plenty of space for drying towels and swimsuits.



Entertainment was what I expected, spanish animation team were outstanding (especially Miguel who always made an effort to talk and interact with as many people as possible) Thomas Cook team were good but when we were there they had days off, team training days and other events so not always available and lots of things do cost extra such as the parties/bingo etc The thomas cook dome in the evenings was not for us one or two children's games then bingo, however, the animation dome was perfect lots of dance routines with the spanish reps for children then a show of some variety (do not expect grand things but the kids enjoyed them) we did not find the queuing for drinks to be too excessive (compared to other A/I we have stayed at)

We paid for our children to have swimming lessons with James and it was worth the 30 euros each (for 5 30min lessons) they came back a lot more confident swimmers (in fact youngest one abandoned arm bands by the end of the holiday)

Pools are deep but there are play area around them you just need to be careful of smaller children as the drop can be deceptive into the deeper parts.



We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, location 10-15minute walk into playa blanca which was nice some evenings to escape for an hour or two. The weather was perfect (as others say you do need to get up early if you would like sun beds and especially if you need a parasol...the hotel could really do with investing in more beds and lots more parasols as it is advertised as family hotels and people like to have the shade available) food was better than other A/I we have stayed out on a similar price scale, staff were extremely helpful (just need a few more in restaurants and maybe other guests could also consider the work they give the staff!) for a family it is an ideal hotel and we would certainly recommend it just a shame they don't offer free Wi-fi as we paid for it but connection not fantastic (the grandparents enjoyed the FaceTime calls when we did get it too work)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenyonparks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Tropic... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Michelle,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing THB Tropical Island to enjoy your holidays and for sharing your holiday experience with all of us.

Thank you for all your comments about food, cleanliness, animation and also for your opinion of our hard working staff. Regarding to the sun beds, we are expecting 450 new sun beds this week.

All THB Tropical Island team takes this opportunity to greet you cordially, looking forward to seeing you again soon. We will be delighted to attend you again and to offer you another fantastic family holidays.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    957
    617
    229
    164
See reviews for
1,444
616
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We where a bit worried after reading all the reviews on here, we all had an amazing holiday. We've got a 12 and 13 year old who where entertained the whole holiday by the Spanish reps especially Laura! A 3 year old who was more than happy to play in the pool all day, we did try her at kids club but she didn't like it. Food was ok, if you go to the restaurant when it opens you don't have to wait, when we did have to wait it was never for long. Hotel staff work so hard, we did have a few problems with the room but they where all sorted within half an hour of reporting them.
We stayed for 2 weeks and could have easily stayed another week : ) xxx

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TGreen81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Tropic... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest.:

Thank you very much for your positive review concerning your recent visit here at the Hotel THB Tropical Island.

With delight we read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. This is exactly what we try to achieve with every single guest, as we know that holidays are a special time one keeps in fond memory.

With renewed thanks for taking the time to share your experience and recommending our hotel here on Tripadvisor; we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Thank you again for your special comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

had 2 weeks here from 7 august with 4 children ranging from 7 to 14. food and staff great, rooms very outdated, if you want a sunbed be up at 7am to put a towel on, entertainment round big pool good if you can get round it, little pools are fab but need to walk abit to bar as smaller ones closed down, entertainment on a night is better in spanish dome but children above 7 have nothing to do, that doesn,t cost you money. i d advise you to get a back door key(10 euros) or its a long walk to town, which is lovely. staff over worked. would i come here again , no never , every thing seems like too much trouble for managment, complained about a few things , wardrobe door fell off, skirting boards hanging off, safe didn,t work and it took 5 days to get them sorted. rooms don,t seem to be ready till at least 3pm, kids wanted to go in pool so pack costumes seperatley. enjoyed lanzarote just not this hotel but made the most of it.

Helpful?
Thank 765andreaj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Director Tropic... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Andrea,

Thank you very much for choosing THB Tropical Island for spending your holidays and for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us.

All your comments and remarks are our main source of information to improve, we want to reach to your expectations and we are very sorry due to we have not satisfied yours.

We take note of your comments and we will try to solve them improving our services, we would like to give you some explanations of your remarks.

• We are aware that our Checking time of 3 pm can sometimes lead to a waiting time for guests arriving early. We do our best to have the rooms ready as early as possible but we are sometimes restricted as we allow our guests to keep the room on day of departure until midday (12 o clock). We apologize for the inconvenience.

• We have two animation teams. We have different programs for different ages, from 4 years old up to teenagers. In all the rooms and in the reception there is the information about the hotels animation and you can always ask a meeting with the animation department, if you have any special need and we will try to help you.

• We are also disappointed in your assessment of the issues that were not solved on time in your room. If any guest has any problem in the room, we have got a department who is focused on solving those problems. So that usually all the issues are solve immediately. We regret the inconvenience it may have caused and we apologize, we have passed your comments to this department and we are investigating what has happened.

All the staff of this establishment work hard day by day, in order to give to our guests a great experience with us, we apologize for not reaching your expectations and we hope we can persuade you to come again to visit us at the THB Tropical Island and welcome you personally.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Traveled independently as a family of 7 for 10 nights with a request to have rooms next to each other. The request was met and we were placed in Avocado block, the entrance overlooking teenage kids club and the balcony overlooking the gardens (better). Yes, the rooms are dated but they are cleaned and you find space for your bits and bobs. The linen was not set up for 3 people in one room and 4 in another, we had to ask the maid who was working in another room, who went and got required amount of linen and also upon request brought extra pillows which was great. The main bedroom had a large wardrobe with adequate storage, that was all, the room could benefit with some sort of dressing table/drawers for storage and perhaps to put makeup/toiletries on as there isn't enough room in the bathroom for three adults 'stuff'.

The complex is big, but you soon get your bearings. The grounds are well maintained and are swept and litter free, (despite the best efforts of some disrespectful guests).

We found the staff at both restaurants friendly and polite, from the greeters/seaters, who would always find us a table outside for 7, to the waiters who would set the table up quickly whilst having a quick pleasant chat. Sometimes breakfast was a bit of bun fight but you just went with it.

Due to the negative reviews on this site we all discussed the quality of the food at length.Our overall view was the food was very good. Breakfast - could be continental or full English, with decent sausages and a variety of eggs. Lunch- fantastic variety of fresh salad (tuna a big favorite!) Great array of hot plates (and yes they were hot, if not,wait a little and there will be more sent out)

Themed nights were great too, a chance to try something different, if you didn't like it there was plenty more to chose from, this was generally not the case. We had boys with us aged 9 and 7. They loved the variety of food available and loved going up and creating their own deserts - mainly using jelly and different fruit sauces)

Food stations were regularly checked and fresh food brought out. The staff work hard to ensure that the stations are cleaned and that serving spoons are where they should be. A task made harder by ignorant guests who seemed to want to use the same serving spoon for everything and then leave the spoon when they had finished piling up their plates.

The animation staff, both Thomas Cook and International are very friendly and work extremely hard. We are a family that don't rely on being 'entertained' However, we did join in some of the daytime activities which were great. We paid for the boys to attend a soccer skills club which tey enjoyed.

We would often start our evening by meeting in the Pub, Staff there are friendly and work hard to keep the queues down. We did go to the 'British' Dome a couple of times but would more often go to the International Dome as it was less crowded, Miguel, at the bar looked after us - drink quality good and the entertainment was more enjoyable as you got to watch/mix with other nationalities. We also enjoyed the Comedy Night (hilarious) Also despite ourselves, we often succumbed to the Timber dance routine. (bet you all still do it when you hear it!)

The main Pool area is large, yes there is a need to get up and reserve beds which is annoying, however, this is probably mainly due to the other large pool been closed for repairs during our stay (expected to be open by the end of August). We would alternate between the lovely Playa Dorada beach (10 mins walk or 3 euros in a taxi) and the pool.. The pools are deep for children, but you should be monitoring them at all times in the pool! They are cold in the mornings, which is nice and refreshing. And... guess what, there was a repair main going round trying to repair some of the many broken sunbeds.

Reception staff were friendly . We ate out a couple of nights, they would ring taxis for us. They sorted extra towels without any fuss. Sorted out a Wi-Fi charge misunderstanding.also. One night we reported that our shower curtain had come down before we went out, when we came back it was back up.

Overall we are all in agreement, The hotel staff are very friendly, work hard, The complex, whilst large and full of people is kept clean and there are some nice garden ares for photo ops!. The food is very good - (there, I've said it) Get a back gate key to cut down on walking time to town (10 euros refundable deposit). And go to the International Dome on 'Comedy Night'!

Thank you THB Tropical Island. We would return for a enjoyable family holiday!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tbottBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Tropic... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest.:

Thank you very much for your positive review concerning your recent visit here at the Hotel THB Tropical Island.

With delight we read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. This is exactly what we try to achieve with every single guest, as we know that holidays are a special time one keeps in fond memory.

With renewed thanks for taking the time to share your experience and recommending our hotel here on Tripadvisor; we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Thank you again for your special comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

If I'd gone on the bad reviews we wouldn't have stayed here, but I didn't and we had a brilliant Family holiday here

SO PLEASE READ THE GOOD REVIEWS AND MAKE YOUR OWN OPINION!!!!!!

We have just returned from a family holiday at Tropical Island and cannot believe what people actually say in the bad reviews, were they staying at a different hotel than us.
The staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and polite. The entertainment staff especially the hotels are non stop with activities all day,(I think Miguel is hyper active),
Ive just read one review saying the "pool was filthy" the beds were stacked every night and patio areas and pool side cleaned down every night, and the pool was cleaned and water checked every morning(I watched this being done while securing sunbeds)
Yes you get the Brit abroad and the towels on sunbed "but seriously when don't you) there were still beds available at 7.30 most days, but umbrellas were hard to get
The rooms are basic but what you would expect at this type of hotel(we went self catering and managed) they are cleaned at least 5 times a week towels changed 3 and bedding once.
If you needed additional towels or bedding etc you only have to ask a reception.
We cannot comment on the food as we were self catering as we like to eat some where different most nights and Lanzarote isn't expensive to eat out there's plenty of Restaurants, bars etc to choose from, and only 15 minute walk from the hotel as is the beach or about 4Euros in a cab.

As for the hotel being full of "chavs with out of control kids" ??????? I wouldn't put myself in that category far from it.

All in all myself, my wife and 2 girls(14 and 8) had a brilliant 2 weeks here and definitely would go back

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pete_Fletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Tropic... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Pete,

Thank you very much for your positive review concerning your recent visit here at the THB Tropical Island.

With delight we read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. This is exactly what we try to achieve every single guest, as we know that holidays are a special time one keeps in fond memory.

With renewed thanks for taking time to share your experience and recommending our hotel on Tripadvisor; we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Thanks again and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I wanted to share our experiences as this was the first time we had been abroad with our 2 children who are 8 and 5 and after booking we read the reviews on this site and panicked!! However we thought we would make the best of it and we did. The apartments are quite attractive looking, grouped around swimming pools. They are basic, two rooms, one with two beds pushed together, the other bed is the sofa in the lounge. We ended up, as our children are small, all sharing the bedroom as the sofa bed looked pretty uncomfortable but obviously with bigger children you can't do this. Friends we met used the mattress off of the sofa for an extra bed on the floor of the bedroom for a child, so that is another option. They were clean and the maids visited 5 days out of 7 however would of been nice to know what days! The dining areas, there are 2, are incredibly busy, even though there is a couple of hours scope of visiting we found it far better to go either very early or late as if you left it until 7 pm you would have to queue to be seated. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and efficient but overworked. The food we felt was good, what you would expect from a 3 star. Each night was themed, Spanish, European. Chinese etc and there was plenty of choice. Most nights there was a roast joint and there was pasta cooked to order. We thought the breakfast was very good, lots of bread, eggs cooked whilst you wait, nice sausages, all the normal full English, you just really need to get there earlier to avoid it feeling like a canteen. We spent most of our time around the main pool as this is where everything seems to happen and the Thomas Cook reps and hotel animation team especially were fantastic - Miguel especially was full of energy and brilliant fun. All of the staff we had dealings with were excellent.The pool bar and food were good but the staff seemed to work incredibly hard and could of done with some extra help. Oh, it's definitely good value to book the swimming lessons, James the instructor was brilliant and worked really hard with the children, getting good results. The main thing that we also mentioned to the hotel that if it could be rectified would make it sooo much better is the lack of sunbeds and umbrellas. The first few days we resisted the 'Englishman abroad' saving of sunbeds with a towel but even if you got down to the pool for 830am there were NO beds available and you had to lie on the grass. That's ok if you don't have children but you really need some shade so we were forced to do the same as anyone else who wanted a bed with an umbrella, get up at 630am and put our towels on them, not good. All they need to do is buy more, shame. There are 2 entertainment domes, we did try the Thomas Cook rep one first but felt the entertainment was a bit poor Butlin's on a bad day, the entertainment in the International dome with the hotel reps was far better. The furniture in both domes needed replacing and more staff were needed on the bars. All said and done our kids had an absolute ball, by the end of the week when they played 'Timber' around the pool they were running to the bridge to join in the action song. Not a place for a couple, for a family we had fun. Would we go again? If these changes were made, yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Tropic... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for letting us know your feeling about your last stay at the THB Tropical Island.

We are happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay. All your comments and remarks are our main source of information to improve, regarding to the points you comment, we have checked them, specially the sun beds and we are expecting 450 sun beds more this week.

We are glad to hear that your overall experience was positive. We hope to welcome you again in the THB tropical Island.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Back last week from a 2 week all inclusive stay. 4 adults and 4 children. Yes the rooms were a bit dated, but very clean and had a kitchen. Room cleaned nearly every day and clean towels too. The complex was really nice. Lots for kids to do. Get involved or dont with the activities, its up to you. We were so worried before we arrived due to bad reviews re rude staff, bad food. We experienced none of this. The food was typical all inclusive.We always had something to eat. The fruit every day was amazing. Entertainment staff work like mad, girls at pool bar work like mad too.
Thanks to the lovely Oolia on reception.
We had a great time. Playa Blanca lovely little town too. This hotel is not a 5 star so why do people seem to expect 5 star.
I would go back

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angie_brand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Tropic... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Angie,

On behalf of the entire team of THB Tropical Island, I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Lanzarote.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us.

With delight we read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. This is exactly what we try to achieve with every single guest, as we know that the holidays are a special time one keeps in fond memory.

We hope to see you soon at the THB tropical island. Please do not hesitate to contact us, if you have any query or need.

Thanks and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.1 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,053 reviews
20.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Property: THB Tropical Island
Address: Fragata 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Tropical Island 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Tropical Island is a spectacular resort of 102,000 m2 located in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. Designed especially for families and groups of friends, it has everything you need so you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday within resort itself and just steps away from your apartment. In Hotel THB Tropical Island everyday fun is guaranteed. Our guests can enjoy 14 swimming pools, sports facilities, bars, theme restaurants and plenty of activities both for adults and children in the hands of our entertainment team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing