We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THB Tropical Island
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Clean, spacious, always helpful staff. Food is fine and more than plentiful (and hot..don't listen to the bad reviews)...what do you expect at such a place...Egon Ronay?! Hotel could do with making more sunbeds available as not always enough and a lot were broken. Main pool is fantastic. Astro turf footie pitch, tennis court etc to keep the sporty kids happy. Entertainment team worked hard on behalf of the kids but don't expect a "gala" entertainment performance for the adults in the evening - definitely aimed more at entertaining the kids which is fair enough. Overall pleasantly surprised and would recommend. Make sure you invest in a trip to the volcano - definitely a must see.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WarrenSouthampton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
We thank for choosing us and for your review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you next year and please if there is anything we can arrange for you just let us know.
In the meantime, we all send you our warmest Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,048)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,657 - 1,663 of 3,048 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

After booking an 11 day Easter holiday at this hotel a couple of months ago, I couldn't help but notice some of the abject reviews at it; which didn't overly fill me with confidence. As it was my wife and I's first holiday with our 22 month old daughter, it was the latter's love of water which was influential...that and avail ability during the school holidays.
After a good flight, we arrived just before 9 in the evening, and were straight away ushered into the main restaurant, which offered the usual array of different foods for starters, main, dessert and kid's selection. All of which appeared nice, and what I ate certainly was, and there were no complaints from my wife or daughter either. I think its important to stress that when on holiday in a foreign country, it is naive to assume all gastronomic tastes and dishes are generic around the world, with different nations having their own versions things - just because a dish tastes different to 'back at home' does not automatically make it bad!
On arrival to our apartment, we were given room 224 (on the Tropical side), ideally located near an elevator on the first floor and overlooking nice gardens. The apartment was clean, had plenty of space, and had a well equipped kitchenette, with oven fridge, microwave, toaster etc. Don' t get me wrong, it was 'purposeful', nothing fancy and a good base to sleep, or amuse our daughter...what do you expect for 3 star! The cleaners came in on alternate days and changed the towels and tidied things up, which worked out fine for us.
The complex appears to be 2 mirroring sites in one, almost literally identical on each half; 'Sun' & 'Tropical', making it like a nice little village. Contrary to previous reviews; it is not in the least bit difficult to navigate around the complex, and there are numerous useful signs showing you where things are. The site consisted of a main pool with pool bar and 'animation' team (who worked hard, were keen, but not in your face at all), and lovely little clusters of apartments, many of which a had a communal little pool; which was great for kids. There were little snack/chicken shacks dotted around which were ideal for little'uns (and big'uns) to grab a quick and convenient snack & drink. There were some nice gardens with turtles, and a lake with a variety of fish - ideal for walking around when trying to get stubborn little'uns off to sleep in their buggy. Also there was a 'dome' which housed various daytime and evening activities, which looked quite nice when we visited it for our 'welcome meeting', but we never got round to returning, as most nights we were tucked up in our apartment with little-legs by 9 (high-life or what : ).
There was also a Spa, which although we didn't visit, there was an unusually good (compared to previous so called 'gyms' on holidays), well-stocked and maintained gym. This came in handy on the odd days when the 'Canaries-cloud' was lingering in the mornings.
The complex was also a nice 5-10 minute stroll away from Papagayo (apologies for any miss-spelling), which has lots of shops, restaurants, bars, pharmacies, and a beautifully clean and well looked after sandy beach, with crystal clear waters and views across to a neighbouring island, which appeared to only be a few miles away.
All in all this holiday was a pleasant surprise. Granted it may not be for some, and in that respect; we're all different. As a young family, we found it to be great; the different water features (pools, water area with sprinklers etc) kept our daughter constantly entertained, and wore her out a treat. The numerous bars, and places to eat dotted around; were also ideal for us. Based on this, we would happily return
A couple of points to bear in mind:
*if you rely on wifi, unless you are happy to use your mobile, they charge a daily fee of 6€ (which then becomes 19€ for a week I think), but then we only needed it for a day to check up on matters back home.
*when eating in the restaurant; be advised that at times there were queues to not only get in, but also to use drinks facilities. So we tended to go in the first hour of restaurant opening times to avoid any such problems.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tired_Teachers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of the THB Tropical Island, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Lanzarote.
We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your coments teaches us how to enrich our services.

Thank you again for your special comments.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely hot week at the THB it was quite when we got there so staff complex were very very helpful nothing was to much trouble for them they were very children friendly the resort it self is massive lots of pools to choose from smaller pools being a lot warmer there's even a splash pool and lovely gardens with fish ponds and tortoises
I found the food ok yes some nights it was a little on the cold side but there's a microwave the staff work so hard keeping the top up supply fresh so your not wait around there was a different theme every night regarding food Chinese America. Even to roast dinner on Sundays with Yorkshire pudding there's something for everyone there's also a pizza restrant and tapas but it was fully booked and we couldn't get in also drinks are on tap in the dinning hall the juice drinks for children is very strong so I'd suggest half juice half water
the English entertainment were very good with the kids at the children's disco but after that it's adult time bingo quizzes games abit long winded for the kiddies bit like pontins in the sun only regarding the entertainment not the complex but the children enjoyed it
The hotel is about 15 mins away from a lovely harbour lots of shops or 3€ to 4€ in a taxi reception are very helpfull and can speak very good English when the complex became very busy to the end of our holiday there was a little change in que sizes for drinks meal but treat staff how you would expected to be treated and they a very happy polite great team who work very hard and when not rushed off their feet they have the odd joke or two
Lanzrotte is a very child friendly country everywhere you go on the island everyone welcomes children

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Emma,
Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we will welcoming you back in THB Tropical Island.


Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay here. A group of 11; 6 adults and 5 children, age range from 2 to 13. We had another super holiday here. Weather was fab, better than last year and that did make the large pools warmer. I think they've stepped it up a gear, from last year. I did write a review last year and the few minor things I did comment on seemed to have been addressed. Food, drink, service, entertainment, everything was really good. I actually preferred the new plastic glasses. Easily carry 3 back from the bar. Last year, they were the flimsy throw away ones. Rooms are a bit dated but you're only in them to sleep so it didn't bother me. Cleaners work very hard.
We'd requested 3 rooms by a pool, which we received and appreciated. Kids club seem more structured, with various organised activities. On two sessions a day but ours only did the morning session. No kids club on a Sunday. Market down by the marina is on a Wed. It's a really nice market, no tat! A few of our group played tennis and said the courts were good. Also hired out bikes (not me, a lounger was my best friend) and they were very decent too. This hotel is really just great for families and the staff are very accommodating. I like the fact that there's a good mix of Spanish, British and other Nationalities. There are 2 domes. One with British style entertainment; bingo, karaoke, quizzes and the other dome tends to house Spanish playing cards but does have live music. I'd definitely return here. Well done Sun Tropical.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kdav1es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion about your second visit to our hotel, we truly appreciate it

We take our guests comments very seriously as they help us pinpoint areas that have room for improvement, so the productive and helpful comments .For your next reservation, if there is something we can arrange for you before you arrive just let us know beforehand and we will be glad to arrange anything we can for you. You just need to contact us .We are looking forward to welcoming you back in THB Tropical Island, and thanks one again for your kind words.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

went as a party of 10 age range 18 months to 50,the good points first,rooms were clean and the complex was alway clean and tidy.now the bad bits,FOOD was always COLD and some times not cooked,the pools were VERY COLD,the DRINKS were terrible,the entertainment was bad,reps were not very good.this was our first all inclusive and i was not impressed,my daughter who is 14 weeks pregnant got sickness and diarreio,when we did eat in the complex we ended up just eating chips,so we ate out alot so for value for money its not.i would say it is ok for self cattering.the rep we had at the airport kept us waiting around and when she turned up said she was unable to come with us on coach as they were short staffed,we booked to go to the zoo on are last day and was told the wrong place to be picked up so didnt go,did get a refunded but grand daughter was upset and that spoilt the last day,all in all i would not go back and please be carefull with young children when eating at this complex this was the worst holiday iv ever had.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest:

First, I want to thank the dedicated time to give us your comments about your last visit. Your comments are the basis for our improvement and offer us the possibility to make the stay of our guests ever more enjoyable. On behalf of the entire team at the Hotel THB Tropical Island and on my own behalf, I convey our sincere thanks.
We would like to inform you that we have over check once again the points that you have remarked, specially food temperature and the entertainment, in order to avoid the same inconvenience in the future and be able to provide an excellent stay to all our guests.

Once again, I regret the inconvenience it may have caused and we apologize. We thank you for your understanding and we look forward to welcoming you again in future visits to Lanzarote

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We just came back from our holidays. We got to say that the hotel is amazing quite big many pools lovely gardens sand staff are excellent but there reason I decide to write a review something really enoyed me from Thomas cook entertainers , we supposed payed for all inclusive wich make us to pay to join in the bingo and they told us there is not entertainment at all no minidisco and no shows at all and we so ask about thb entertainment co we saw they have something going on on Thursday and they told us: that dome is only Spanish entertainment and made us pay 35 eur for a ticket to go somewhere else when I'm paying for all inclusive, day after I had a talk with the cheif entertainer of the hotel rami Issa and he told me that they are there for every one and the entertainment is for every one and actually they had a really good program what really desapointed me I lost 5 night of my holidays watching a rubbish entertainment when I had the chance to chose, so guys u can chose we do pay for special entertainment with Thomas cook but I been seeing how thb work really hard and they need also a chance to pop up in thems dome!!!
I got to thnx to Paula to look after our daughter and Joan for his aerobic of every morning and special for the cheif making sure every one have a lovey time.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petercathy6783738383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us. Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Brilliant hotel. Myself and my friend went - we knew it would be a quiet resort more for families, but it was a great hotel and complex. Great food and location. However, the British reps where a let down and in terms of the British Entertainment and help also was disappointing. However the Spanish reps at the hotel did a fantastic job, they where extremely friendly and provided brilliant entertainment throughout the day. They where Rami and Joan - fantastic reps and really made our stay at the THB Tropical Island even more enjoyable and a total asset to the complex.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becs86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing THB Tropical Island to enjoy your holidays, and for sharing your holiday experience with all of us, and also for scoring your stay among us 5/5, it is great ! . Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
Thank you again for your special comments.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,586 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.3 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,020 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#11 of 37 in Playa Blanca
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Address: Fragata 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $62 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Tropical Island 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Tropical Island is a spectacular resort of 102,000 m2 located in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. Designed especially for families and groups of friends, it has everything you need so you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday within resort itself and just steps away from your apartment. In Hotel THB Tropical Island everyday fun is guaranteed. Our guests can enjoy 14 swimming pools, sports facilities, bars, theme restaurants and plenty of activities both for adults and children in the hands of our entertainment team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing