We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, great location....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, great location....”
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Stayed at the Yaiza Suite Hotel for 2 weeks from the 21st June 09 with husband and 4 year old son. Read loads of reviews before hand so was a little dubiuos before travelling. I needn't have been. The hotel is lovely.
We had a 1 bedroom suite so had seperate bedroom and our son slept in the living area. The bedroom was large woth lots of wardrobe space and the bed was huge. Bathroom again large with seperate bath and shower. Rooms were spotless and cleaned daily. There was also a turndown service each night and my son was delighted he had a chocolate left on his pillow each night! Balcony was large enough with 2 reclining chairs and small table, very private the way it is laid out so no one overlooking you. We had a fridge (minibar) but we just bought our own drinks for in the room as they were a little pricey in the hotel. You do not get any knives, forks, spoons, plates etc. Just a few wine glasses. We had no intention of cooking but it would have been nice to make our son a sandwich occasionally. Having said this, I'm sure if we had asked they would have provided them for us.
We stayed B&B and the breakfasts were fantastic. 3 restaurants to choose from, all serve the same just different settings. The outdoor one was best for breakfast we felt. You had plenty of choice and if you cant find something you like from here then there is no pleasing you! If on B&B you could pay for one of the buffet restaurants in the evening. It is 38Euro each for adults and 18 for kids.(drinks extra) We thought this was rather pricey and would no way eat that much, so we didnt bother. We did however eat at the Don Giovani Italian restaurant, about 4 times and it was lovely. Again more expensive than the restuarants in resort but well worth it.
Pool areas are great plenty of beds, so not sure why people needed to put towels down every day!!! Free towel service too, clean towels every day if you wish. Not much more to say.
When you arrive have a good walk around all the hotel to find your feet as it is quite large, we didnt find the underground tunnel to D block accross the road until our last week!
Lots for kids to do, kikoland has areas for all age of kids and clubs if they want to stay. Ours didnt but we could go with him and still use all the facilities. Pools there too. Disco and shows every night ranging from snake shows to performances from the team.
The location of the hotel is great, right on the beach which is lovely, again very clean and safe for kids, water sports for older kids and adults too. About 10 mins walk either way takes you to all restaurants and shops etc. The Rubicon Marina to the left is lovely with some higher end restaurants, but it was very quiet when we went. Much busier the other way towards the other harbour.The usual restaurants, spanish, italian,chinese all pretty much the same. Paying on average for 3 of us with bottle of wine between 40-80 euros, hotel slightly more than this!!
We went on the glass bottom boat from the harbour to the right, 15 euros for adults and 5 for kids. Takes you to Papagayo beach and if you want to get off and spend a few hours there you can and they will pick you up later. Then stops off at Rubicon Marina. Dont expect to see many fish though! Well worth it though, compared to the trips available through sovereign, boat trip around 50 euros each for adults!!
We also had a car for 2 days. Went to the water park in costa teguise, which was ok, but needs a face lift, re paint etc and the floor was terrible on your feet. Also went to papagayo beach for the day and would certainly recommend this. Lots of little rock pools for the little ones to explore and very relaxed. One of our best days.
Weather was great a constant 30 or so degrees. A few evening the wind really picked up and so was a few degrees cooler, but generally was great.
The Yaiza is expensive but we would def go back, so clean, the staff are all very efficient and the location is spot on. A lot of people had returned this year but booked direct with the hotel and made huge savings.
Would certainly recommend to families with young children, and we will def be going back at some point.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiggerOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,655
    814
    254
    79
    43
See reviews for
1,657
1,607
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We holidayed here from 28-6-09 to 5-7-09 and our only regret was that we didn't book for 2 weeks. The hotel is fantastic, we had a 1 bedroom suite which was extremely spacious for a family of 4. The rooms are equipped with a microwave and fridge which are ideal when travelling with young children. Everything is spotlessly clean, as you should expect from a 5* hotel, the highchairs in the restaurants were always clean. It was my birthday while we were away and the hotel surprised us with a birthday cake in the room, completely unprompted - which was a lovely gesture!

The food at breakfast was superb, the staff are very friendly and clearly love children. The children's club areas were very clean and safe, we went to a couple of the evening shows, however can't rate the daytime activity as my children were keen to be in the pool or on the beach. We used the large freshwater pool and found that to be absolutely perfect temperature in the July heat, warm enough to spend hours in splashing about with the children. I've certainly been in much cooler heated indoor pools in the UK.

The hotel is right on a beautiful beach, lovely warm, clear water. Between the hotel and the beach is a coastal path with goes to the Playa Blanca town in one direction (beachball shops / cheap restaurants and to the Rubicon Marina inthe other direction, both within a 10 minute walk, making a lovely stroll before dinner, ideal for pushchairs. More expensive bars and restaurants in the Marina, Le Casa Roja is recommended.

At the hotel we ate at the Don Giovanni and the Tapas restaurants situated in the PY Plaza, a courtyard between the pools and the beach - lovely informal al fresco dining, and also the Tepanyaki restaurant in the hotel - expensive but excellent, well worth a try!

The hotel spa was superb, we enjoyed the Bio Marine experience - saltwater pool so dens you float with bubble beds and lots of jets etc.

We would certainly recommend to friends who want a luxury holiday that is child friendly and less than a 4 hour flight away. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayCeeWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brdilington, East Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2009

An exceptional hotel, on arriving you are made to feel that you are their most important guests, at reception you are greeted with a glass of champagne, then a porter takes you to your room. The hotel is styled in an North African theme, with beautiful dark wood furnishings dotted around the public areas. the public areas are airy and spottless.The hotel is in a double U shape with a vast 4 storey atrium full of tropical plants, flowing streams and hidden seating areasin the centre of the U shape. The corridors which the rooms lead off are open planned at the end showing stunning views of the sea and Los Lobos island, this also enables the constant breeze to flow along the full length, this also adds to the feeling of being outside even though you are inside. With each room's bedroom window opening out onto the corridor, through individually styled shutters. The access to rooms is gain along suspended walkways that run the full length of the corridors, with small branches off to each room.
We had a free upgrade to a suite, I was some what disappointed as the over grown palm trees did impede the view from the balcony, but did make it more private. The suite has a full sized fridge, sink, microwave and mini bar all discreetley hidden by cupboard doors. The bathroom was stunning with a large walk in shower, a bath with shower, double sinks, hairdryer and a separete enclosed wc. etc Bathrobes are laid waiting for you to use along with complimentary slippers! The bedroom was vast with a television and a safe, although as the windows opened out onto the main corridor it was a little dark. The sitting room area was well laid out with television, sofas and table and chairs.
We only used the hotel restaurants for breakfast, as we ate out at the nearby marina on most evenings, but the choice was very wide the only breakfast item my husband and I could think that wasn't there was porridge! From smoked salmon and champagne to more standard cereal and fruit juice they had it all. The serving staff had perfect timing as did the bar staff, the bars in the hotel were once again of a very high standard. The only negatives I could say about the hotel is one evening we stayed in to watch the entertainment and it was of a very poor standard. We also asked to move rooms as a family with very young children moved in above us. The rooms have tiled floors,so when the children got up at 6am and began to play with their toy cars it was somwhat annoying, since our daughter was at home with grandparents. The pools and surrounding areas, for which the hotel is known for did not disappoint either. I did not use the spa facilities but they looked lovely and the shopping areas in th hotel although a little expensive were imaculate. Location wise the hotel is perfect right on the sea front leading down onto the walkway which leads all the way from one end of Playa Blanca to the marina and beyond, very wheel chair and pushchair friendly. The resort itself is full of restaurants of varying standards, and ferries to neighbouring islands.There is an annex for families, which is on the other side of the road! Access is via the under ground walkway, although it was stunning walkway with large fish tanks set into the walls, it did feel like a totally different lower grade hotel. I therefore would not recommend this hotel for families with children older than about 3 years of age, but would whole heartedly recommend it for couples wanting a quiet romantic holiday or honeymoon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skye_theboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Just returned from 2 weeks here with our 1 yr old and had a great time. A few negatives to start though:-

Pools - As per previous comments they are very cold, far too cold to enjoy. The weather was hot but hardly anybody was using them apart from a few brave kids!

Food - Over priced and sub standard in some of the restaurants. Exchange rate doesn't help however it cost 100 euro's for 2 of us to eat in the buffet restaurant (this included a drink each). The italian was ok but the quality of food wasn't what you'd expect for the money/price/surroundings. Pool side place was also quite poor value for money (12 euros for a suspiciously pink chicken burger!).

Check out - Scheduled for 12pm, we asked to keep the room on for an hour due to our pick up time to deal with our baby etc. Reception claimed the hotel was full and said no - we eventually compromised at 12:30pm but felt a bit disappointed we had to work for it. We then arrived at the airport to find one of our cases missing -the porter at the hotel hadnt put it on the coach despite having tickets and ref numbers for each case!

Positives:-

Hotel - Nice decor, well laid out. Pool area was great, plenty of space, free towels etc.

Location - Perfect, right on the beach, Marina Rubicon 10 mins walk to the left, Playa Blanca 10 mins to the right both with plenty of shops and decent restaurants.

Service - Apart from above majority was excellent, all very friendly from waiters to cleaners. Extremely good with babies/young children, made an absolute fuss of our daughter wherever we went who loved the attention - this made meal times much more relaxing for us as she was happy! This was also the case outside of the hotel with waiters making a real genuine effort.

Food - Breakfast was great, lots of choice. Isla de Lobos was very nice, great setting, the Japanese Teppanyaki was also lovely.

Rooms - Stayed in a sea view suite, amazing amount of space compared to other more expensive places we've stayed. Small kitchen area with fridge & microwave was ideal for bottles & baby food.

Baby pool - Ideal for the little one's to play safely, not too cold!

Child friendly - Indoor play area was only open at specific times but was great for 0 - 6 yr olds (sectioned off area for toddlers was perfect). We didn't get across to kikoland but from what other guest said it was excellent. Lot's of other people 'in the same boat' which always helps. I can't speak for guests without kids however the hotel appears to segregate people/areas quite well and the noise levels didn't seem bad at all.

Overall this hotel is absolutely perfect for families (especially for people taking babies/infants away for the first time) who want somewhere fairly quiet and a bit more upmarket than the norm. You basically get what you pay for so if you're after high end, pure luxury where the pool staff clean your sunglasses for you then pay twice as much and go somewhere more exotic!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnie002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

This was our second stay at the Princessa Yaisa it is an excellent hotel with wonderful facilities. The choice of food is very good in the buffet resturants and as a treat you should try isla del lobos (A la Carte Great views wonderful food) and the tempanyaki Japaneese (great expierence if a little over priced). The staff were very nice and management keep a very close eye on the running of this very good hotel.The rooms are very nice we stayed in a suite however you should pay for a sea view as some rooms have no view at all. The piano bar is very relaxed and the down stairs bar is the perfect spot for pearents with young children. the pool area is very nice and piazzia area below the pool has a jazz bar, night club ,shopping and a great italian restaurant as well as a most welcome ice cream parlour. The best thing about is its location close to the beach and half way between the family friendly town of Playa Blanca and the Marina. We loved our stay and will return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kildareman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed here for only 2 nights after the villa we were staying in was burgled. We were only 3 days into our holiday and decided to fly home early after the burglery. We couldn't stay at the villa so checked into hte Princesa Yaiza for 2 nights. They were simply wonderful to us, upgraded us to a suite free.

The room was perfect, the bed in the master bedroom was enormous! They made up the sofa bed in the living room for our 3 year old, we had a gorgeous balcony overlooking the pool. There were numerous restaurants, we had half board so ate in the buffet ones. The choice of food was vast and delicious.

The staff were just lovely. The kids club was great, our 3 year old loved. Having shied away from kids clubs, we were surprised just how wonderful it was.

A great 2 days after a horrible start to the holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Tyne & Wear, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We were a family of 4 adults who stayed in this hotel for a week on 20th April.

I cannot believe the criticism of one reviewer of this hotel and staff because this was not the case in our view.

Yes you may find a more luxurious 5* hotel in Las Vegas, Dubai, or the carribean.

We can compare with Spain, Cyprus, Portugal and other Canary locations and this is up with the best. As far as the staff goes we found them to be extremely friendly and helpful.

My husband and I decided to use the gym one morning and were not charged to use it.

We found the restaurants and the breakfasts extremely good value and could not fault it.

I would like to say that we all had a extremely enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel and would definitely return hopefully next year.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa2007_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,796 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
7.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort

Property: Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Address: Avda. Papagayo, 22, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the colonial canaries style, with its traditional, picturesque balconies, and exotic interior tropical, excellent facilities and faultless service, Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort is a welcoming, five-star luxury hotel, conceived to satisfy the most demanding customer by making their stay a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Yaiza Hotel Playa Blanca
Princess Yaiza Lanzarote
Hotel Princesa Yaiza Suite
Princess Yaiza Hotel Lanzarote
Princesa Yaiza Lanzarote
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing