We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
THB Tropical Island
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel ”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We visited here 13-20th march. We had two children ages 2 and 4, this hotel was perfect for them, 16 swimming pools a big main pool with entertainment all day. A little water park for the kids. 10 minute walk from the town and beach very easy to get to. Thomas cook entertainment was great something different every night and very friendly. Food was not great but they did have a lot of choice and had a different theme every night. All in all was a fab holiday at a great hotel would definatly return to this hotel

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank for choosing us and for your review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you next year and please if there is anything we can arrange for you just let us know.
In the meantime, we all send you our warmest
Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    956
    615
    228
    164
See reviews for
1,442
615
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I went with my sister for a week at end of March. The hotel complex is huge and split into two sides tropical side and island side. There are two big pools and loads of small ones in the middle of the apartment blocks so if you don't want the bustle of the main pool you can relax on sun beds outside your apartment. The apartments have fully stocked kitchens including kettle and are clean shower very good. Food is ok not lots of choice but if I had gone with my hubby he would have eaten off the children's buffet. I always found something but u can eat in the themed restaurant once free on your AI the pizza is lovely. The snack bar is one of the best I have seen make your own sandwiches salads hotdogs and burgers buffet style and pizza cooked all afternoon. We ate lunch in here most days. Tow choices of entertainment Thomas Cook reps in there dome and hotel animation team in there dome also in the bar the hotel animation is great they are really entertaining and you will know the dance to Timber before you come home!! We went off season when it was pretty quite but I would I imagine it is very busy when it's full and queues will be bigger for the bar. All in all a very reasonable AI break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choose the THB Tropical Island for your holidays. Your comments will help us to improve our client service. All our staff works hard every day for offer our guests a great stay and a relaxing and comfortable experience in Lanzarote.Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
Thank you again for your special comments.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

had a wonderful week`s stay in the THB tropical island back on the 24-30 march great complex, we were a bit wary after reading some bad reviews. ive nothing bad to say about the room we had it was spotless, excellent views we had room 233, would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to anyone, and don't listen to the reviews. only bad review is the food its not recommended they had a themed night every nite only downfall was the food didn`t go with the theme. eg. American nite I was looking 4ward to a big juicy cheeseburger, hotdogs, fries and whatever the yanks have.. but we were served garlic spaghetti, chicken on the bone no fries, no burgers, no hotdogs lol plenty of rabbit food salads are plentiful as was the bread... we ended up starving r heading n2 the town, check out barney`s great food. the snack bar thru the day was ok the same food every single day after the 3rd day we were sick of eating the bland burger,hotdogs cold fries, and pizza.. the pizzeria in the complex is great u only get one night to go though, don't go to the tapas restaurant its not NICE we couldn`t understand the menu is was in Spanish with some English beside it still couldn`t work out wat was wat. we ordered stuffed chicken and omelette when we got the chicken it was like a battered sausage lol when I cut mine open it was full of raisins, and some apricots, I was expecting sage stuffing and the omelette was grey and yuk!! I dread to think wat it tasted like none of us tried it. the look of it was enough to put u off omelettes 4ver... and 4 beer drinkers buy ur own they only serve one beer Cruz Campo an the people I was with are beer drinkers they cudn`t stomach another day of the beer it tasted like a wet dog I myself im a vodka drinker I have no complaints about the spirit drinks on offer lol wud def stay again in this hotel, but they seriously need to sort the CAT problem out it broke r hearts and if ur a cat lover u mite wanna put goggles on so u cant see some of the poor cats I put 2 complaints in about the state of one cat it was near death, saliva dribbling from its mouth, it was in a bad way. I was told someone wud attend to the cat 2 days later poor cat was still lying around the complex in the same condition,we gave it some water which it greedily drank and some ham. honest to god they shud have a programme in place in which all the female cats r neutered. they had great entertainers on thru the day joan was 1st class he really made u feel welcome and he works at nite in the tavern 2 long day most of the workers where there all day and night.. but r favourite barman was AYOSO one of the most pleasant down to earth workers we`ve ever met check him out at the dome, he always had a smile no matter how long he worked :)

Room Tip: no corner rooms because they had the stairs beside them and some nights you could hear people arrivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastMaria69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your trust in the THB Tropical Island for your holidays. Your comments will help us to improve our service and make our guests stay better.
Regarding those poor animals cats are not the hotel come from the outside and the cat you mention this with antibiotic treatment but it is very difficult catch.
Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a family trip to this hotel. Check in took ages at reception - not enough staff to deal with it. When we were given the keys to our room, it was very disappointing - firstly the handle to the door was hanging off! Great start! The bathroom was dirty, the bed arrangement was ridiculous! I expected a sofa bed in the living room, but not to that poor standard. I'd never ask my children to sleep on it - the sofa was stained also. Fortunately there are 3 of us, so we took the pull out bed into the bedroom and all slept there. We however; erected the bed (which got known as the pez bed!) and found that one of the legs had snapped!! The sliding wardrobe doors were broken, the outside light didn't work, the fridge leaked and had a towel inside! The bath/shower was filthy - thank god I shower with no contact lenses in so that I can't see the state of it! The maid service was ok - she came every other day!
Basically the rooms are awful!
The rest of the complex is average. Our room was actually located in one of the nicest spots - rather than being next to a pool, it was next to a jacuzzi (which didn't work - no bubbles!) and the snack bar area. So it was lovely and quiet.
Food - first day I thought it was ok, but then as our week went on we just decided to get a taxi down to Playa Dorada (4€) and eat at one of the restaurants there! I understand hotel food can be repetitive, but this really was! I didn't touch a dessert - looked foul! The ice cream was nice though! Children's option was crap! We once saw green beans as a choice for breakfast! And deep fried cauliflower! My child lived off chips mostly! Most of the staff in the restaurant were rude too! Someone dropped a plate & I thought it was the end of the world for this one member of staff!
The pools are nice actually - apart from them being bloody freezing, they were of good standard!
The Thomas Cook entertainment staff were fantastic! They put 100% into everything, the kids obviously loved them all! Fun around the main pool in the day with quizzes etc! Enjoyed the parrot show and the magician!
Another good point - there was no need to fight for any sunbeds - always one available! Well actually we could always get 3! If you could find one that works obviously!

Playa Dorada beach is fab! 12€ for 3 x sunbeds and an umbrella! Plenty of shops and restaurants to entertain yourselves with also. The Rubicon Marina was lovely too! Definitely worth a walk round there with some very cool bars and restaurants! My daughter enjoyed feeding the many fish around the marina! Tons of them!!

I've checked this website plenty of times for reviews and I've read them with a pinch of salt as most people moan for moaning sake! We certainly do not and are fairly easy going, but this hotel was such a disappointment that I felt I needed to air it off my chest!
We'll never ever return and I'd try to put anyone off it.
The hotel is dated and needs some serious money spending on it!

Peace out!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineKerrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Catherine:

We regret to hear that you had a bad experience with us.
We could have talked during your stay to try to solve your incoveniences: we are very sorry.
We remain at your disposal for any thing you may need.
We take note of the list of things that you did not like during your stay, while at the same time thank you for mentioning the points that you did like.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Norway, Maine
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Paula and Joan was The best:) they did A great Job. I trustet Paula with my Child.Paula was so good with The kids,you can see that see love kids:) Paula is always happy and Nice:)And she had sometimes The children dico she was A great dancer aswell:) good look too you Paula.Joan was great aswell,his dancing was amacing,always happy. He had The kids disco aswell sometimes and he was wery good with The kids and all The things he was doing, good look Joan. From T Norway

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tilletorgersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest: :

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us. Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the tropical island and would have to say I would probably return again should the opportunity arise. The complex itself is very relaxing, you have the choice of the main pool or one of the smaller pools nearer to the rooms. The food for the first couple of days lacked choice and quality however this improved as the week went on, the food centre is great for kids during the day with the choice of hot dogs, burgers, chips, fresh salad, tuna and jacket potatoes etc. Friendly staff, good entertainment team and good location complete the positive characteristics to a place I would visit again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ch147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for commenting that you will return during a future holiday break.

We take note of the list of things that you did not like during your stay, while at the same time thank you for mentioning the points that you did like.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our first time at Tropical Island and God willing we will certainly be back again next year.After staying in Puerto del Carmen for years we had reservations about changing but all i can say is that it was excellent.The food was fine plenty of choice,rooms clean and lovely white towels.We had some good nights in the dome and even managed to win bingo.Our two grandaughters,14 and 12 years were well suited.Value for money that,s for sure.The only negative criticism the bars could have abit more staff,as you tend to spend alot of time queueing.Well done Thomas Cook entertainment staff and Manager and hotel staff of tropical island complex.Matthews family.

Room Tip: Just ask if you have a special request,they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Josie,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing THB Tropical Island to enjoy your holidays, and for sharing your holiday experience with all of us, and also for scoring your stay among us 5/5, it is great !!
Thank you for all your comments about food and clealiness, and also for your opinion of our hard working staff. All THB Tropical Island team takes this opportunity to greet you cordially, looking forward to seeing you again soon. We will be deligthed to attend you again and to offer you another relaxig,peacefull and quietness holiday experience.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.1 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,311 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,709 reviews
20.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,914 reviews
0.6 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Property: THB Tropical Island
Address: Fragata 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Tropical Island 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Tropical Island is a spectacular resort of 102,000 m2 located in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. Designed especially for families and groups of friends, it has everything you need so you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday within resort itself and just steps away from your apartment. In Hotel THB Tropical Island everyday fun is guaranteed. Our guests can enjoy 14 swimming pools, sports facilities, bars, theme restaurants and plenty of activities both for adults and children in the hands of our entertainment team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing