We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location the rooms need some maintenance, overall a really nice family holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THB Tropical Island
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I travelled with my 3 children in Jan 2013. I felt very safe both in and out of the hotel. There are many pools and the grounds are kept spotless. The staff work hard to keep it clean. There are many many cats around the place!

I worried the food would be bad reading the reviews but it was wonderful lots of variety and lots of fresh fruit. We didn't feel the need to eat elsewhere and I am fussy when it comes to food. We dined in the tapas resturant in the hotel which was a nice change, we booked for pizza on another night but cancelled and went to the main food hall and it was Chinese! It was delicious. I ate a different type of fish every day, you could never go hungry, there are snacks in between meals - chips, jacket potatoe, hot dogs, selection of bread rolls and fillings. But with the all inclusive food in the main dining hall being so yummy there is no space for snacks!

The hotel has a free bus to the beach which we waited for but it did not turn up so we paid for a taxi. We only did this once as we found that it was in walking distance and a nice quiet walk. The supermarket on the way to the beach is cheaper for some items than the hotels. The beach is BEAUTIFUL, with shops and restaurants all around it. Lots and lots to do for all ages. We sat on the beach in January it was boiling on this particular day.

My only complaint would be that the rooms need a little maintenance mainly the bathroom, there was mold around the bath, the chain on the plug was rusty and there was also an area of rust in the bath. All very inexpensive to fix! A few staff members were not as friendly as you'd like but most were fantastic. Oh and the day the sheets were changed they were cleaner on my bed BEFORE!

I had a lovely facial and my daughter had a full body massage which we both loved in the hotel spa. I was allowed to take part in the aerobics for free the instructor was brilliant, she gave instructions in English for me and Spainish for everyone else, I did not feel uncomfortable. The gym was a little dated, but workable.

We loved the area and would go back, maybe even to this hotel if the bathrooms are looked at.

We hired segways and had a tour of the island, it was amazing.

Don't be put off by other reviews!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mojo123abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,990 - 1,996 of 3,052 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

we stayed here over new year on an all inclusive basis. The apartmens were very nice, equipt with kettle, mircrowave etc. All the apartments look out over one of the many pools. Very nice gardens and very clean. The food was reasonably good, the New Years Eve gala dinner was disappointing, nothing special. The entertainement in the dome was ok but the queues for drinks were ridiculous. There was a separate bar (the village tavern which again had massive queues. poor barman having to cope with collecting glasses and serving drink. The pool bar was better and did a variety of cocktails through the day. The pools were absolutely freezing so needless to say, there wasnt many in swimming. All in all a very nice hotel in a nice area. Lack of staff let it down.

Room Tip: We were in room 423 and it didnt get the sun on the balcony at any time of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

not good spent christmas and new year and worst hotel stayed in ever .but a lovely area by beach and popagayo centre, visit ice house lovely freindly, good food and drink great prices,but avoid hotel by all means

Room Tip: catlanzer trip a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

the place was lovely and clean the staff where very friendly. I am a vegetarian and found a choice there although it catered more for meat eaters. You can put so much weight on in a week . Also the drinks are great I am so glad I went fully inclusive as it does save in the long run. Moreover they have so many swimming pools you could practically have one to yourself. One annoying thing was on arrival you have to find your apartment yourself and it took too long however I would still go back.If you have kids they have a lot for them to do I noticed this the staff where always busy and nothing was too much trouble for them. Overall I was pleased with the location it was a short walking distance from the bay which had a lovely sandy small beach.I wasn't disappointed spending Christmas there in fact I would do it all again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Beggars can't be choosers, as a last minute booking we didn't have much choice as to location on dates we had - but the info on OnTheBeach.co.uk led us to believe it was a good choice with lots of activities for the kids. How wrong were we! Originally saw the hotel on thomas cook, but chose OTB as £600 cheaper for us all.
Neither of the sites advise that in fact, at this time of year - at an all year round holiday destination - half the resort is closed!
One bar opening on an evening (which is a little scruffy to say the least, but does show football on TV every night!); yes there is a tapas restaurant and a pizza restaurant - but monday, wednesday, friday is pizza night - tuesday, thursday & sunday is tapas - saturday they are both closed! but you can go to each of them - once! as long as you book (we arrived thursday and could only get in to pizza on wednesday & tapas on tuesday! - fully booked - perhaps something to do with the buffet!!)); there are two entertainment "domes" on site, but only one was open - mini disco for kids (average age of 3! so not "entertaining" for 10 and 15 year olds); after that bingo and adult drinking games!
Kids club closed half way through our week - but as we weren't thomas cook customers, my son wasn't allowed to join!
NOT a ten minute walk from the beach - more like half hour to an hour (depending on which beach you went to!) No free bus at this time of year. (taxis were very cheap though).
all facilities are there (air con, lovely shower) but beds very uncomfy (only two singles not a doulble)
Food barely edible - very repetitive - not good for kids to eat unless they like salad as that was plentiful - and chips!
Reminded me of Butlins 20 years ago - decor of apartments is a little outdated - but expected as saw photos.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank cathryn716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed all-inclusive at the Sun Island in October 2012, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our party of 2 adults and 2 10-year-olds found it to be clean, well looked after and ideal for our needs.

The hotel is split into two sections - the Tropical (which seemed mostly British) and the Island (which was mostly Spanish) We were actually in the Island section, but this was absolutely no problem.

The grounds are very spread out and the buildings low-rise - mo major stairs to contend with.

There are loads of pools including a large fun pool, one laned for more serious swimming (!), several smaller pools around the complex, kids paddling pools and a few jacuzzis dotted about.

There are buffet restaurants which can get rather frantic - particularly during the breakfast rush - and pool snacks are also available at lunchtime.

The food was what you might expect from an all-inclusive buffet - acceptable but not outstanding. There is the usual range of salad foods, pasta, rice
fried breakfast, burgers, hot dogs, stews and meat dishes. While it can get a bit samey, we all found something acceptable at every meal.

The bar service was pretty good too - the local beer served in pint glasses was well received!

The poolside enertainment team worked pretty hard and put up a decent range of activities during the day (admittedly a bit cliquey with the more regular joiners-in winning most of the discretionary competitions - but fair enough). The evening entertainment was pretty decent too - if a bit cheesy - kids disco, quizzes and bingo being the staples with a different feature event each night.

The town, Playa Blanca, is about 15 minutes walk away and has the usual range of tourist shops, bars and restaurants.

Overall, very happy with our holiday and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After booking we didn't know what to expect having read various reviews, however we were very surprised when we arrived, reception was very helpful, we arrive early so the room wasn't ready I think we should have been checking in at 14.00 but we arrived at 12:00, we were given our all inclusive bands a luggage room key so we could go get some lunch, like i said we shouldn't have been having a meal until after 14:00 so that was good of them, we went back to check if room was rewady at 13:30 which it was, we had requsted a pool view upper floor again which they had provided, almost all rooms have a pool view as there were 18 pools dotted around one main pool where day activites took place for both children and adults,another main pool which was set up for lanes so there wasn't any children around this pool you could sun bathe around this one to but wasn't able to just have a dip as there were people using the lanes, the room had self cater facilites in it but as we were allinclusive we didnt need to use but if you fancy a cuppa in the room you could do so, (coffee/sugar etc you will have to provide) as for the other pools around there were smaller and also some jucuzzis around site, the rooms were very clean and maids came every other day or so, the all inclusive included all locally made alcoholic drinks and a joice of soft drinks such as pepsi etc, the breakfast was spanish traditional bacon (not like british) sausage beans toast bread,, cereal, you would be able to have an enjoyable brekkie, server from 07:15 - 10:15 on the dot, dinner was then served from 12 - 15, evening meal from 18 - 21:30, also between 12-16 we were able to get snacks such as burgers hot dogs chicken nuggets chips salad from a bar area on site, there was an evening entertainment centre there opened at 20:00 until 20.45 for children then adults entertainment until mid night, the entertainment was pritty basic carried out by the reps but we had a laugh, also there was a place there designed to be like a pub,we spent more time there rather than watching the entertainment, the grounds were kept spotless all in all it was very good value for money, the only down point was that the location was about a 15 minute walk from the sea front so if you are going to stroll the front bare in mind its 15 min down and 15 min back a taxi was about 3 euros each way,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.1 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.3 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,022 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#10 of 37 in Playa Blanca
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Tropical Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Tropical Island

Address: Fragata 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $62 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Tropical Island 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Tropical Island is a spectacular resort of 102,000 m2 located in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. Designed especially for families and groups of friends, it has everything you need so you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday within resort itself and just steps away from your apartment. In Hotel THB Tropical Island everyday fun is guaranteed. Our guests can enjoy 14 swimming pools, sports facilities, bars, theme restaurants and plenty of activities both for adults and children in the hands of our entertainment team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your THB Tropical Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tropical Playa Blanca
Sun Tropical Lanzarote
Holiday Village Sun Tropical Lanzarote
THB Tropical Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing