We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and don't do all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
THB Tropical Island
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
leicestershire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Noisy and don't do all inclusive”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Ok for families if weather is ok. Stay away from the tavern unless you want to join in with the drunks shouting until midnight every night. Stampede at meal times. Rooms very basic and beds very hard.
Don't want to slag the place off too much as it is not awful by any means, just needs sorting out and some money spent on it. Entertainment is
dreadful by any all inclusive hotels and I have done loads. Get an apartment in resort and buy your own provisions. It may be slightly more expensive, but you have more privacy and choice.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank queenie142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of the THB Tropical Island, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Lanzarote.
We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your coments teaches us how to enrich our services.

Thank you again for your special comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    957
    617
    229
    164
See reviews for
1,444
616
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

arrived on dec22 for 17 days, reception were very pleasant and took no time to get a large queue sorted , dont be put off by the dour faced Joaquin after haveing several conversations he was most help ful and informative. Its a very large complex and with 16 pools is perfect for families. The Thomas Cook reps worked hard day and night. The food was excellent not just for xmas and new year but for our whole stay. Unfortunately we will not be returning because we are nearly 70 and there was just to much walking for us. But again i must say it would be perfect for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Terry J,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us. Be sure that we will transfer your good words to the Animation Team.
We look forward to welcome you again THB Tropical Island.

Yours faithfull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

just arrived back from a beautiful island, sadly i cannot say the same about the hotel. I will say now this is an amazing hotel for families with young children. Please dont book all inclusive because it is a total nightmare. if you have young children there are loads of pools and lots of fun water play, adults have the spa which is well worth an hour of peace and relaxation. The hotel stay are lovely but over worked.
I would not recommened all inclusive or half board as the wait for the resaurant was horrid. Not very good for disabled people unless you have someone prepared to wait in a cue on stairs. When you finally get into eat i can say there is something for everyone but it is hit and miss if its still warm once you fight the way through to your table. The hotel really does need to expand its dining room and employ more staff. The dining staff were very hard working and probably for a low wage for the amount they do.
be careful as your room number is duplicated and unless the instructions are not clear you can get rooms mixed up as we found when a german couple tried to ener our room, seriously strange expecting me to move out lol, shame they didnt take the ants with them.
the hotel is very big and can be difficult to get used too, but it is safe. Use the back gate to go to the beach or shops as it is a trek, not advisable for people with mobility problems, but the taxis are cheap and the area is well worth visiting.
is this hotel for you?
self catering with young children, then this is the hotel for you.
clubbers stay clear
elderly who wish peace and good service stay away.
this hotel is not managed well but could seriously be great given better management and some cash flow.
Regardless of all of the above we made our holiday wonderful and said we would take the hit and eat out, would i go again yes but self catering and ensure i have ant powder. The local food is cheap and very varied.
no one can say if you will like this hotel, a holiday is what you make it and i am sure even the bad things have funny sides when you get home and tell the tale.

Room Tip: try get near the reception area if you want to use the dinning area, if not then at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Susan,
Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your coments teaches us how to enrich our services.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A group of 13 of us, all family arrived on December 30th and after all the terrible reviews on here I was very apprehensive about the stay and am very pleased to say I had nothing to worry about.

I have seen many complaints about the reception staff and when we got there I have never spoken to such lovely people that made you feel so welcome. Our rooms weren't ready yet which was a slight disappointment but we had arrived at around one. The rooms took a bit longer to clean than we were told but once we got in them everything was fine. Our balcony was lovely as it was very very big with the sun constantly shining on it although our families had very small balconies. The rooms are fairly small but nothing to complain majorly about and we were there for two weeks. Our apartment was fortunately equipped with everything we needed and was also fairly clean. Also, the shower was very good and we were never short of clean towels.

We didn't go all inclusive as we like to go out and eat around the area and explore (the centre of playa Blanca was lovely and peaceful but joyful with plenty of restaurants and bars and only a ten minute walk or €3 taxi ride to get there). Most days we went to the food center to the snack bar for lunch where we would have a toastie or pizza or anything from a reasonably sized snack menu, which was fine for a quick bite to eat and wasn't too expensive.

The choice of pools is great and the kids had an amazing time going in them all, especially the two slides at the big pool, although the water was freezing! The big pool wasn't very clean at the bottom but our apartment block's pool was fairly clean although not very heated but lovely to go in when the weather was very warm.

Overall the stay was very enjoyable and I would happy go back to Sun Tropical Island, the very large and inviting complex has something for all the family and the location was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lollipop921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for mentioning that you will stay again in the Hotel THB Tropical Island. We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to write a positive review about your stay.
Thank you again for your special comments.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The wife and I stayed here from Boxing Day to 2 January. Not far from airport and despite quite a few people getting off the coach, check-in was dealt with efficiently for us. It is a huge resort, and took us a while to get our bearings, and the map you get definitely helps! One thing though, the room numbers are duplicated which can be confusing... The rooms are bigger than expected. Two single beds for double, but that's normal in most places we've been. Comfortable too! Room is clean enough and was more than pleasant enough for the time we spent in it.

The bar - The Tavern - is a cracking little boozer. Plenty of choice if you drink shorts (though I think you have to pay for branded drinks). Local lager is OK (as a beer drinker, any lager is OK at best lol...). Wife liked the white wine. We stayed AI and found the food to be excellent! Good choice/variation and despite some of the other reviews here - definitely no bad food was consumed by us. There are 2 main restaurants to reduce congestion - and there is more than one toaster, just need to look... Chicken shack was ideal too - food always replenished and although the same every day - at least you know what you can get!! (Good when hungover and in need of food!). We couldn't get into the 'alacarte' restaurants - book early! We didn't feel the need to eat out (we went out last night, and had lunch out a couple of days).

There are a few places that serve proper beer (John Smiths, Smithwicks etc) but quite expensive - cheapest was 4euro a pint!

We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, always served us with a smile! Entertainment was good too! Thomas Cook team are very enthusiastic (Dutch is mental!) and keen to make sure everyone is having fun! Didn't venture to the other Dome so can't comment on hotels own entertainment. Daytime was good - music by the pool though if you don't like football you may not join in much of the activities. TC team - Jamie, Jordan, Alice and Dutch are all very friendly and knowledgable on the local area too. Wife liked the bingo - 5euro a ticket but big returns if you win.

Pools were lovely but cold (big volumes to naturally heat). Kids pools we were told were warmer. It was very entertaining watching people jump in though!

Overall we had a cracking time. Met some cracking people and would definitely recommend it! A holiday is what you make it, and we had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear THB Tropical Island Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing THB Tropical Island to enjoy your holidays, and for sharing your holiday experience with all of us.

We also want to thank you for all your nice comments about clealiness, food, and staff, we are always trying our best to reach guest´s expectations, so you may come again in the future or will recommend to others.

All THB Tropical Island team takes this opportunity to greet you cordially, looking forward to seeing you again soon. We will be deligthed to attend you again and to offer you another relaxig,peacefull and quietness holiday experience.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Travelled on Boxing Day family of three must say even though resort is huge it was apparent straight away over booked rooms very dated and yes infested with ants and most people we spoke to all had the same problem maids tried there best but the ants won every time !! Restaurants way too crowded with tables far too close together staff could not cope with clearing and cleaning the tables food ranged from adequate to downright dodgy playa blanca itself is fab and we ate out most days New Year's Eve down by the harbour was lovely all in all would definitely recommend playa blanca but would certainly not recommend this place

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chester90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion about your visit to our hotel, we truly appreciate it

We take our guests comments very seriously as they help us pinpoint areas that have room for improvement, so the productive and helpful comments, in this case regarding the Restaurant topic, are always welcome!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was there from boxing day till 2nd jan had a brilliant time weather food entertainment was good pool was freezing but my girl still went in there was small heated pools but was always full with kids when pasted,staff where great tried there best to have tables cleared quick for next family in restaurant have nothing negitive to say about hotel would go back and recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicalislands... T, Gerente at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Agradecimiento
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing THB Tropical Island to enjoy your holidays, and for sharing your holiday experience with all of us, and also for scoring your stay among us 5/5, it is great !!

Thank you for all your comments about food and clealiness, and also for your opinion of our hard working staff,. We are very proud of them.

All THB Tropical Island team takes this opportunity to greet you cordially, looking forward to seeing you again soon. We will be deligthed to attend you again and to offer you another relaxig,peacefull and quietness holiday experience.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.1 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,056 reviews
20.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Property: THB Tropical Island
Address: Fragata 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Tropical Island 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Tropical Island is a spectacular resort of 102,000 m2 located in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. Designed especially for families and groups of friends, it has everything you need so you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday within resort itself and just steps away from your apartment. In Hotel THB Tropical Island everyday fun is guaranteed. Our guests can enjoy 14 swimming pools, sports facilities, bars, theme restaurants and plenty of activities both for adults and children in the hands of our entertainment team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing