We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely complex, very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THB Tropical Island
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely complex, very happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We just returned from a 2 week stay all inclusive (2 adults, 2 boys, 7 & 9). I was actually worried after reading some of the reviews but I had a very good time. We had a room on the ground floor around one of the smaller pools. This was ideal as we would leave the door open, the kids could go in or out as they pleased and we could just relax. The small pools are much quieter which suited us better. The main pool has a snack bar and 2 pool side bars and yes during peak times you need to queu for drinks but nothing more than maybe 5 or 6 people.

The food in the main restaurant was the same for breakfast each morning (eggs, bacon, hash browns, proper sausages, beans, omelettes, etc) plus plenty of breads, cold cuts, etc. Lunch was never really a strong point but was varied with rice, pork , fish etc and plenty of salad options available. Dinner was much better with Chinese nights, stews, soups, southern fried chicken, pizza, and a nice array of desserts. As for the queueing, you have to wait to be seated just like any restaurant but we never had to wait more than 2 or 3 minutes for a table and this only happened maybe twice, the rest of the time we simply gave our room number and took a table.

For all inclusive the drinks at meal times are self service which is handy but at the dome/pool side bar you do need to queue but I don't see the issue with this.

The complex itself is well set out with each block of 28 or so apartments set around either a small pool or a little green area with a small jacuzzi (get a ground floor around a pool if you have kids), there are also 2 large pools, one with lanes for serious swimmers and the other with 2 slides for everyone else. None are heated but we never found the temp a problem, just get in there!

There is also a pizza & tappas restaurants which are also lovely. Extra english speak channels on the TV are available at cost and so is wifi in all the rooms. The air con is a great bonus during the day.

The dome at night has an hour of kids stuff (dancing, games, etc) and then a music quiz for adults, bingo and whatever performers are booked. Overall a very butlins style show. The tavern bar just plays music but has pool, football and an xbox for the kids to play.

The kids club is only included for thomas cook guests but you can pay 5€ per child if they want to go, they also do a soccer skills camp which was good value.

I'm not sure what people are expecting from this place but I would go back and would recommend the place to anyone.

Room Tip: Ground floor around the smaller room (501-530). Get the rear gate key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank brianjg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    934
    600
    228
    161
See reviews for
1,403
603
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from 2weeks here when we arrived our room was not ready,so we went down stairs for some food the price of it was madness and there was not a great choice of food and wasn't very nice when we got to our room it was ok except you couldn't lock the bathroom door or you'd be locked in the grounds of the hotel were kept well except the pools they were filthy and the outdoor showers were disgusting the reception was no help and very rude my nephew got food poison from the burger at the bar so when we asked for a doctor she stood there and told us it would be very dear to get 1 could we not bring him down the town he's 4 and had been getting sick all night the reps were hopeless never around they really need to change things at the sun tropical i would never recommend it the entertainment at night was terrible was to loud could barely hear them gave you a headache very disappointing worse holiday iv ever been on..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THBHOTELS, Director Comercial at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear customer, thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy your well deserved vacation. Although your expectations have not been met 100%, we can assure that we always consider your comments about the hotel and, for this reason, I am pleased to inform you that most of the points in your comments have been resolved. There have been a series of actions and measures to improve our services: staff cleaning the pool and showers, in the morning and evening; we have changed the reception staff and increased its staff; about food and facilities, all is frequently tested by an outside company which is specialized in health and hygiene, finding no bacteria. We had talks with Playa Blanca Hospital and with Hospiten (a private hospital), both informed us that there have been some patients affected by a virus but not attributable to food, and they come from different establishments in Playa Blanca, not from our hotels. We currently have two animation teams and different programming every day, so you can choose the best you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Leicester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at Sun Island Aparthotel in October 2011 for three weeks, Lovely family rooms with bedroom, separate living room and kitchen with big balconies. The apartments were set in little groups about 15 apartments that share a pool. These were away from the main pools which was great as there was plenty of room for everyone.We stayed all inclusive and the food was not bad and suited everyone. The entertainment wasn't upto much in the hotel but we walked to the sea front most evenings to the bars, where there was plenty of entertainment.

Would we go again? For a winter holiday, Yes most definately!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leicestercouple007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Im a great believer in you get what you pay for. You want a 5☆ hotel then you'll have to pay top price. We paid about £2200 for 2 adults and 2 kids for 2 weeks All Inclusive, not a bad price. I now wish I paid a wee bit more for a better hotel. Its a lovely complex with a large pool and many smaller pools, pools ice cold though. Rooms were basic but clean and spacious. Dont use there towel's they stunk. Food was ok but very limited choice and im not a fussy eater, vegetarians would struggle here. Dining areas very small and total mayhem at times with over crowding,Waiting for plates and food to be replenished. Getting drinks at night was murder one person serving with massive cues. We went to the Spanish dome it was much quiter. Entertainment was just the animation team who put a lot of effort into there shows but got boring night after night. The kids did enjoy themselves which is the main thing. Not a holiday I will remember.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THBHOTELS, Director de Recepción at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear customer, thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy your well deserved vacation. We are sorry that your expectations have not been met. We would like to tell you that your comments help us to improve our service. I would like to inform you that some of your recommendations are already solved: in summer time, none of the 17 pools we have is heated, only in Winter time (from November to April); we have changed the laundry company by another one; new menus are being explored to introduce more variety, including vegetarian, now we have a daily dish for our customers; we have implemented a second dining room with the same dimensions as the other one and supplied more material. We have increased the bar and restaurant staff. As you said you can choose between the two domes, one of them is 100% in english and in the other one you can find more variety of languages and nationalities. There are two different programs in each dome, and you can choose the one you prefer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just stayed for 2 week 2 adults 5 children age 12 /9/ 6/ 5/ 4 booked 1 room over 12 months ago get there given 2 rooms . Only 2 drinks per person at bar when waited 20 mins how can children so small go to bar there self carnt reach top of bar . Food always cold not even cooked queues up 2 sets of stairs and to the door no tables to take us all and don't get up or your chair will be took from under you weather you done or not children meals look like been there hours pool snack bar same as all not cooked n cold no ice cream you get 5pm ice pop no DVD or cd as stated all been ill never again well never seen rep as grumpy go to say out to them then you ear them on phone on about us complaining am sure if she had paid that sort of money she would not be happy Thomas cook won't to look at this again if your going soon I would think again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waddys7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THBHOTELS, Director de Recepción at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear customer, thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy your well deserved vacation, although your expectations are not fully met. I have taken the liberty to clarify a number of points regarding your comments: we serve two drinks per person, it doesn’t mean that you can get only two drinks, you can enjoy all the drinks you like, what we want to say is two drinks per person at a time, this speeds up the waiter work, because if a person asks for 4 drinks at time it delays to the other customer. Reference to the restaurant, we have implemented a second one with the same characteristics and where we give three meal services. We have increased Bar and Restaurant staff. Food is always tested by an authorized company, the measurements are in terms of their temperature and analytical. The Snack Pool is a fast food place, which consists of hamburgers, hotdogs, sausages, pizzas…done at the time, and salad buffet. Snack bar is just a support for the other two buffets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdomm
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks with daughter and grandchildren.first apartment allocated was on 1st floor with doors windows that opened easily from inside and not safe for small children so asked to be moved to ground floor which was safer but the condition of it was weary and the beds awful one of us had to sleep on a sofa or pull out bed on floor as not possible to put a 2 yr and 4 yr in living room as also had cooker etc.apparantly don't have 2 bed roomed apartments and wanted 900 euros for connecting rooms ..could have moved to a good hotel for that , so made do with bad situation,
The one rep was useless and just said been really busy today if you went to see if she had done something ...but other Gaz was great and helpful .
If you go in dome check chairs one I sat on collapsed as only had 3 legs, was told they keep coming off and rep said would put in report to Thomas Cook but I couldn't see it . Hotel not interested just apology through rep.
Food was boring ,breakfast best meal as for snack bar great if you want burgers hot dogs or chicken nuggets for two weeks.nothing if your truly vegetarian ..
Need back door key as cuts distance to town down to about twenty minute walk.
Queues everywhere, needed to allow 15 mins to get a drink .
No evening outside or reception area bar only pub or domes so a long walk with a plastic cup if you like to be outside of an evening.. Or sit in a comfy seat with a drink in the hotels
Not able to hire tv package if in Island only in Tropical
Good points are the grounds and pools which were lovely and well maintained.
Kids club was excellent and well run .
A holiday little ones will love but adults will despair of the inefficient way it is run ..a hotel in decline was my opinion

Room Tip: Ground floor if you want easy access to a small pool ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynmar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THBHOTELS, Director Comercial at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear customer, thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy your well deserved vacation, thanks for your comments; it always helps us to improve our service. I would like to clarify a few points: our establishment, as you can read in the hotel advertising, does not have two-bedroom apartments, only adjoining apartments, connected by an interior door. We have two restaurants open for dinner, breakfast and lunch, apart from two thematic restaurants such as Italian and Spanish tapas. You find vegetarian food at breakfast, lunch and dinner and there are also options for vegetarians in the snack: lettuce, tomato, coleslaw, cucumber ... Due to we have sometimes too much influx of customers in some beverages points, we have increased the staff to avoid queues, so this problem no longer exists. On the outside of the complex, in pool areas, we use plastic cups, but inside the restaurant and night bars, we always use glassware. We have a large number of free channels, but some pay channels in both sides (Tropical, and Island).

Sincerely,

The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Where do I start!!!
Queues, queues and more queues! Whether it be for a drink, Fodor reception you had to queue!
Tea/Coffee - only at breakfast as the machines are switched off at all other times in the restaurant. You could get tea/coffee at the poolside bar by making it yourself with their prefilled flasks of hot water, plastic cups and instant coffee.
Water - you could only get a bottle of water from the supermarket which you had to pay for!
Entertainment - what?!! Bingo and quizzes??? Not what I call entertainment! Thank goodness for the travel plan section.
Rooms - very basic but clean.
Towels - I wouldn't even use them for the dog.
Staff - try there best but over stretched.
Thomas cook staff - apart from Gaz the rest don't have much interest.
Food - school canteen would be better! My poor kids where so glad to get "proper food" when they got home.
Pools - good size and good variety but cold.

This hotel could be good if they updated the rooms and towels, hired more staff, hired decent chefs, got a good entertainment team, bought a proper coffee machine for the bars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THBHOTELS, Director Comercial at THB Tropical Island, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
First of all thank you for choosing our resort to enjoy your well deserved holiday, also thank you for helping us to improve with your comments, the majority of which are now solved, and the rest in process of resolution. You can find coffee and teas in different parts of the hotel, not only for breakfast. We only use plastic glasses in pools area. You can drink water from the water machines, and drink all the water glasses you like from these points. We do not have queues of customers. Reference to animation, we have two teams, you can choose from two alternative programs during the day and night, and they are dressed differently to distinguish them in the same way, they do the evening entertainment in different places and the mini disco. We have different kind of menus, we take care about variety and quality in every one of them, there is a large degree of acceptance and we are introducing new features, according to our customer’s recommendations. Pools in summer season are not heated but in winter. We think that we have a proper laundry and staff now; anyway we are going to study your proposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.1 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#30 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#31 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
20.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,675 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Property: THB Tropical Island
Address: Fragata 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Tropical Island 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Tropical Island is a spectacular resort of 102,000 m2 located in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. Designed especially for families and groups of friends, it has everything you need so you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday within resort itself and just steps away from your apartment. In Hotel THB Tropical Island everyday fun is guaranteed. Our guests can enjoy 14 swimming pools, sports facilities, bars, theme restaurants and plenty of activities both for adults and children in the hands of our entertainment team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing