We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large complex far away from the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THB Tropical Island
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed at this complex in march this year as a couple.The apartment was a good size,but the cleaning wasn't up to much, the floor was filthy and the towels were not changed often I had to go to reception to get clean ones.The food was ok for 3 star although the dining room seemed quite small and therefore queues built up.The . Evening entertainment was very loud and there wasn't any choice in the evening for a quiet bar or even anywhere on site where you could purchase any thing to eat as a take away and need to go into town if you wanted something different.P lay a blanca was nice and enjoyed going there in the evenings to get away from the bingo and karaoke!The .complex was a good cheap late deal for some winter sunshine and I am sure families would love it, lots for them to do.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest:

First, I want to thank the dedicated time to give us your comments about your last visit. Your comments are the basis for our improvement and offer us the possibility to make the stay of our guests ever more enjoyable. On behalf of the entire team at the Hotel THB Tropical Island and on my own behalf, I convey our sincere thanks.
We would like to inform you that we have over check once again the points that you have remarked, specially the entertainment, in order to avoid the same inconvenience in the future and be able to provide an excellent stay to all our guests.

Once again, I regret the inconvenience it may have caused and we apologize. We thank you for your understanding and we look forward to welcoming you again in future visits to Lanzarote

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 2,836 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This complex is so falsely advertised.
On arrival we realised our fate.
The first night was spent in what can only be described as a grubby getto apartment.
In the cold light of day we decided we were here for a family holiday and we would make the best of it.
The adverts appeared to show lots of children activities.
The complex advertised a creche , so we decided to place our daughter there for an hour while we moved.only to realise creche requires parents to stay too! Kindergarten .creche .With parents required to remain present ???????
We moved to a ground floor.directly in front of steps leading into the gym and spa.morning and nightly music blasting daily.troops of work outs being coached outside our terrace.
Breakfast pleasant but after 9 days , whilst dining alone I was asked for my wristband.wristbands I believe are possibly required for those who choose all inclusive.i explained so, and that I had paid only for bed and breakfast.this taking place in front an entire restaurant.i explained to two different people and was basically accused of stealing breakfast.
I left and obviously had to buy breakfast elsewhere.a complaint to reception was obviously to no avail.
Cleanliness issue is so shocking, it appears dirty cloths are being used from one apartment to another as random public hairs (defiantly not ours) appeared on the walls , so so gross.the toilet brush looked like an open sewer and believe me smelled as such.
Noise levels from revellers shocking.
Our towels were stolen .
On paying eight euro to wash our towels dead beatles came out of the machine to great amusement of staff.
Spa , ment to open at twelve is sporadic, and an extra charge.....
If the TV shows such as magalluf uncovered or ibiza uncovered is your thing this is the place for you

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank aisling w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We regret to hear that you had a bad experience with us. Ment that is published is a mini club not a nursery.when a child is under 4 years old must be accompanied by a parent.
We could have talked during your stay to try to solve your incoveniences: we are very sorry.
We remain at your disposal for any thing you may need.
Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Having just got back today after 2weeks of sun ,fun, fantastic place,
The rooms are typical for the area,2 beds,bathroom kitchen/lounge complete with TV, but who needs a tv on holiday?we were given an upstairs room overlooking the tavern bar which opens at 6 pm,very handy to getting a carry out while getting ready for the evening.
The meals where do I start, the selection is great from breakfast to lunch to evening meal , the choice is superb ,wine beer and soft drinks on tap, also the snack bar from 12till 6pm,is really good as well ,the dome has everything that you need including bingo ,which we only did twice,but our choice.
The entertainment staff from 10-30 to 16-30 they never stop to include you in all the activities ,but if you say no not today they leave you alone to have time together,but remember not to blame anyone but yourself if you don't take part and miss out on the fun,it's your holiday and you only get out what you put into your time away
The resort is only a few minutes away from the beach / shops and the marina, the marina also has the market on wed and sat, 9 am till 2pm, well worth a visit.
This was our 2nd visit in 3 years well worth going back
The resort is only 20 mins from airport, 1 piece of advice don't let the wind fool you, put on plenty sun cream

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grandmalynn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of the THB Tropical Island, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Lanzarote.
We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your coments teaches us how to enrich our services.

Thank you again for your special comments.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

me the wife and child of 12 stayed here. we got around the whole complex, I say complex because it is identical to a haven caravan park. the hotel is a large reception room, staff very helpful if you need anything they are the bees knees. printed our transfers out (nice one) I was a bit worried flying with grrr ryanaire . the rooms were like self catering apartments well equipped and clean and tidy. The entertainment was very much like children's dancing 6 to 8 bingo 9 drunk at 10 lol, and a show that consisted of a couple of entertainers performing a song or two. overall a good layout for such a massive complex. drinks were cheap makes but ok with a bit coke or flavour in. lime or grenadine . try lemonade and martini its refreshing. nothing to bad though. the sea front was lush and market was very different but nice. 4 euro in a taxi or a mile from back gates, (only closed on a night about 9) there is a main pool or 2 were the darts/bowls/aqua aerobics the norm but nice. the only annoying thing is the restaurant its crammed and to small. but you only in there for a main meal if you don't do breakfast or dinner like us. found it all a nice place to go, no negative's , now what you all want to know. tabs are cheap and restaurants by sea are about 3euro a beer 5 euro a hotdog or burger n chips. 10 euro for fish or meat n chips. felt safe all the time I was there. the hotel to the airport is about 50 euro in taxi so make sure you get a transfer. bus is about 20 euro a family apparently. my transfer was 30 pound altogether . the staff are very helpful and the entertainment people work very hard, I enjoyed the stay , its 60 per cent English with other Europeans you don't recognise and they stick to there own. food was ok fish meat chips everyday. they have a different day theme Chinese/Indian/Mexican/ so on. the swimming pool is not heated and was cold there was a breeze around the pool sometimes cold as well. i wouldn't go back because its to much of a windy island. overall good holiday

Room Tip: rooms near the reception where quite quiet. but i don't think there is a bad room so you ok ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BASURA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for commenting that you will return during a future holiday break.

We take note of the list of things that you did not like during your stay, while at the same time thank you for mentioning the points that you did like.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Got back Thursday 12th after a fortnights stay the rooms were large and airy and well equipped.The cleaning of the room was much to be desired and wasn't done as often as it should have been, the cleaner of our room smashed a glass from the side of the bed and brushed it underneath leaving small shards which I could have trodden on also a piece in my shoe which she had thrown in the wardrobe.This was reported to Jaqien the hotel manager on reception who was quite abrupt and wanted to charge me 5euros for breakage I told him it was the cleaner and he seemed quite nasty, after this there was a change of cleaners which wasn't much better.The bar staff in the Tavern bar pool bar and restaurant were excellent even under pressure and the gardens were well kept but don't think we will be going back

Room Tip: We were in room 734 on the tropical side which is handy for reception but must have been the noisies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 51josy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing THB Tropical Island to spend you holidays and for taking a few minutes of your time to share your holiday experience with all of us.

All your comments and remarks are our main source of information to improve because we want to reach your expectations, and because we did not satisfy yours we feel very sorry.

We take note of your remarks, and we will try to do our best to improve our services and facilities, be sure that we will bear them all in mind, giving the information to the respective departments.I think it's a mistake the information you provide on charge 5 € for a broken glass.

All THB Tropical Island team takes this opportunity to greet you cordially and we wish you a wonderfull next holiday wherever you decide to go.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Had the best holiday ever! Stayed for two weeks and loved every bit! Only moan is about the manager of the hotel at the reception was really loud and quit aggressive when you try and talk with him. We booked a pool view 3 months before but we didn't get it, we ended up with a better room with no pool view so that wasn't too bad. The wi-fi was fast when you actually got it working. I asked the manager what was wrong and he said nothing and gave me my phone back then I asked him for the money back and he said "no no, keep trying" in a quit loud and aggressive way, the woman at the reception tried to help but she said sorry she didn't know anything about it. So I asked the Thomas Cook rep and he got it sorted within minutes! Apart from that everything was great, I joined in with mostly all the activities I could and met some fantastic people while doing them. The Thomas Cook entertainment team was fantastic, they really made our holiday; Jordan, Katy, jonney and lee was especially amazing people. The bar staff was great people and sometimes even entertaining! Laura was amazing too, the Spanish entertainer! Will definitely be going there again!!!

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank Kian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Kian F,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us. Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We went in March and May of 2014 an will definately be going back again. 2 adults and 1 3yr old they accomadate to all ages fab enertainment, food & hotel. Value for money great locals cant say enough. Rami and his team in the Spanish dome were really entertaining. Not jus for spansish we are English and in the 2nd dome they spoke english aswell. The other dome was english speaking only also good. Enjoy your holiday at tropical island!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank demiade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for letting us know your feelings about your last stay at the THB Tropical Island,

I´m happy to see you enjoyed your stay with your family.

We hope to see you son at the THB Tropical Island and I hope to meet you personally to speak abou your experience at the hotel. Please, contact me if you have any query or special need for your next stay.

Thanks and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.1 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#30 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,397 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
20.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Address: Fragata 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $78 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Tropical Island 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Tropical Island is a spectacular resort of 102,000 m2 located in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. Designed especially for families and groups of friends, it has everything you need so you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday within resort itself and just steps away from your apartment. In Hotel THB Tropical Island everyday fun is guaranteed. Our guests can enjoy 14 swimming pools, sports facilities, bars, theme restaurants and plenty of activities both for adults and children in the hands of our entertainment team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing