We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It was indeed lovely being met by a gentleman in traditional dress as our taxi pulled in and being ushered to a private desk for check-in. No standing in line. In true 5* fashion our luggage was whisked away and we were offered a glass of cava with which to relax whilst checking in. We stayed in a suite with a pool view on the third floor of Block C. The suite was ideally placed to catch the afternoon sun right through to sundown. The suite benefited from a little kitchen in the hallway with a full size cabinet fridge (as opposed to the usual minibar size) and a microwave that I imagine would be useful for heating baby food as no cutlery or crockery is provided. The hotel is trialling in-room tea and coffee making facilities which means there is a kettle, some cups and a starter kit of teabags, instant coffee and UHT cream. I think the cost to replenish the supply is €20. There is no freezer/ice making facility in the fridge so we had to request a delivery of ice from the bar. This was provided by room service and was charged at €3 (plus tip) on each occasion. I must say this is the first time I have ever been charged by a hotel for ice – 5* or otherwise. Beware - if you have ordered anything from room service be certain to listen at the door for the delivery otherwise the staff will just come right in. Obviously room service must be signed for so the member of staff delivering same must reach you, however, my Partner was changing at the time and was caught in quite a compromising situation.

The suite was a really good size with a fabulous balcony furnished with 2 steamer chairs and a small table - very comfortable. The public areas and reception are very grand and everything is well maintained.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. There are numerous restaurants in the hotel some of which are buffet style for guests on half board while the others are a la carte. Whilst we did not use the buffet restaurants I noticed from the weekly publication of restaurant opening times that not all of the buffet restaurants are open all of the time thereby cutting down choice. We ate at the Italian restaurant just beside the beach entrance to the hotel, La Piazzetta which served a very respectable pasta carbonara. There is an artist on most evenings providing entertainment and this was very pleasant. We also tried Kempai – the teppenyaki. The teppanyaki was fabulous with the chefs showing off their knife skills and entertaining the diners. The food was outstanding and at €120 for 2 prawn starters, 2 mains of fillet steak, a bottle of wine and a bottle of saki, great value for money and a great experience. Another must for adults is Bar 4 Lunas. This is a jazz bar that comes alive in the evening until 3am with nightly entertainment.

The lower level pool area is best for adults only groups as the pool is quite deep and cold. This seemed to deter the families with babies. With the breeze blowing in from the sea by day this pool area was the perfect place to relax. There are loungers in the shallows at the water’s edge and this just made it extra special. The sun loungers on the terrace are of a modern wicker design and very comfortable and the towels provided at the pool are quite luxurious. They are also a generous size.


Breakfast offered the usual 5* buffet fare. There was ample choice and the dishes were replenished regularly. Fresh salmon, omelettes made to order etc and the requisite cava. Again, what spoiled it for me was the children being left to roam in and around the buffet. It was quite chaotic at times and the parents put no effort into controlling their children. In Restaurant La Hacienda the windows are open out to the pool area which sounds ideal, however, the staff encourage birds by leaving bread out on a tray and as a result there are birds dive-bombing the tables and even pecking at the baked goods. I returned to my table on one occasion to find it covered in bird droppings! If it’s a peaceful breakfast you seek the place to enjoy this is an outside table at the buffet restaurant across the hall from La Hacienda. The birds are not quite as bad mannered over there.

Sadly, our stay was blighted by crying babies waking for their 2 hourly feeds during the night (or so it seemed). The design of the main hotel is such that the bedroom windows face directly out to the open and cavernous hallways and there seemed to be a baby in each room (maybe a slight exaggeration), however, the cacophony of noise during the night was quite unbearable at times. I was under the impression families were housed in the annexe but this is definitely not the case. We were staying in Block C and were surrounded by families. We arrived in the evening and had begun to unpack before this became apparent. I choose not to make a fuss as my holiday was a gift from my Partner who was with me on the trip. Normally, in such circumstances I would have asked for a room change but where to go? There were crying babies and toddlers everywhere it seemed.

If you are relying upon wifi we found the signal very poor in all areas of the hotel except at reception. This proved quite frustrating at times.

All in all a super time was had and we enjoyed our stay. I have stayed at other 5* hotels in the resort but this hotel’s location is second to none for fans of Playa Blanca.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JAX13Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 4,026 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Spent a week in playa blanca in June 2012. Very impressed with the accommodation and were upgraded on arrival to a beautiful suite. Impeccably clean and all the staff were attentive and polite. Great choice at buffet breakfast in the open air restaurant overlooking the pool area. The hotel and grounds are well looked after and unlike other hotels they appear to stay ahead of the game with maintenence. Great pools one fresh and one salt water, both great to cool off in 30 degree plus heat. Nice pool bar serving delicious fruit drinks. Good gym with spin classes (kaiser m3 bikes and Shimano cleats for the initiated take your shoes!). Nice piano bar €8.50 for generous Bacardi and coke. Bit pricey but given the surroundings probably par for the course. Some decent entertainment. Back gate of the hotel leads out no a lovely prom. Turn left for the cheque marina and right for the port. You can walk for ages. Lovely beach just the the back gate too. Plenty bars either way. Would certainly return and try half board.

Room Tip: Upper rooms give great views over to Fuertuventura
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our 2nd visit here on a half board basis. We travelled on a Thomas Cook Style holiday and were upgraded to a large suite. Room was beautiful and standards of cleanliness was superb.

Food really excellent but beware the prices of soft drinks, wherever you buy them. A previous reviewer noted the poor state of the main swimming pool which I hadn't noticed last year. He is correct, there seem to be chunks of ? Concrete missing from the base of it. It needs sorting pretty urgently.

Kids club facilities with Kiko Land are excellent. My 8 year old is in love with Kiko and the play leaders seem to genuinely love their jobs.

Adult entertainment in the evening is pretty ropey. Believe we met the oldest and worst Spanish dancer ever one night and we didn't go back. But, by the time dinner is finished and we had a walk down to Playa Blanca we didn't need or want further entertaining

In summary - wouldn't hesitate to go back next year. It's pretty much a definite we will but they do need to sort out the swimming pool!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 1966girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Wonderful week at the Princess Yaiza. Truly excellent friendly staff who did everything in their power to be helpful and pleasant. Lovely junior suite, very pleasant pool area, and enjoyable ambience.

Great breakfasts, very wide choice. Evening buffet meals very good, but over-priced. Plenty of places to eat in Playa Blanca. drinks, on the other hand, very reasonably priced (ice-cold pint of lager for £2.80!!!)

Handy supermarket just across the road

All in all a very pleasant experience. Thanks to the hotel management and staff who made it possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TomBSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked a double room for our fortnight stay, but was upgraded on arrival to a junior suite. Great start together with the glass of bubbly whist you check in!

The room was spacious and well equiped, and housekeeping was excellent.The hotel is huge and filled with lovely furniture to sit and relax in. Although it was very busy, you never got the feeling of it being overcrowded. The two main pools were lovely. The salt water one was quieter as most families with children used the other one. This was better for us, as it was more relaxing, and closer to the plaza where there was regular entertainment from lunchtime, which you could listen to whilst lying on your sunbed!

The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a choice of 3 restaurants serving the same food. There was so much to choose from and it was a very good quality buffet. We never had to queue for anything and I could not fault the breakfast at all.

We did not eat evening meals in the hotel, as we preferred to go out into Playa Blanca, although from speaking to other guests, they appeared good quality, if a little overpriced.

The only thing I could criticise the hotel for, is the lack of free tea/coffee in the rooms. You were given one day's supply then you were required to pay 20 euros per week for the service. We just kept the spare tea bags from breakfast for our room!

All in all an excellent hotel, friendly, curtious staff. Would definitely recommend. Don't bother staying anywhere else in Playa Blanca - you wont find anything better!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ValS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed there in July with three children (9 to 14) and found it to be relaxing . As many people have mentioned the breakfasts are excellent and there are two locations - which is good as the family suites are a bit of a walk from the main hotel. Our suite was as far as you could possibly be from the main swimming pool without going into the next county.

Food during the day/evening in the two restaurants we used was pretty good and better than expected based on previous reviews - we went to the Italian for dinner and the pool side for lunch once each. Most days though we alternated between the port and the town for evening meals and there are no shortage of places.

Pool was fine - a little nippy to jump into but not a problem once you got going, I used to acclimatise in the jacuzzi as an intermediate step in cooling down.

Service in the restaurants was attentive - although the bar/ice cream place should decide is it there to serve cocktails - which take time to prep - or ice creams which the kids want now. They also ran out and stayed out of most types while we were there, which is a nuisance.

Service at front desk was inpeccable.

A few basic plates and crockery would be much welcomed in the kitchenette. I can understand that they would prefer if you had lunch in the restaurants but that doesn't suit everybody. We bought fresh rolls , meats, cheeses and fruit in the supermarket beside the family suites block and had those for lunch most days. They did provide a wine opener mind:)

Only went to the evening entertainment once and it was appalling - a musical knowledge quiz. Best not to dwell on it.

The childrens entertainment aroud the pool was very so-so although on one occasion we heard about kayaking for the 9 year old which was was done through kikoland. He really enjoyed it and it only cost a fiver. I never did figure out the link between the kikoclubs for his age group and the hotel. it was clear for up to 8 but not so after that and the one time I asked it was suggested that I go over to kikoland - which is slightly separate - to find out. Not a big problem but a little disjointed.

Bit annoyed that my travel agent charged me an adult rate for a child and there was nothing I could do about it - claimed that their supplier, hotelbeds, had a different policy than the hotel.

And a word of warning if you're planning on road biking there. - the hotel is at the southernmost part of the island and has about 10k of a boring ride , straight into a strong headwind , before you begin to get to the interesting stuff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StephenRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Know before you go Hotel - Expensive, Courtious staff, Luxurious settings, Pampering a speciality, Location great. Ideal for Anniversaries, Honeymooners but not for a family holiday, a bit stuffy for Children and restrictive in attitude even though the facilities are great.

This is a hotel for that once in a lifetime holiday designed for couples.

Staff very very helpfull. Enjoy!!!!!!

Room Tip: Dosen't really matter where you stay all rooms are out of this world, but of course always look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KennethJ134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,943 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.1 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort

Address: Avda. Papagayo, 22, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $197 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the colonial canaries style, with its traditional, picturesque balconies, and exotic interior tropical, excellent facilities and faultless service, Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort is a welcoming, five-star luxury hotel, conceived to satisfy the most demanding customer by making their stay a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Yaiza Hotel Playa Blanca
Princess Yaiza Lanzarote
Hotel Princesa Yaiza Suite
Princess Yaiza Hotel Lanzarote
Princesa Yaiza Lanzarote
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing