We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
THB Tropical Island
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here during the first 11 days in January with our 3 daughters and 4 grandchildren (6, 4, 3 and 1 year old)
We all had a very good time and found plenty to do for everyone around the complex which is like a small village and takes a bit of getting used to especially after having arrived when it was dark.
My wife left her boots outside our door overnight and they were covered in ants in the morning but a quick spray of the insect killer in the kitchen done the trick, we had a couple inside but again a good spray and we never seen them again and both our daughters room were ant free so I presume it was a one off.
In general the staff from all departments were friendly and very helpful, but on the odd occasion a couple of staff got a bit "frumpy" about some people sneaking food out of the restaurant.
In both restaurants the food was very good with plenty of choice, but sometimes we had to queue to get in, although nice snacks could be had during the whole day from another snack bar area away from the main dining areas if you wanted to eat on the move , around the pool, or in your apartment.
The main pool and surrounding areas were well kept, clean and tidy however we had one of the many pools right on our doorstep which was quite handy for the kids.
The rooms were serviced daily with towels changed regularly and bedding changed adequately.
The entertainment was basic but the reps tried their best with bingo and a variety of "british" shows throughout the evenings which suited us and our daughters , however there are two entertainment "domes" the other being the "local spanish" entertainment team which suited the kids better with mini discos, bird shows, clowns etc and it was better kept , probably because it was quieter but it was also a bit warmer - the reps dome tended to be quite cold in the evenings and the girls needed a cardigan .
It was only the pool bar which was open during the day along with the bar at the snack bar but both entertainment dome bars and a small sports bar were open in the evening and being all inclusive we had no real complaints about any of them - plastic during the day - glass in the evening.
We took a walk into the town a couple of days and it`s about a 20 minute stroll to the right side of the complex or to the left it`s about 30 minutes to the marina where there is a big local market once a week.
We all had a great time at the Tropical Island and would recommend it - the only thing with us was that everything was spread out and we had quite a distance to go from place to place within the complex , ie apartment to restaurant to pool to entertainment etc, etc and with 4 youngsters it was a lot of walking or carrying ,we had a buggy with us but ended up hiring another buggy from the hotel to save a lot of hassle.
There`s plenty other things around the complex to amuse both adults and children from yoga classes to goldfish, turtles and play areas it`s just a matter of finding them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlmagFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know your experience on the Hotel THB Tropical Island. We’re so happy to read that you have had a great time with us, spending your family holidays in Playa Blanca.

All our staff works hard every day for offer our guests the most relaxing and comfortable experience they ever had. Your trust means a lot for us, especially .we hope see you with your family soon in Lanzarote enjoying another great holidays.

On our hotel you will find everything you need for turn your stay into a completely success. All our staff is ready for attend our guests needs and demands, and we will receive you always with open arms and smiling.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 2,889 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This is my first review I've written and normally I wouldn't bother but with this "resort" I just had to.The rooms are full of ants, in the bedrooms,
Bathrooms KITCHEN AREA! Very unhygienic please avoid. Floors are filthy, foods horrible, undercooked mostly fat. Breads stale, milk for cereal is warm. cockroaches everywhere you go, especially in the tavern bar, there were to crushed ones in the ladies toilets, they were understaffed in the pizzeria and the tapas, had to shout the waiter to order food and drinks, not much to do for kids when there's no events on which during my stay of 10 days there was one event on In the dome
Which started at 10pm?! as you have to pay for everything you want to do. Including the wifi! It's just terrible worst holiday I've ever been on. Will NOT be returning avoid at all cost!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Rachael,

We are really sorry for your disappointment.

In relation to the room, we did not knew that there was ants in your room, all the guest who reported this kind of problem or it has been fixed or moved to another room. At the buffet there are for our clients machines hot milk and cold milk jugs, even we never had complaints about this .
About cockroaches us we had a contracted company that comes several times a month to fulmigar gardens, bars, rooms .... and, we put that information on the reception desk. Sorry if your experience was not the way you expected, but we did not have the opportunity to amend them during your stay.
Regarding the queues in the Tapas restaurant sorry if you were waiting so long, normally the waiting time is not more than 10 minutes.

We would like to thank you again for having stayed with us and hope to have you back one day!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a party of 10 with ages ranging from 18 months to 50's. After reading previous reviews we were concerned as to what we were in for but all of our fears were eradicated within our first 24 hours. Staff on reception were always friendly and willing to help and so were the waiter, waitresses and maids. There are some members of our party that are extremely fussy and even they had no complaints about anything. Complex and apartments were clean and tidy, yes there are cats around but id rather that than cockroaches! (Cats were also fed and had been provided with places to shelter). Mealtimes were fine, yes a little busy but staff always tried hard to seat our party if 10 together and only once that was not possible. Food choice was good with a different buffet selection each night. Thomas cook entertainment team worked hard and it showed, kids were always entertained and staff always made them feel welcome, juan and the lifeguard from the international team were also lovely and friendly. Personally, all in all i think the complex is worthy of more than 3 stars, our whole party have agreed that we would definitely return here like a shot. A bargain holiday that was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Thank you THB Tropical Island

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank MrsTMumof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Mrs TMumof,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing THB Tropical Island to enjoy your holidays, and for sharing your holiday experience with all of us, and also for scoring your stay among us 5/5, it is great !!
We’re so happy to know that despite these details you enjoyed your stay and had a great time in Lanzarote. We hope you come back soon to Playa Blanca and you will see with your own eyes our improvement in THB Tropial Island.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Friendly welcome on arrival , room was ok , like everyone said a little updating wouldn't go a miss( but how much time are you in there ) more than happy with the food in main restaurant and snack bar,all staff were great with us , loved tapas and pizza!! Being there 2 wks used both each wk. The guy who works the pizza and often the tapas was great , couldn't do enough for us as a family. Resort was big , but meant there was no flighting for sunbeds( always a bonus) once you get your head around it , it's not a problem. Quiet pools or the main pool , where all the entertainment goes on and where we spent everyday. We joined in all the activities and it made our holiday, Thomas Cook team are great , Katie and jonny were just naturals. And Joan !!!!!!! A special mention :) he was always smiling and happy. Loads going on and go for it , dance on that bridge when you get there, you know you will want too :) we did. Only time you get away with it!!! Evening entertainment also fine, kids loved the bingo. Close to the beach , you don't really need to catch the bus. But is free and
goes daily. Drinks on tap and great , no long queues !! But may be in summer. Taxis were so cheap to get everywhere. Lots of things to do with children , local water park , boat trips , ranch/ water park, all worth a
visit.Not sure what more I can say to big the place up , we had ourselves looked on here at reviews and were worried , but we really didn't need to be. We loved it and would happily go back....

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarahdaveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear guest,

From all our entire staff, we appreciate you have chosen the THB Tropical Island Resort for your holidays. We’re so glad to know that you had a great time with us and that you have appreciated our daily work. Our last objective is to make your stay in Lanzarote better with personalized service and real concern for the interests of our guests.

We hope you come back soon to Playa Blanca and we will be waiting for you at THB Tropical Island. For your next visit if there is something we can arrange for you before you arrive just let us know beforehand and we will be glad to arrange anything we can for you. You just need to contact us .
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

as a family of 7 ageing from 50, that week on holiday to 3, we had a very enjoyable stay, rooms were decent size , and clean, only gripe was pull out bed didn't get a change of sheets :(, in our room,, situated with all facilities near by, pools, bars, el taverno brill.. lol.. and the dome Thompson one not the international one although we did go there one night and enjoyed it.. food, im very fussy and so was our wee 3 yr old, we never went hungry always found some thing to eat ,,,staff always had a smile an an time for a wee chat, entertainment, i run a theatre group and im a vocal coach, the energy they put in was better then some of my seasoned actors lol....again they made the mundane bingo fun ... WD to that team... one gripe here too not enough staff in dome bar or beach bar,.,,,, :(.... we had two nights out in centre and enjoyedit... beach was very hot day we went .,. would i go back yes .,..

Room Tip: we were ground floor centre block got sun all day in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scotsnun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choose the THB Tropical Island for your holidays. Your comments will help us to improve our client service. All our staff works hard every day for offer our guests a great stay and a relaxing and comfortable experience in Lanzarote.
We’re so happy to know that despite these details you enjoyed your stay and had a great time in Lanzarote. We hope you come back soon to Playa Blanca and you will see with your own eyes our improvement.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

After reading the reviews we went with open mind 3 adults - can't please everyone we knew we were getting 3 star so not looking for 5 star . The rooms are in need of update but cleaned regularly . Food ok but same same and never warm .Entertainment in the dome aimed at families and children running crazy all over the place accident waiting to happen, but top marks to entertainment team especially Johnny. then other option was the Tavern which is just a bar with the most unhappiest staff I had come across .Drinks on the AI not very good , and cocktails rubbish . Baileys not on AI and no local equivelent so had to buy at 5 euros so complained to rep to be advised if I wanted to buy they would reduced price to 3 euros or bring in own bottle and they would leave behind the bar .never came across that before , would I return no .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your holiday's review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you enjoyed the area of Playa Blanca we love so much. May not be as lively as the centre town, it is quieter and peaceful.
We are sorry to read about the Baileys. after you contact your representative of Thomas Cook and explain, the Baileys was not a drink that was not all-inclusive, you are offered two solutions, none of which was accepted by you, it would be totally unfair to offer you a drink which can not drink the rest of our customers, we deeply regret not being able to reach a solution,
We would like to inform you that we have over check once again the points that you have remarked, specially the drinks, in order to avoid the same inconvenience in the future and be able to provide an excellent stay to all our guests.
Once again, I regret the inconvenience it may have caused and we apologize. We thank you for your understanding and we look forward to welcoming you again in future visits to Lanzarote

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Enjoyed our week here although it was strange to have two sections entirely the same with rooms having the same key numbers. We couldn't complain about our room as it was cleaned regularly with fresh towels etc every other day. Food could have been a bit warmer but quite a good selection. Evening entertainment could have been better - children's entertainment didn't stop till 9.30 with children running everywhere. Spa thoroughly recommended.
Enjoyed but I don't think I would be going back in the near future.
Caos at airport going home all queueing in one group for Gatwick, Manchester' Newcastle etc.

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony and sun.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank sinkorswim-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest:
I thank you very much for your constructive comments and I thank you for bringing this to our attention and that maintenance are checking the situation with the keys so that this does not happen again

Mention that food temperature are constantly monitored through the Head chef and his team chefs and that the hotel management will take a closer look into this.

Entertainment is based for families, as this is advertised as a family hotel, however the hotel has two domes with entertainment in both of them

Finally we are very glad that you enjoyed our Spa

Hope this helps you

Regards as always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.1 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,424 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Address: Fragata 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $51 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Tropical Island 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Tropical Island is a spectacular resort of 102,000 m2 located in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. Designed especially for families and groups of friends, it has everything you need so you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday within resort itself and just steps away from your apartment. In Hotel THB Tropical Island everyday fun is guaranteed. Our guests can enjoy 14 swimming pools, sports facilities, bars, theme restaurants and plenty of activities both for adults and children in the hands of our entertainment team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing