We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
THB Tropical Island
Nearby Hotels
H10 Rubicon Palace(Playa Blanca)
$144
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$163
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$205
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$259
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ona Las Brisas(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
$194
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$180
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$180
$168
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,212)
Filter reviews
3,212 results
Traveler rating
790
1,199
745
276
202
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
790
1,199
745
276
202
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun tropicalgate keyself cateringmain poolpizza restaurantisland sidetavern barentertainment domepremium apartmentkiwi blockpool barapartment blockspremium areakids clubthomas cookbig poolsalad
Filter
Updating list...
2,084 - 2,089 of 3,212 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hi just got back from a week at sun tropical and was presently surprised after reviews on here i traveled with my wife 3 kids and mum aged 79.
Good points each block had there own pools which was great plus two big pools and a pool bar,
food was good with different theme every evening, rooms were cleaned everyday didnt see any insects, Thomas cook reps gaz and kate were excellent help very friendly and around all the time,
barman jaime was really good especially with the queues,

bad points waited 2 hours for room keys then were given different room female receptionist very rude,
queues at bars were horrific why couldnt the kids drinks and beer pumps be self service it would help the waiting time so much ,more seats in dome is needed and a earlier opening time,
places to eat after half nine aswell.
entertainment team tried hard but some of the shows i think they were drunk on stage which made them look very unprofessional,
had a great time and would go back these changes could help so much management should read reviews and act on them.

Room Tip: 806/807 sun island
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davepolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

stayed here from 13may till 24 hated it discusting nout to do for the kids reception area a dump unde staffed outdated rooms with old fashioned decor hard beds the worst choice all inclusive ive ever been to my daughter who is 8 was bored out her mind i wld never advise anyone to go i go to turkey every yr and have never been in a hotel like sun tropical lanzarote however the only good part was the beach front stunning little bars and shops the all inclusive in hotel was worst i have ever been to no snacks at night no water in ur room discusting wld not even give a 3 out of ten i will b back to turkey next yr u need a hol when u get home from sun tropical its that bad 1395 down the plug for 2 adults and one free child place rip off

Room Tip: dont go at all if u do go 2nd floor up
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeena123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you enjoy a good old fashion Butlins style holiday, this is the place for you. The music round the main pool was so loud throughout the day your ears may possibly bleed and when the bingo comes on in the afternoon be prepared to raise your hands and 'pump it up' with the winners!
Dreadful food, even for a basic all inclusive, which left myself and my 8 yr old with a sickness bug lasting 2 days! We had to eat out on more than one occasion. Head for the pizza place, but make sure you book well in advance. It was generally like a cattle market in the dinning area and the queues were awful.
Having said all that the resort is beautiful so head out for the beaches and marina. Definitely get a back gate key as it is a shorter walk to the front.
We had a lovely family holiday, and will return to playa blanca, however we will not be returning to the holiday camp hell that was this hotel complex.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janinedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just back from sun tropical and had a lovely time. On arrival, the staff were very pleasant and offered us a lunch box as the resteraunt had just closed, which I thought was a nice gesture. The complex is quite large and we did have difficulty finding our apartment but we were pleased when we did. The apartment was spotless, bedroom, bathroom (with bath), lounge and kitchen area with fridge. Make sure to keep the door closed over as there are ants and mosquitos, we sprayed our rooms each night before going out just to make sure.
The beds were the comfiest we have ever had in any hotel. The apartment faced onto our shared swimming pool, with the most uncomfortable sun beds. There weren;t enough beds or canopies around the pool so we spent most days at the larger main pool where there was a bar that usually had only one member of staff on so the queues were often really long.
The entertainment team worked hard to keep everyone entertained during the day but the music was a bit loud if you sat at the bottom end of the pool. Again, you had to get there early to get a sunbed and canopy.
We thought the food was excellent and never had the same food twice. The themed nights were good, mexican, chinese being our favourite. Food is available all day at pool bar.
Cant comment on chicken shack and pizza place as we didnt us either.
There is a tavern that we used a couple of nights but left early as the music was really loud and one member of staff on the bar so the queue was really long. Most nights we used the Dome for entertainment but again the bar was disappointing with long queues.
The entertainment team worked really hard and all the kids seemed to have a ball and the variety was very good.
The only downfall would be that there is nowhere to sit and have a nice quiet drink at night and the staff are run off their feet.
The complex is about 20 minutes walk from the main shopping and beach area.
I would recommend this place and would go back again.

Room Tip: Would ask for a room with a balcony as the bottoms ones arent very private
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel without looking at the reviews, and I'm glad I didn't take note of the bad ones (guess you can't please everyone)

I went with my wife and two daughters aged 4 and 8 and also the in-laws. We arrived in the evening around 8.45. The receptionist was very welcoming and said that we could leave our bags and head straight for dinner, we declined the offer as the kids were tired, so she sent someone to bring 6 meal bags up to us, which I thought was lovely.

My first thoughts of the apartments were that they were a little dated and small, but hey, you don't go on holiday to sit inside. Even though we were all inclusive, the apartments had a kitchen area with a fridge, which was handy. All I will say is that if your going with kids, book a 2 bedroom apartment as the pull out sofa bed is naff. We ended up pushing the two single beds together and all sleeping in one room. The apartments also come with air conditioning which is free to use and to hire a safe key it's €20, €5 of which is refunded.

The resort has a number of small pools dotted about and a main pool. We prefer the beach but did spend the odd afternoon around the main pool. Two negatives I noticed. 1. The music that is played can be quite loud at times. 2. The pool bar gets quite busy with long queues and for some reason they never put more than one member of staff on. Other than this it's a nice, large pool that wasn't overly busy (a tad cold though).

Breakfast is pretty much the same every morning. A buffet of hot items or the choice of cereals, toast etc. Lunch is varied and I can't recall seeing the same thing twice throughout the week. Dinner is themed and differs every night (the Chinese night was my favorite) Like any buffet, it can get a little crowded at times, but we never experienced an overly busy meal time. The staff work tirelessly to clean tables once people have gone and you never see them stood about. We discovered the trick was to go early to meal, you avoid queuing into the hall this way.

I can't comment on the pizza restaurant or the chicken shack as we didn't book into them.

We visited the tavern one evening and found that the queue for drinks got so long it went out the door (again only one staff member). It's a fairly small pub, with loud music. Wasn't really for us. We also visited the dome one night. They had an animal show on for the kids which wasn't too bad however we only found out by chance as the entertainment doesn't seem to be advertised anywhere.

All in all we had a brilliant week, I could have easily stayed for another. You have to consider that when we booked, this was one of the cheapest we found, so for the money it was excellent.

Just a couple of recommendations to finish.

If you want to eat out, try Roca Mar on the front, you can find their location on this site.

For diving I recommend Cala Blanca Dive Centre, fantastic set of lads that run it. They arnt on this site, but you can google them.

If you like to spend a bit of cash on shoes, bags or jewelry check out Fund Grube, there's 2 located in Playa Blanca.

Again, a fantastic week, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews