We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“didnt think it could get better but it did”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“didnt think it could get better but it did”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

when we stayed here last year we were amazed at the customer service and the actual hotel. this year we returned for two weeks and on arrival we recieved an immediate room upgrade and an invitatation to have a daily gourmet breakfast . obviously we took both these offers up. the room bacame a suite . lots of space impeccably clean. the gourmet breakfast was an experience not to be missed. silver service , incredible dishes all served with gracious panache by staff who were superb. i might add both upgrades were free. overall once again the pool area was great and comfortable . this hotel is advertised as 5 star , it charges 5 star prices but most importantly is 5 star.this is from start to finish with no deviation. i would highly recomend this hotel. also i am disabled and the facility and the resort is very disabled friendly.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but try to obtain an upgrade if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davantonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,493
    764
    239
    76
    39
See reviews for
1,523
1,528
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location, right across a small promenade from beach and just a lovely walk away from all restaurants, cafes and shops. Hotel gorgeous, our room was massive and luxurious with a lovely view and food was fantastic. All staff lovely and a great family hotel. Will go back.

Room Tip: ask for sea view, the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SUSAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The welcome on our arrival was very pleasant, the greeting staff were very friendly, informative and polite.
A large hotel but never seemed over crowded. Our room/suite was huge in comparison to the normal Canarian 4/5 star hotel and had everything you could possibly need on your hols. From the large terrace balcony I could see the ocean and the pool area but was shielded enough not to be overlooked. The access to the front/promenade was fab, no taxis required if you were staying local in Playa Blanca.
Breakfast time can be a bit like Tescos on a Friday but the a la carte restaurant overlooking the sea offers table served breakfast for an extra 3 euros per day per person, take it from day one!! you won't look back, also very nice in the evening, a bit dearer than the local restaurants.
The only whinge I had was that the heated pool wasn't heated enough, I did mention it but without any success in getting it warmer, the cold pool is for heroes & hangovers only!
The night club at the hotel, hidden down by the promenade entrance, was refreshingly comfortable, not too pricey and the entertainment (band etc) was of a higher standard than I've experienced in similar hotels and there were other people in there! worth a look, not many other nice places stay open until two..ish local to the hotel.
My overall opinion is there's no re-invention of the wheel here but I would definitely return, we had a lovely holiday from the moment we arrived. There's always going to be a better place to be but in the Canaries this hotel is up there with the best of them. ps I'm pretty fussy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Duncman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We always get a little anxious visiting somewhere new, when our needs are so specific; we travel with two young children and my husband who is now confined to a wheelchair, so just getting an accessible room that can sleep all of us is a quest in itself. This hotel ticked all the boxes, after being greated with a glass of cava (orange juice for kids) on arrival, check in was really quick and we went up to the room. The room was huge with a separate bedroom, a living and dining area, balcony and huge wheel-in-shower. The sofa beds were already made up for the kids. House keeping were great they cleaned/turned down the room daily.

The buffet dinner was another surprise, the variety and quality was superb, better than some of 5* buffets we have been to including RIU. The wine menus were also great. We tried a couple of the al-a-carte restaurants they were good too.

The pools are lovely and we always managed to find a sunbed but we did find it frustrating with the amount of guests reserving sun beds the whole day and we would never really see them by the pool at all, and some groups would virtually barricade the pool with sun beds in desperation to be so close to the water, so kids had to walk all the way around just to get into the pool! Thankfully we discovered the family suites pool on the other side of the hotel accessed through a tunnel, which had large fish tanks along the way which the kids loved, this pool was also warmer.

The beach was lovely, although very crowded when we visited, the beds on the beach are 3euros each.

The activities for children were great lots of things to do they were never bored. We had a lovely night in the lunar cocktail/music bar (adults only) too.
All in all there isn't anything I can fault with the hotel if there is one negative I would say it's the lack of air con in the restaurants as I think other reviewers have mentioned previously. it's not often we say we will definitely go back but this time we will!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nicky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort in August 2013 for 1 week.
We booked it very last minute so probably didn't get a great deal but it was peak summer so it was expected. We stayed for 7 nights but wish we had of booked for 14 as the kids loved it so much none of them (including us!!) wanted to leave. We are a family of 5 with 3 children of various ages (2yrs, 7 & 14) so it was important we found a hotel that had something to offer all ages.
We have stayed in some of the best hotels & resorts around the world and have to say without a question of a doubt this far exceeded our expectations!! my other half always finds something to have a little gripe about but even on this trip NOTHING hoorah!!!

After a long hot journey we pulled up to the hotel (do not book transfers through the internet pay the extra and get an a/c private taxi we sat waiting for an hour in a hot airport waiting for the rest of the transfer party to arrive so not good especially with 3 kids!!...so lesson learned.

Thankfully upon pulling up to the grand entrance of the hotel we were greeted by some friendly faces and a bell boy who immediately took our bags off us and another member of staff who whisked us through the cool hotel lobby to a comfortable chair at reception to check in with a cold glass of champagne for us and a fresh juice for the kids!

we checked in which was painless, informative and very friendly.

we had booked 2 junior suites but in hindsight as we had never stayed before these were far too big for our family as the junior suites have a large kingsize bed upstairs as well as downstairs but i think its a room occupancy thing that you cant let a family of 5 share 1 even though our 2yr old was in a baby cot still...that was perhaps our only small gripe but the rules are the rules!

do not look to stay in the family D Block rooms as we found these too out of the way but perhaps handy if you have smaller children and just want to sit around the same pool everyday.

we loved the main pool as there is also a small baby pool just off this with a hot tub which all kids loved!!

There were pools everywhere you will find one that suits your needs no problem!!

I loved the waiter bell/button on the sunbeds too great for feeling spoilt!!!

The fabulous "kikoland" was just out of the main entrance to the hotel and turn right - ALL kids of all ages can attend from morning until lat afternoon / evening and there really is something for everyone even moody grumpy teenagers !!!
There is also a fabulous Kiko park ball park in the hotel on the 2nd level where the restaurants are which is great to use in the evenings after dinner as its open until 11pm and you can drop them in there supervised!!

Thats if you can steer yourself away from the nightly entertainment which really was fantastic all our kids loved it and a show or music for all tastes you will not be disappointed!!

The restaurants - ALL of which are amazing we treated the family to the Japanese restaurant one evening which went down a treat the staff were amazing (gents you will need long trousers for this one!).

The music in the main bar was great as our 2yr old skipped around the dancefloor all evening whilst we sat enjoyed a drink, everything and every detail has been carefully thought about at the Yaiza its simply perfect for families!!

ALL of the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble they would go out of their way to help you with anything and they were always smiling you could tell its a nice place to work the staff at kikoland/animation team deserve medals the way they constantly keep going and entertain even round the pool they manage to get people involved and join in.

we made some great friends ALL of whom are repeat stayers!!...one family are on their 4th year in a row trip its really that good!

i have to say we now need to search no longer for the perfect family holiday as we will be coming back here year after year without a doubt...so much so we have just booked for next summer and may even come for a week over xmas if we can!!

Don't delay book today!!

The Barkers :)

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are great and on reception level so very handy for shops etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loopylousbarking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Point, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Pincesa Yaiza in May as a couple and decided to return in August 2013 with our two boys ages 10 and 11. Both of our stays were excellent but of course very different with the boys along. We were a bit concerned about staying during the school holidays but we found the property could easily accommodate the larger number of guests including a lot more kids. Our boys spent two days in Kikoland and really enjoyed their time there which gave us adults a bit of guilt free time to ourselves.

The staff were always friendly and helpful and all spoke enough English to accommodate anything we asked.

Upon arrival we were given a glass of champagne while the boys got fresh orange juice which they thought was great! Our room was close to the ocean overlooking the beach and the courtyard where several of the hotels al-la-cart restaurants are located. Each afternoon and evening they had a musician playing or singing in the courtyard and we could enjoy the music from our balcony (probably 25% of the rooms at the hotel would have this vantage).

Family breakfast was an option, we avoided the Hacienda buffet as we felt the other restaurant across the hall from it was a bit nicer despite not overlooking the pool. The food in both breakfast buffets was the same and both have very good service. If you don't have children, I would recommend Los Lobos for breakfast as it is to a much higher standard and the view from the restaurant is overlooking the ocean.

We only had the B&B option so we ventured out for dinner each night. There are lots of restaurants along the boardwalk to the right of the hotel as you exit the property toward the beach. The best dinner we found though was a Chinese buffet called Royal Wok which is out the front of the Yaiza hotel to the right down the main road toward the centre of Playa Blanca. The Royal Wok is across from the church. The buffet food was very fresh and tasty and they also have an option to choose raw meat and veg from a refrigerated area and they would cook it for you right on the spot and bring it to your table. There was also an impressive dessert bar. Cost for a family of 4 including beer for the adults and soda for the boys was just over 40 euro, the least expensive dinner we had and one of the best. We went there twice.

There is a lot written about securing a lounge chair by the pool. It is unfortunate but around 7 am we would sit on our balcony and watch a parade of men in shorts and loafers (no socks) laying out towels to reserve loungers by the pool. By 9 am when the pool officially opened, 50% of the loungers had towels on them and there was almost no one at the pool. The official policy of the hotel is if there are no free loungers, they will put a notice on loungers that appear to be unused, if no one returns within 30 minutes, the towel on the lounger will be removed and the spot made available to guests. On days we wanted to spend at the pool, we would put towels out on our way to breakfast around 9 am then eat and head to the pool between 9:30 and 10am. I hated having to do that but it was the only way we could ensure four loungers together and an umbrella.

We preferred to stay by the salt water pool because it was closer to the beach and less crowded. Our boys were old enough to be able to walk to either pool to swim in....they didn't really like the salt water pool. Staying by the fresh water pool does provide a bit more of a wind block which can be nice if the wind it strong off the ocean in the afternoon.

The beach has loungers and umbrellas that you can rent from the city of Playa Blanca just below the hotel property. The hotel does not provide loungers on the beach but you can take your pool towels to the beach. I suggest arriving at the beach by 10:30am during the summer months to ensure you can hire beach loungers together in a good location near the water.

Our room had plenty of space and so many toiletries and nice touches I couldn't possibly remember them all. Housekeepers came in the late morning to make up the room each day and every evening a housekeeper would provide a turn down service and leave a lovely chocolate on each of our pillows. Internet wifi was good enough and the AC in the room kept us cool from the heat of the day.

We loved this property and will for sure stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with higher numbers are closer to the beach. Because the hotel is terraced, you enter on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank UKWill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed with my wife and 4-y-o and another family for a weeks B&B on the 9th July.
All in we all had a great holiday. This is the best large, family friendly luxury hotel I have stayed at. Virtually all of the staff were unquestionably friendly, courteous and helpful. The fact that we had a small child didn't mean we felt like we had to compromise and the facilities for children (largely why we chose this hotel) were suberb (see later). I would however suggest that if you are looking to travel in school holidays and want to avoid children then this is probaly not for you.
The check-in was the most civilised experience after a long days travel. No waiting and immediately seated with a drink offered.
(I aslo need to premise this review with the fact that we got a really good deal; after researching the hotel and shopping around so maybe we had slightly diferent expectations than others.)
So the room; as part of our deal we were upgaded to a suite. It was a great space with a large living room with two sofa beds, a large balcony and a big bathromm with walk-in shower, bath and double sinks as well a lrge fridge and kettle. However it was one iof the rooms that I had read people complain about (infact very similar to the previous reviewer) overlooked by one of the protected palm trees blocking out most of the sun, next to the walkway leading to Kikoland. Now we are not particular sun worshipers and plan to spend little time in the room so it did't rally bother us. The view was certainly non-existent and If I had paid top dollar I think I would have asked to move however I half expected what we got due to the deal and we were still happy sitting out there before and after dinner etc. We did however suffer severley (esp my son who was eaten alive) with mosquito bites so maybe this was worse in our area of the hotel. We did not suffer with any discernable noise from other rooms.
And yes there is an exorbitant price to pay if you want your tea and coffee topped up in the room so just take some with you (my wife wouldn't allow me to!) or just buy some from the mini market opposite the hotel's main entrance) which was also great for topping up on soft drinks, snacks and the odd bottle of beer and wine! Also in response to an earlier review on a number of occassions I took glasses back to the room and I even asked for empty ones to be filled with ice (by the evning bar and the pool bar) which was always done happily and with no charge.
As metioned we stayed B&B; I beleive the standard half board tarif was 35euro per adult & 25euro for children; 95euro per family without drinks and this was only for the three buffet restaurants. We like eating out on holiday and there is a wide choice and variety of restaurants (most which cater for families) on offer in Playa Blanca (marina 10 mins walk to the left for beautiful vistas and less mainstream offers and a plethora of decent places on the right following the main promenade right down to the port* check out my restaurant reviews). I don't think we paid more than 95euros between the two families including drinks anywhere in Playa Blanca.
KikoLand is great for children of all ages with a football school for the older ones. Our boys weren't that fussed but they loved the indoor 'softplay' which was also supervised for three 2 hour sessions throughout the day so we still mamnged some chill time. They also loved the kids disco which was also on at 8pm (i think) in the main auditorium every night.
The pools are great (really comfy loungers) with lots of shade and well kep surroundings and yes we did have to play the sun bed game but the hotel were leaving notes on beds if they were unattended. I don't think this would be hard to stamp out by just stating the 'no reserving' policy at check-in and then enforing it by following-up on the threat to remove towels etc from unattended beds. However if you can't beat 'em join em and we had a group of beds together by the top pool every day. The top pool was heated (variably) throughout our stay and was beautiful. This was quite busy with lots of children playing (maily nicely!) with balls and inflatibles etc. The lower salt water pool was a lot cooler and quieter. There was another pool by the family block (D) which we saw but didn't spend any time by. There was however an underground walkway that linked D block to the main hotel and this was great as this was lined with numerous aquariums which the kids loved.
This is a decent standard hotel so yes the drinks prices were quite expensive but not outrageous; the beer and cocktails were fairly consistent with other places we ate certain things like wine and inported soft drinks could be got a lot cheaper elsewhere. The smoothies and non virgin cocktails at the pool bar were expensive but delicious.
The qualty of breakfast was the best I have had at any hotel. The small touches count and as well as the normal aray of cereals, pastries, fresh breads, fresh fruit, freshly cooked eggs and hot and cold meats and cheeses there was freshly sqeezed OJ, with Cava, soothies and a selection of Iberico meats which even at the cheapest local places would cost 15euro plus for a small plate. We ate in two of the three buffet breakfast restaurants and the food was the same excellent standard in both The mexican was beautiful with outside seating but there were birds but they didn't really bother us. I believe that adults can also have an a-la-carte breakfast in Los Lobos but I can't comment as we didn't go.
The only restaurant we ate at was the Japanese 'Teppanyaki' (for a charge the hotel also provides a baby sitting service carried out by trusted staff members) which was good fun if you like the chef to cook in front of you and rapidly fire bits of omelette in the rough direction of your mouth. We did! As with other Teppanyaki restaurants I've been to it's more about the experience than the food and it was a good night and the food was ok but not great.
We also did not use the beach although it looked lovely. The hotel really is ideally located within Playa Blanca and we absolutely loved Playa Blanca as a resort with stunning views at most locations and plenty to do and see without ever bordering on tacky or overrun.
All in all we had a great time (wish we'd had 10 days) and if we find another good deal we would definately return (already looking for next July) again on a B&B basis and would posssibly consider paying for a pool or sea view room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ITFC-BiG_SlicK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,460 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort

Property: Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Address: Avda. Papagayo, 22, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the colonial canaries style, with its traditional, picturesque balconies, and exotic interior tropical, excellent facilities and faultless service, Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort is a welcoming, five-star luxury hotel, conceived to satisfy the most demanding customer by making their stay a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Yaiza Hotel Playa Blanca
Princess Yaiza Lanzarote
Hotel Princesa Yaiza Suite
Princess Yaiza Hotel Lanzarote
Princesa Yaiza Lanzarote
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing